Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 Yeti SB66 Carbon Race

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Yeti SB66 Carbon”

C138_2013_yeti_sb_66_c_carbon_torq
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman Meet the SB66. That's code name for Yeti's"Super Bike" with 26-inch wheels and 6-inches of travel. Why is it super? Because it's built to do it all, and to do it well. As proof of this bike's all-around super-ness, Yeti-stud Joey Schusler used it to race four different types of races over a single weekend. Dual slalom, downhill, cross-country and short track, all on one bike. And he crushed it. Inspired by Joey's results and a love for all things from Colorado, we called up the boys at Yeti for a chance to give the SB66 Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

2011 Intense 951 Bike

“Really Good Bike”

C138_new951_drv_sm

The Good:

This bike all around has a pretty simple geometry to understand. Stock it comes with okay components but if you decided to upgrade the bike, it is one of those bikes that turns out to look beautiful. The geometry is really noticeable on the trail making it smoother than other bikes. The Head angel is pretty steep looking and there is also a screw which you switch down on the rear shock mount that changes the bikes geometry by a few degrees, this is really helpful and noticeable when you are free-riding and jumping. The bike feels pretty solid and is set up pretty well. It is hand made which is cool to say and also it is made in California, The bikes looks great and feels great. AND also is supper light weight.

The Bad:

Some of the bads are hard to think of, but i have noticed a few things. Well one of them is that the bike makes a creaking sound which is concerning to me but i don't think it is anything major. Also it scratches really easy.

Overall Review: Overall the bike is very good, i love it and it is the best bike that i have owned yet. I wouldrecommend the bike to anyone and would make a project bike out of it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dhmbtrider
22909 dhmbtrider http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22909/avatar/c50_IMG_20130113_213326_1363727012.jpg?1363726889 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhmbtrider,22909/all 03/19/13 1 22 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhmbtrider,22909/setup 5 1

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc Brake

“Reliable & easy to fix...”

C138_2012_bb7_mountaintm_mechanical_disk_brake_large_en

The Good:

Easy to maintain & reliable at a fair price.

The Bad:

Got no complaints.

Overall Review: Easy to fix or adjust on the spot & very affordable. My preferred mechanicals.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Deity Cinch Seatpost Collar

“It's a cinch!!!”

C138_deity_cinch

The Good:

Stylish, light, durable & all around good looking.

The Bad:

Wish the offered a quick release model & blue.

Overall Review: Adds a nice looking touch to the usual blah area of the bike.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Deity Emblem Plugs

“Worth it!!!”

C138_100259010_1278699124

The Good:

Nice graphics, extremely affordable & they take the punishment. Won't buy anything else.

The Bad:

No complaints.

Overall Review: I've owned a number of end caps over the years & found Deity's to be the best for the price.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Pro-Tec Classic Helmet

“Can't complain....”

C138_31874

The Good:

Easily modified to fit just right & works. I use this helmets for mellow days on the trails or test runs while building.

The Bad:

No complaints.

Overall Review: Fair priced & reliable.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Deity Topsoil Handlebar

“Number 1 in my book!!!”

C138_deity_topsoil_1

The Good:

Owned a number of these bars & wouldn't ride anything else. Great quality, great colors, wide, durable & great looking.

The Bad:

No complaints. Alot of folks i know wish they had them in blue...

Overall Review: Good looking & functional, Deity bars are right up there with everything else they make, GREAT!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Kenda Nevegal Tire

“Grip like a pit bull!!!!”

C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

The Good:

Durable, sticky, great in corners & priced fair. I run 2.1's front & rear on packed freeride trails covered in pine needles & oak leaves or on clay dirt jumps, I have no complaints.

The Bad:

Wish they had a little more profile, but other than that, I enjoy them.

Overall Review: Great, long lasting tires with some good dirt slinging knobs & lots of traction when you need it.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Kenda K-Rad Tire

“Grrrreat!!!!!”

C138_ti401c03

The Good:

Durable, look good & priced fair.

The Bad:

Can't complain at all.

Overall Review: I use these tires as my street tires. They're grippy & I like them. Alot. Can't beat them for the price.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Black Market Killswitch Frame

“Worth it!!!”

C138_127726710_1287688570

The Good:

Love the hammer link design. Easily accessible shock mounts & linkage area. Stylish. Easy to throw around & extremely functional.

The Bad:

Could use a little more travel or another area to mount a slightly bigger shock. Was told I need a medium, but would like to have checked out a large to see how it feels. Needs adjustable drop outs w/a tensioner.

Overall Review: Handles everything you throw at it like a champ. Responsive & stylish. I can't complain. I've put it to the test & couldn't be happier. Great looking & great riding. Highly suggested.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23