Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29er Bike

“Great bike”

C138_stumpjumper_fsr_comp_29er_navywhite

The Good:

The feel of the bike is great. This is a trail bike and as such does everything well without being DH or XC specific. Which means the bike is solid and quick in most situations

The Bad:

I have had trouble with shifting from small to large chain ring, but this is probably due to poor initial set up from the lbs..

Overall Review: This bike is a great trail bike for people that like to ride trails and don't take things to seriously (weight etc).

Chromag Ranger Stem

“Great product!”

C138_88953010_1273302814

The Good:

Precision made, well-constructed, great colors, great logo, it works!

The Bad:

Some might say the price is to high, but for Chromag product line, I am prepared to pay some extra money!

Overall Review: Great product, worth of every penny!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member primonovak
24820 primonovak http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24820/avatar/c50_IMAG0718_1369988693.jpg?1369988693 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/primonovak,24820/all 05/31/13 1

Renthal Strata Duo MTB Stem

“Renthal Duo Stem”

C138_49156

The Good:

Looks great , Built well , good strength , very light .

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: I have recently purchased one of these stems to go with my Renthal fatbar lites . Using this stem for trail riding and enduro racing . I race downhill so also thrash my trail bike and hardware . I run Renthal on all my bikes and absolutely love it . Never had a problem with it .
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SpeshyDhNz
23954 SpeshyDhNz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23954/avatar/c50_queenstown_1367228213.jpg?1367227856 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SpeshyDhNz,23954/all 04/29/13 1 1

KS LEV Adjustable Seatpost

“Are adjustable posts worth it?”

C138_ks_lev

The Good:

Works, looks great, no hose at the bottom of the saddle

The Bad:

Spendy and heavy compared to nonadjustable

Overall Review: I was a skeptic of adjustable posts until I got a Reverb and I loved it. It didn't make me a better rider but just more comfortable and I could do more with a push of a button. Here is what I like about the KS: 1. No more getting off my bike to adjust my seat (duh) 2. This post is very clean compared to my Reverb which was good but lacked hose management 3. The lever on this one is great and very robust 4. Infinite travel is a must have and this one works flawlessly Here is what I don't like: 1. Price, this bugger is spendy 2. Availability, when I was buying it was hard to find. Had to settle for 125 when I wish i could Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 312 21

Pro Koryak 3D Forged Stem

Featured Review

“Not The Best”

C138_44961

The Good:

Light weight, good rise angle

The Bad:

Handle bar bolts loosen over time.

Overall Review: Got this stem for a really good deal and was looking for a 31.8mm stem with a decent reach. I picked up the Koryak stem in a 80mm length. The stem went on easy enough and everything bolted up well. Followed all the torque recommendations prior to riding; handlebar bolts 4NM and steerer tube bolts 11NM. First ride everything went well. Second ride was good too. Prior to the third ride gave my bike a once over and checked bolts and found the front handlebar bolts of the stem really loose. I torqued them back down and after a couple of rides I found the same problem with the bolts loosening up. I do like the feel of the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Hope Technology DH Stem

“hope to know :)”

C138_49250

The Good:

strong,dosent flex,sexy!!!,its CNC,hope, i like this stem.

The Bad:

3 bolts, maybe a little heavy , exspensive, come in just 50 mm.
but 4 me its ok.

Overall Review: i give it 4.5 from 5 bcoz it have 3 bolts,and just 50 mm type. if they had 35/40 its was the best!!! but 4 me the 50mm its ok. grate stem of hope!!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member daniel.alexseev
20650 daniel.alexseev http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/20650/avatar/c50_1075823_4455777330885_459417374_n_1374360216.jpg?1374359237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/daniel-alexseev,20650/all 12/28/12 12 45 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/daniel-alexseev,20650/setup 3 1

Deity Fantom 31.8 Stem

“My Favorite Stem”

C138_fantom_318_stem_5

The Good:

looks great and works even better

The Bad:

nothing if you like cool stems

Overall Review: Sick, been riding it for a while and it's super strong. I've taken a few crashes and the thing barely gets scratched. Anodized black is awesome.

Truvativ Hussefelt Stem

Featured Review

“For the Baller on a Budget!”

C138_st259a05_black

The Good:

This stem is $25.00 shipped on price point, BOOM. This is a deal you can not beat, especially for the short 40-60mm stem that is growing more and more popular. This stem also works for a majority of bars and forks that are on the market so it is very versatile. Not only is it a great piece on an AM rig, but I have seen this exact stem on a number of dirt jumpers. Not once have I ever heard of anyone breaking a Hussefelt stem, these things are pretty stiff and beefy. The flat black finish is flawless and the decals are not stickers, they are painted/stenciled on. I feel as if I should have payed three times as much for this stem. My favorite part about this stem is the raw finish on the front that spells "Hussefelt", It gives it a pretty high end look that is also unique. The bolts that bring together the whole shebang are top notch and add to the quality of the stem. If you are not a weight Nazi trying to shed every ounce you possibly can, there is no reason not to buy this 220 gram stem.

The Bad:

Nadaaaaaaaaa

Overall Review: This is a perfect stem if you are trying to keep it cheap and still look like you know what you are doing. Which is easier said than done...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member frankietheman21
24807 frankietheman21 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24807/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000018627854_1369943236.jpg?1369942801 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/frankietheman21,24807/all 05/30/13 1

Kore B-52 K34 Stem

“cheap trick!!!”

C138_62291

The Good:

low price, great value.
Strong as helllll
looks good in white & black.

The Bad:

Probably the weight?!(i don't think it as an issue)

Overall Review: Got the 60mm size 0 deg angle. It doesn't weigh that much for AM use. Personally I think its a bargain!!!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member benarch
19802 benarch /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benarch,19802/all 11/13/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benarch,19802/setup 2 11 1

Chromag Ranger Stem

Featured Review

“Sorry Thomson”

C138_88953010_1273302814

The Good:

So light, very stiff, many length options, wider faceplate than it looks, 0 degree rise, low stack height, Canadian Made!, killer with wide bars on any trail bike. In shorter lengths also killer lightweight stem option for your DJ bike. Could go on for days even with such a simple product. Have one on my Nomad C, and also running one on my SC Jackal. Perfect!

The Bad:

Bad? Some will say price... Chromag can have my money.. Killer service from guys that ride bikes with amazing attitudes...

Overall Review: Chromag is flat out making impressive bits these days... This stem has opened my eyes to their entire line and I will do what I can to run Chromag parts where I can on my bikes... The Ranger is no exception, and is a quality stem with killer performance. As much as I dig Thomson stuff(killer customer service also by the way, and also North American manufacturing always a bonus), i will be running these from now on.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26only
23266 26only http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23266/avatar/c50_201213_Madsteez.jpg?1364848333 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/all 04/01/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/setup 1 8