Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2014 Evil Uprising

“Hands down the Best trail // all mountain bike...”

C138_evil_uprising

The Good:

+ Delta link is amazing.. + climbs like a 3-4 inch XC bike.. + descends like a DH bike.. + light
+ fast + nimble
+ rock garden destroyer.. + makes traill riding fun again..

The Bad:

+ no colours available
+ would like a longer top tube, I'm 5.10 and have medium, need another 1-2 inches on TT

Overall Review: This is hands down one of the best trail bikes I've ridden, climbs like a 3- 4 inch bike.. rapid..Poppy, insanely fast ,nimble, very flickable, confidence inspiring. Can destroy even the most technical of rock gardens, Really fun trail bike, has me riding faster and clearing sections I didn't think possible ... I would highly recommend riding one of these before you buy any new carbon trial bike.. 26 inch wheels and all ....properly good..
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member ERNSTEVERYTHING.COM
1809 ERNSTEVERYTHING.COM http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1809/avatar/c50_A_1479723278.jpg?1479723203 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ERNSTEVERYTHING-COM,1809/all 01/27/10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ERNSTEVERYTHING-COM,1809/setup 5 154 6 2

2014 Evil Uprising

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Evil Uprising”

C138_evil_uprising
Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Lear Miller Shrouded in mystery since the beginning, the Evil Uprising is now available to the public. It’s about time, too! We’ve been eager to try one out since we first saw Filip Polc on a prototype back in 2012. Our chance finally came during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. With looks that could kill, the full carbon frameset features 150mm of travel, 26-inch wheels (gasp!), adjustable geometry and the unique DELTA suspension system. Uprising Highlights High-pressure molded unidirectional carbon frame 26-inch wheels 150mm (5.9-inches) of rear wheel travel DELTA Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1118 96 6155 952 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1271 2318 170 41

Enve Composites Carbon Fiber Mountain Sweep

“Excellent bar”

C138_barswp_main_3_800x532

The Good:

strong and light, good/simple graphics

The Bad:

a bit spendy, but not much more than similar options

Overall Review: About a year ago I gouged my Easton Havoc carbon bar in a crash at bootleg canyon and afterward I was a bit nervous riding it with such a deep scratch and so decided to get a new bar. I mixed it up and bought a buddy's nearly new ENVEDH bar to see what I thought. In many regards it is similar to the Easton that I really like with veryclose rise and sweep numbers. One of the touches that I like about the ENVE is that there is a rough section for where the stem clamps on to prevent slips I suppose. I did end up cutting down the 800mm bar to my preferred width of760mm, but actually ended uptaking too much off Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48

Hope Technology Seat Collar

“Get the QR version”

C138_qr703b01_black

The Good:

Works well and well finished

The Bad:

A child could strip out the extremely weak alloy bolt and even snap it

Overall Review: In my opinion an aluminium alloy is just the wrong material to use for a bolt in this application, the weight savings are just minuscule, it's just too weak, I stripped out the bolt with very minimal force, which is pretty disappointing from a manufacturer like Hope. However the collar part of the product is well finished and nicely anodised and has lasted for years, after I switched out the bolt for a steel version. I also use the QR collar and have never had a problem, so I'd recommend buying that instead.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Hope Technology Seat Collar

“Simple and solid”

C138_qr703b01_black

The Good:

reliable, light

The Bad:

nothing so far

Overall Review: Whether you're building up a bike from the frame or swapping out the standardquick release clamp that comes with most complete bikes, a nice seat tube collar is in order.  I went with this one based upon brand reputation, the simple design and the reasonable price.  Nothing fancy here, the clamp just plain works. This is one of those components that you really don't want to think about too often. I have had two of these now, a blue on for my bottlerocket years ago and now a black one for the dh rig.  I have moved it to a few different frames depending on which one has the dropper post on it and have had no problems with it working as expected.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48

SDG Ti-Fly Saddle

Featured Member Review

“Nice saddle”

C138_98552110_1265400329

The Good:

Light, quality construction

The Bad:

kinda pricey, but good deals can be found online

Overall Review: SDG's Ti Fly has titanium rails and thin padding to keep the weight to a minimum. I scored a good deal on one and put it on the dh bike where it works great. It is small/thin enough to not be in the way when moving around yet it feels solid when you need it to give the bike a little input with your legs. The saddle has been through a few crashes and the sides have held up well considering I got version with the nylon weave sides that are a bit tougher than a regular fabric. I've used SDG saddles in the past and am a fan of the Bel-Air for trail riding where you spend a bit more time sitting down. Also the I beam is a really cool Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48

Maxxis High Roller II Tire

“Worthy, but Minion beats it”

C138_tyre_image_highroller2_l

The Good:

Mud shedding ability, and downhill bite

The Bad:

Weight, climbing slip, and cornering sketch unless ruthlessly thrown at the corner

Overall Review: Not a bad DH tire, if I got a bike with them I'd use them, but replace them with something else. They look like the offspring of the original HRs mixed with a Minion DHR. I was never a fan of the old High Roller, and much prefer the Minion DHF. The HR2 is better than the old tire IMO but still has some of the old annoyances, personally a think it just handles a bit worse than a DHF, but braking traction is good as is mud shedding. Climbing as HR is worse than a semi-slick
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

2014 Kona Process 153 Bike

“where have you been all my life!”

C138_process_153

The Good:

Geometry, Handling, Nice wide bars, Pikes, dropper post as standard,

The Bad:

Bit wide at the rear, Cranks could be stiffer, monarch RT sealing not as good as fox, KS seatpost not great in mud

Overall Review: Had the bike for 3 months now and every time I ride it just seems to get better! My medium was 14.5kg with pedals and came with i25 rather than i23 rims as listed The Bars are nice and wide clutch mech, brakes (with big discs) have worked impressively, grips are nice too, saddle is very comfy, the cranks are ok but they are flexy compared to the frame (can tell when I push on them by hand dont really notice when riding). Wheels seem great if not the lightest, came already taped for tubeless so just had to add some fluid and valves, HR2 tyres are very grippy and tough, but a bit heavy and draggy on the climbs! They come up big Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member kimbers
29469 kimbers http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29469/avatar/c50_kimbers_1391697419.jpg?1391696579 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kimbers,29469/all 01/30/14 1 4 1

Intense Tire Systems MK2 Microknobby Tire

“Great street tires”

C138_89372090_1266961519

The Good:

fast rolling, lightweight

The Bad:

limited purpose

Overall Review: I was riding knobby tires on my hardtail that I use for commuting to work, riding with the kiddos,and kicking around town but decided to opt for these when I saw them on sale at Jensonusa.com. I'm glad I went for them as they increase the fun factor for my pavement rides. These roll much quicker and accelerate much faster than what I am used to in a knobby (obviously) or semi-slick so I'm a fan. Overall these have held up well (no flats or slashes in the sidewall so far) and they have a really cool look to them as well, which has led to a number of comments about them by random strangers. I keep my knobby for the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48

DEITY Compound Flat Pedal

“Underrated pedal, great bargain”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

Cheap, light, simple

The Bad:

none so far

Overall Review: So what started out being a purchase to cheaply outfit my hardtail with some decent pedals, has led me to really like these pedals more and more. Soon these were on my main bike. My concern after moving these over to the full suspension bike, which sees more trail abuse, was that they pedals might not hold up due to the composite material versus a metal pedal. I actually like the way these will just slide off obstacles like rocks,where a metal pedal has the tendency to grip it and catch you (think tight, rocky tech sections). I've had no issues with the inner workingsor the replaceable pins. Style and fit are personal Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48