Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Deity Fantom 31.8 Stem

“My Favorite Stem”

C138_fantom_318_stem_5

The Good:

looks great and works even better

The Bad:

nothing if you like cool stems

Overall Review: Sick, been riding it for a while and it's super strong. I've taken a few crashes and the thing barely gets scratched. Anodized black is awesome.

Truvativ Hussefelt Stem

Featured Review

“For the Baller on a Budget!”

C138_st259a05_black

The Good:

This stem is $25.00 shipped on price point, BOOM. This is a deal you can not beat, especially for the short 40-60mm stem that is growing more and more popular. This stem also works for a majority of bars and forks that are on the market so it is very versatile. Not only is it a great piece on an AM rig, but I have seen this exact stem on a number of dirt jumpers. Not once have I ever heard of anyone breaking a Hussefelt stem, these things are pretty stiff and beefy. The flat black finish is flawless and the decals are not stickers, they are painted/stenciled on. I feel as if I should have payed three times as much for this stem. My favorite part about this stem is the raw finish on the front that spells "Hussefelt", It gives it a pretty high end look that is also unique. The bolts that bring together the whole shebang are top notch and add to the quality of the stem. If you are not a weight Nazi trying to shed every ounce you possibly can, there is no reason not to buy this 220 gram stem.

The Bad:

Nadaaaaaaaaa

Overall Review: This is a perfect stem if you are trying to keep it cheap and still look like you know what you are doing. Which is easier said than done...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member frankietheman21
24807 frankietheman21 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24807/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000018627854_1369943236.jpg?1369942801 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/frankietheman21,24807/all 05/30/13 1

Kore B-52 K34 Stem

“cheap trick!!!”

C138_62291

The Good:

low price, great value.
Strong as helllll
looks good in white & black.

The Bad:

Probably the weight?!(i don't think it as an issue)

Overall Review: Got the 60mm size 0 deg angle. It doesn't weigh that much for AM use. Personally I think its a bargain!!!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member benarch
19802 benarch /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benarch,19802/all 11/13/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benarch,19802/setup 2 11 1

Chromag Ranger Stem

Featured Review

“Sorry Thomson”

C138_88953010_1273302814

The Good:

So light, very stiff, many length options, wider faceplate than it looks, 0 degree rise, low stack height, Canadian Made!, killer with wide bars on any trail bike. In shorter lengths also killer lightweight stem option for your DJ bike. Could go on for days even with such a simple product. Have one on my Nomad C, and also running one on my SC Jackal. Perfect!

The Bad:

Bad? Some will say price... Chromag can have my money.. Killer service from guys that ride bikes with amazing attitudes...

Overall Review: Chromag is flat out making impressive bits these days... This stem has opened my eyes to their entire line and I will do what I can to run Chromag parts where I can on my bikes... The Ranger is no exception, and is a quality stem with killer performance. As much as I dig Thomson stuff(killer customer service also by the way, and also North American manufacturing always a bonus), i will be running these from now on.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26only
23266 26only http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23266/avatar/c50_201213_Madsteez.jpg?1364848333 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/all 04/01/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/setup 1 8

Chromag HIFI Stem

“Hi-Fi is ready for the Apocalypse...”

C138_60381

The Good:

Very stout, Zero flex even while running wide bars, good wide faceplate, solid Steel hardware. The way a DH/FR stem should be for single crown forks. Simple, solid construction..

The Bad:

Lighter? Maybe... but I think the weight lends to it's solid feel.

Overall Review: Looking for a stout stem for your Mini DH rig with a single crown fork? HI-FI fits the bill to a T... Solid reliable stem, that you will set up and forget about....
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26only
23266 26only http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23266/avatar/c50_201213_Madsteez.jpg?1364848333 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/all 04/01/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26only,23266/setup 1 8

Gravity Lite Os Stem

“Great stem”

C138_st307a01blk_1.5_60

The Good:

-Light
-Strong
-Looks good

The Bad:

-no problems at all

Overall Review: I use this stem with their gravity light bar on my stumpy evo. Its never slipped move or shifted in any way since I put her on (over a year ago). What else are you looking for in a stem? Oh yea and it comes in ice gray.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member patrick.costella
24799 patrick.costella http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24799/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000548224766_1369929957.jpg?1369929252 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/patrick-costella,24799/all 05/30/13 1

Azonic Barretta Stem

“Awesome Stem!”

C138_58850

The Good:

Stiff
Not heavy

The Bad:

Not exactly light either

Overall Review: I have this stem on my '10 GT Force along with a set of Spank bars that are 762mm long. It's a great combo for all mountain riding.  I do wish sometimes that the stem was about 10mm longer for some of the more XC'ish type riding I do but all in all I really like how stiff it is and in white it looks as awesome as it feels.  It's not the heaviest stem out there but its not exactly light either.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member StumpyandhisBike
24235 StumpyandhisBike /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/StumpyandhisBike,24235/all 05/09/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/StumpyandhisBike,24235/setup 9 2

Truvativ Hussefelt Stem

“As strong as heck, in a jail they'd put it in a sock and use it as a weapon!”

C138_st259a05_black

The Good:

Strong with strong bolts

The Bad:

Heavy, limited color choices, painted and not anodized

Overall Review: To be honest if I was going to upgrade anything I'd plumb for a stem under 180 grams. At 220 grams on my scale it's a tad on the heavy side, OK so not by much, but consider you can get a really strong attractive anodized CNC machined stem in a choice of colors at 160 grams, and those grams here and there add up into kilos by the end of your build. So I'd only buy this for a budget freeride or DH build, maybe spend extra and go lighter for AM and trail bikes. However it is a serious stem that gives you piece of mind with no doubts to its strength.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Loaded Precision X-lite Titanium Stem

“Cocked and Loaded”

C138_ewb_4f94630a42ebf_img_9057

The Good:

Strong lite and great looking.

The Bad:

The anodizing scratches easily.

Overall Review: About 3 years ago I found these guys when it was time to build up some new wheels. I build a set with their hubs, hoops and spokes.  They have been by far the best wheels I have ever used.  Once I started to use them I kept an eye on their other products.  When I build a new SS I needed  a stem and bars.  So the Loaded site I went.  I purchased the stem and some AMX Bars in green of course.  I have been running them for around 6 months on the trainer and 2 months in the dirt.  As always they well made and just what I needed.  Great product from a great US company.  Any time I have ever had an issue I just call them up and Anthony has always been a huge help.  Buy their products if you can.  They are all awesome.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member racook1971
17209 racook1971 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17209/avatar/c50_Snyper.jpg?1343138889 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/racook1971,17209/all 07/24/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/racook1971,17209/setup 4 2

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Evolution Tire

“Lots of grip and plenty of rip, Trailstar w/ snakeskin”

C138_19166

The Good:

grippy, predictable, quick roller

The Bad:

wear fast, flats!!!!, spendy for such a short life span

Overall Review: Here is what I like. 1. Predictable throughout all angles of the tire 2. rolls quick 4. Grippy on all surfaces so far 5. Light 6. Stiffish sidewall for such a light tire Here is hat I don't like 1. Flats, I get a lot of flats with these tires, probably because of how light they are 2. Knobs wear very quick 3. Wobbly! It's a bitch to get these things on straight. My buddy has the same issue.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 50 309 21