Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Straitline SSC Stem

“Best Stiffness/Weight Ratio Around”

C138_st258a00_black35

The Good:

Beautifully machined, Very stiff, Very light weight for it's design.

The Bad:

No 35mm version, Kinda Pricey

Overall Review: Purchased the Straitline SSC stem a few years ago and looking back, it has been my favorite stem. I had it installed on a Trek Slash and was perfect for my purposes. It was very stiff, yet very light in weight. In a world were these two are insanely important, this stem really shined. The craftsmanship of this piece was beyond impressive as well. It was beautiful. All of Straitline products are beautiful. Mountain biking seems to be an industry with infinite standards, my only complaint is that Straitline currently doesn't have this stem available in a 35mm diameter. All of straitline components are on the pricy side but Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

SRAM PC991 Cross Step Chain

“Great chain with only one flaw”

C138_100895320_1265249814

The Good:

Construction is solid, great value.

The Bad:

Quick-link issues

Overall Review: Used this model chain for the entire time I owned my Trek Slash. It was a great chain that shifted perfectly with my sram groupo. It also lasted a very long time due to constantly making sure it was lubed. My only complaint is with the gold quick-link. I understand that Sram says to only use a quick-link once before replacing it, but even while following this guideline, I had a few explode on me resulting in a broken and sometimes completely lost chain. I love Sram products but their quick-links have let me down time and time again.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

Five Ten Freerider Flat Pedal Shoe

“Great shoe with outstanding grip”

C138_freeride_blue

The Good:

Great every-day comfort, Mind-blowing grip, True to size

The Bad:

Not as much breathability as I would like for the warmer summer rides

Overall Review: Picked up my Five Ten Freeriders after riding the more intense Five Ten Sam Hill shoes. I loved the grip of the Sam Hills but hated, let me bold it, hatedhow stiff they were, while riding, I couldn't feel where my feet were on the pedals which overall effected my confidence when riding. If only Five Ten made a shoe that had the same phenomenal grip but with a much less stiff sole. They did, it's called the Freerider. The things I loved about the Freerider is that it felt like a typical skate show that we were raise on but with a little more stability for those nasty cases we go through for second guessing our Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

Featured Review

“ODI + TLD = Perfection”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Very grippy, Durable, Well worth the money, Great color options

The Bad:

Could be a little more comfy.

Overall Review: Picked these grips up for my Yeti SB66 and have been very impressed. The first thing that attracted me to them was the were the colors but after a few runs down some steep, wet, technical terrain I was a true believer in them. ODI used nothing but their finest, most durable rubber on these and you can really tell. After a full season of riding dirty the grips showed very little signs of wear. In addition to the durability, the grips have a very unique pattern than keep your hands locked, even through the roughest terrain. These grips have a very unique thumb and pinky flange that helps you feel where your hands Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

Smith PivLock V2 Sunglasses

Featured Review

“Changing lenses has never been so easy”

C138_blue

The Good:

High quality lenses, Comes with three lenses to match riding conditions, Easy to swap out, Amazing adjustable nose piece, lifetime warranty that company stands behind.

The Bad:

Fogged on me a few times (mostly riders error), pretty pricey

Overall Review: Smithhas always had areputationof being a down-to-earth company, actively engaged in the progression of outdoor sports. Their love for what they do really shines through when they come out with products like the PivLock V2. Mixed in with their lifetime warranty, you really can't go wrong with these shades. I picked up my PivLock V2 glasses about18 months ago so this is more of a long-term review. First thing I noticed when putting them on was how clear and clean their lenses are. If they aren't the highest quality lens out there, they are certainly close to it. There have only been a few times were my lenses have fogged up Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

Niterider Pro 1500 LED Race Light

Featured Review

“Shine a light on it”

C138_54547

The Good:

Great value, long running times, mount is very good, a great product from a great company

The Bad:

Long charge time, no 35mm bar clamp adaptor.

Overall Review: As my friends and I have gotten older and have gained moreresponsibilityin life, we have moved our wild and reckless activities from the daytime to the night. Yes, we are spending as much time and money as cocaine addicts do.Theonly difference is ours recklessnessis targeted solely on mountain biking. Key to this is our discovery of night lights. After doing a ton of research on what are the best brands and models of lights, I found myself sticking a Niterider Pro 1500 on my bars. Here's why: Running time: The NiteRider Pro 1500 has a running time of 1.5 hours on the brightest (1500 lumen) setting. Weighing in Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

Pro Bike Display Stand

Featured Review

“Great stand for the price”

C138_32890

The Good:

Great for lighter bikes and Okay for heavier ones, Anti-scratch rubber, Multiple sizes for best fit, Unbeatable price at JensonUSA

The Bad:

Can be unstable if installed improperly, can damage components like rotors, awkward shape for storage

Overall Review: We use these stands at the bike shop I work at to hold customer's bikes and showroom bikes for short periods of time. For the most part, they get the job done and are aconvenientway to hold the bike as we explain components and services to customers. And at the price, you really can't beat it; Jensonusa.comcurrently has them on sale. The stand also comes in two different sizes, silver for smaller () bikes and black for larger (> 27.5" ) ones. Issues: I only have two major complaints about this stand. First, this bike stand can be very unstable if the tire isn't sitting properly. I know this doesn't sound like a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

SixSixOne Evo Knee Guards Knee/Shin Pad

Featured Review

“Great protection at an OK price”

C138_2012_sixsixone_evo_knee

The Good:

Great protection on front of knee, Good protection on sides of knee, Great fluid motion while pedaling thanks to the D30 material, On sale at JensonUSA

The Bad:

Can get hot on AM trails, Overtime the material can stretch out, Material can bunch up while pedaling that can become uncomfortable, Stitching isn't the highest of quality.

Overall Review: The company SixSixOne has been around for a ton of years and is one of the companies that I supported when I first started riding. They have a reputation of making good quality products at a reasonable price. The Evo knee pad is at the pinnacle of the company's product line as their best protective and functional knee pad. The Evo is equipped with some of the latest protection technology like the D30 material. I've owned these knee pads for around three years now and has been a good pad for my AM/Enduro riding. A little of my background: Picking up mountain biking more than 15 years ago in Southern Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

POC Joint VPD 2.0 Knee Pads

Featured Review

“DH protection AM weight”

C138_joint_vpd_2_0_knee

The Good:

Highest level of knee protection, Snug fit, Contours to knee well after only a few rides, Very comfortable. There are also lighter weight versions for XC and AM use

The Bad:

Can being too good be a bad thing?

Overall Review: POC has known to make some of the highest level of protective products for snow and dirt sports. This being said, the POC Joint VPD 2.0 is no different. I've owned these knee pads coming up on two years now and couldn't thank POC enough making the best Enduro/DH knee pad I could ever think of. With it's game-changing VPD padding technology, I've never been in a situation where I felt my knees weren't completely protected. A little of my background: Picking up mountain biking more than 15 years ago in Southern Utah, I found myself constantly looking for the next big thing to send me and my bike off. Being friends Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

POC Index DH Glove

Featured Review

“Your second layer of skin ”

C138_index_dh_uraniumblack_1002

The Good:

Lightweight and less-bulkey, VPD 2.0 padding where you need it most, Excellent palm protection, Fits like a glove - true to size.

The Bad:

The velcro strap was weak, Kinda pricey.

Overall Review: First off, let me just say, I am a glove connoisseur. That being said I have some pretty high standards when it comes to the quality, style, protection, and fit of my gloves. I ride everything from mild XC and bike paths with family all the way to rampage style terrain. With this wide range of riding styles, I am constantly looking for a glove that is light enough so my hands don't sweat to death on, thin enough that I can keep my dexterity when adjusting component settings, yet heavy duty enough so I don't crush my fingers while going OTB on my dual crown. The POC Index DH offers all of this. Construction: The POC Index DH Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 11 43

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey