Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2016 Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned Bike

“Ultimate Enduro Climber (w/ all the descending goodies)”

C138_241345

The Good:

Paint is gorgeous, Climbs unbelievably well, Nude shock holds it's own on most enduro and DH trails.

The Bad:

Paint chips very easily.

Overall Review: After several months of riding on the 2016 Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned, I do have to say it holds a special and unique place in the massive field of “endure.” This is more of a Frame/Fork review than the entire stock bike review, but enough with all of this. Here are my impressions: Out of The Box: The Genius LT 700 Tuned frame is hands down one of the brightest and flashy frames on the market. The florescent green paint looks like it came straight from a radioactive chemical spill. Throwing in some classic matte black and grey digi camo gives it the perfect balance. As neat of the paint job is, it didn’t take too much Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

Crank Brothers Highline Dropper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Highline Dropper Post”

C138_highline_extended_large
Review by Joe Scheider // Photos by Brandon Turman Introducing the Highline Dropper Post by Crankbrothers, which for 350-bones, gets what they claim as “the world’s finest seat post” - an argument built off of years of R&D and testing, plus the confidence of a 3-year warranty. A rebuttal to the Kronolog and the Joplin, the Highline sets its sights high to go head to head with the industry’s leading adjustable seat posts. Featuring Igus bushings, a quick-connect stealth-routed cable, as well as an easy-to-service hydraulic cartridge, we've spent the better part of the past eight months resting our Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 746 142 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 232 68 53 1

Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol

Featured Member Review

“Always up for a good time, the Trail Pistol will never let you down”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white

The Good:

American-made aluminum will leave you grinning form ear to ear- the speed and stability of this bike cannot be mentioned enough. This is now my go-to bike, hands down.

The Bad:

Some might overlook this speed machine because it's not the wonder plastic, and 25 lbs. Too bad, you'll really be missing out.

Overall Review: Let me make one thing clear - I hate this bike. I hate how an aluminum, slack-ass trail carver puts my old carbon 29er to shame. I hate how this steed looks like it would take a country mile to turn, but pushes through switchbacks more ferociously than I am comfortable with at times. I hate a rear suspension design that lets me pedal faster up climbs than I ever have before. I hate how my face hurts after two hours of smiling like a one year old after their first taste of cake. I hate how line choice is pretty much out the window; it’s all just point and shoot from here on out. I hate this bike- and you can’t go Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member benitosbro
18491 benitosbro http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18491/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1403523747.jpg?1347635889 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benitosbro,18491/all 09/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benitosbro,18491/setup 4 2

2017 Mongoose Argus Sport

“Argus Sport”

C138_m17_26m_argusspt_red

The Good:

light weight (34lbs.) great paint, shifts and stops excellent

The Bad:

none so far!

Overall Review: gorgeous color and paint quality, great cockpit comfort, did a snow ride, fantastic! can't be beat for the price,  weighed at 34 pounds after assembly
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bobnew
43284 bobnew /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bobnew,43284/all 12/12/16 1

2017 Tantrum Meltdown

“Outburst - Ridden on my Local Trails in Indianapolis. ”

C138_tantrum_cycles_meltdown

The Good:

Peddling ability, handling, generally a damn good and fun bike to ride.

The Bad:

Honestly can't think of anything.

Overall Review: I rode this bike recently with Brian,on trails i ride regularly (packed dirt, leaf covered tree roots, busy and with some small log jumps/obstacles) and rode it along the lines of dirt bike. i would throw it into corners, try and maintain corner speed and squirt it out of them. This bike rails corners and then when it comes to stamping on the pedals on the exits, I didn’t feel the usual softened bob on back end of the bike on every downward pedal stroke. On the straighter level sections, I would speed up and literally feel the rear suspension firm up. It was like there was a hidden pump somewhere, which sensed when you pushed Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Aye
43267 Aye /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aye,43267/all 12/09/16 1

Race Face Atlas Flat Pedal

“Flawed design”

C138_race_face_atlas_flat_pedal_pins

The Good:

Lightweight, thin, pedal body can take a beating.

The Bad:

Poorly designed axles/bearings, bearing bulge is annoying, grip could be better

Overall Review: So, let's take about durability first, cause that's been my main issue with these pedals. About an hour into the first ride, the body came loose from the axle on the left pedal. Not the best start, but i went home and applied some locktite to the fastening screw. Then on the second ride the same thing happened to the right pedal (Yeah I know, I should have applied locktite to that one too. Call me an optimist.) That seems to have fixed it, cause I haven't had them fall off since. However after a few rides they started developing side-to-side play, and unlike Vitals reviewer I can certainly feel it while riding, though not Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member RaoulDuke
29931 RaoulDuke /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RaoulDuke,29931/all 03/01/14 1 1 46 1

2017 Tantrum Meltdown

Vital Review

“First Ride: 2017 Tantrum Meltdown”

C138_tantrum_cycles_meltdown
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Shawn Spomer While hunting for new and exciting products among the thousands of booths at the Interbike tradeshow two years ago, I recall seeing a bright yellow bike roll by with a wild-looking suspension linkage. It was so different from the norm that it forced me to do a double-take. What on earth was I looking at, and why were there so many links? I chased down the bike's owner, Brian Berthold, to ask for more details. Though I'm well-versed in the mountain bike suspension realm, what Berthold proceeded to claim the bike performed like on trail puzzled me. Like many before him, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41

Five Ten Kestrel Clipless Shoe

Featured Member Review

“The Greatest All-Mountain Shoes with One Fatal Flaw ”

C138_5211_kestrel_1

The Good:

Comfort, Quality Construction, Pedaling Performance, Walking Traction

The Bad:

Boa Closure System, A Little Heavy

Overall Review: The Five Ten Kestrel is a feature-rich shoe that offers fantastic craftsmanship, pedaling performance, comfort and off-the-bike traction. And if that was the end of the discussion there would be nothing on the market to keep it from being crowned the king of the all-mountain bike shoes. However, despite all the good features, no candid conversation about the Five Ten Kestrel can fail to consider, in full and painful detail, the Boa closure system, which might halt the coronation. But before we get to talking about the Boa closure, here are the indisputably good points: Pedaling performance on par with most XC race Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Arkstorm
26789 Arkstorm /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Arkstorm,26789/all 08/08/13 2 5

Enve Composites Carbon Fiber Mountain Sweep

“Ultimate bars”

C138_barswp_main_3_800x532

The Good:

They really do help cut down on trail buzz. This reduces fatigue significantly on long, 3hr plus rides. Matched with big chunky oury grips, very comfy.

The Bad:

Price, but these are the best

Overall Review: Tried other carbon bars, these are so nice. You get what you pay for. My favourite XC bar. One minor crash in their life, no concerns over integrity.

KMC X11SL Chain

“Great chains”

C138_57322

The Good:

Crisp shifting on XX1 cassette with approx 3000miles on it, significantly better then SRAM'S PC-XX1 chains.

The Bad:

Nothing bad to say about these chains.

Overall Review: I alternate between three chains and swap after every ride, using KMC's included quick links. Doing this extends drivetrain life, and I swap out chains by the time they hit 0.5% stretch. Bike is ridden in all conditions. Using white lightning clean ride wax for lube.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member link1896
35385 link1896 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/link1896,35385/all 05/04/15 5