Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Source WLP - Low Profile Hydration System

Vital Review

“Tested: Source Hydration Systems”

C138_source_wlp_hydration_system
by Johan Hjord Source was founded in 1989, and has since built itself into a globally distributed brand specializing in outdoors footwear and hydration systems. Well-known in the general outdoors/adventure market and recognized for its innovative approach to hydration, the company has also recently introduced a line of packs designed specifically for mountain biking. Curious to see what they can bring to us riders, we put their range of hydration reservoirs to the test. Source Hydration Systems Highlights Triple layer taste and odor free PE film with anti microbial agent PP, PE & Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4133 108 29

Source WXP Hydration System

Vital Review

“Tested: Source Hydration Systems”

C138_wxp_source_hydration_system_70oz
by Johan Hjord Source was founded in 1989, and has since built itself into a globally distributed brand specializing in outdoors footwear and hydration systems. Well-known in the general outdoors/adventure market and recognized for its innovative approach to hydration, the company has also recently introduced a line of packs designed specifically for mountain biking. Curious to see what they can bring to us riders, we put their range of hydration reservoirs to the test. Source Hydration Systems Highlights Triple layer taste and odor free PE film with anti microbial agent PP, PE & POM injected plastic Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4133 108 29

Source Widepac Hydration System

Vital Review

“Tested: Source Hydration Systems”

C138_source_widepac_hydration_system_refill
by Johan Hjord Source was founded in 1989, and has since built itself into a globally distributed brand specializing in outdoors footwear and hydration systems. Well-known in the general outdoors/adventure market and recognized for its innovative approach to hydration, the company has also recently introduced a line of packs designed specifically for mountain biking. Curious to see what they can bring to us riders, we put their range of hydration reservoirs to the test. Source Hydration Systems Highlights Triple layer taste and odor free PE film with anti microbial agent PP, PE & POM injected Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4133 108 29

Bontrager XR4 Team Issue Tire

“this tire is amazing”

C138_bontrager_xr4_team_issue_tire

The Good:

hooks up any where

The Bad:

there is no bad part about this tire

Overall Review: I use this tire on my trek 6000, or my extremely shred tastical ride, and typically I destroy tires in two months, but some how its in tact? Any way this tire has hardly worn at all, and grips every where
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member orion98
22793 orion98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/orion98,22793/all 03/15/13 5 6 21 40 1

Race Face Next SL crankset

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Next SL Crankset”

C138_race_face_next_sl_crank_3x
Review by Evan Turpen // Photos by Dave Trumpore I remember when I first got in to mountain biking 14 years ago the cranks to have were the Race Face Turbine LP square taper. They were beautifully CNC machined and anodized in a variety of colors and at the time were some of the lightest and strongest cranks on the market. I saved up for what seemed like eternity to purchase those cranks and once I finally did I couldn't help but drool over how sexy they made my bike look and feel. Fast forward to the present day and with the introduction of carbon technology and advanced alloys Race Face has released what they feel to be the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

Avid HSX Heat-Shedding Rotor

“Much better than other Avid rotors”

C138_br255c00

The Good:

Light, stays true

The Bad:

None found

Overall Review: I first used these rotors with my old Elixir 5 brakes about three years ago. I changed over from the regular Avid rotors you get for free with the brakes, to try to help eliminate that hideous 'turkey warble'. These rotors are infinitely better and went some way to eliminate the problems with the old Avid rotors. Since then I have moved these on to the back of two different bikes where they perform flawlessly with Shimano SLX 666 brakes. Three years, no pitting and still completely true, very impressed. I'll probably never buy Avid brakes again, but don't overlook these rotors foe AM, trail and XC duties, they seem better than the Shimano rotors.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Bontrager XR4 Team Issue Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager XR4 Team Issue Tire”

C138_bontrager_xr4_team_issue_tire
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins Claiming it will “out-corner any XC tire on the market,” Bontrager sounds pretty confident in their XR4 Team Issue tire. With an aggressive tread pattern on a relatively lightweight tire, it's fair to assume Bontrager is targeting the Enduro crowd with the XR4, aiming it more specifically at those who enjoy riding their trail-bike more like a mini-downhill bike than an XC bike. We put it to the test to see just how it stacks up. XR4 Team Issue Tire Highlights Bold and aggressive tread pattern Excels in loose and rocky conditions Tubeless ready (TLR) - Tire is ready to Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 73 61 1

SRAM Rail 50 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM Rail 50 Wheelset”

C138_sram_rail_50_wheels
Review by A.J. Barlas // Photos by A.J. Barlas and Jon Anthony There's a lot to consider when seeking a new wheelset for your favourite bike: weight, lateral stiffness, durability, tubeless ready, UST compatible or not, looks, just to name a few. And nowhere is the competition as strong across all of the aforementioned aspects as in the 'all-mountain', 'trail', or dare I say, 'Enduro' segment. In addition to requiring wheels to be light, stiff, and strong, this segment also has to cover anyone from the weekend warrior through to the semi- or factory-sponsored professional racer, all of which add to the complexities and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Bell Transfer-9 Full Face Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Bell Transfer-9 Full Face Helmet - The Sweet Spot”

C138_transfer9_blkbluwhtquantum
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord 2012 saw the introduction of a flurry of new high-end helmets, among them the Full-9 from Bell. Built from exotic materials and featuring all the innovation Bell could muster, it was certainly an impressive piece of equipment, but as such, it came with a fairly impressive price tag too. Fast-forward a few months to the arrival of the Transfer-9, the Full-9’s little brother. Offering many of the features found on the Full-9, it checks in at exactly half the price, which should put it right near the top of the old value for money pyramid. We were lucky to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4133 108 29