Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Park Tool TW-6 Ratcheting Torque Wrench

Featured Review

“Cheaper than cracking carbon”

C138_tl289j04

The Good:

High quality feel and materials 12-60 Nm range 0.2 adjustment increments Easy-to-read gauge Comes with a protective traveling case

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: Carbon frames, carbon seatposts, carbon saddles, carbon cranks, carbon bars, carbon stems, seems like everything is being made out of carbon these days. That being said, carbon has a very specific tolerance for torque which can’t be exceeded. This is why I have decided to purchase my very own torque wrench set. After getting a Park Tool TW-5 wrench, I chose to go with the Park Tool TW-6 for the higher-end torque speced parts. After several months of use, I’m glad I did. Here are my impressions on the masterpiece: Features Just like most torque wrenches in this category, the TW-6 has a torque Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

Park Tool TW-5 Ratcheting Torque Wrench

“An absolute must for any high-end bike owner”

C138_tl289j03

The Good:

High quality feel and materials
3-15Nm range
0.4 adjustment increments
Easy-to-read gauge
Comes with a 3/8" adaptor and traveling case

The Bad:

Sometimes the 3/8" adaptor can get stock in the sockets

Overall Review: In a world of increasing frame and component technology, precise measurements while wrenching is becoming more and more relevant. This is why I have decided to purchase my very own torque wrench set. For my lower torque range, I decided to go with the Park Tool TW-5. After several months of use, I’m glad I did. Here are my impressions on the masterpiece: Features Just like most torque wrenches in this category, the TW-5 has a torque range of 3-15 newton meters (26-132” lbs) and can be adjusted within 0.4 Nm (3.5 “ lbs) increments. To adjust the torque settings, simply pull down on the bottom tab Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

e*thirteen XCX Chainguide

“Great, high quality guide”

C138_47875

The Good:

Durable plastic and medal materials
Easy to install
Easy to adjust

The Bad:

Although light weight in comparison to most chain guides, it is still 3 times heavier than the lightest 1x10/11 option.
Solid plastic guide requires you to break the chain in order to install and remove from the bike.

Overall Review: Purchased my e*thirteen XCX chainguide 8 months ago for my Santa Cruz Nomad. After doing quite a bit of research, I figured this was the best weight/strength/price option at the time. Here are my impressions Installation and fit Installing the chainguide was pretty straight forward. A variety of spacers came with it so I was able to get the perfect fit for all of my gears. e*thirteen did an excellent job in spacing out the width of the guard. I am able to go completely through the 11 gears of my Sram XO1 11 speed cassette without any rubbing. The plastic and metal used in this guard are nothing but the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

Wellgo MG-1 Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Great value if on sale”

C138_90051470_1266802904

The Good:

Light weight
High quality bearings
Decent grip and size of platform
Awesome bang for your buck if looking for a new, high quality pedal but on a budget.

The Bad:

Magnesium is lighter weight than other metals but is also more likely to dent, bend, or break

Overall Review: These pedals came with my 2015 Trek Session and after a few months of riding, here are my impressions. Dimensions In terms of platform pedals, the Wellgo MG-1 doesn't compromise on size. Although they aren't huge like the Spank Oozy Trail Pedal (110mm x 110mm), they certainly aren't small either. Measuring in at 96mm x 93mm, I felt like my size US 12 shoe didn't have any attachment issues while even on the roughest of terrain. Owning a pair of Canfield Crampon Ultimates, I have become accustomed to ultra thin (6mm) pedals. The Wellgo MG-1 have a average thickness to them at about 22mm. Given the fact that I prefer a thinner Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

Park Tool Professional Wheel Truing Stand

Featured Review

“Pretty much the best money can buy.”

C138_parktool_ts_2_inuse_08_m

The Good:

Strong, high quality build
Plenty of useful accessories
You'll never spend money to get your wheels trued again!

The Bad:

$250 is a lot to spend at first, but I promise it's worth it.

Overall Review: Everybody has one on their shop related tool wish-list but it’s usually the last thing anyone actually buys. At least that was the case for me when I purchased my Park Tool TS-2.2 truing stand. Spending $250 on something that only makes your wheels straight is something difficult to justify until a bike shop charges you $12-$20 per wheel to do it. I’m not trying to persuade anyone from supporting their local bike shops but why feed a man one meal when you can teach him to fish? Justifying that I would most likely spend far more than $250 on wheel trues, I manned up and bought the TS-2.2. Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

Park Tool Parktool Professional Micro-Adjust Clamp

Featured Review

“ The easiest and most durable clamp on the market”

C138_tl278j00_25d

The Good:

Micro adjustability for infinite clamping strength
Phenomenal Cam Action Clamp design
Durable and built to last
Narrow Clamp width
Huge range of clamping shapes and size.

The Bad:

Absolutely Nothing

Overall Review: The Park Tool 100-25D Clamp came on a PRS-25 stand I purchased over a year ago. Although I have been very impressed with the stand itself, I think I am even more impressed with this clamp that came with it. Owning several stands from different companies, there were some things I likes and some things I absolutely disliked about the previous ones. After using the 100-25D clamp, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to something less superior. First impressions The Micro Adjust Clamp is an absolute game changer. It’s super easy to use and offers great control on how tight it will Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

Park Tool Team Issue Stand - PRS25

Featured Review

“ THE stand to have for any serious cyclist.”

C138_park_tool_team_issue_stand_prs25

The Good:

Huge adjustability
Phenomenal Clamp design
Durable and Stable
Light Weight and folds up next to nothing
Has tons of accessories that integrate into the stand

The Bad:

Very expensive.
Doesn’t come with Traveling bag.

Overall Review: After owning several middle grade bike stands over the years, I finally decided to man-up and purchase the Park Tool PRS-25 Team Issue Repair stand. After my wallet had a few months to recuperate, I can say that this is one of the best decisions I’ve made, tool wise. (Note: JensonUSA is currently listing this stand at 10% off) Upon initial use, I was surprised how easy the stand was to erect and put away. The clamps are very easy to use and the tubing seams to glide almost effortlessly. Now, after over a year of use, I can gladly say the tubing glide just as smooth as the first day I bought it. I was Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 52

2016 Canyon Spectral CF 9.0 EX

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Canyon Spectral CF 9.0 EX”

C138_2016_canyon_spectral_cf_9.0_ex_bike
Reviewed by Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Lear Miller In the last few years, Germany-based Canyon has jumped from relative obscurity to one of the foremost players in direct sales of high-end bicycles. Mountain, road, kids, city... They've got it all, and while not available in the USA just yet, they're on the way soon. The Spectral CF 9.0 EX stands out as one of the biggest bang for the buck specs you can find anywhere. At just 4199, the bike has a smattering of most rider's dream parts, all put onto a 140mm travel carbon frame with angles tailor-made for charging. We put it to the test during the 2016 Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

2016 Trek Fuel EX 9 29

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Trek Fuel EX 9 29”

C138_2016_trek_fuel_ex_9_29
Reviewed by AJ Barlas and Fred Robinson // Photos by Lear Miller Trek's Fuel EX range of bikes are aimed at the honest trail rider - those looking for a quality, fun bike that can handle a good variety of trails, but not necessarily something for super rowdy terrain. We previously tested the Fuel EX 27.5, so it was fun to jump aboard the bigger wheeled brother and see how it compared. For 2016, the Fuel EX 29 sees several changes for the better - it's slacker, offers adjustable geometry, has shorter chainstays thanks to the new Boost rear axle standard, and the rear shock has been updated to no longer feature Trek's DRCV. This Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

Featured Review

“Flat and narrow with good flex in the shell”

C138_wtb_silverado_team_saddle

The Good:

Narrow and long profile promotes changing positions while riding. Doesn't catch shorts, and has softer foam with a conforming shell to be a very comfortable saddle.

The Bad:

Slightly flexible rails.

Overall Review: Looking for a replacement for a worn out WTB Laser V, I mounted up a WTB Silverado Team to my dropper and never looked back. It's slender profile provides an long area to sit allowing the rider to slide up on the saddle for those steep climbing efforts. When descending, the narrow rear of the saddle stays out of the way and is round enough to not catch your shorts. The foam is of a lower density of some of their other models which I found to work well in conjunction with it's firm, but compliant shell. The saddle cover itself is a leather replacement kind of material that offers enough grip for you to maintain your Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39385/avatar/c50_Fall_Bike_8_1455598960.jpg?1455598852 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/setup 3