Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Deity Decoy 2.5 Flat Pedal

“Hulk SMASH!”

C138_deity_decoy25

The Good:

Super strong! Long lasting. Grippier than all hell!

The Bad:

They could be a tad wider for catching the bike on tricks, but that's if I'm gonna nit-pick.

Overall Review: Very durable, I've ridden these pedals for a few years now on my dirt jumper and some on my DH. They've lasted through some tough bails at the skate park, many days at the dirt jumps and out on the trail. Hell, they even survived being hit by a car (rear ended, smashed my e13 LG1r cranks up)! I rode a pair of these briefly on my DH bike and they took the constant beating of rocks and roots, only loosing two pins the whole season. The reason I took them off my DH rig was being a weight wienie I wanted the new HT flats. The red ano has lasted the test of time (2 years) and the spindles are strait and they still spin like Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member AdamZiegler52
7697 AdamZiegler52 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/7697/avatar/c50_msc2012no02cc_13969w.jpg?1350062967 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AdamZiegler52,7697/all 04/13/11 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AdamZiegler52,7697/setup 12 1

Shimano M640 Zee Hydraulic Disc Brakes

“Affordable and really, really good”

C138_shimano_zee_brakes

The Good:

After using Avid´s for serveral years and switched to shimano zee and was a fan right after the first ride. Predictable, lot´s of power, good levers, easy to find the right dose of braking, good pricing on rotors and pads' ...bleeding is a piece of cake :-) Updated:
so far - no fading

The Bad:

the mount for the handlebar is very "solid", but it works well and holds everyhting in place

Overall Review: get one, put in on your bike and never worry about braking again considering the price and what you get, I would definitly say it´s worth five stars Update: I gave the brakes a solid 4h hours in Leogang and went down the freeride, downhill and bingo bongo trail´s. The brakes worked very well. Braking-power is predictable and it is easy to find the right dose. In "scary" moments the brakes really help to get out of the situations without a crash. After some runs on the downhill there was no fading and on some parts the brakes had to do a lot of work as it was my first day on the donwhill in 2013. I haven´t changed my mind and would recommend the brakes.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member lister_yu
19924 lister_yu http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19924/avatar/c50_stars_1402335895.jpg?1402335629 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lister-yu,19924/all 11/19/12 4 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lister-yu,19924/setup 2 80 56 2

Canfield Brothers Crampon Ultimate Pedal

“Great pedals for the price”

C138_crampon_brothers_crampon_ultimate

The Good:

Lightweight / Thin
Price
Great grips

The Bad:

Pins need Loctite
Will rip your shins up
Bearings / Bushings don't seem that great

Overall Review: These pedals are incredibly thin, reasonably light, and come in at a great price point. They hold on to your feet really well, but allow you to adjust easily when needed.  I've found that I climb just as fast with these pedals as with clips because you can pull up so far into the pedal stroke. The badness: the bearings or bushings don't seem like they're sealed that well and have developed a small amount of play in a relatively short amount of time.  They also don't spin as freely as I would have hoped.  Be warned tho, you need to Loctite the pins in place.  I probably lost half of the pins in the first two rides and didn't have any pedal strikes.  Luckily Canfield supplies you with extra pins so it wasn't that big of a deal. Great pedals, love the color, still using them on several different bikes.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member PARMAGEDDON!
23864 PARMAGEDDON! http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23864/avatar/c50_bender_1368485219.jpg?1368485007 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/PARMAGEDDON,23864/all 04/24/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/PARMAGEDDON,23864/setup 1 1 1

Straitline SC Platform Pedal

“Benchmark for durability”

C138_49718

The Good:

Durable, super easy to service, bombproof

The Bad:

Price, not super thin, weight

Overall Review: Some say they drag because they run on bushings rather then bearings, this is almost not noticeable. I have run them dh and enduro for three years and never been bothered with this. Maybe serviced them once a year or even less, no play and very little friction. Also I do not grease them as other reviewers have mentioned as the bushings are self lubricant. They are basically fit and forget.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bengt.leon
10537 bengt.leon http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/10537/avatar/c50_image_1452644370.jpg?1452643632 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bengt-leon,10537/all 09/03/11 3 1 1

Santa Cruz Jackal Frame

“Best DJ Frame on Market....”

C138_santa_cruz_jackal_frame_only

The Good:

Everything... Super short stays, light, bomb proof, sick user friendly dropouts for SS use, geometry is spot on for DJ and park. Tall? No not at all. Look around, its not super cool to run low bars/80mm fork because some pro does. Does not work for everybody. Check out Martin S. or Sam Pilgrim. 120mm forks and Sam even runs high rise bars. To above reviewer.... Who designed this bike? Kirt Vories, and Jamie Goldman back when they were on Syndicate that's who... Bike has an amazing feel, if you build one up you will not be bummed.

The Bad:

The fact that I want the new 2013 one with tapered headtube...

Overall Review: After riding Many DJ frames over the years( P series, Chase, Bank, Blk Market), this bad boy is hands down the favorite. Geometry is spot on and rips DJ trails and parks with ease. Love the adjustable dropouts for SS use and easy to runs gears as well. Running 100mm RCT Argyle, King headset, and SS 16 x 34 with Saint Cranks, XT Ice Tech Brakes, and Full Chromag components, and I will never let this one go...
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26only
23266 26only http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23266/avatar/c50_201213_Madsteez.jpg?1364848333 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/all 04/01/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/setup 1 8

Deity Decoy LT Flat Pedal

“Solid Pedal”

C138_100206520_1278698241

The Good:

Very light, spins smooth with little noticeable friction after break in period. Good size platform.

The Bad:

Traction is good but could be better with another pin style or material. They just seem thick and don't quite bite shoes as much as some others. Still very solid traction though.

Overall Review: Killer pedal for the money. In my opinion, works best on DJ/ Slopestyle bike. Would look for more pins for DH or trail riding. Would buy again for my Santa Cruz Jackal in a second...
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26only
23266 26only http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23266/avatar/c50_201213_Madsteez.jpg?1364848333 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/all 04/01/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/setup 1 8

Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless/Platform Pedals

“Decent Pedal”

C138_68949

The Good:

Weight, spin freely and overall quality

The Bad:

Traction pins and engagement

Overall Review: This is my first attempt at riding clipless and I traded in my brother's old pedals for a set of these thru the deal Crank Bros was doing at the time - trade in any clipless pedal and get any set of their high end pedals for half price. I enjoy being clipped in for some aspects of riding and I can feel that they make pedaling a bit easier on the rougher sections where a foot would be hard to keep on platform pedals. I love the size of these with a full platform as they make clipping in easy. I found that sometimes I don't feel all the way clipped in and I have to unclip and re-clip to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member brimmergj
22232 brimmergj http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22232/avatar/c50_Glen_1_1443457199.jpg?1443456304 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/all 02/20/13 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/setup 30 29 12

iXS Dagger Knee Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: iXS Dagger Knee Guards”

C138_dagger_front1
by Lee Trumpore Downhill, freeride, dirt jumping, enduro, cross-country, park... you name it, iXS has a knee pad to fit your needs. With athletes like Darren Berrecloth, Hans Rey, and Kurt Sorge helping to design and test new models, you know these pads are meant to take some serious abuse. Dagger Knee Guard Highlights Designed in collaboration with Darren Berrecloth Hard plastic, double injected external knee cup Extended shin padding for added protection from pedal strikes and rocks, plus additional thigh padding Squeezebox joint between knee and shin to provides protection while maintaining flexibility and mobility Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 242 21

Race Face Charge Knee/Shin Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Charge Leg and Arm Guards”

C138_race_face_charge_leg_guards
by Nick Zuzelski A common dilemma facing many riders is the pad situation when throwing a leg over their all-mountain bike. Who wants to run heavy, bulky downhill pads while they grind to the top of a fun descent? Then again, who wants to deal with cut up knees/elbows if things get a little too crazy on the way down? As a solution to the dilemma, Race Face has introduced the Charge Leg and Charge Arm Guards. They took a very minimalist approach with the guards by offering a thin layer of defense while maintaining maximum comfort and flexibility. Charge Guard Highlights Stretch mesh sleeve with second skin, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 23

Continental Explorer Tire

“I do not like this thing”

C138_30198

The Good:

i got it cheap, very grippy

The Bad:

Very unpredictable

Overall Review: I bought two of these things back in the day when i used to race XC a little. While this tire climbs really well, when corning its very unpredictable, meaning i could never get the hang of when it would break free. I eventually got so sick of them i gave them away to someone.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 5 19 9