Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert EVO Bike

“great trail bike”

C138_sj_fsr_expert_enduro

The Good:

pedals uphill as well is it descends. more slack head tube makes it downhill really well. dropper post is nice (not the best but it works)

The Bad:

fox fork isn't great. i can't get full travel out of it. pretty bad vibration out of the back from the brake.

Overall Review: overall impression of the bike is awesome in my opinion. on the trail the bike feels awesome. steep downhill and steep uphill is when the bike finds its limits (as with most AM bikes) one of the best trail bikes i've ridden
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lucashass
350 lucashass http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/350/avatar/c50_92619000_1251586792.jpg?1290150621 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lucashass,350/all 08/04/09 16 5 1 8 1

ODI Lock-On Grip - Rogue

“The best grip there is”

C138_gr707a07

The Good:

Super tacky/grippy, great for anything

The Bad:

Slightly thick

Overall Review: These are the best grips out there, nothing else comes close. They are super sticky and ride perfect with gloves on, they are the best grip around.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

ODI Ruffian Lock-On Grips

“Grippy grips”

C138_97908500_1265402651

The Good:

Great grips, thin profile

The Bad:

Wear out fast

Overall Review: Don't last very long but they are incredible while they do, you can just buy the grip after you have the lock rings.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

Pro-Tec Classic Helmet

“Good cheap option”

C138_31874

The Good:

Fits well, stays tight

The Bad:

Hot, nothing else

Overall Review: Not many vents so it gets hot but other then that its a great budget option, with lots of color options.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

Kenda K-Rad Tire

“Incredible street tire”

C138_ti401c03

The Good:

Good grip, wears good, light, rolls good, good price

The Bad:

Maybe not as good on dirt as some others

Overall Review: Overall great tire, no complaints, rolls good and is priced extremely well.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

Crank Brothers Multi 17 Tool

“All the Essentials”

C138_tl265j04

The Good:

Has everything you might need

The Bad:

Tad bit heavy but you would need to have all these tools anyway...

Overall Review: Great product, I have been using it for years with no issues, perfect to slip in your pocket on a short ride or throw int he pack for longer rides. Has all the tools you would ever need.

2013 GT Force 3.0 Bike

“Incredible trail bike”

C138_bike_gt_force_3.0

The Good:

Bike has great trail geometry, good components for the price, and rides amazing

The Bad:

A little squeaky, but nothing a little grease and some time won't fix, some what complicated suspension linkage

Overall Review: This bike has awesome trail geometry, is pretty light for its size/purpose, has good components for the price. I pretty much listed everything in the pros/cons. This isĀ  a much better bike then the older Kona Coiler i was riding before and is much lighter.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Uncoiled
23979 Uncoiled /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Uncoiled,23979/all 04/30/13 1 6

2013 Cannondale Scalpel 29er 4 Bike

“A Great Budget-Friendly XC Bike”

C138_2013_cannondale_scalpel_29er_4

The Good:

Compact XC geometry results in very snappy acceleration and handling. On smooth, flowy trails this bike really shines with its sharp handling. 29" wheels means the bike keeps its momentum going over the rough stuff and its lightning fast! 685mm handlebar and 90mm stem proved ideal for XC, although not too much for more aggro riding.

The Bad:

Avid Elixir 3 brakes are not too great. Swapping to Shimano SLX brakes has greatly increased power and modulation. Stock tires are too slick for proper trai riding, but most people will swap the tires out anyways.

Overall Review: Budget-friendly XC bike with fast acceleration, lightning speed, snappy handling and an ideal cockpit. Big wheels steamroller over over trail obstacle and it retains speed very well. Stock tires and brakes are not very spotlight worthy, but it can be swapped out quickly. Overall, it is a great XC bike for beginners.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Tsetse
23958 Tsetse /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Tsetse,23958/all 04/29/13 32 4

2013 Kona Taro Bike

“Great all around bike at a decent price”

C138_2013_kona_taro

The Good:

The fork, chainguide, and frame are all quality parts, it is a very stable, durable machine

The Bad:

I wish it had orizontal dropouts for SS conversion, the rear hub isnt very strong

Overall Review: I really enjoy this bike; I am in my mid twenty's and I wanted to get a bike that could go up and down hills. I started riding 3 and a half years ago on a dirt jumper, then got a free ride/ dh bike, and this completes my fleet. I love this bike for XC and light free ride. The fork is amazing, I have yet to completely bottom out and have hit a 25 foot trail gap on this thing. I am pretty rough on my equipment and it has stood up superbly. It was at a great price for me, I wanted a fun bike that was on the cheaper side (I am in college and I work part time, I had to save up over many months to purchase it). I have since added different Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member John_Bamford
15626 John_Bamford http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/15626/avatar/c50_Up_the_trail_1411573143.jpg?1411572301 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/John-Bamford,15626/all 05/26/12 20 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/John-Bamford,15626/setup 2 16 1

2012 Transition Covert 1 Bike

“2010 Transition Covert”

C138_covertv3_1

The Good:

Solid frame, great angles, solid spec

The Bad:

The paint chops too easily.

Overall Review: The Covert has a single pivot linkage driven suspension that feels plush over the rough stuff and helps the bike remain steady at high speeds. I frequently ride this bike on "DH" trails at Sandy Ridge and Cold Creek Mountain Bike area and feel like I can go balls out over the steep, rocky and rooty terrain and am able to pedal through the flat sections. The bike also pedals uphill pretty well. It's no XC rocket but it feels comfortable and sure footed when it's time to start earning the turns. 3.5 mile climb to the top of the DH? OK. All day trail ride? Count me in. Drops and jumps? Yes, please. My bike came with a 36 TALAS RLC Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ripdogg1
9606 ripdogg1 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9606/avatar/c50_ugle.jpg?1363235203 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ripdogg1,9606/all 07/12/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ripdogg1,9606/setup 10 19 2