Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FOX DHX RC4 Rear Shock

“Best Rear Shock I have owned to date!”

C138_97854910_1265256421

The Good:

Smooth.
Easy to tune.
Amazing Damping.

The Bad:

Only that it took me soo long to wake up and buy one.

Overall Review: The Fox DHX RC4 is the third shock that I have run on my current rig. And let me start byapologizingto my bike for not buying this shock right away. Okay, so for the experiences. As soon as I installed it, Ipromptlytook this shock up to one of my favorite trails. The trail has somegnarlyrock sections, with some nice big drops too. Perfect for tuning. I had found and copied the Fox tuning guide for the RC4, and found their instructions and suggestions perfect for helping me quickly and accurately fine tune the settings. After about an hour, I had my rear shock dialed in to perfection. The RC4 takes all the hits I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 26 57 8 1

RockShox Lyrik RC2DH Solo Air Fork

“Tougher than You think”

C138_54590

The Good:

-Light for 170mm of travel
-Dual flow Rebound
-High and Low speed compression adjust.
-Tough

The Bad:

-Could be smoother.

Overall Review: I rode my Rockshox Lyrik RC2 DH Solo Air for all of last season. I love to catch air and tackle technical terrain, and took everyopportunityto hit lots of both while tuning in the damping. I did a lot of playing around with setting on this fork, which thankfully is made easier by the little turtle and jack-alope icons. Maybe it's just the way I think, but I found Rockshox's tuning tips to be of little help, so ittook me quite a while to find my settings. Once I found my settings however, I felt a lot more comfortable on the bike. The one thing that i couldn't overcome was the slightly sticky feeling Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 26 57 8 1

2013 Giant Reign 2 Bike

“Truly a do it all bike”

C138_2013_reign_2

The Good:

Very Pedal efficient Jumps good. Feels like a little DH bike coming down. Drifts surprisingly steady. Comfortable for long climbs. As I ride in Ashland, OR we have a lot of fun descents but they take a lot of work to get up to.

The Bad:

Nothing, This bike is a slayer

Overall Review: Upon purchasing this I immediately changed a few parts out : Chainguide, Straightline Pedals, Shimano XT Brakes, Super Short Stem, Race Face Atlas Freeride Bars (uncut). After riding with these upgrades I have no desire to change out anything else. Even these tires are pretty dope and are predictable. I also ride a 2007 Santa Cruz V10, and I set to replace my 2007 GT iDrive 5 3.0 with this Reign. I still have my V10 but the more I ride this Reign the more I love it. I can pedal all day long and still flick and throw cutties around with the Reign. Super Fun Bike. I am really impressed of the downhill capability this has. Of course Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lukaszkrolak
7285 lukaszkrolak http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/7285/avatar/c50_001.jpg?1300557185 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lukaszkrolak,7285/all 03/19/11 1 1 1

2013 Commencal Meta SX1

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Commencal Meta SX 1”

C138_meta_sx1_013
Reviewed by Matt Thompson and Jess Pedersen // Written by Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman When Commencal first reintroduced the Meta range in 2011, they did so with the aggressive rider in mind. Slack head angles, low bottom brackets, roomier top tubes and a fresh suspension linkage system made the bikes stand out. One year later Commencal pushed things even further down the aggressive path with the Meta SX. Now for 2013, they've refined the bike's parts list once more, making it ready to tackle the gnarliest of descents right out of the box. In fact, with its 66-degree head angle and 160mm of Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5848 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 258 1112 2086 125 39

Hayes Stroker Ace Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Simple and Strong”

C138_101986000_1267170639

The Good:

4-piston calipers. Great power. Lever adjustment.

The Bad:

No modulation. Lacks contact adjustment.

Overall Review: This is the start of my third season with the same Hayes Stroker Ace brakes. Since purchasing them they have run countless miles of downhill trails, jumps and attempts to get some street tricks on. These are the strongest breaks I have run to date, often allowing me to wait until the lastmomentbefore making a quicksqueezeon the lever the achieve my desired speed. These brakes make me feel faster than other breaks I have run. With four pistons, and a large pad, these things are born for long descents. However, the technology of Hayes gravity brakes is falling behind. Almost every other company sells brakes with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 26 57 8 1

RockShox Totem RC2 DH Solo Air Fork

Featured Review

“Totem - the king of long travel single crowns”

C138_fs_totm_rc2dh_sa180_wht_t._1

The Good:

Tuneable, Easy to Service, Plush, Stiff, Reliable

The Bad:

Heavy? (hardly...), Expensive

Overall Review: This is the second Totem RC2DH Solo Air I've owned. I loved my last one so much, there was no way I was getting anything else. Here are my thoughts: THE GOOD: Tuneable - This fork has all the adjustments I could ask for, all external so they're easy to use. They improved the external compression adjustments on the current version (I've got a 2012), so they're even easier than previous versions. I can easily turn the knobs with gloves on, so they're easy to dial in during rides. I really appreciated this because this the fork is on my 2012 Giant Faith, and I use that thing for a lot of different types Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vogankhadafi
14101 vogankhadafi http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14101/avatar/c50_CSC1922.jpg?1331755979 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vogankhadafi,14101/all 03/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vogankhadafi,14101/setup 1 22 1

Manitou Dorado Expert Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: Manitou Dorado Expert - A Worthy Contender”

C138_manitou_dorado_expert_adjustments
Review by Sean “Griz” McClendon // Photos by Brandon Turman Manitou has been in the mountain bike suspension game for over 20-years. During the last decade, Hayes Bicycle Group (now Hayes Components) acquired Manitou, and in 2010, under new ownership, Manitou launched a completely redesigned version of the Dorado. Boasting larger stanchions, an improved chassis, new internals, and a new air system, the latest design has improved across the board. When first reintroduced, the 2010 Dorado was only available in the uber expensive carbon variety. Later in the year they released an aluminum Dorado Pro version at $1600. Now for Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

iXS Slope-SeriesEVO Knee Pad

“Pads that you will forget, in a good way.”

C138_slope_knee_black_front

The Good:

Great protection. Amazing comfort. Large range of sizes.

The Bad:

I can't think of any.

Overall Review: Amazing.Incredible. Awesome. I hope iXS never stops making the SlopeEVO knee pads. I have worn knee pads for the last 10 years, butuntiliboughtthe SlopeEVO pads, I was always bugged by them. Never before could I wear pad the whole day without feeling relived the moment I took the pads off.With the SlopeEVO pads, I can wear them all day. Plus the stay in place, which no other pads have ever done for me. I think this is do to the larger range of sizes available from iXS. Other pads had me choosing between too big or too small, but these pads are a perfect fit for my rather chicken like legs. I am also pleased to Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 26 57 8 1

iXS Phobos-Anchor Full Face Helmet

“Well built with nice looks.”

C138_phobos_anchor_grey_1

The Good:

Solid performance, good venting and great looks. Great Price

The Bad:

Fit is more snug than other helmets I've had. D-ring is annoying.

Overall Review: For the past season and a half I have been wearing the iXS Phobos helmet. I chose the helmet based on the bright colors and great price that they are available in. I'm a huge fan of bright colors, and iXS delivered an amazing looking helmet with the Phopos. While I haven't had many crashes to my head, I can think of one particular crash that sent me face first into the dirt. My mouth was full of the brown stuff, but there was absolutely no injury to worry about. The Phobos took the hit like a champ, protecting my head, while only suffering a small, cosmetic crack on the visor. This helmet would be perfect IF it Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 26 57 8 1

Easton EC70 Trail 26-inch Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Easton EC70 Trail Wheelset - Carbon for the Masses”

C138_ec7026
by Nick Zuzelski Carbon wheels are all the rage as of the past few seasons, but with their high cost, it's still a commodity seen more often on factory pro level bikes and in the wish lists of your everyday rider. Easton kept that in mind while creating the all new EC70 Trail Wheelset, trying to come up with a new price point offering for the trail riding enthusiast. I've been putting these wheels through some all-mountain abuse the past few months and it's time to fill you in on how they've performed. EC70 Trail Highlights The EC70s roll on Easton's proven M1 hubs. Featuring 24 straight-pull double-butted Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 22