Latest Product Reviews

RSS

SixSixOne Rage Knee Guard

“Good Knee Protection from 661”

C138_2012_rage_knee_2

The Good:

Light weight, breathable and well ventilated, simple looks and design

The Bad:

Bulky, they slide down when you need them most, awkward shape-they seem to bunch up behind the knee and on the sides when you move

Overall Review: Good protection from 661, but they dont seem to do their job. My first proper fall resulted in a big roastie on my knee and the pad around my ankle. Dont know if its just me but they dont really work when they need to most. My friends with the same pad, say that the bunching around the sides and behind the knee also happens to them-it gets pretty annoying and results in you needing to adjust them pretty often. Having said this, the side protection really helps a lot if your knees hit the frame. and they do work for light uses like trail riding not sure if they quiet up to handling Dh spills.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Smith Fuel v.2 Sweat-X Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: Smith Optics Fuel v.2 Sweat-X Goggles”

C138_smith_fuel_v.2_goggles
Review by Sean "Griz" McClendon // Photos by Taylor Sage and Ian Collins When the team of riders using a product rips, it's usually a product that speaks for itself. Smith’s mountain bike team is off-the-hook, so the Fuel v.2 Goggles came with high expectations. Goggles are an essential tool in mountain biking. What are we looking for in a goggle? We’re looking for a light, comfy feel, broad field of vision with no distortion, a lens that doesn’t fog up, and something that will match well with the rest of our kit. Let’s dive into the Smith Fuel v.2 with Sweat-X foam and determine the results... Fuel v.2 Sweat-X Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

Vans Warner SPD Clipless Shoe

“Vans has done it Again”

C138_50387

The Good:

Extremely good looking compared to the other clipless shoes on the market, the strap is great and gives it a sturdy feel, reliable waffle sole, strong and stiff sole.

The Bad:

No lace protection, although i havent had a problem, some what awkward cleat position although you do get used to it, strange having to cut the sole when you first get them, had a problem with the sole breaking, but glued it back and no problems, quite heavy, no ankle protection, expensive

Overall Review: A great shoe from Vans, as usual. Good looking, strong and bomb proof. I have a preferance for good looking shoes, and these fit the bill. They do take some getting used to and positioning the cleat takes some time, there are some build quality issues, but overall a good shoe.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Fox Racing Rampage Full Face Helmet

“Affordable protection from Fox”

C138_l139487

The Good:

A good looking helmet for the price, light, fairly comfortable, easy to use thanks to a clip instead of buckle, easy to wash

The Bad:

Does not work very well with a Leatt, liner above forehead slides down, cheapish interior, the plastic peak nob is not strong enough, rubber trim peels off

Overall Review: A sturdy, affordable beginner helmet. It saved my head from a substantial rock hit. It did what it was supposed to. Unfortunetly the price reflects some build quality issues-it is not that comfortable and things start to break after a couple months. Its a helmet, it does what its needs to do, but nothing more.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Truvativ Descendant DH Crankset

“Worthy Cranks”

C138_truvativ_descendant_dh_crankset

The Good:

Simple, relatively light weight compared to other non-carbon downhill cranks, stiff, tough

The Bad:

The paint wears off after while

Overall Review: Really great crank from Truvativ. If their World Cup Team riders ride these, they must be good. I ride them on my Morewood Makulu and they really make the bike. You barely notice them - they just do their job. Dont know if it was just me, but I had to take the BB apart and clean in the first two weeks to stop an annoying creek, but once put back together I have had absolutely no trouble. Another thing I noticed is that because they have a flat outside surface with no ribs, your ankles rarely get hit or hurt. Overall, a reliable, strong, lightweight crank worthy of any build.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

SRAM X0 9-Speed Rear Derailleur

“Great shifting from Sram”

C138_90369700_1266800680

The Good:

Light, extremely crisp shifting, strong spring keeps the chain from slapping around, good looking

The Bad:

Price, but it's definitely worth it. The logo/decal rubs off after a couple of washes, unfortunately.

Overall Review: Really crisp shifting, there is no lag at all. So precise. Work in all conditions, easy to service, very simple. Spares are readily available, but I have not had to order one. Great for any use. I use it on my 1X9 DH rig and it works perfectly. Very fast shifting.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

e*thirteen Guidering Chainring

“A Chainring fit for any Rig”

C138_98529870_1265249248

The Good:

Lightweight, good looking, long teeth to really hold onto the chain, comes in many sizes and colors

The Bad:

Nothing, possibly quite expensive

Overall Review: Have not had any issues with it, great ring, looks good, has not dropped a chain.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

FOX DHX RC4 Rear Shock

“A Shock that will change your bike-for the Better!”

C138_97854910_1265256421

The Good:

Smooth and plush, progressive, extremely responsive throughout the stroke, easy to tune, so many settings, easy to buy springs

The Bad:

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

Overall Review: This is how you want a shock to feel, it will completely change your bike. Very responsive over the rough, easy to get diald in, progressive bottom out, hard when you need it to be. A great benchmark. Best shock Ive ridden, by far! The only reason I give it 4.5 stars, is because I hear the Cane Creek is great...but costly. This is the shock you need.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Shimano PD-M647 Pedals

“Shimano DX”

C138_pe703a09

The Good:

Large platform provides plenty support, chunky and strong enough to survive big hits and a lot of abuse, easy-to-use tensioning system, simple

The Bad:

HEAVY, so heavy, Im considering changing.

Overall Review: A great pedal for Downhill, but too heavy for trail. Really tough and simple to use. They take some abuse!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Deity Enoki Grips

“Deity Enoki for the Win!”

C138_deity_enoki_grips

The Good:

Really, really comfortable, great shape, the fins are quite big so they provide a lot of cushioning as well as an ergonomic grip, flange is the perfect size to work together with brakes/shifters

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Having always ridden ODI, specifically the flanged ruffian, I thought i would never change, these grips changed that. These grips are definitely the best on the market. So comfortable, and best grip pattern for sure. I really love flanged grips, so if you do too, these are the grips to buy.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11