Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 GT La Bomba 2.0 Bike

“Gt la bomba 2.0”

C138_bike_gt_la_bomba_2.0

The Good:

Solid frame, awesome tires, decent price, and decent components.

The Bad:

Basic avid brakes leave something to be desired. Crankset is not that great.

Overall Review: First off, I bought this bike to use for cruising around town, and messing around with on jumps. I immediately put some Tioga Powerblock tires on, as they don't make as much noise cruising on pavement. The stock dirt tires are awesome though, and I kept them, in case I wanna do some dirt riding with this bike in the future. This bike is a slopestyle bike, made to take massive abuse from huge jumps, so it is more than strong enough for my purposes. The avid elixer 1 brakes are not the best, but they work well for cruising around. I'll probably upgrade them in the future. The drivetrain is an ok spec. It works well, but I plan on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ben_Kotrba
26985 Ben_Kotrba http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26985/avatar/c50_fb_picture_12127826_1377085880.jpg?1377085742 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/all 08/21/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/setup 1 1

2013 Mondraker Foxy RR Bike

“MONDRAKER FOXY RR FRAME”

C138_bike_mondraker_foxy_rr

The Good:

coming from a DW LINK frame to this FOXY, this frame really has all the good things that my old DW LINK frame had. and it feels better. more progressive. better angles,

The Bad:

none so far. maybe just a mud guard could be nice to have...

Overall Review: built this frame with a revelation 150 mm fork. and all my favorite parts. Easton bar carbon "light bicycle" rims Maxxis minion 2.35 f tires great bike!!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Yossi_Sarusi
14977 Yossi_Sarusi http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14977/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1174243275.jpg?1334936469 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/all 04/20/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/setup 2 35 1

Teva Pivot Clipless Shoes

Vital Review

“Tested: Teva Pivot Shoes - A Love/Hate Experience”

C138_1002980_blk_1
by Noah Sears The Pivot is Teva's first foray into the clipless shoe world. Aimed at the piping-hot enduro and trail markets, the Pivot blends skate shoe styling with cycling shoe performance. Teva Pivot Highlights Designed for trail, all-mountain and enduro use PedalLINK clipless outsole Composite midsole plate Spider365 Rubber sole Lugs at the toe and heel for off the bike traction Compatible with all major 2-bolt attachment systems Optional cleat attachment from top to protect hardware Hook and loop strap keeps laces out of the chain Sizes 3-15 US Black and light grey colors Weight: 446 grams/15.7 ounces (Size 11) MSRP Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 96 416 6

2013 Giant Reign 2 Bike

“Excellent all around bike!!”

C138_2013_reign_2

The Good:

This bike is great on the uphills, destroys the downhills, and (with the correct shock tuning) absolutely flys through the rough stuff without a hitch.

The Bad:

In all honestly I have nothing bad to say about this bike.

Overall Review: Sweet bike. It climbs, descends, transitions between the two with ease, and jumps great. This bike has eaten up every type of terrain that I have put it through, and has been really fun to ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member idahofreerider94
26448 idahofreerider94 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26448/avatar/c50_Pink_Bike_Wallpaper_1_1374300242.jpg?1374299783 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/idahofreerider94,26448/all 07/19/13 1

MRP G3 Chainguide

“lasted six short runs”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

looks awesome and did run smooth

The Bad:

made from plastic that breaks easy.

Overall Review: Mine broke in the same place as mentioned in the review. It cant be blamed on using unapproved cleaners or lubricants because the whole transmission was new.Should last more than six runs at the ski hill for the price. I think they need to go back to the drawing board on this one and make the slider out of alloy or Al. I hope the customer service is better than the product.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member erockjmet
26864 erockjmet http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26864/avatar/c50_IMG_8475_1_1376230781.jpg?1376230075 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/erockjmet,26864/all 08/11/13 1 1

2013 GT Sensor 9R Expert Bike

Featured Member Review

“2012 GT Sensor 9r Expert”

C138_bike_gt_sensor_9r_expert

The Good:

I-drive suspension works well. Formula RX brakes and levers are excellent.

The Bad:

Stand-over clearance will have you singing soprano.
Crazy long wheelbase.
Rock Shox Recon Gold mates choppy travel with lots of lateral play.
Alex XD-Lite rims are weak.
Maxxis Aspen tires not ideal (regional consideration).

Overall Review: [Note: This review is of the 2012 model which appears to be identical to the '13.] Without burying the lead, I will start by saying that I consider GT to be an iconic bicycle brand and I have ridden many GT's in the past including my first mountain bike, a 1993 GT Tequesta. I wanted to love the Sensor 9r so badly but after about three weeks and 15 rides I ended up returning it. Here's why: On paper the Sensor 9r Expert seems like a good value with Fox's Float CTD shock, RockShoz Recon Gold fork and Formula RX brakes. One thing I noted from the moment I climbed on the bike is that at 5'10" with a 30" inseam, the size Medium Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Arkstorm
26789 Arkstorm /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Arkstorm,26789/all 08/08/13 2 5

2013 Kona Hei Hei 29 Bike

“Rapid bike”

C138_2013_kona_hei_hei

The Good:

Moves rapidly over Tahoe trails and rocks. plenty stiff rear thru axel. Good components.

The Bad:

Little heavy on steep climbs

Overall Review: Got this bike as first 29 er after demoing tallboy long travel carbon. This bike oat like a sixth of at bike but still does justas good a job. I like locking out suspension for climbs fire roadscandvpavement. The giants don't even have lockout. This bikealsodoes fine in the twists. Just gotta maneuver it. Liked better than tallboy cause it was a better, size. Got the 20 inch. Sc rep thank you but the xl u put me on was a little too big combined with 29 er. No joy. This ones perfect. Also climbing while standing is like on a hardtail cause of lockout. The giants and specialized must not climb the greatest if u can't lockout the maestro suspension and it starts getting bad pedal bob when u stand. Of course when locked out u need to climb like on a hardtail to keep traction to rear wheel!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rydeordie
26752 Rydeordie /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rydeordie,26752/all 08/07/13 1 1 1

Race Face Indy Shorts 2012

“2012 shorts were excellent”

C138_69737

The Good:

Light, comfortable, long lasting, zippered front pocket, look good

The Bad:

2013 shorts not as good

Overall Review: 2012 Indy shorts were excellent, have easily done a year and are still going strong. Tried the 2013's I didn't like the fabric, the size was very much on the smaller size and there is no zippered front pocket essential for keeping valuables safe.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Race Face Ambush Knee Pad

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Ambush Knee and Elbow Guards - As Solid As They Come”

C138_ambush_product_shot
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Kneepads are an essential piece of protective equipment, worn by almost every rider who likes to get a bit rowdy from time to time. Elbow pads are perhaps a slightly less common sight on the trail, but many riders will still reach for them when things get a bit hectic, or just for a little extra peace of mind. Race Face has been producing a line of pads (or guards) for a number of years already, offering a full range of protection for different applications. The Ambush line sits on the heavy duty side of the catalog, ready for pretty much anything you can Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1111 1687 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 62 397 4323 119 29

Crankbrothers 5050 XX Flat Pedal

“Crank bro's. pedals”

C138_99924120_1267167095

The Good:

Look cool,great grip.

The Bad:

Constantly loose parts and small allen bolts that strip if you look at them wrong.

Overall Review: Every other CB product Ive own from pumps to wheel sets have been awsome.These on the other hand didnt live up to the hype/price tag.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bloghogs
46 bloghogs http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/46/avatar/c50_bh_1.jpg?1348714690 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bloghogs,46/all 08/01/09 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bloghogs,46/setup 9 76 5 58 3