Latest Product Reviews

RSS

KMC X11L Chain

“Performance, value, durability. What more could you ask for in a chain?”

C138_57318

The Good:

Lasts well, multi-directional, quick link, price.

The Bad:

Isn't made of solid gold?

Overall Review: After being dissatisfied with both Shimano and Sram chains, I gave KMC a try. Asthetically, they come in black, silver, or gold and look better than the competition. They last at least as long as Shimano, and longer than Sram chains in my experience. The quick link they supply is the best in the business, super easy to operate, though a tool is recommended to open it. I have reused the quick links, though they don't recommend it, and have had zero failures. Its also nice not to have the directional chain, like Sram uses. If you're like me then at least once you've gone and changed a chain, taken the time to get everything all ready to rock, only to find that you put the lousy chain in the wrong direction and have had to start all over again. Its a simple thing, but a nice feature.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

“A good all-around saddle”

C138_wtb_silverado_team_saddle

The Good:

Can move around on it easily, cover is durable and doesn't absorb water, long nose to get forward on the climbs

The Bad:

Flexy rails, after long rides can be a bit uncomfortable

Overall Review: Hop on the Silverado and take it for a ride around the parking lot and you probably won't have much to complain about. It feels like a very generic mountain bike saddle to me, which is a good thing. The nose is longish and curved down so you can get forward on steep climbs. The cover is synthetic and doesn't absorb water. This keeps it clean and fresh when you need it, and is a breeze to clean. It also keeps it from chaffing when it gets sweaty. I would definitely get a bit sore after long rides, and would chalk it up to "that's just what happens after long rides" except that after switching to the WTB Volt and then the Ragley Tracker, I don't find I'm as sore as I was with the Silverado. But then again, everyone's bum is different. Good value, good durability, and good comfort. Recommended.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Chromag Lynx DT Saddle

“Quality saddle if it fits you”

C138_89906220_1273303933

The Good:

Quality cover, good color options, unique style

The Bad:

Doesn't fit everyone

Overall Review: This saddle came on a DH bike that I bought and decided to try it on my trail bike. The first ride I had to turn back and put my old saddle on about 20 minutes into the ride. The 2nd try I toughed it out the whole way, but only because I wanted to give it an honest go. I REALLY wanted to like this saddle, the color matched my trail bike way better than the one I took off, but I just couldn't get on with the shape. Just sitting and peddling on it was painful and it got worse as I started to climb steeper ascents. For comparison's sake, I've ridden the WTB Volt, WTB Silverado, and Ragley Tracker saddles over the past two seasons Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Fox Racing Rampage Pro Carbon Full Face Helmet

Featured Member Review

“Pro Level Protection”

C138_fox_racing_rampage_pro_carbon_helmet_white

The Good:

Excellent protection, airflow is good for a full-face, remove-able inserts, crash replacement policy. Looks good!

The Bad:

Not as light as you would expect from a carbon helmet, a bit bigger shell than some others. Pricey.

Overall Review: I had a pretty crazy crash in Whistler a few years ago where I broke my old Fox helmet and needed to replace it. The shop I went into hooked me up with a crash replacement and 30% off this new lid. As it usually goes, I was drawn to the great looking colors, cool looking carbon inlay and overall feel of quality that the Fox Rampage Pro Carbon has when you put it on. The vents do a good job of dumping heat as long as you are riding. I wouldn't climb with this thing on my head on purpose, but its better than any other dedicated full face helmet I've ever used when talking about vents. It has a snug feel Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Smith Fuel V.1 Max M Goggles

Featured Member Review

“Great lenses in a no-nonsense frame”

C138_smith_fuel_v.1_max_m_goggles_orange_red_mirror

The Good:

Lenses are excellent, and look good too, helmet compatible, value is good.

The Bad:

Will fog in extreme conditions, no quick lens change system

Overall Review: I bought these for downhill 3 seasons ago but started wearing them for enduro as well after getting dust in my eye racing in Rossland a couple of years ago. As someone who wears contacts, a little dust in the eye can ruin a day on the bike very quickly. I find that not only do I get great protection with these, but I actually see the trail better because they don't bounce around on my face while going over rough stuff like glasses do. I never noticed this until I started wearing goggles, but the strap just holds them tighter onto your face than glasses could ever hope to be, even with rubber arm and nose pads which I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Hope Technology Pro 4 Rear Hub

“A New Hope 4”

C138_blue_orange_purple_pro4

The Good:

engagement is fast, reliability you know and love, beautiful anodized colors

The Bad:

Not the fastest engagement available or the lightest

Overall Review: I'm hard on rear hubs. I have gone through 3 rear hubs in the past 3 years. Sunringle? Dead. Spank? Dead. Shimano? Dead. I kept replacing them with a full pre-built wheel and was on a budget, so this the nicest hub I have ever used, though I have ridden around the parking lot on I-9 and King hubs. If you drew a 10 inch line and on the far left performance was terrible, and on the far right performance was excellent, these would be about 1 inch from the right. They are excellent. The engagement isn't insanely fast, but is a huge improvement over any of the hubs I've used before. 8 degrees is quick, make no mistake. Yes Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Sunline V1 Handlebar

“Bang for your buck”

C138_hb265a02_multi

The Good:

Outstanding value, good color options

The Bad:

Only goes to 760mm wide

Overall Review: I had these blue bars on my old Yeti SB66C and loved them. So much so that when I sold the bike and couldn't find another similar bar, I offered to buy back the bars for full price. The sweep and flat rise was great at keeping weight over the front wheel and at 760mm wide, they didn't feel too big to fit through narrow trees. After getting some 785mm bars and going back, they did feel a bit narrow, but its always about what you are used to. If you are looking for a bar that is a great value and don't need anything wider, buy these yesterday. Plus they come in some great looking anodized colors. If only they made them wider...
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Chromag Fubar OSX Handlebar

Featured Member Review

“Setting the bar”

C138_88514620_1273301991

The Good:

Colors are hot, 800 wide, 35mm option, quality finish

The Bad:

Slightly different geometry than other brands, takes some getting used to.

Overall Review: I'll be honest, the reason I bought my Chromag OSX 35mm bar was that the "hot yellow" matched the neon yellow on my Norco Range. I was hoping that it would be close and that the tint of yellow wouldn't be too far off. It arrived and to my surprise, the yellow matched exactly. If you have a neon yellow color-way that you want to add to, this is the bar you are looking for. Beyond that, I'll compare this bar to my old Race Face Atlas 31.8mm bar which I rode for 3 seasons and decided to retire at the end of last year. I really liked the feel and width of that bar. The 785mm width seemed perfect for my broad shoulders and I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Race Face Turbine 35 Stem

Featured Member Review

“Race Face Turbine 35 Stem”

C138_2014_trb35_stem_50_black_quarter

The Good:

Highest grade materials and craftsmanship (the beauty is in the details), Stiff and stable in XC/Trail/AM situations, solid interlocking 4 bolt bar clamp.

The Bad:

Small steer bolts offering only 5nm of clamping power, Could be offered in multiple colorways

Overall Review: When looking for a high-end stem, it’s easy to become flooded by all the types out there. It’s this type of feeling that leads to debilitation and causes one to go to sleep; okay, not really but the point I’m getting at is there is a lot of stems out there. How do you choose the right one? First off, there is “right one” for everyone. Stems are very much like bikes. You’ve got to pick one that matches your discipline. With that said, I’m a hearty enduroite and decided to try my luck with the Race Face Turbine 35 stem. After a month with this stem, here are my impressions: Out of The Box: Pulling the Race Face Turbine 35 Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 31 88

Race Face SixC Cinch Crank

Featured Member Review

“Race Face SixC Cinch Crank”

C138_2014_crk_sixc_2xbash_blk_3_4_blk

The Good:

Excellent finish and craftsmanship, Easy to install, One of the best weight / strength / price ratios around, deflects rocks pretty well.

The Bad:

Plastic locking ring can come loose and the bolt that pinches it can strip out easily.

Overall Review: When looking for high-end aftermarket components or piecing together a new build for your burly DH or freeride bike, the words “Race Face SixC” will most likely come up in recommendations from fellow riders and those in the industry. Race Face designated the SixC brand for their highest performing, ultra-burley carbon components and consists of handlebars, cranksets, and seatposts. The SixC crankset first appeared in 2012 but was updated for direct mount capabilities in 2015. Since then, they have become the pinnacle of strength to weight ratios for all cranksets on the market. I’ve equipped the past several bikes with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 31 88