Latest Product Reviews

RSS

WTB Nano Tire

“This tire is amazing!”

C138_nano_page

The Good:

Rolls incredibly fast. Super light weight. Hooks up like no other cross country tire I have ever ridden before.

The Bad:

Possibly could be a little wider?

Overall Review: This tire is incredible! I don't think I will ever ride another tire in a cross country race again. For now on if I want something fast rolling that is light, and will hook up, then this will definitely be my tire of choice.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member reptar
24211 reptar http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24211/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1723312942_1368043021.jpg?1368042201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/reptar,24211/all 05/08/13 6

WTB Weirwolf Tire

“Fast rolling hooker”

C138_90309070_1284656194

The Good:

It rolls surprisingly fast for how well it hooks up. Corners amazing in drier conditions.

The Bad:

Tighter knobs make for not so good in the mud.

Overall Review: This is an amazing tire in dry conditions. Will hook up no matter how hard you lean the bike. Don't run it in mud though because it wasn't designed as a mud tire.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member reptar
24211 reptar http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24211/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1723312942_1368043021.jpg?1368042201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/reptar,24211/all 05/08/13 6

WTB Bronson Tire

“Best front tire choice”

C138_ti265a04

The Good:

Hooks up beautifully. Really shows its potential in the mud, or blown out dry conditions.

The Bad:

A little flexy in hard pack conditions.

Overall Review: I use this tire on the front about 80% of the time. It is a great tire and will hook up on anything loose.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member reptar
24211 reptar http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24211/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1723312942_1368043021.jpg?1368042201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/reptar,24211/all 05/08/13 6

WTB Wolverine Tire

“Best all around tire”

C138_88502880_1284656584

The Good:

Rolls very fast, perfect width, has thick rubber on top of the tread for the best flat protection, perfect for drier conditions.

The Bad:

A little on the heavy side, and not the best for wet rocks/roots, but it isn't a wet tire anyway.

Overall Review: When the spring comes, and it gets to dry out a little, I will put this son my bike and leave it all summer. It is predictable, and does exactly what it's supposed to do.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member reptar
24211 reptar http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24211/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1723312942_1368043021.jpg?1368042201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/reptar,24211/all 05/08/13 6

Schwalbe Racing Ralph Evolution Tire

“One hell of a tire”

C138_24524

The Good:

I've been riding with the Racing Ralph (2.1 x 29) for almost 6 month now, and I have to say its a really good tire, I got them in my Giant anthem x 29, and since the first ride i noticed the good grip, of this tires, when climbing it has a really good traction and keeps a fast rolling speed... when it comes to hitting down the trials I was really surprised, they have a really good grip when going down, I've tried them on dusty trails as well in moody ones, and they work really good

The Bad:

Well its hard to find a negative thing about this tires, I will say it might loose grips sometimes in really fast corners, and the wear-out fast.. in the last 6 moth I've changed the back tires twice and the front once ( I ride my bike 6 times a week, around 30km each day)

Overall Review: The Racing Ralph its and excellent all round tire, its will keep the traction while climbing without compromising the grip when you hit the trails....Its probably one of the best tires i've tried I will completely recommended to any one out there... totally recommended to a friend... In addition I can say I've tried otherSchwalbe tires, like the Muddy Mary, in my DH bike and its a REALLY good tire.... thumps up forSchwalbe, keep doing great tires
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member betoc
17431 betoc http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17431/avatar/c50_fb_picture_516018786.jpg?1343615975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/betoc,17431/all 07/29/12 2 1

Banshee Spitfire V2 Frame

Vital Review

“Tested: 2013 Banshee Spitfire V2 - Get Aggressive”

C138_2013_banshee_spitfire_frame
Reviewed by Evan Turpen // Photos by Brandon Turman For the longest time Banshee Bikes were well off my radar. In 2007 I was a professional downhill racer and at the time their products represented heavy, overbuilt, and technologically lacking machines built for the “huckers” amongst us. That all changed in 2008, though, when they introduced the Legend MK1 downhill race bike and their unique approach to new product development. They released 50 frames to a select group of riders, racers, and engineers who all provided feedback that eventually went into the production frames. Banshee then went on to release many other Read More »
Rate review: +9 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

Spank Spike 777FR Bearclaw Signature Series Handlebar

Vital Review

“Tested: Spank Bearclaw Signature Series Bar & Stem”

C138_777fr_bearclaw_signature_bar_blk_wht_detail_15mm
Reviewed by Andy Holloway Where to begin with the Spank Bearclaw Signature Series? How about one word: precision. Spank took the popular Spike 777 EVO handlebars and Spike Race Stem and sprinkled some of the Claw's magic into his Signature Series of Spank components. Bearclaw Signature Series 777FR Handlebar Highlights 31.8mm diameter 15 or 30mm rise 777mm (30.6-inches) width, perfect for that aggressive stance and confidence inspiring at speed. 8-degree backsweep and 4-degree upsweep, placing the bars pretty similar to other big brand’s dimensions. Dual XGT (Extreme Gradual Taper) allows for Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member 970biking
307 970biking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/307/avatar/c50_11110451_10102277742308143_8701777566279777981_n_1435152886.jpg?1435152470 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/970biking,307/all 08/03/09 4 39 12 2149 1 16 1 116 11 10

Bell Drop 2011 Full Face Helmet

“Great! good fit overall just great!!!”

C138_56395

The Good:

it fits great even though i got it a size to big! It's gone through multiple wipeouts and all you can see of them are just a few scratches.... and a broken visor =P

The Bad:

Dont get it ran over by a car.

Overall Review: the bell drop helmet has been great for me even though i had to replace it because it was ran over by a car but other than that it fits great and it hardly hurts when you get slammed into the groung after a wipeout!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dalton.williams.733
24194 dalton.williams.733 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24194/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100002897547614_1367992133.jpg?1367992007 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dalton-williams-733,24194/all 05/07/13 1

Troy Lee Designs D3 Carbon Full Face Helmet

“TLD D3: Outstanding So Far”

C138_tld_d3_carbon_helmet_reflex_yellow

The Good:

- fit is excellent
- shell finish is second to none
- vents pretty well
- liners are comfortable and easy to clean
- extra visor
- safe, safe, safe

The Bad:

- expensive, you get what you pay for I guess
- rubber/foam material around the chin area delaminates easily
- XL/XXL shell is HUGE (preference)

Overall Review: I have been using the D3 pretty much from the get go when I started riding downhill a little over 2 years ago (had 2 other helmets for a couple of months before). I have been on both composite and carbon offerings and immediately I noticed upon picking up the helmets, is weight. I did feel quite a difference, the carbon being a little lighter. I did not put weight as a plus or minus for the helmet because I believe it is quite relative. Guys coming from moto say it is super light, and vice versa for riders coming from XC or AM. Finish is amazing on my Pinstripe blue D3.The helmet looks sick. I can't think Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member boylagz
10336 boylagz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/10336/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1362806695 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/boylagz,10336/all 08/29/11 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/boylagz,10336/setup 20 1

Giro Remedy CF Full Face Helmet

“Great comfortable, protective helmet”

C138_giro_remedy_cf

The Good:

Comfortable (for most heads)
Light
Inexpensive
Protective
Works comfortably with Leatt

The Bad:

Not so bling?

Overall Review: I've been riding remedy helmets for probably 10 years. I just keep picking them up as they can be had relatively cheaply and I know they fit my head.  I've had my fair share of bad wrecks and can't fault the helmet for anything.  It stopped a pointy stick that was headed for my head, and has worked well with my Leatt when I took an awkward OTB head bounce fall.  I've never found it super hot or super cool.  I do take it off on the lift usually.  What can you really say about a helmet?  It is protective, works with my other gear and there are at least some palatable graphics each year.  No one will drool over it like they will a D3 but for half the price, I'm fine with that.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member SuboptimusPrime
8648 SuboptimusPrime http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8648/avatar/c50_winn_lander_2_1396901475.jpg?1396900781 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SuboptimusPrime,8648/all 06/04/11 1 36 5