Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Guards”

C138_2220270001_40458_tif_zoom_4
by Ian Collins After three massive (bones visible) holes in the same square inch of my right knee over the last decade, I became a bit wary of most of the run-of-the-mill kneepads I've tried. Last year I saw some pictures of the Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Gaurds and they looked promising. Nothing way out of the ordinary, but a few refinements, techy features and a moderately higher price tag of $139.95 gave it a greater luster than most of the pedestrian offerings. Over the winter I got to check them out in person while trying to keep Brendog in sight during some shuttles in SoCal. I asked him about them and he Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

Bontrager G5 Team Issue Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager G5 Team Issue DH Tire”

C138_bontrager_g5_team_issue
Review by Matt Thomson // Photos by Dave Trumpore Downhill tires. Not too complicated, right? Well, there are a few things to consider when purchasing a new set of DH meats - let's roll through them quickly, shall we? Does it hold air when ridden in rocky terrain (not some bike parked-out groomer that looks like the felt on a billiard table)? Is the rubber suitable for riding over roots and rocks when it gets wet? How does it corner? How does it brake? How does it roll? Does it clear mud well? How durable is it? Affordability Bontrager's new G5 tire is a fine addition to their lineup. I've been riding on a set for a Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12/avatar/c50_91639130_1248750604.jpg?1290149919 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/setup 2 20 101 4 1

Specialized Pitch Comp Bike

“All around shredder!”

C138_pitch_comp

The Good:

Nimble, good geometry, pedals like a dream, rips decents

The Bad:

flimsy rear end

Overall Review: I bought a used 2010 bike about 6 months ago and did my own custom build with raceface and sram components. I kept the stock x-fusion shock but upgraded to a Marzocchi 55 to have something a little more beefy up front. The shock has been serving me just fine even without the adjustability that some other shocks on the market have. This bike is awesome! I ride everything from interurban trails with my girlfriend to all mountain to jump trails and even attempted some downhill on it. Overall this bike has taken everything I've been able to throw at it! with the 67 degree head angle this thing just begs to be railed through Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member millsr4
27283 millsr4 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27283/avatar/c50_photo_1378059199.jpg?1378058866 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/millsr4,27283/all 09/01/13 11 1 1 1 3 1

DT Swiss FX 1950 Tricon 26" Wheelset

“Solid wheelset that looks great”

C138_pho_fx_1950_tricon_black_ta_12_150_rw_rgb

The Good:

strong,stiff and looks amazing

The Bad:

Cost, unique lacing design could lead to issue in the future

Overall Review: This particular wheel set was never on my wishlist simply because of the steep price tag associated with them but luckily I was given a sweet deal so I thought I would give them a try. You could argue that there are a lot of other options and at even cheaper prices for high end wheels but these ones truly are pretty unique. Right out of the box you can see that the wheels are a strong quality build while at the same time being super light, plus they look simply amazing. The black/green color design along with the white spokes makes for an amazing looking wheel set, they definitely have a one of a kind Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_2928_01_01_1472841586.jpg?1472841080 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 70 49 1

GoPro HERO3 Silver Edition Camera

Featured Member Review

“Awesome action camera”

C138_03_h3_silver_camera_inhousing_glam

The Good:

Easy to use, super durable, allows to customize capture settings

The Bad:

none so far

Overall Review: I purchased the GoPro Hero 3 Silver edition shortly after my Contour camera stopped working. After a couple of months of use I can say that I prefer the GoPro quite a bit more. The picture quality seems to be significantly better than that of the Contour and the GoPro also boosts a lot of smart options on how to capture your biking shots. The camera allows the user to configure the video capture resolution along with the frame rates, plus has the ability to take 11 megapixel photos. The photo options also allow for burst mode as well as a time lapse mode allowing you to snap photos every couple of seconds (you can Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_2928_01_01_1472841586.jpg?1472841080 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 70 49 1

Cane Creek Double Barrel Rear Shock

“Amazing shock that sticks to the trail”

C138_db_coil_vertical_lo_res

The Good:

Highly adjustable, smooth, easy to tune/setup with the help of canecreek.com

The Bad:

One of the more expensive shocks

Overall Review: I won’t go into too much technical detail but this shock is buttery smooth and allows for limitless adjustability. I initially was a bit scared about the complexity of this shock but the base tune/fit guide on canecreek.com made setting up the shock a breeze. I does take some time and requires a couple of rides to get that perfect tune but once that is found then you are left with a very impressive shock. No matter how much abuse, brake bumps, flat landings you throw at this thing it just eat everything up. My Double Barrel is currently on a 2013 Specialized and it works perfectly together. Before owning this Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_2928_01_01_1472841586.jpg?1472841080 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 70 49 1

Specialized Demo 8 Frame

“Fast and Fun DH Frame that Just Goes”

C138_specialized_demo_8_frame

The Good:

Stiff, fast frame that just loves to go

The Bad:

Press fit bottom bracket

Overall Review: I am really impressed with the quality of this frame, the first thing I noticed when I sat on the Demo was how stiff it was and how well it keeps its momentum, even in the parking lot as soon as you put the cranks down it just speeds up and wants to keep on going. The welds are beautiful and comparable to some of the high-end boutique bikes. Access to the shock is very good, so when on the trail adjustments are required it results in a very fast and easy process. When you need to remove or insert the shock back into the frame it is a very easy procedure as well. I am riding a small and find the frame perfect for me ( I Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_2928_01_01_1472841586.jpg?1472841080 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 70 49 1

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock-On Grip

“Comfortable and grippy”

C138_odi_troy_lee_designs_lock_on

The Good:

Grippy and comfortable

The Bad:

Tad expensive

Overall Review: After a season of riding fairly thin grips I decided to switch over to something a bit thicker and try the ODI TLD grips. Although these aren’t too thick they seem to be a happy medium between thin and thick grips. These are now one of my favorite grips, they feel great and overall they are very comfortable. The little knobs on the grips feel comfy and provide great traction; this is even more evident when riding without gloves. I initially thought that the design on the grips didn’t have any purpose but now I see that the design and the little grooves in the grips are specifically designed to offer great comfort and grip. I’ve used them in dusty condition and also in the wet and in both environments they grip well and I have had no issues.  I would strongly recommend these grips.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_2928_01_01_1472841586.jpg?1472841080 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 70 49 1

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l
Review by Jeff Brines // Photos by Patrick Nelson RockShox has reintroduced the Pike for the 2013 season, and they've aimed it squarely at the Enduro and trail market. Like the kinda-sorta-cute girl who moved away in the 6th grade, she’s back for senior year, fully grown up and turning every head in class. The fork appears to offer an unprecedented blend of feather-like weight, stiffness and trail eating performance. But how did it stack up in real world testing? After several months of riding, here are the results... Pike RCT3 Highlights Travel options: 26 or 27.5-inch 150mm or 160mm // 29-inch 140mm or 150mm Weight: Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 11 223 440 15 2

2012 Trek Session 9.9

“Frame only”

C138_treksession9.9

The Good:

Carries speed through everything, extremely predictable, stable but nimble, and very easy to maintain.

The Bad:

I would rather a double barrel over the Fox RC4.

Overall Review: This is the best frame I have ever owned. Even with some of the heavier parts I chose to build it with it still weighs 24 pounds. This bike carries so much speed and is so predictable that you will drop time off on your favorite trails.You get an amazing amount of feed back through the frame. It does park riding extremely well and you can send any jump comfortably but can also take the rockiest most technical trails and smooth them out (compared to other bikes). I can not say anything bad about this frame.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freski93
12701 freski93 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12701/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1232590309.jpg?1326562955 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/all 01/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/setup 1 2