Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Giro Remedy CF Full Face Helmet

“Excellent Helmet, poor sizing”

C138_giro_remedy_cf

The Good:

Has all you need, for a good price.

The Bad:

What if your not small medium or large?

Overall Review: I am a bit of a baller on a budget, and after riding non carbon for 4 years i decided to upgrade, and immediately decided on the Remedy because of its iconic image. So many people have ridden the remedy and for good reason, its light, durable, and breathes quite well. I have had some long days with this on my head, and its the type of helmet you dont feel the need to take off going up every run. Also for me, the clip is much better than the D loop, i find that a hassle and the clip is all you need to keep it on. Also great fit for a wide range of goggles. The only issue i have with this helmet is the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member PaulsBikeFlies
21431 PaulsBikeFlies http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/21431/avatar/c50_Photo_on_12_09_19_at_7.48_PM_3.jpg?1360083457 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/PaulsBikeFlies,21431/all 02/05/13 10 1

2013 Giant Trance X 29er 2 Bike

“Climbing and decending machine”

C138_2013_trance_x_29er_2

The Good:

Climbs like a beast, descends like beast, comfortable geometry, solid stock tires, cheap price point.

The Bad:

stock wheels are heavy, x7 front derailleur is shit and x5 rear isn't much better

Overall Review: I want to start off by saying that if you are looking for a bike that will do everything at under $2000 this is the bike for you. I have had this bike for 7 months now and have about 600 hard miles on it. I have had only one issue and that was the x7 front derailleur getting so out of whack it had to be replaced, but sram sent me a new upgraded x7 model for free and I haven't had a problem since. As for the riding experience this bike provides, it will do equally as well on a long steep climb as it will on a easier DH trail. I have ridden everything from the slick rock of Sedona and Moab to the high alpine trails of Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FlagAZrider
24151 FlagAZrider http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24151/avatar/c50_20121205_130717_1367871455.jpg?1367871366 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FlagAZrider,24151/all 05/06/13 1

2013 Specialized P.26 AM Bike

“Sweet Bike!”

C138_81e9_12_p_26_am_grn_pur

The Good:

The forks are pretty dialed along with most of the bike.

The Bad:

The only few things I'm not impressed with is the wheels. I have had some hub issues but I also have to factor in the amount of use and just need to keep things adjusted and same with the headset. The tires I have crashed on from sketchy traction for skatepark use but other than that its an amazing bike.

Overall Review: This bike is seriously a beast. I love it. For being a taller rider the front of the bike is a little short. But with bars and a stem and eventually a fork upgrade it will be 10x more dialed. I would highly recommend this bike :D
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member osborne1031
21183 osborne1031 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/21183/avatar/c50_IMG_3641_1418009049.jpg?1418008336 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/all 01/24/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/setup 1 1 6 6

2013 Cannondale Jekyll MX

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Cannondale Jekyll MX”

C138_2013_cannondale_jekyll_mx
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman Introduced in 2011, the Cannondale Jekyll has a very fitting name given its two-sided personality. With the flip of a switch, the custom DYAD RT2 pull shock transforms the ride from a 150mm travel bump gobbling machine to one with just 90mm of rear travel and steeper angles ready to haul you back to the top for another run. Of the five models in the Jekyll lineup, the Jekyll MX was most inspired by the builds used by Cannondale's professional OverMountain enduro race squad and is the burliest of them all. Ready to rally, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

2013 Specialized P.26 AM Bike

“Great Starter Bike”

C138_81e9_12_p_26_am_grn_pur

The Good:

I have been using this bike for about 5 months now and has only brought fun the Fork is great and the tires work well on Trials and Parks but i mostly use it on dirt tho but they work great for both and the frame is awesome frame its the p.2 frame i love the bike!

The Bad:

The only thing iffy about this bike is the brakes they are not working that well they cut in and out when stopping. But most of the time they work fine. Cant complain for a only $850 bike.

Overall Review: This bike a great overall starter tointermediate bikebut i plan on upgrading the breaks and bars and stem but once i get those upgrades this will be the perfect bike! I would highly recommend this bike to my friends and anyone with a passion for dirt jumping.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTB_Jacob
24084 MTB_Jacob http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24084/avatar/c50_photo_1367629411.jpg?1367629290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTB-Jacob,24084/all 05/03/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTB-Jacob,24084/setup 3 3 2 1

Fly Racing Default Full Face Helmet

Vital Review

“TESTED: FLY Default Helmet - Affordable Protection”

C138_fly_default_product_image
Review by Johan Hjord // Images by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Established in 1996, FLY Racing began as a manufacturer of motorcycle handlebars and helmets, and they remain heavily focused on powersports to this day. They offer a broad catalogue covering everything from riding apparel to protection and even grips and handlebars, and the company counts a few high profile Supercross riders on its roster – Trey Canard and Andrew Short both ride for the brand. More recently, FLY introduced a mountain bike specific range of products, and we were keen to lay our hands on their bike-specific full face helmet to see how it Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 62 723 1747 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 46 288 3465 81 27

2013 Trek Fuel EX 9.8

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Trek Fuel EX 9.8”

C138_2013_trek_fuel_ex_9.8
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman From its creation, the Fuel EX has been the "go-to trail bike" in Trek's lineup. They say it's for the rider that "can't decide between a rugged, capable long-travel trail bike or a nimble, lively XC bike." That's a big slot to fill, especially for a bike with just 130mm of travel and a 68-degree head angle. Curious if it really could meet the needs of both ends of the spectrum, we had the boys from Wisconsin send out a recently updated Fuel EX 9.8 for our 2013 Test Sessions in Southern Utah. Fuel EX 9.8 Highlights OCLV Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

Chromag Trailmaster DT Saddle

“2012 Chromag Trailmaster DT”

C138_90485080_1273303466

The Good:

Light and Durable

The Bad:

Can be uncomfortable

Overall Review: The seat is light and very durable due to the kevlar corners. The color I got was green which I like but I wish there were more color options also the seat can be a bit uncomfortable. The balance between comfort and weight is almost perfect as far as I'm concerned. Overall this is a great seat.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Alex W.
19725 Alex W. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19725/avatar/c50_chromag_logo_k_copy_1367518953.jpg?1367518295 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/all 11/09/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/setup 6 4

2011 Cove Shocker Bike

“Best Bike I Ever Owned...”

C138_cove_shocker_2011

The Good:

Almost everything. Awesome bike!

The Bad:

There was nowhere to review the 2010 model, which I had, so I'm reviewing here. My only beef was the short seatpost, but that has been amended in this model.

Overall Review: Best bike I've ever owned. Bought a frame and built it up. Great bike, but had to sell it due tofinancial circumstances and the fact it was a full on race ready bike, and I'm not into racing. I have missed it ever since...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member The Shark
23952 The Shark http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23952/avatar/c50_image_1379566979.jpg?1379566422 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/all 04/28/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/setup 6 4

2013 Ibis Mojo SL-R with XT Build

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Ibis Mojo SL-R”

C138_2013_ibis_mojo_sl_r_grey
Reviewed by Matt Thompson, Steve Wentz, Jess Pedersen, & Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer & Brandon Turman Founded in 1981 in Scot Nicol's garage, Ibis Cycles has a long and rich history in mountain biking, even though they've had to overcome a few bumps along the way. Throughout the years they've developed a number of bikes that are seen as iconic - innovation in the sport and often a welcome breath of fresh air amidst lots of marketing hype. They're a company that builds what they want to ride, and in 2006, that was the Ibis Mojo Carbon - a bike that stood out as the first carbon fiber monocoque all-mountain Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39