Latest Product Reviews

RSS

POC Joint VPD 2.0 Knee Pads

Featured Review

“DH protection AM weight”

C138_joint_vpd_2_0_knee

The Good:

Highest level of knee protection, Snug fit, Contours to knee well after only a few rides, Very comfortable. There are also lighter weight versions for XC and AM use

The Bad:

Can being too good be a bad thing?

Overall Review: POC has known to make some of the highest level of protective products for snow and dirt sports. This being said, the POC Joint VPD 2.0 is no different. I've owned these knee pads coming up on two years now and couldn't thank POC enough making the best Enduro/DH knee pad I could ever think of. With it's game-changing VPD padding technology, I've never been in a situation where I felt my knees weren't completely protected. A little of my background: Picking up mountain biking more than 15 years ago in Southern Utah, I found myself constantly looking for the next big thing to send me and my bike off. Being friends Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

POC Index DH Glove

Featured Review

“Your second layer of skin ”

C138_index_dh_uraniumblack_1002

The Good:

Lightweight and less-bulkey, VPD 2.0 padding where you need it most, Excellent palm protection, Fits like a glove - true to size.

The Bad:

The velcro strap was weak, Kinda pricey.

Overall Review: First off, let me just say, I am a glove connoisseur. That being said I have some pretty high standards when it comes to the quality, style, protection, and fit of my gloves. I ride everything from mild XC and bike paths with family all the way to rampage style terrain. With this wide range of riding styles, I am constantly looking for a glove that is light enough so my hands don't sweat to death on, thin enough that I can keep my dexterity when adjusting component settings, yet heavy duty enough so I don't crush my fingers while going OTB on my dual crown. The POC Index DH offers all of this. Construction: The POC Index DH Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Scorpion Bike Stands Scorpion Stand

Featured Review

“Next best thing to an actual work stand.”

C138_scorpion_bike_stand_flo_yellow

The Good:

Holds bike very stable, No weight limit, High quality material, Plenty of colors options

The Bad:

Not compatible with all bike (cranks), Kinda pricey

Overall Review: I purchased one of these for my Santa Cruz Nomad and loved it so much I got another one for my Trek Session. Compared to other bike stands out there, this is much more stable and durable. Working in the industry for many years now, I've seen horror stories about temporary bike stands and customers bikes. The stands might be poorly designed, need a trick to get the bike to set completely in it (like smashing the rear tire into the rails), or might just get worn out and loose over time. Whatever the reason is, I've seen customers, kids, and just gravity throw $4000+ bikes straight to the ground, or Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Topeak Mini 6 Multi-Tool

“Topeak Mini 6 Multi-Tool”

C138_d10f7c4c_990f_44fd_b63d_126170934d23

The Good:

Price, just enough for emergencies

The Bad:

Not very long bits

Overall Review: If you are looking for a minimalist tool to keep in your pocket or in a small frame pack while riding. I use this in my baggy shorts pocket while riding and there is just enough for minor trailside work on the bike. I am normally really good about checking bolts before rides, but you never know when you need a little help! It contains all the major bits used for your bike minus some pivots. The bits are short in length, but work in most instances on your stem, bars, brake levers, etc. I like it because it is small, but still useful. Before I was carrying a heavy and much larger multi tool that I only used a few bits with. This one helps save money and it very light that you will barely notice while carrying.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

Race Face Cinch BB92 Bottom Bracket

“Race Face Cinch BB92 Bottom Bracket”

C138_2014_bb_cinch_30mm_bb92

The Good:

Aluminum cups, Good tolerances, Seals do well in the wet, Smooth bearings

The Bad:

Still wish it screwed together via the center piece

Overall Review: I bought this to replace the stock Sram bottom bracket that came on my Devinci Troy. It was made of plastic on the cups where it mates to the frame. It was a spot that cause creaking after a short time. The offering from Race Face has aluminum cups that seem to have better tolerances and also have less tendency to creak. It is also supported with a plastic center piece that doubles to help keep water away from the bearings. These cups came with good instructions from Race Face and I did not need a bottom bracket press tool for installation on my frame. I would still suggest using one though just to make sure Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

Park Tool PFP-6 Home Mechanic Floor Pump

Featured Review

“Park Tool PFP-6 Home Mechanic Floor Pump”

C138_pu278a01

The Good:

Good price, Gauge not to hard to read

The Bad:

Valve can be a bit finiky

Overall Review: I bought this pump because Park Tool is one of the most reputable companies with it come to bike tools. This one is one of their cheaper ones that they offer, but do not let the cheaper price scare you away. It has a plastic base on it with the gauge about a third of the way up the pump shaft. It is ok to read from standing while pumping and has a little red indicator that you can set to the pressure you want to get your tires to. This makes it easier inflate to the right pressure quickly. I have had it for a couple of years and I have not had any issues with reliability. It honestly has lasted Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Great retention, Good wear properties, Many color options

The Bad:

None really

Overall Review: I have used Raceface chain rings for several years and a little under a year ago I went to a new direct mount N/W chain ring. I have not looked back. Lets start with some highlights that it has to offer: Fits perfectly with Raceface cinch cranks, built from strong T6-7075 aluminum, works with 9-11 speed chains, and a 36t only weighs 82 grams. It was really easy to install on the Raceface Cinch cranks while they are off of the bike, then install the cranks and you are good to go. I went with a 30t version as I do have some steep hills in this area and I am using a normal 10speed 11-36 cassette on the rear. With a Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

2015 Devinci Troy XP Bike

“2014 Devinci Troy XP W/ Carbon Frame”

C138_devinci_troy_xp_bike

The Good:

Carbon frame option not much more expensive then aluminum, Mid weight in class, Lifetime warranty on carbon frame, playful on the trail

The Bad:

Shorter reach that some may not like

Overall Review: I received my new Troy a little over 2 years ago. I had been looking for a new trail bike for a while, and I was about to get a Norco Sight or Range until I heard about the Troy. My Kona Tanuki DL was just not cutting it. It felt soft and just never felt "right" for my riding. I was excited to receive it. Its first test was on a DH jump trail that my friend built. The bike is really neutral in the air and handles the jumps great. I did not want to get the Kona hardly off the ground, never felt comfortable on it. It does have a shorter reach compared to many newer trail bikes (the 2016 version is stretched out now) but I like how Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

Leatt DBX Comp Neck Brace

“Leatt DBX Neckbrace”

C138_leatt_dbx_comp_neck_brace

The Good:

Keeps you from breaking your neck, Adjustable,

The Bad:

May not work well with larger type helmets

Overall Review: I bought this brace after breaking my collar bone due to the chin guard of my helmet making contact with it. It thought some extra protection in general would be good. Along with it, I bought a new helmet that was a bit smaller than my previous. Once I set up the brace, it was very nice and with my 661 comp carbon helmet, I had plenty of range of motion while riding even the steepest trails. I have used it for several seasons it it has done well overall with the materials holding up. While riding, it never really felt to get in the way while going down the trail. I did experiment with the extra strap and ended up Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 21 24

POC Cortex DH MIPS Helmet

Featured Review

“Real beauty is found on the inside”

C138_cortex_dh_white_01_left_side

The Good:

Reasonably light weight, True to size, High quality materials and construction, Small ear chambers on side of helmet allow you to hear a lot more than any other helmet in it's category, MIPS technology, Full carbon shell, and a clip style chin strap for quick and easy fastening.

The Bad:

The looks of this helmet could be improved upon. More color options would be great.

Overall Review: I purchased this helmet a year and a half ago after owning the POC Cortex Flow (Lighter use / less tech helmet). The less expensive Cortex Flow and Cortex DH are very similar, with the same shell molds and measurements, multi-impact EPP foam,cheek padding, visor, and chin strap. So why the $270 price difference one might ask? When getting the Cortex DH, you are paying $270 more for the highest level of protection POC offers. Tech specific for the Cortex DH: MIPS (Multi-directional Impact Protection System) protects your head from concussion and other similar injuries while in the middle of those "OH Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40