Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Continental Der Baron DH Tire

“Super grippy, take any abuse”

C138_62971

The Good:

Last way longer than most tyres i've used. Super grippy. No problems so far.

The Bad:

I haven't had any problems besides the little nipple things from when the tyre is new staying on for so long it makes you look like you don't lean in when you turn but who cares about that.

Overall Review: - Love the tyres, so grippy - Last for ages. Took 2 weeks of solid riding day after day on a rocky track and are still going. - Do pretty much any terrain. really good in the mud too
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member luke.z
20213 luke.z http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/20213/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000106834290.jpg?1354611723 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/luke-z,20213/all 12/04/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/luke-z,20213/setup 1 1

Maxxis Wet Scream DH Tire

“Brilliant for layers of mud”

C138_4619

The Good:

Makes riding in slick mud feel as if you are riding on tacky dirt.

The Bad:

Only usable in really muddy conditions. Rolls slowly on anything not super muddy.

Overall Review: I have only ridden three runs on Wet Screams but those three runs were like day and night compared to my previous runs. It was the first NWcup.com race of the season and it had been raining all week and kept raining Friday and Saturday. After three runs on Saturday where I hadcontinuously let air out of my tires I finally put a Wet Scream on my front and that made all the difference. Suddenly I could hit my lines and control my bike. I was no longer holding on for dear life but actually having fun.

MRP G3 Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: MRP G3 Chainguide - Easy Chain Management”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon
Reviewed by Evan Turpen // Photos by Brandon Turman The technology and design of chainguides has come a long way over the last decade. With so many similar looking designs out there, how did MRP manage to come out with a new and unique guide with features unlike the rest? Read on to find out‚Ķ G3 Chainguide Highlights Available in "Mini" 32-36 tooth and "Mega" 36-40 tooth sizing Alloy or carbon backplate options One-piece integrated bash guard and lower guide Glass-filled nylon used for upper and lower guides, which is more resistant to deterioration from chain lubes Swingset, G-Slide, and Quietring features ISCG, ISCG-05, and BB Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

Maxxis Holy Roller Tire

“PNW Winter tire”

C138_11545

The Good:

Rolls fast
Good grip

The Bad:

I don't have anything bad to say

Overall Review: This is my rear tire on my Santacruz nomad. I ride in the Pacific North West and ride all year. I used to have a high roller as my rear tire but I felt it rolled to slowly. This tire is faster and I have not had problems with traction. Even in mud or on wet roots.

Spank Spike 35AL EVO Rim

“Excellent Rims”

C138_132047130_1289406051

The Good:

width, strength, weight, price, looks

The Bad:

nothing...............

Overall Review: i've been using spank spike evo 35al rims for over 6 months now. had them built with hope pro2 hubs and dtswiss competition spokes. love the width. i think it adds to tire performance as i use these rims. i've used these on dh tracks, pump tracks, dj tracks, urban riding, and general trail riding. i weigh about 185 lbs and so far, these rims have held up fine. wheels are still true to this day. i have nothing to complain about in terms of performance. these rims are also beautiful - spankin beautiful! i have the blue ones.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member sysdev1
20064 sysdev1 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/sysdev1,20064/all 11/26/12 1 21 47 1

Maxxis Holy Roller Tire

“Maxxis did a amazing job.”

C138_11545

The Good:

Everything is good about these.... Dirt Jumps, Skate Park, Street, and Slope. Amazing tires.

The Bad:

Nothing bad at all.

Overall Review: These tires are so good.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member osborne1031
21183 osborne1031 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/21183/avatar/c50_IMG_3641_1418009049.jpg?1418008336 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/all 01/24/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/setup 1 1 6 6

Kenda Small Block 8 Tire

Featured Member Review

“Perfect Racing Tire”

C138_ti402a00

The Good:

The SB8 has 8 very small knobs running laterally through the tire. These tires are very fast and still quite grippy on hard pack trails and dirt jumps. Low rolling mass and resistance means you can accelerate significantly faster and it can shave a good half pound of your bike. It is also tubeless compatible! The middle knobs are made of a hard rubber compound which enables them to roll fast and wear well. The side knobs are made from a softer compound for better grip.

The Bad:

These tires are only ideal for XC use on hard pack to medium trails. For a trail bike its good to have it as a rear tire, but its too slick for use as a front tire. A good combo for good grip and fast acceleration would be a SM8 on the back and a Nevegal on the front.

Overall Review: Overall, these are the ultimate tires for hot summer days riding fast, flowy hardpack trails. Fast acceleration, low weight combined with controlled grip on smooth trails will convert your bike into a singletrack screamer. They are also good value and wear slowly so its a worthwhile investment. Definitely a tire to recommend for those seeking some fast tires to race on or just mess around on the local trails.
Rate review: -2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Tsetse
23958 Tsetse /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Tsetse,23958/all 04/29/13 32 4

Maxxis Minion DHF Tire

“Best front tire out there”

C138_91984270_1266959536

The Good:

The tire is amazing at cornering. The side nobs dig in and stick. It is fast rolling and they last quite a long time. It performs great in almost all conditions and it inspires confidence.

The Bad:

My 2.5 with 3c is pretty heavy. I have also they corner great as a back tire but are a bit sketchy when it comes to braking.

Overall Review: The minion dhf is probably the best front tire out there. nuff said.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Brian Cahal
24007 Brian Cahal http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24007/avatar/c50_08650020_1433348955.jpg?1433348739 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Brian-Cahal,24007/all 04/30/13 1 1 5 2

Maxxis High Roller Tire

“Good all round dh/am tire”

C138_89841590_1266960014

The Good:

I have the 2.5 version in the 3c compound and I run it as a back tire. It is a great all round tire that can handle almost anything you throw at it. The tire is very predictable and performs well in almost all conditions. It is pretty fast rolling and it leaves me not worrying about my back tire because it does its job.

The Bad:

Like I said I have the 2.5 with the 3c compound. This version is very heavy and leaves me wanting some lighter tires. If you are using it for DH I would go with the 2.35 for the rear end. The 3c compound was supposed to offer the best grip while still having it last a long time. I have run through these tires extremely fast and since they are pretty expensive I might start to consider moving to another rear tire.

Overall Review: They perform as an all round all mountain/ dh tire and they inspire confidence. However the version I have is extremely heavy and they wear out very fast plus they are pretty expensive.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Brian Cahal
24007 Brian Cahal http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24007/avatar/c50_08650020_1433348955.jpg?1433348739 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Brian-Cahal,24007/all 04/30/13 1 1 5 2

Kali Protectives Avatar Full Face Helmet

“This helmet is amazing!”

C138_94999560_1273171789

The Good:

Super light. Extra pads come with it. It doesn't look enormous on your head like some of the other helmets out there.

The Bad:

Protects my head too well, now I don't have an excuse to get out of work...

Overall Review: I have had 2 pretty bad crashes with this helmet now, and it has protected my melon perfectly both times. Also, usually with really bad crashes the helmet will crack and you have to replace it, but this one is showing no signs of that. I love how light it is, it doesn't feel like you have a 15 pound lead weight wrapped around your head. It also doesn't make your head look like it's 2X bigger than your body, which really bothered me about other helmets. This helmet will not let you down!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member reptar
24211 reptar http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24211/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1723312942_1368043021.jpg?1368042201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/reptar,24211/all 05/08/13 6