Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Scott Soldier 2 Knee Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: Scott Soldier 2 Knee Guards - Real Deal, Pedal-Able Protection”

C138_scott_soldier_2_knee_guards
What does it take to make the perfect knee pad for trail riding? Scott's revision of their Soldier pads aims to achieve just that through the clever combination of a redesigned D3O protector and carefully selected mesh fabrics. These strapless pads are not only extremely comfortable, but also mean business when the unavoidable happens. After over six months of abuse on the legs of two testers, it's time to fill you in on all the little details and how they're holding up. Soldier 2 Knee Guard Highlights Designed for trail, enduro, and all-mountain use EN 1621:1 Level 1 certified Ergonomic and flexible D3O pad with side Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1118 96 6155 952 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1271 2318 170 41

Five Ten Kestrel Clipless Shoe

“Kestrel Boa: Good all day shoe”

C138_5211_kestrel_1

The Good:

Comfortable and stiff, easy to walk around

The Bad:

Boa sometimes can come undone

Overall Review: I have two pairs of these shoes, and really enjoy them for longer rides due to comfort and stiffness. They fit a little bigger then I expected when first trying them on, and opted to go a half size smaller then I usually would in other shoes. The boa is nice and tight and provides first support, however sometime I will have to adjust cable routing to ensure the cable applies pressure to the right portions of my foot. I feel the boa is a good system but when riding in trees, at one point the boa caught a branch and came unlocked so the cables loosened up. Not a huge deal and it has only happened once. Overall I love the shoe, but would not be opposed to get the lace up version of the kestrel.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

FOX FLOAT X2 2-Position Adjust Rear Shock

“Fox Float X2: 2 position lever on Yeti SB5.5c”

C138_float_x2_factory_specs_01

The Good:

Has a lot of adjustability, Climb switch adjust low speed compression for better climbing.

The Bad:

Depending on the bike, the climb switch might adjust to become too harsh

Overall Review: I am giving this review based on the shock mounted to a yeti sb5.5. First off I think the X2 float is an amazing shock with tons of adjustability and very good small bump sensitivity. However I want to focus my review on the 2 position lever climb switch. Based on the bike you run I think you will either love this, or find yourself rarely using it. If you have a bike with a very linear linkage system, I think that you will find yourself enjoying the 2 position lever. However, in my case with the yeti sb5.5 it has an efficient linkage system with the switch infinity, so the 2 position lever made the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

Banshee Spitfire V2 - 2013 Frame

“STAY AWAY FROM BANSHEE”

C138_2013_banshee_spitfire_frame

The Good:

An average bike on its best days. Does jump nicely I must say

The Bad:

CUSTOMER SERVICE, not robust, climbs like shit

Overall Review: I got myself a spitfire a couple years back. I liked the look of the bike and I got it for a good deal online. Less than 6 months of riding and the rear triangle broke and was not covered under warranty. To be fair I did crash, however the small ding in the rear triangle prevented the axle from threading through the frame. I have had far worse replaced by Trek and Specialized without a second thought from them. After an extensive email chain I was told that not only was it not covered under warranty but Banshee would not provide a new rear triangle, they were going to charge me full crash replacement price for a new Read More »

Shimano XTR Trail Disc Brake

Featured Member Review

“XTR for All Mountain and Enduro Riding M9020”

C138_shimano_xtr_trail_brakes

The Good:

Light weight
Good stopping power (within reason)
Highly reliable (especially compared to early XT M8000 series brakes)
Easy to install and bleed
I-SPEC II compatibility
Nice looking

The Bad:

Soft lever feel (due to flex in mount/reservoir and plastic feel of lever)
Poor modulation (typical Shimano on/off)
Spongy feeling in rear (low fluid volume, length of rear line, and use of thin walled plastic)
Cost (They will lighten your wallet too)

Overall Review: XTR for All Mountain and Enduro Riding M9020 The new XTR Trail M9020 brakes are billed as Shimano's higher end enduro/trail rated brake. The M9020s now have servo wave technology with a shorter lever throw, better modulation, and improved ergonomics. Do these improvements make them a good choice for enduro and trail riding? Well, yes and no. Installation and maintenance: Shimano brakes have always been easy to install and maintain. The XTR Trail M9020s are no exception. Installation is straight forward. The rear calipers come with their own light weight bolts; however, the front calipers use Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 16

2016 Yeti SB5.5c X01

“Yeti SB5.5c X01”

C138_2016_yeti_sb55c_profile_slv

The Good:

Geometry, Linkage, Fit

The Bad:

Bolts, Cleaning

Overall Review: If you want a capable, fast flying 29 inch enduro machine... this is your next bike. The yeti SB5.5c has not ceased to amaze me in what it is capable of, and I never find myself wanting, or being envious of other bike. The SB5.5c tracks everything extremely well, and the linkage system finds a find line between performance and function. It doesn't blow through the travel although it has good small bump sensitivity when set up properly. I tried the bike with the float x as well as with the x2 and preferred the x2 for adjustment purposes. The infinity system allows for limited pedal bob and makes this bike a capable climbing Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

DEITY Knuckleduster Grip

“Deity Knuckleduster Grip: comfort and grip”

C138_deity_kunckleduster_green

The Good:

Very comfortable and extremely grippy

The Bad:

Diameter is a little thick, single lock-on system

Overall Review: If you are looking to try a new grip, this is a good choice. I have put it on all my bikes and love the feel and function of the knuckleduster grips! My first impression of the grips were the feel, which was not as skinny as other grips that I had used previous. However, they felt comfortable and in riding scenarios I didn't feel that I was getting bad arm pump or fatigue. The next thing I noticed was the sheer amount of grip that I was getting with these grips, given the design it gives your hand a lot to hold on to. I further noticed this one day when I forgot my gloves, and noticed that I still felt comfortable riding as Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe

“Freerider Pro Shoe: maximum grip”

C138_five_ten_freerider_pro_shoe_light_granite

The Good:

Grip, Fit, Function

The Bad:

Laces are kind of long

Overall Review: If you are looking for a grippy shoe for your metal pinned flats... then look no further. This shoe has been the best shoe that I have ever owned when it comes to flats. 1. The rubber compound is extremely grippy and holds on to a flat pedal as if you are clipped in, however, you don't have to worry about dying if you are going through some gnar and are clipped in. 2. I myself have a wider foot, and these shoes fit amazingly! So if you have a little bit of a wider foot I highly recommend this shoe. 3. This shoes are made durable and can take an absolute beating! I have had 3 pairs over the last three years and Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

2016 Scott Gambler 710 Bike

“2016/2017 Scott Gambler 710”

C138_241351a

The Good:

Adjustability, Build spec

The Bad:

linkage system, wheels

Overall Review: Right off the bat, one of the positive things that I loved about this bike was the adjustability of the geometry. You can adjust headset angle, chain stay length, and bottom bracket height. I found myself to prefer the short chain stay setting, at 63 degree head angle, in the low bottom bracket setting. This allowed the bike to be a little more lively and aggressive, however, If I were to race I would recommend the longer chain stay position. I also loved the component spec that came on the bike and never felt that I was looking for more out of the components aside from a stiffer more reliably rim. As I went through two of the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

Hope Technology 11 spd Cassette Cassette

“Hope Cassette 11-48”

C138_hope_44t_cass_587x391

The Good:

The usual high quality appearance and machining expected from Hope. Very light, 305g, an X01 Eagle cassette weighs in at 355g.

The Bad:

Steel cluster is non functional with Shimano?
Very limited hub choices.

Overall Review: First Impressions - As with most Hope products, the fist impression of this cassette were very good. The finish appeared top quality, and pulling a platter sized cassette out of the box, I was instantly blow away by how light it was. Setup - Mounting this cassette requires that you own a Hope or DT Swiss hub. I mounted it to a DT 240 using the OneUp mini driver. Very painless process. With the bike in the stand, I bottomed out my suspension and cut my chain as short as the derailleur would allow me to go. Now I was ready to dial in the shifting. I'm running an XTR Di2 derailleur a KMC X11 DLC chain, so this Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Roots_rider
2745 Roots_rider http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2745/avatar/c50_image_1371450115.jpg?1371450071 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Roots-rider,2745/all 05/08/10 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Roots-rider,2745/setup 12 117 2 1