Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Renthal FatBar Riser Bar

“Best Bar I've Ridden”

C138_63501

The Good:

Lightweight, rigid yet forgiving for optimum control, great shape and no taper allows for custom positioning of brakes for anybody, great look and color, perfect width for downhill

The Bad:

Nothing. If given the choice however i would swop for a 30mm rise

Overall Review: Really great bar, no negatives. You are buying a bar that has heritage so it wont disappoint. I would definitely go for a bigger rise though, getting your head up and allowing you to really look forward. I have the 10mm rise and its a little too low. The only reason i gave it 4.5 stars is because theres possibly something better...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Mavic Alpine XL Clipless Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Mavic Alpine XL Clipless Shoes”

C138_mavic_alpine_xl
by Joe Schneider Mavic’s trail-focused mountain bike shoe, the Alpine XL, bridges the gap between their cross country line and the downhill shoes on the market by combining some interesting features from both heritages. We put it to the test to see what that mix translates to in actual on-the-trail performance. Alpine XL Shoe Highlights Contagrip Rubber Sole XL Vent Tongue Quick Lace system Ergo Fit OrthoLite Insoles Lace cover Synthetic and mesh upper materials EVA midsole Mid ankle protection with perforated neoprene Toe and heel protection Higher volume fit Sizes 3.5-13 US Weight: 410 grams MSRP $130 Initial Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member SchneiderTrucking
22113 SchneiderTrucking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22113/avatar/c50_Ska_Zia_Pic_2.5.jpg?1366689625 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SchneiderTrucking,22113/all 02/15/13 4 6

2012 Mongoose Fireball 26" Bike

“Good Value, some great budget components, some junk”

C138_m_12_fir26_cyn_2

The Good:

Chain guide, tires, frame geometry

The Bad:

seat, brakes

Overall Review: I bought this because it's my third bike and I ride in two countries and needed one to use for about a month each year. The good: MRP chain guide works pretty flawlessly Kenda K-rads are great tires Frame geometry is great but chainstays could be shorter The OK: SRAM rear derailleur OK, but better if short cage Crank works fine, square taper is reliable Fork is bouncy and fun but has no adjust and bottoms and tops out really easily Wheels are heavy and don't have sealed bearings, but are reliable 710mm steel bar and short stem The Bad: Tektro brakes overheat on the slightest hill Seat rails bend easily, seat is garbage Frame Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

2013 Cannondale Claymore 1 Bike

“Claymore Slays It”

C138_2013_cannondale_claymore_1

The Good:

Super stabile and responsive. The most versatile bike I have ever ridden. Goes up great...down even better.

The Bad:

A pretty heavy rig. Wish they offered a carbon version.

Overall Review: Great bike. A great option for those who ride aggressively and want one bike tosatisfy an all mountain assault.  Go's up the steeps and bulldozes down the other side...taking drops like a dual crown. Pretty amazing.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member STR0MER
26146 STR0MER http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26146/avatar/c50_IMG_0162_1372864405.jpg?1372864116 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/STR0MER,26146/all 07/03/13 1

2013 Diamondback Response Bike

“2013 DiamondBack Response review”

C138_2013_response

The Good:

Solid Frame - Beefy but light
Wheels seem sound
100mm fork is a plus

The Bad:

Not the best deraileurs
the fork is not that great will need to be replaced within the year (for me)
V-brakes are ok, but I will be replacing with disk

Overall Review: I picked this bike up for around $220 I believe, brand new, from Promotive.com. HUGE step up from the walmart mongoose I was riding. Very responsive (pun intended) and well built Bike.  I cannot complain too much.  I put the cons out there but really you get what you pay for, and I expected as much.  Whenever something breaks I will upgrade it.  Took it out on a couple hard rides and did very well.  My buddy bought an Airbourne Sabre at the same time, and on both of our 2nd runs, he taco'd his wheel.  I had no fear of it happening to this bike because the wheels seem to be quality enough.  I recommend if on a budget, but not for the 500$ asking price.  Wait until it goes on sale, or look for it cheaper elsewhere.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hughes278
25196 hughes278 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25196/avatar/c50_WP_20130531_001_1370654764.jpg?1370653859 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hughes278,25196/all 06/07/13 1

Morewood Bicycles Makulu Frame

“Makulu, is it Zulu for "Wicked Ride"??”

C138_makulu_black_white

The Good:

Small company = Attention to detail
Low, Slack, spot on weight, predictable in the air and on the ground
Killer Looks
Innovative "Single Pivot" design
Loves to go sideways in the air
Will rail corners like a slot car
Can hug the ground in the snotty stuff like a cop holding his donut (with the correct shock set up)

The Bad:

Weak stickers (more durable custom stickers being made to replicate originals)
Seat Clamp design - not a fan
Getting the right shock tune can be a little tricky
not enough dealers in Oz

Overall Review: For someone who has not raced a DH bike in nearly a decade and a half, I brought mine "newish"in mid 2012 and is a 2012 model. The guy who brought it initially and built itup only owned the bike for a month, he wasn't a fan nd decided to sell it on. The price was almost criminal for the build spec he had on it. All reasonably high end parts, he just wanted a quick sale. Score for me. I have only had the pleasure of 1 race meet and a shuttle day on the bike, but the bike is super stable in the air, isnt afraid of being thrown sideways, is predicatable in corners and loves to hug the ground through the snotty stuff. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

2013 Norco Magnum Bike

“Great beginner to mid-level bike”

C138_magnum_1

The Good:

Light, strong, good setup for most people

The Bad:

Components are average, I still can't quite adjust them correctly. Brakes are a tad small.

Overall Review: I recently got this bike for dirt jumping. I had some experience prior to buying this bike, but I'm not great. I got this one because it has the 8-speed drivetrain, which really helps with the hills at my park. It is also cheap enough to thrash about and learn on. The tires are great, the rims are great, the brakes are decent, the pedals are light, and the frame is beefy. It is also surprisingly light. The seat is reasonably comfortable, but I don't sit on it unless I'm at the top of a run waiting around. The frame is big enough for me (6' 1" and 180 lbs), but the bars are a tad low. I ordered 2-inch rise bars and they work Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sideways Rock
26051 Sideways Rock http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26051/avatar/c50_261237_543393729016382_763368252_n_1372558930.jpg?1372558425 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sideways-Rock,26051/all 06/29/13 1

Club Ride Bolt Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Club Ride Bolt Jersey - Casually Functional”

C138_club_ride_bolt_raven_devo
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Courtney Steen Club Ride's unique Sun Valley, Idaho-inspired style brings a fresh look to mountain bike apparel. A collar on a mountain bike jersey?! Front pockets? Preposterous for many, awesome for the rest of us. When the company kicked things off in 2008, they wanted to create something the everyday person could enjoy. They also had the mindset that mountain biking doesn't have to be flashy, florescent, or skin-tight. Thanks to jerseys like the Bolt, now you look classy on AND off the bike without sacrificing comfort or function. Bolt Jersey Highlights Lightweight RideDryWear Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6087 1037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1172 2156 131 40

2013 Scott Voltage FR 30 Bike

“Awesome bike”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_25_at_6.57.36_pm

The Good:

Easy to adjust rear shock
Frame is nice
Nice graphics
Jumps amazing

The Bad:

Suspension quality
Brakes

Overall Review: I have been riding this bike for a while and it is my favorite bike to ride. It pops super nice off the jumps and drops. It also handles through rock gardens and roots. All around great bike! Plus the price is great!

iXS Flow Knee Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: iXS Flow Knee Pads”

C138_fuller_ixs_flow_knee_pads_7970
by Lee Trumpore iXS has answered the call of the growing all-mountain, adventure, and enduro crowds with the new ultra-light Flow Knee Pad. Developed at the request of Hans Rey, the Flow Knee Pads take minimal protection to a whole new level weighing in at about 300 grams per pair, but still have enough padding for serious abuse. Flow Knee Pad Highlights Designed in collaboration with Hans Rey Ideal for trail riding and enduro racing Super lightweight and super compact design (+/- 300g pair) "X-Matter" - high impact absorption, energy absorbing, open cell, slow rebound foam compound 360 all-around, breathable, moisture Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 246 21