Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Evolution Tire

“Fast-rolling, fast-wearing”

C138_19166

The Good:

Rolls quickly in the 2.25 size. Provides enough traction for most hardpack/loose-over-hard riding conditions.

The Bad:

Center knobs wear out quickly. Does not have the cornering grip to really push the bike.

Overall Review: Schwalbe's Nobby Nic tires came stock on my Giant Trance, and I decided to try them out before going back to my preferred brand of tires (WTB, for reference). Although the Nobby Nic rolled surprisingly well and made my trailbike feel lighter than its true weight, the rear started to wear out sooner than I would have expected. When I rotated the front tire to the back and put on a WTB Bronson in front, I realized what I'd been missing in cornering traction. The Nobby Nics are fine for trail riding that leans more toward the cross-country end of the spectrum, but for more aggressive trails I'll be sticking with a tire that can hook up more confidently in the turns.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member anotherbikerguy
12576 anotherbikerguy /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/anotherbikerguy,12576/all 01/05/12 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/anotherbikerguy,12576/setup 1 27 63 20

2012 Transition TR450 2 Bike

“stable, stiff, dh sled for the bike park”

C138_2012bikesimage_tr450_3

The Good:

stiff, stable, durable, superb in the air

The Bad:

frame weight, wheel set

Overall Review: The Transition TR450 is a great choice for dh riders looking for a bike park sled. Ride Impression: The frame design is incredibly stout and you can feel it on the bike. Consequently, the bike tracks very well in the rough or through corners. The TR450 suspension delivers a plush ride but is not mushy under power once you dial in the Fox DHX RC4 shock. I have to admit I was skeptical of the "single pivot" design but the linkage actuated design does not have any flaws that an average bike park rider will notice. The TR450 feels good with the wheels on the ground but feels even better in the air. I was instantly comfortable off Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24

2013 GT Zaskar 9R Elite Bike

“Captain America would not want his name on this bike”

C138_bike_gt_zaskar_9r_elite

The Good:

Lightweight

The Bad:

Grips, seat, tires, tire/derailleur spacing, lockout device, super noisy chain banging

Overall Review: I returned this bike after 3 months of nothing but problems. Day 1: I had to have lockout mechanism replaced, new one didn't work after a month properly. There are few tires that will work on this bike. There is little space for the tire and derailleur clamp. I went tubeless and the stock tire is not good for tubeless and only found one tire that worked from continental and it was replaced after 47 miles under warranty. In my 3 months the derailleur and lower frame bracket ripped off, breaking spokes and shredding tire. It was a nice 3 mile hike. I ride non technical single track in the desert. Some terrain is hard and rocky, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member cruhm
25365 cruhm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25365/avatar/c50_fb_picture_514768567_1370751293.jpg?1370750791 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/cruhm,25365/all 06/08/13 1

Giro Remedy CF Full Face Helmet

“Protective - will take hits”

C138_giro_remedy_cf

The Good:

Strong, protective

The Bad:

Need to make an XS size

Overall Review: See the review on the FLY Racing Default Helmet. I bought the Fly helmet to replace this one as an inexpensive one for doing training and practice. The Fly failed in less than 24 hours resulting in a fractured jaw. The Giro helmet protected my son with much bigger hits that the Fly and he walked away completely fine. Buying this one again! Protect you head, protect your face - buy this helmet.

Fly Racing Default Full Face Helmet

“Poor materials - 8 year old fractured jaw at low speed - Best sold @ Toys r Us”

C138_fly_default_product_image

The Good:

I suppose you could say the looks (from a distance)

The Bad:

Poor quality, Strength, Protection, Value. Will take you straight to A&E in a crash.

Overall Review: My son, weighs in at 20kgs and is aged 8. He had a full face impact (nothing unusual here as he has had many whilst BMX racing). The impact resulted in the Chin Bar cracking and folding back into his face, causing his jaw to fracture and suffer concussion. The Chin Bar is not certified for Downhill usage (make a note of that)! In fact the helmet is only certified at the most basic level for head protection. Not worth the risk. http://www.flickr.com/photos/55910689@N02/8960656971/lightbox/

Urge 2013 EndurOmatic Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Urge EndurOmatic Helmet”

C138_airline_copie
by AJ Barlas There are some crazy and great things going on in the world of helmet technology right now, seemingly coinciding with the recent popularity of Enduro racing. Maybe the fact that riders want more coverage from a lid has been a large part of the shift, though to be honest I think more coverage is a good thing no matter what style of riding. For far too long we as mountain bikers were stuck with helmets designed for road but had a visor thrown on and labeled a "mountain bike helmet." A number of years ago there was a shift when companies like Giro began to add helmets to their line that moved away from Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2012 Norco Havoc Bike

“good frame! but....”

C138_havoc_2

The Good:

great size, feels nice in between your legs.

The Bad:

its pretty heavy as a stock bike. chain stay could be a little further away from the tyre, 26x2.5 are they thickest tyre you can run on this frame, brakes are really squeaky after a while, and the grips could be a little better, they kept peeling off my bars.

Overall Review: this is a great bike to hit the jumps or the trails with. it feels nice and feels smooth to ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jakelemin53
24902 jakelemin53 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24902/avatar/c50_GOPR0049_1370306731.jpg?1370306250 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jakelemin53,24902/all 06/03/13 18 1

Cove Foreplay MX Frame

“THe best frame ever!”

C138_15505

The Good:

evything! i love the green color i got it in. awesome geometry, very stable, and very strong. whips around soo great! love it for trails! wanting a new frame thats stable, light, but strong? this is the frame!

The Bad:

scratching the green paint

Overall Review: great! amazing frame, really great geometry, very comfortable, worth every penny!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member giantmtber
14852 giantmtber http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14852/avatar/c50_image_1382327321.jpg?1382326604 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/all 04/14/12 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/setup 22 5

X-Fusion Vector Air HLR Rear Shock

“MASTERPIECE”

C138_xfusion_vector_air_hlr_shock

The Good:

Everything - No fade - No initial stroke stickyness - Can be buttered up in the garage in 15 minutes - I've been shredding it for over a year with no issues whatsoever - It will make you way faster - Straight outta Santa Cruz son!

The Bad:

Yeah righttt buddy! Mike D. is a grand master wizard.

Overall Review: Confucius Say -Women and rocks are very much alike. We skip the flat ones.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Iggz
200 Iggz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/200/avatar/c50_Avatar_1372875238.jpg?1372875205 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Iggz,200/all 08/01/09 9 20 13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Iggz,200/setup 4 48 243 3 1

Shimano XT M772 Shadow 9-Speed Rear Derailleur

“Smooth Operator”

C138_rd306a03gs

The Good:

Clean shifts, reduced chain slap, different cage lengths

The Bad:

No clutch, no barrel adjuster

Overall Review: This derailleur showed up as an OE part, but the XT name is always appreciated when looking into Shimano parts. This derailleur is a good mid to mid-high level 9-speed derailleur option. On the trail the derailleur is very quiet and smooth. The Shadow Tech does a really good job of limiting chain slap, I only really hear noise over the really rough stuff. This shifter also moves very well. If you have it set up properly you won't find this derailleur under shifting or over shifting. One complaint would be the lack of a clutch, found on the Shadow+ derailleurs. I know you can get the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33