Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 Cannondale Jekyll MX

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Cannondale Jekyll MX”

C138_2013_cannondale_jekyll_mx
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman Introduced in 2011, the Cannondale Jekyll has a very fitting name given its two-sided personality. With the flip of a switch, the custom DYAD RT2 pull shock transforms the ride from a 150mm travel bump gobbling machine to one with just 90mm of rear travel and steeper angles ready to haul you back to the top for another run. Of the five models in the Jekyll lineup, the Jekyll MX was most inspired by the builds used by Cannondale's professional OverMountain enduro race squad and is the burliest of them all. Ready to rally, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5961 1048 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 260 1125 2100 128 39

2013 Specialized P.26 AM Bike

“Great Starter Bike”

C138_81e9_12_p_26_am_grn_pur

The Good:

I have been using this bike for about 5 months now and has only brought fun the Fork is great and the tires work well on Trials and Parks but i mostly use it on dirt tho but they work great for both and the frame is awesome frame its the p.2 frame i love the bike!

The Bad:

The only thing iffy about this bike is the brakes they are not working that well they cut in and out when stopping. But most of the time they work fine. Cant complain for a only $850 bike.

Overall Review: This bike a great overall starter tointermediate bikebut i plan on upgrading the breaks and bars and stem but once i get those upgrades this will be the perfect bike! I would highly recommend this bike to my friends and anyone with a passion for dirt jumping.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTB_Jacob
24084 MTB_Jacob http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24084/avatar/c50_photo_1367629411.jpg?1367629290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTB-Jacob,24084/all 05/03/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTB-Jacob,24084/setup 3 3 2 1

Fly Racing Default Full Face Helmet

Vital Review

“TESTED: FLY Default Helmet - Affordable Protection”

C138_fly_default_product_image
Review by Johan Hjord // Images by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Established in 1996, FLY Racing began as a manufacturer of motorcycle handlebars and helmets, and they remain heavily focused on powersports to this day. They offer a broad catalogue covering everything from riding apparel to protection and even grips and handlebars, and the company counts a few high profile Supercross riders on its roster – Trey Canard and Andrew Short both ride for the brand. More recently, FLY introduced a mountain bike specific range of products, and we were keen to lay our hands on their bike-specific full face helmet to see how it Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 60 723 1752 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 46 282 3394 81 26

2013 Trek Fuel EX 9.8

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Trek Fuel EX 9.8”

C138_2013_trek_fuel_ex_9.8
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman From its creation, the Fuel EX has been the "go-to trail bike" in Trek's lineup. They say it's for the rider that "can't decide between a rugged, capable long-travel trail bike or a nimble, lively XC bike." That's a big slot to fill, especially for a bike with just 130mm of travel and a 68-degree head angle. Curious if it really could meet the needs of both ends of the spectrum, we had the boys from Wisconsin send out a recently updated Fuel EX 9.8 for our 2013 Test Sessions in Southern Utah. Fuel EX 9.8 Highlights OCLV Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5961 1048 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 260 1125 2100 128 39

Chromag Trailmaster DT Saddle

“2012 Chromag Trailmaster DT”

C138_90485080_1273303466

The Good:

Light and Durable

The Bad:

Can be uncomfortable

Overall Review: The seat is light and very durable due to the kevlar corners. The color I got was green which I like but I wish there were more color options also the seat can be a bit uncomfortable. The balance between comfort and weight is almost perfect as far as I'm concerned. Overall this is a great seat.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Alex W.
19725 Alex W. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19725/avatar/c50_chromag_logo_k_copy_1367518953.jpg?1367518295 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/all 11/09/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Alex-W,19725/setup 6 4

2011 Cove Shocker Bike

“Best Bike I Ever Owned...”

C138_cove_shocker_2011

The Good:

Almost everything. Awesome bike!

The Bad:

There was nowhere to review the 2010 model, which I had, so I'm reviewing here. My only beef was the short seatpost, but that has been amended in this model.

Overall Review: Best bike I've ever owned. Bought a frame and built it up. Great bike, but had to sell it due tofinancial circumstances and the fact it was a full on race ready bike, and I'm not into racing. I have missed it ever since...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member The Shark
23952 The Shark http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23952/avatar/c50_image_1379566979.jpg?1379566422 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/all 04/28/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/The-Shark,23952/setup 6 4

2013 Ibis Mojo SL-R with XT Build

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Ibis Mojo SL-R”

C138_2013_ibis_mojo_sl_r_grey
Reviewed by Matt Thompson, Steve Wentz, Jess Pedersen, & Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer & Brandon Turman Founded in 1981 in Scot Nicol's garage, Ibis Cycles has a long and rich history in mountain biking, even though they've had to overcome a few bumps along the way. Throughout the years they've developed a number of bikes that are seen as iconic - innovation in the sport and often a welcome breath of fresh air amidst lots of marketing hype. They're a company that builds what they want to ride, and in 2006, that was the Ibis Mojo Carbon - a bike that stood out as the first carbon fiber monocoque all-mountain Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5961 1048 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 260 1125 2100 128 39

SixSixOne Comp II Full Face Helmet

“Good & fair priced...”

C138_57596

The Good:

Durable, stylish & fairly light.

The Bad:

Needs better venting & a different strap system. D -Rings suck. .

Overall Review: Overall, I like this helmet. It has saved my head numerous times. Only real complaints are it needs a more modern, easier securing system & more working vents.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Schwalbe Racing Ralph Evolution Tire

“Still Undecided....”

C138_24524

The Good:

I run a 2.1 on the rear & it's light & fast.

The Bad:

Very loose in corners at high speeds in unpacked areas. Doesn't have much of a footprint. Might try a 2.25 in the future.

Overall Review: Still undecided on this tire. Seems it would be fine on packed surfaces w/ minimal sand, rocks or pine straw. I run a 2.25 Nobby Nic on the front & this on the rear. It's definitely a fast combo, but trying to stay in control at speed, on loose terrain, is a challenge all in it's own. Gonna try a wider version to see if the problem persists before putting a Nic on the rear.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Evolution Tire

“Like em....”

C138_19166

The Good:

I run a 2.25 on the front. Seems to hang on good, no wash outs, tolerable weight & width.

The Bad:

A little squirrely for a front tire but other than that, no complaints.

Overall Review: Overall, seems to be a good, gripping tire that holds the corners & slings some dirt. So far it's all I expected. Would like to add one to the rear to see what that changes. Recommended.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ParabellumShane
4106 ParabellumShane http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4106/avatar/c50_sdr2_1385768238.jpg?1385767274 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/all 08/19/10 1 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ParabellumShane,4106/setup 4 7 42 23