Latest Product Reviews

RSS

RockShox Lyrik RCT3 Fork

Featured Review

“2016 Rockshox Lyrik RCT3 160mm Review”

C138_rockshox_lyrik_rct3

The Good:

Stiffer Crown, Stiffer Lowers, Small Bump Sensitivity, Supple Initial Stroke, Charger Damper

The Bad:

Torque Caps, 15mm Axle Only

Overall Review: Initial Thoughts When Rockshox announced the new Lyrik I was excited. I wanted a fork that could compete with Fox’s 36 FiT4 but feel more active. After reading the initial launch notes and reviews I began to get sad.. I admit I was not excited about “Torque Caps” or that it looked like a beefed up Pike but I decided to save my concerns until I got my hands on it. I decided to get a Lyrik RCT3 27.5 because I found a great deal on it. I got it from www.worldwidecyclery.com for $787.95 with a 10% coupon code “bomber10”. Most places I saw it for ranged from $900-$1000+. This was for a full retail version not OEM. Pump, tokens Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vathana.song
6112 vathana.song http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6112/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000099857126.jpg?1294480103 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vathana-song,6112/all 01/08/11 1 5 54 2

Canfield Brothers Nimble 9 Frame

Featured Review

“The Hardtail for those seeking Maximum Party”

C138_canfield_brothers_nimble_9

The Good:

- Unique
- Progressive Geo
- Sturdy
- Sensible features
- Affordable
- Good karma for supporting a rad company

The Bad:

Large footed individuals might clip the stays with their heels a bit

Overall Review: Perhaps we should start at the beginning: why a hardtail? Just the other day, my Nimble 9 was resting against a fence alongside my friend's 6" full-sus über bike. I considered them a while. The fully, hewn in fibres and decked out with state of the art gear, made the Nimble 9 look positively agricultural. Every point was a juxtaposition. His bike was plastic, mine steel. His aesthetic was stealthy black, mine modelled on some sort of exotic gutter slime. His tyre choice made sense together, mine was whatever chewed out tread I'd dragged out of the shed to give its coup de grâce. His internally routed post was a slick Read More »

2016 Jamis Defcon 1

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Jamis Defcon 1”

C138_2016_jamis_defcon_1_bike
Reviewed by Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Lear Miller Jamis has a long history of making decent trail bikes at good prices, and they're taking aim at the popular "do-it-all" enduro/all-mountain category with the new 160mm travel Defcon series. This is the first long travel ride they've offered in years, and of course it's accompanied by 27.5 (650b) wheels - something Jamis has been using since 2010, well ahead of most others. Visually speaking the Defcon 1 holds true to its name and looks like it could stop a nuclear threat with its robust tubing, big tires, and some of the burliest suspension available. Add in some Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

Loaded Precision X-40 Hookless Carbon V.3.1 Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Loaded Precision X-40 Carbon Wheels”

C138_amx_blue
Review by John Keep // Photos by Fred Robinson Loaded Precision is a Southern California-based components brand that was started in 2006. Offering a wide variety of products ranging from handlebars, stems, pedals and wheels, Loaded has hopped into the market of ultra-wide, carbon wheels. With a whopping 40-mm external width (35-mm internal), the new X-40 wheelset is offered in a variety of colors, much like the rest of their line. Having first spotted these wheels at Eurobike last year, we were eager to give them a spin. Available in both 27.5" and 29", we've spent the better part of the past few Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jkeep
39519 jkeep http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39519/avatar/c50_IMG_0076_1455953126.jpg?1455952970 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jkeep,39519/all 02/19/16 1

Park Tool Chain Checker

Featured Review

“ Accurate if pins are kept straight”

C138_7858

The Good:

Simple to use
High quality materials

The Bad:

Could become faulty if pins get bent

Overall Review: I was in the market for an easy-to-use chain checker after switching to the Sram XO1 11 speed drive train. Not replacing a $35 chain could wear out my hyper-expensive cassette so I wanted to get the most accurate one. After a bit of research, I decided to go with the Park Tool CC-1 chain checker. After 2 years of use, these are my impressions Simple and easy to use The thing I like most about this chain checker is how straight-forward it is to use. Place the chain checking between the links of a chain, slightly press the black swivel until it begins to stop. Look through the measurement hole and see what it Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Troy Lee Designs 2015 Ruckus Riding Jersey

Featured Review

“Awesome Jersey, Strong, light, breathable, and comfortable. ”

C138_15tld_ruckus_jersey_ops_desert_front

The Good:

I purchased 2 of these Jerseys having never purchased or worn any tld jerseys. I had become fond of 3/4 length sleeves for mountain biking here in socal, liked the colors of the jerseys, and had enough gift card money to pay essentially nothing for the two (which were on sale for $35). The pocket though small is very handy, though I wouldn't recommend putting anything super heavy in there as it will pull the jersey to one side. I was able to put a small patch kit and cereal bar in there comfortably, both of which were not super heavy, so the fit was still spot on. The integrated google wipe is great. My first ride started off in warm 80 degree weather and then rapidly turned to heavy rain and the temperature dropped over 20 degrees. Throughout the entire ride, the jersey was spot on comfortable, and though the jersey stuck to certain parts of my body when it was wet, it still felt loose and comfortable. In the almost 90 degree heat on my second ride the jersey didn't feel hot at all, and infact you could feel the air flowing through the jersey even on very slow climbs. Keep in mind however that it still is a tiny bit hotter then a classic short sleeve jersey. I took a spill hucking off of a step down I had done only a couple times and landed on my side. My elbow was mildly scraped through the jersey but the jersey itself had NO physical damage. I'm 100% convinced the jersey covering my elbow protected a lot of blood and scrapes. The fit of the jersey is spot on for me. I am 6'3'' and fairly long built with long arms and legs, though I'm not skinny. The large fit me perfectly. If you are wider or have big and wide arms I would recommending maybe sizing up. For me personally, the fit is perfect. The neck and back is strechy and breathable. The chest and shoulders are nice and loose, yet not too baggy and the arms are the same, though they taper towards the cuff so they remain almost in place which I find awesome!

The Bad:

None as of now for me personally. I will say, the jersey is hotter then a short sleeve, but that is expected and a trade off for the added protection. Arms might be a tad too tight for those will very big and muscular arms. I haven't personally tried them with elbow or arm pads but I feel like they would be a tad too tight.

Overall Review: For my first taste of TLD apparel, I'm enjoying these jerseys hugely! These jerseys are everything I look for for all day rides and technical terrain here in hot socal. Arms could be a bit looser if you have big arms or want to wear arm pads, but for me, they work great.

Park Tool TW-6 Ratcheting Torque Wrench

Featured Review

“Cheaper than cracking carbon”

C138_tl289j04

The Good:

High quality feel and materials 12-60 Nm range 0.2 adjustment increments Easy-to-read gauge Comes with a protective traveling case

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: Carbon frames, carbon seatposts, carbon saddles, carbon cranks, carbon bars, carbon stems, seems like everything is being made out of carbon these days. That being said, carbon has a very specific tolerance for torque which can’t be exceeded. This is why I have decided to purchase my very own torque wrench set. After getting a Park Tool TW-5 wrench, I chose to go with the Park Tool TW-6 for the higher-end torque speced parts. After several months of use, I’m glad I did. Here are my impressions on the masterpiece: Features Just like most torque wrenches in this category, the TW-6 has a torque Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Park Tool TW-5 Ratcheting Torque Wrench

“An absolute must for any high-end bike owner”

C138_tl289j03

The Good:

High quality feel and materials
3-15Nm range
0.4 adjustment increments
Easy-to-read gauge
Comes with a 3/8" adaptor and traveling case

The Bad:

Sometimes the 3/8" adaptor can get stock in the sockets

Overall Review: In a world of increasing frame and component technology, precise measurements while wrenching is becoming more and more relevant. This is why I have decided to purchase my very own torque wrench set. For my lower torque range, I decided to go with the Park Tool TW-5. After several months of use, I’m glad I did. Here are my impressions on the masterpiece: Features Just like most torque wrenches in this category, the TW-5 has a torque range of 3-15 newton meters (26-132” lbs) and can be adjusted within 0.4 Nm (3.5 “ lbs) increments. To adjust the torque settings, simply pull down on the bottom tab Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

e*thirteen XCX Chainguide

“Great, high quality guide”

C138_47875

The Good:

Durable plastic and medal materials
Easy to install
Easy to adjust

The Bad:

Although light weight in comparison to most chain guides, it is still 3 times heavier than the lightest 1x10/11 option.
Solid plastic guide requires you to break the chain in order to install and remove from the bike.

Overall Review: Purchased my e*thirteen XCX chainguide 8 months ago for my Santa Cruz Nomad. After doing quite a bit of research, I figured this was the best weight/strength/price option at the time. Here are my impressions Installation and fit Installing the chainguide was pretty straight forward. A variety of spacers came with it so I was able to get the perfect fit for all of my gears. e*thirteen did an excellent job in spacing out the width of the guard. I am able to go completely through the 11 gears of my Sram XO1 11 speed cassette without any rubbing. The plastic and metal used in this guard are nothing but the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Wellgo MG-1 Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Great value if on sale”

C138_90051470_1266802904

The Good:

Light weight
High quality bearings
Decent grip and size of platform
Awesome bang for your buck if looking for a new, high quality pedal but on a budget.

The Bad:

Magnesium is lighter weight than other metals but is also more likely to dent, bend, or break

Overall Review: These pedals came with my 2015 Trek Session and after a few months of riding, here are my impressions. Dimensions In terms of platform pedals, the Wellgo MG-1 doesn't compromise on size. Although they aren't huge like the Spank Oozy Trail Pedal (110mm x 110mm), they certainly aren't small either. Measuring in at 96mm x 93mm, I felt like my size US 12 shoe didn't have any attachment issues while even on the roughest of terrain. Owning a pair of Canfield Crampon Ultimates, I have become accustomed to ultra thin (6mm) pedals. The Wellgo MG-1 have a average thickness to them at about 22mm. Given the fact that I prefer a thinner Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49