Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Sunline V3 Handlebar

“Great Bar for a Really Good Price (If you can find them)”

C138_19258

The Good:

28" width, good weight at 323g, clean logos, low and high rise
.

The Bad:

9 degree back sweep, paint/finish scratches easy

Overall Review: Picked these up last year to get something a little wider than what I had, but wasn't sure if I wanted to go all the way to 29"+. Got this bar real cheap on clearance, since Sunline stopped their MTB division, but I am still glad I got them and impressed overall. At 28" the bars are wide, without being too wide. The weight is all not bad at all and strength is really good. I have felt very little flex in the bars when going over or off stuff. This definitely are not a DH bar, but work for light All-Mountain or more aggressive XC. I was also happy with the choice on rise height, 1" or 2", I have the 1" rise. Sunline Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Smith PivLock V2 Sunglasses

Vital Review

“Tested: Smith PivLock V2 Glasses - Convenient Clarity and Protection”

C138_blue
by AJ Barlas A number of years ago a buddy of mine rolled up for a ride wearing a pair of glasses with yellow lenses, and as is common among our group he was lovingly mocked and given a new nickname: "Cross Country Steve." He doesn't ride cross-country, but I guess the yellow tint glasses made him look a little like an XC racer boy. The nickname didn't stick around for long and neither did the glasses (he claims to have lost them now…), but as I have gained more experience and grown wiser, I realize now that he may have been the only smart one in the group back then. He was looking after one of the vital organs that assist Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Five Ten Freerider VXi Shoes

“next level flat pedal shoe”

C138_285_fivfv3_chr_0

The Good:

superb traction, stiff pedaling platform (for a flat shoe), low weight, slim profile, excellent midsole and heel cushioning

The Bad:

no gusset on tongue, needs break in time.

Overall Review: It seems many of the things I did not like about the original Freerider have been addressed in the new Freerider VXi. First, the new outsole pattern makes foot adjustments on the pedal easier without sacrificing grip. The original Freerider almost had too much grip. Second, the Freerider VXI has a slimmer profile and lower weight. The Freerider VXi is significantly lighter and has more rocker, allowing the shoe to walk with ease. I found the original Freerider to be a bit bulky and lacking rocker. Third, the new VXi provides excellent midsole and heel cushioning. The VXi sports an eva midsole that offers good Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24

Troy Lee Designs Moto Shorts

“These are DH shorts through and through”

C138_tld_moto_short_black

The Good:

Abrasive resistant material, flexible crotch gusset, dialed fitting, last forever.

The Bad:

Warmer than normal shorts.

Overall Review: The Troy Lee Design Moto short is made from a super durable polyester for the ultimate protection against nasty fall. At a glance they're a great short but really its the finer touches that really make these things shine. If you're not familiar with them then this is what you need to know. I've been using these shorts since 2006 and as a whole they haven't changed too much. The material their made from is the almost the exact same if not the same. These things are tough but feel a bit rougher than you're typical riding short. That's because they're made to last after repeated abuse. Don't expect to be Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 50 309 21

Troy Lee Designs 7605 Ultra Protective Short

Featured Review

“TLD BP7605 w/ Shock Doctor, 3 Seasons of Use”

C138_tld_7605_ultra_protective_short

The Good:

Low profile protection, moisture management, easy to wash, excellent coverage, light weight, easy to take on and off

The Bad:

Silicone strip in leg opening

Overall Review: The BP7605 is Troy Lee's top end protective short created with Shock Doctor, X-Fit and a bunch of other patented technologies... That's great and all but how does it work? I tested it all out for three full seasons to find out. Here are my thoughts. Fit: The best way to describe how these fit would be to explain how they fit me. First lets get an understanding of my length and girth. When I got these I was 190lbs with a 34 inch waist and a 32 inch inseam so based off the the sizing guide from a variety of websites (couldn't find one on the TLD site) I picked up a large. The initial fit actually felt a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 50 309 21

Hope Technology FR Stem

“Just buy it.”

C138_49237

The Good:

Beautiful.
Very Lightweight.
Available in a variety of sizes and colors.

The Bad:

Expensive.

Overall Review: As an older rider, I have owned a lot of bike parts, and this is probably the nicest part I have ever had the privilege to bolt onto my bike. It really is a thing of beauty: a machinist's wet-dream, a functional piece of art. I may sell my bike to upgrade to something better, but I will never sell this stem. It is a keeper. Keep up the good work, HOPE

Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29er Bike

“Great bike”

C138_stumpjumper_fsr_comp_29er_navywhite

The Good:

The feel of the bike is great. This is a trail bike and as such does everything well without being DH or XC specific. Which means the bike is solid and quick in most situations

The Bad:

I have had trouble with shifting from small to large chain ring, but this is probably due to poor initial set up from the lbs..

Overall Review: This bike is a great trail bike for people that like to ride trails and don't take things to seriously (weight etc).

Chromag Ranger Stem

“Great product!”

C138_88953010_1273302814

The Good:

Precision made, well-constructed, great colors, great logo, it works!

The Bad:

Some might say the price is to high, but for Chromag product line, I am prepared to pay some extra money!

Overall Review: Great product, worth of every penny!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member primonovak
24820 primonovak http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24820/avatar/c50_IMAG0718_1369988693.jpg?1369988693 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/primonovak,24820/all 05/31/13 1

Renthal Strata Duo MTB Stem

“Renthal Duo Stem”

C138_49156

The Good:

Looks great , Built well , good strength , very light .

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: I have recently purchased one of these stems to go with my Renthal fatbar lites . Using this stem for trail riding and enduro racing . I race downhill so also thrash my trail bike and hardware . I run Renthal on all my bikes and absolutely love it . Never had a problem with it .
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SpeshyDhNz
23954 SpeshyDhNz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23954/avatar/c50_queenstown_1367228213.jpg?1367227856 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SpeshyDhNz,23954/all 04/29/13 1 1

KS LEV Adjustable Seatpost

“Are adjustable posts worth it?”

C138_ks_lev

The Good:

Works, looks great, no hose at the bottom of the saddle

The Bad:

Spendy and heavy compared to nonadjustable

Overall Review: I was a skeptic of adjustable posts until I got a Reverb and I loved it. It didn't make me a better rider but just more comfortable and I could do more with a push of a button. Here is what I like about the KS: 1. No more getting off my bike to adjust my seat (duh) 2. This post is very clean compared to my Reverb which was good but lacked hose management 3. The lever on this one is great and very robust 4. Infinite travel is a must have and this one works flawlessly Here is what I don't like: 1. Price, this bugger is spendy 2. Availability, when I was buying it was hard to find. Had to settle for 125 when I wish i could Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 50 309 21