Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Hincapie Tour LTX Pants

“Hincapie Tour LTX pants”

C138_hincapie_tour_ltx_pants

The Good:

Stretch fabric keeps you feeling unrestricted. Wind proof material

The Bad:

Could use a few small zipper pockets // No chamois provided

Overall Review: Tour LTX Pant Features 4-way stretch Adavanced LTX Wind Repel fabric moves with the body while providing unparalleled wind protection RegulatorTek with Thermocool optimizes body temperature regardless of activity level Ergonomic articulated knees for a tailored fit and freedom of movement Auto-locking, zippered leg openings facilitate easy layering over shoes Seamless gusset eliminates short seam overlap Elastic draw cord adjustable waist Reflective treatments for high visibility MSRP $110 As you can see from my epic Van Halen inspired split kick, the pants were anything but restricting. As far as warmth goes, the wind Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie Black Ice Gloves

“Hincapie Black Ice Gloves”

C138_hincapie_black_ice_gloves

The Good:

Warmth of a winter glove without the bulk

The Bad:

Runs slightly big // Overkill for fall riding, best used for winter/cold rides

Overall Review: Black Ice Glove Features Insulated, windproof/water-resistant laminate blocks out the elements Special Dry Hand lining helps move internal moisture away from skin Chamude palm with silicone logo gripper provide excellent feel and a more secure grip on the bars Silicone gripper wraps around side panel for no slip shifting and braking Reflective piping across glove top for improved low light visibility Anti-pill fleece nose wipe area on thumb Glove clip helps keep gloves together for easy storage MSRP $70 The Black Ice gloves gave the warmth of a winter glove without feeling like I was wearing hockey gloves. The perfect Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie Arenberg Zero Jacket

Featured Member Review

“Hincapie Arenberg Zero Jacket”

C138_hincapie_arenberg_zero_jacket_back

The Good:

Cut perfectly for riding position // Very warm

The Bad:

Would benefit from two zippered pockets // No use for rear pockets if riding with a pack

Overall Review: As I packed up the car and filled my Camelback, my wife looks at me and says "You're wearing just THAT to go riding?!". The mercury read 37F as I loaded up, so I figured if this Hincapie gear could keep me somewhat warm on a cold day like this, it would perform amazing on a crisp fall day! Hincapie has a strong reputation in the road cycling & triathlon industry for manufacturing high end bibs, tights, jerseys, etc. and their XC gear isn't any different. At first glance all the gear looked solid and well made, but we all know the real test happens on the trails. For me, the true sign of great cold weather gear is Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie PowerCore Merino LS Baselayer

“Hincapie PowerCore Merino LS Baselayer”

C138_hincapie_powercore_merino_ls_baselayer_riding_jersey

The Good:

Cut perfectly for the riding position // Very warm

The Bad:

Merino Wool is pricey

Overall Review: As I packed up the car and filled my Camelback, my wife looks at me and says "You're wearing just THAT to go riding?!". The mercury read 37F as I loaded up, so I figured if this Hincapie gear could keep me somewhat warm on a cold day like this, it would perform amazing on a crisp fall day! Hincapie has a strong reputation in the road cycling & triathlon industry for manufacturing high end bibs, tights, jerseys, etc. and their XC gear isn't any different. At first glance all the gear looked solid and well made, but we all know the real test happens on the trails. For me, the true sign of great Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Nukeproof Snap Frame

Featured Member Review

“A thoroughbred for 4X”

C138_frame_nukeproof_snap

The Good:

Excellent paint, graphics, strength, minimal flex, light weight and stable. Replaceable rear dropouts.

The Bad:

Not ideal for DJ, park or trail. Not a very forgiving or compliant frame.

Overall Review: The Nukeproof Snap frame is very strong and flex-free making it great for 4X. Fast acceleration and cornering stability are its bread and butter. Those strengths however are it's downfalls, for example the chain stays are fairly long (XC length at 420mm) for a bike like this meaning that manuals can be annoyingly hard to perform. Also the frame is extremely rigid, making it very fast accelerating on hard-pack or on pavement, but mistiming jumps and riding on trails can be a painful filling loosing affair. A 67 degree HA might make you think that the bike could descend quite well and whilst it is capable of descending Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Nukeproof Proton Flat Pedal

Featured Member Review

“Black Nukeproof Proton with a CroMo Axle”

C138_53218

The Good:

- Big surface
- More than enough pins
- Sealed bearings
- Reasonable price

The Bad:

- Slightly heavy
- Replacement pins are a bit too long

Overall Review: I've been using these pedals for about 3 months now, and can definitely say that they can take a beating! The guys in Nukeproof have made a very durable and tough pedal which are also big enough for most riders. As for the grip, no complaints here. The 95x95mm surface offers plenty of grip. Add 10 adjustable pins on each side and you really feel glued to your pedals. Maintenance wise, these are very easy to disassemble and clean, while with the sealed cartridge bearings you will do it far lees often. On the downside, these pedals are definitely not for weight-weenies. They aren't too heavy, but there are far Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Pyle
29086 Pyle http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29086/avatar/c50_20140201_155614_edited_1393049803.jpg?1393049758 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Pyle,29086/all 01/04/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Pyle,29086/setup 6 1

Alex Rims Supra30 Rim

Vital Review

“Tested: Alex Supra30 Rim”

C138_alex_supra30_rim
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins We're sure you've heard of Alex Rims - they're one of the more popular OEM rim choices for a quite a few bicycle manufactures out there. But when you finally torch said rim, you're likely to purchase an aftermarket alternative to replace it, and where is Alex Rims in that market? It seems they have finally noticed a shortcoming here and have set their sights to expand further into aftermarket sales, specifically in North America and Europe. We were given the chance to lace up one of Alex's latest gravity offerings, the Supra30 rim. With an external width of 30mm and weight Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 74 60 1

X-Fusion RV1 HLR Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: X-Fusion RV1 HLR Fork”

C138_x_fusion_rv1_hlr_fork
Review by Ian Collins // Photos by Fred Robinson and Ian Collins Over the last decade or so downhillers haven't exactly had an excess of stellar options when it comes to forks. There were the two solid options that everyone knows about; the RockShox BoXXer and the FOX 40. Marzocchi and Manitou have won a few hearts over the years and despite some struggles they've remained alternative contenders as well. It's only in the past couple of years that the competition has really started to heat up with the arrival of companies like BOS, DVO and even SR Suntour. Under the Pivot Factory Race Team, X-Fusion has spent the time, money Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

2014 Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned”

C138_scott_genius_lt_700_tuned
Reviewed by Evan Turpen and Steve Wentz // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller For 2014, Scott went back to the drawing board with their do-it-all Genius LT. The redesigned bike has been reduced from 185 to 170mm travel, but gains a new suspension design, 27.5-inch wheels, revised geometry, and a simple lever designed to enable you to pedal it up just about anything you'd like to rally back down. While it may look similar to the Genius 700, the Genius LT 700 is a big-mountain tamer with extra travel to back it up. The latest version looks clean and means business, so we were excited to put it through the wringer at the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 946 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1295 2326 170 41