Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Chromag Trailmaster DT Saddle

“2012 Chromag Trailmaster DT”

C138_90485080_1273303466

The Good:

Light and Durable

The Bad:

Can be uncomfortable

Overall Review: The seat is light and very durable due to the kevlar corners. The color I got was green which I like but I wish there were more color options also the seat can be a bit uncomfortable. The balance between comfort and weight is almost perfect as far as I'm concerned. Overall this is a great seat.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Alex W.
19725 Alex W. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19725/avatar/c50_chromag_logo_k_copy_1367518953.jpg?1367518295 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/all 11/09/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/setup 6 4

2011 Cove Shocker Bike

“Best Bike I Ever Owned...”

C138_cove_shocker_2011

The Good:

Almost everything. Awesome bike!

The Bad:

There was nowhere to review the 2010 model, which I had, so I'm reviewing here. My only beef was the short seatpost, but that has been amended in this model.

Overall Review: Best bike I've ever owned. Bought a frame and built it up. Great bike, but had to sell it due tofinancial circumstances and the fact it was a full on race ready bike, and I'm not into racing. I have missed it ever since...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member The Shark
23952 The Shark http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23952/avatar/c50_image_1379566979.jpg?1379566422 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/all 04/28/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/setup 6 4

2013 Ibis Mojo SL-R with XT Build

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Ibis Mojo SL-R”

C138_2013_ibis_mojo_sl_r_grey
Reviewed by Matt Thompson, Steve Wentz, Jess Pedersen, & Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer & Brandon Turman Founded in 1981 in Scot Nicol's garage, Ibis Cycles has a long and rich history in mountain biking, even though they've had to overcome a few bumps along the way. Throughout the years they've developed a number of bikes that are seen as iconic - innovation in the sport and often a welcome breath of fresh air amidst lots of marketing hype. They're a company that builds what they want to ride, and in 2006, that was the Ibis Mojo Carbon - a bike that stood out as the first carbon fiber monocoque all-mountain Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6087 1037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1173 2157 132 40

SixSixOne Comp II Full Face Helmet

“Good & fair priced...”

C138_57596

The Good:

Durable, stylish & fairly light.

The Bad:

Needs better venting & a different strap system. D -Rings suck. .

Overall Review: Overall, I like this helmet. It has saved my head numerous times. Only real complaints are it needs a more modern, easier securing system & more working vents.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Schwalbe Racing Ralph Evolution Tire

“Still Undecided....”

C138_24524

The Good:

I run a 2.1 on the rear & it's light & fast.

The Bad:

Very loose in corners at high speeds in unpacked areas. Doesn't have much of a footprint. Might try a 2.25 in the future.

Overall Review: Still undecided on this tire. Seems it would be fine on packed surfaces w/ minimal sand, rocks or pine straw. I run a 2.25 Nobby Nic on the front & this on the rear. It's definitely a fast combo, but trying to stay in control at speed, on loose terrain, is a challenge all in it's own. Gonna try a wider version to see if the problem persists before putting a Nic on the rear.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Evolution Tire

“Like em....”

C138_19166

The Good:

I run a 2.25 on the front. Seems to hang on good, no wash outs, tolerable weight & width.

The Bad:

A little squirrely for a front tire but other than that, no complaints.

Overall Review: Overall, seems to be a good, gripping tire that holds the corners & slings some dirt. So far it's all I expected. Would like to add one to the rear to see what that changes. Recommended.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert EVO Bike

“great trail bike”

C138_sj_fsr_expert_enduro

The Good:

pedals uphill as well is it descends. more slack head tube makes it downhill really well. dropper post is nice (not the best but it works)

The Bad:

fox fork isn't great. i can't get full travel out of it. pretty bad vibration out of the back from the brake.

Overall Review: overall impression of the bike is awesome in my opinion. on the trail the bike feels awesome. steep downhill and steep uphill is when the bike finds its limits (as with most AM bikes) one of the best trail bikes i've ridden
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lucashass
350 lucashass http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/350/avatar/c50_92619000_1251586792.jpg?1290150621 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lucashass,350/all 08/04/09 16 5 1 8 1

ODI Lock-On Grip - Rogue

“The best grip there is”

C138_gr707a07

The Good:

Super tacky/grippy, great for anything

The Bad:

Slightly thick

Overall Review: These are the best grips out there, nothing else comes close. They are super sticky and ride perfect with gloves on, they are the best grip around.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

ODI Ruffian Lock-On Grips

“Grippy grips”

C138_97908500_1265402651

The Good:

Great grips, thin profile

The Bad:

Wear out fast

Overall Review: Don't last very long but they are incredible while they do, you can just buy the grip after you have the lock rings.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

Pro-Tec Classic Helmet

“Good cheap option”

C138_31874

The Good:

Fits well, stays tight

The Bad:

Hot, nothing else

Overall Review: Not many vents so it gets hot but other then that its a great budget option, with lots of color options.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6