Latest Product Reviews

RSS

SRAM ROAM 60 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM ROAM 60 Carbon Wheels”

C138_sram_roam_60_wheels
Review by Brandon Turman // Action photo by Courtney Steen Over the years we've seen a recurring theme coming from the SRAM camp - every product is designed with the intent to increase control and confidence on the trail. That goal was present when crafting the new ROAM 60 carbon wheels as they strived to find the right balance between outright strength and vertical compliance. Geared at enduro and trail use, these wheels are claimed to be "durable enough for hours in the saddle, yet light enough for race day." The evolved wheelset sees the jump up to a 30mm internal rim width, uses SRAM's own hub internals for the first time, Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

2015 YT Tues AL Comp Bike

“My 2015 YT Tues AL Comp review 1.5 years later”

C138_2015_yt_tues_al_comp_black_grey

The Good:

I have to start with price, it was one of the main reasons I considered this with my new purchase. Stock components, this came ready to race downhill or ride at bike parks, no questions asked. Customer Service, I had a few questions from the start and the guys out of Reno were very helpful and continue to be helpful when I needed to buy a derailleur hanger or had questions about which rear spring to use for my weight. The DT swiss YT2020 wheels. Immediately comfortable moving from a Demo 8. Jumps and racing.

The Bad:

I wish they provided options for which spring rate came on the shock and in the fork.

Overall Review: Again I will start with the price, the pricing seems too good to be true but that is far from the truth. This is by far my favorite Bike and I will buy another one when the time comes. I will also stick with the aluminum version because I am not pro and intend to ride my bike for a few years and I don't see this bike to feel too heavy ever. I moved from a size Large 2013 Demo 8 to a size Large YT Tues and was comfortable on it immediately. The first time i ended up riding this bike was at a race at mount snow which is quite rocky, I took third place behind a pro who had just stepped down and another rider who moved to pro the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MasonRG
43642 MasonRG http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43642/avatar/c50_randr_photo_1502489_3000px_1485783766.jpg?1485782788 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MasonRG,43642/all 01/30/17 1

SRAM X01 Eagle

Vital Review

“Long Term Tested: SRAM X01 Eagle 1x12 Drivetrain”

C138_sram_x01_eagle_rear_derailleur
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Adrian Marcoux and Brandon Turman On a summer trip to Whistler, a few friends and I ditched the lift line in favor of the lesser traveled trails on nearby Blackcomb. The ride began just like any other - popping wheelies and cracking jokes as we made our way to the base of the mountain. Then the pitch kicked up a few notches. My friends and I attacked the mountain with enthusiasm, vying for position along the way. "This trail is so good you guys, you're going to love it," I promised. "Just 15 minutes more and we'll be there." For those familiar, you'll know that the climb up Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

Five Ten Danny MacAskill Shoe

Vital Review

“First Ride: Five Ten Danny MacAskill Signature Shoe”

C138_528107_21
When you have Danny MacAskill on your athlete roster, you’d be missing out if all you did was to slap his name on a few posters and call it good. Five Ten took full advantage of the Scottish sender and had him help them develop a shoe that would give Danny the performance he needs on the bike – and the casual looks to blend in while on one of his many street missions. Did they succeed? Read on to find out! Five Ten Danny MacAskill Highlights Durable, easy care and casual looking leather upper EVA midsole for shock absorption and anatomical support Ortholite insole Full tread Stealth S1 dotty rubber for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 982 1701 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 365 4078 105 29

Hope Technology 35W Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Hope Tech 35W Wheelset”

C138_rear
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Rims have been getting wider and wider over the past few years, with manufacturers citing features like lower tire pressures, wider contact patches, and higher air volume as the main reasons behind the trend. Additionally, the plus-size tire “movement” has once again opened people’s minds to experimenting with fatter tires, and as a result, there’s a fresh batch of weird and wonderful new tire widths to choose from. Hope took their time before jumping in with an extra-wide rim offering of their own, but with the 35W they have now thrown their hat in the ring Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 982 1701 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 365 4078 105 29

iXS Carve Knee Pad

Featured Member Review

“IXS Carve Knee Pads Long Term Review”

C138_carve_knee_back

The Good:

Excellent fit.
Great impact protection.
Machine washable.
Solid construction and great durability.

The Bad:

I can't think of anything bad to say except, I think they now come in grey instead of black.

Overall Review: I own four different sets of knee pads to include a set of POC pads, Seven iDp pads, and iXS Flow pads. My iXS Carve pads are better than the other three sets of knee pads in fit, protection, comfort, and construction. I use my Carve pads for enduro races, bike park days, and all day rides. I've had some big crashes and they've protected my knees every time without fail. They fit smaller compared with iXS Flow and POC pads; however, overall fit is outstanding as they always stay in place. These pads have a large coverage area with good medial, lateral knee and upper shin protection. The protective pad is thick enough for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 13

Evoc CC 16l Hydration Pack

Vital Review

“Tested: EVOC CC 16l Hydration Pack”

C138_red
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow EVOC produces a huge range of backpacks for various outdoors activities, from small, simple hydration packs to full-on, expedition-level haulers. The new CC line is made for those who want to keep cool when the mercury climbs, offering a series of features designed with optimal ventilation and airflow in mind. We grabbed the largest of three available versions and headed off to find out how it performs on the trail. EVOC CC 16l Highlights Made from: AIR MESH, DARLINGTON MESH, N100D NANO BOX RIPSTOP PU COATED, P600 D PU COATED Size: 16 L Hydration capacity: up to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 982 1701 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 365 4078 105 29

e*thirteen TRS+ Cassette

Featured Member Review

“e*thirteen TRS+ 9-46 Cassette”

C138_fw1tpa_101_600x539

The Good:

Light weight with a claimed weight of 303 grams, or 287 grams depending on what page of e*thirteen's website your looking at. I didn't measure it, but it feels much lighter than the Shimano 11-46 cassette it replaced. The gear ratios are well thought out and feel closer together compared to Shimano's XT cassette. Shifting is buttery smooth, even after two months of use. The 9 and 10 tooth cogs really let you get moving on downhill and flat sections. No unusual squeaks or weird noises as of now.

The Bad:

This cassette is expensive even by SRAM standards. Shifting into the 9 tooth cog isn't as consistent as the remaining cogs. Sometimes it takes a couple pedal revolutions to get it to grab the cog when paired with a XTR derailleur. Ironically, shifting is quicker and more consistent with a XT derailluer.

Overall Review: This cassette offers much better performance, range and weight savings compared to Shimano's 11-46 XT cassette. I've been running it for a couple months now and it works just as good as the day I installed it. Tooth wear looks minimal to non-existent at this point in the cassette's life; however, it's too early to tell what the longevity will be. I'm running this cassette with a 32T chainring up front on 170mm cranks. I mostly use the 2nd lowest gear (39T) for climbing and only use the 46T as a recovery or "bail out" gear. The 9T and 10T cogs are great for those higher speed downhill and flat sections. That being said, I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 13

e*thirteen LG1+ Chainguide

Featured Member Review

“E.13 LG1+ Chainguide”

C138_50736

The Good:

looks, never lost a chain

The Bad:

spare parts are very expensive, idler wheel fixed directly to the bash, noisy

Overall Review: The setup is pretty straight forward, it can take a few tries like most chainguides, but is no more or less complicated. Screws, washers and even an adapter to mount it to your bottom bracket are included. Once set up the chainguide worked flawless, I never dropped a chain, even in the muckiest of conditions. If you ride in the mud a lot or pressure wash your bike you should regrease the idler wheel bearings now and then. The upper guide doesn't have any noise cancelling rubber inserts like some of the more modern chainguides have, so it's a bit more noisy. I used to glue a cut out piece of tube on there or Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 64 97 8

Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless Pedals

Featured Member Review

“Classic Clipless Pedal”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_3_red

The Good:

mudclearance, pedalbody and pins, service kit available

The Bad:

brass cleats, inner plastic pedal body

Overall Review: First, I have been riding clipless pedals for a few years and I also used Shimanos SPD system for years on my XC-Bike and for a short while on my Enduro and DH bike. When it comes to DH or Enduro riding I'm a big fan of Crankbrothers clipless system. If you aren't and your mind is made up it's probably pointless to read on. Riding them: Clipping in is a very different feeling from Shimano, it feels much more 'loose' and you get a lot of float. You shouldn't worry, though, as long as you have a fresh set of cleats the pedal holds on to your foot pretty secure. When you install the cleats Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 64 97 8