Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Sun Ringle Charger Expert Wheelset

“Under Rated”

C138_63320

The Good:

Great on the trail, great on rock gardens, great on everything you can throw at them, great at the gravity park, price is right, low maintenance. comes with adapters for diff axle sizes, tubeless ready.

The Bad:

They are a bit loud

Overall Review: I purchased these, this is my second time purchasing, I have owned both the 26" and 27.5" versions. I bought these for a new build based off others reviews I found online.  I felt that for the price they were the best bang for the buck.  I have put these things through the ringer and they always hold their true.  I don't like how loud the rear hub is but there are pros and cons to that.  If you were are looking for a quite early morning ride in the woods, not so good.  If you are out riding with lots of hikers they are good as it lets the hikers know you are coming. There is no sneaking up on anybody.  I would get these again. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

SRAM X9 10-Speed Rear Derailleur

“Great Budget Derailleur”

C138_sram_x9_10_speedrear_derailleur_grey_without_roller_bearing_clutch

The Good:

Price, color options, maintenance is low, East to Adjust, I like the cage lock for maintenance.

The Bad:

The shifting was a bit hard but not unbearable. I would not be against using it again.

Overall Review: I purchased this for my Intense Tracer build. My main reason was because it was 10 speed and came in a med cage which is what I was looking for at the time mainly due to clearance issues.  I rode with this for several years and it did not give me any issues. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Shimano Deore XT M785 Trail Pedal

“Great Trail Pedals”

C138_shimano_deore_xt_m785_trail_pedal

The Good:

Look Great, Durable, Spin Great, Low Maint Req, Adjustable

The Bad:

It would be cool of the accent pieces came in a variety of colors but that his Shimano for you, once you go black....

Overall Review: I have had these pedals for over a a year now. I switch between platforms and clipless depending on what and where I am riding.  I love these pedals though, I have had Crankbros in the past and while those were good these are just better.  They inspire confidence (no fear of falling out) and no problems getting in.  
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Race Face Atlas Flat Pedal

“Great Platform Pedals”

C138_race_face_atlas_flat_pedal_pins

The Good:

Full Bearing, Free Spinning, Look Great, Light Weight, Great Traction, Come in Plenty of Colors, Good Availability.

The Bad:

They Are a Bit Pricey But on Par w/ Other Pedals. They Are Not As Grippy As My E13 Pedals But Those Don't Have Bearings and Don't spin Freely.

Overall Review: These look great and are light weight and spin freely which was my main concern. So many new pedals with IGUS bushings that are great but don't spin freely.  I would recommend these if you want something with lo-drag, grip great, look great and come in many colors. 
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Troy Lee Designs A1 MIPS Open Face Helmet

“Best Helmet Ever Owned”

C138_a1_helmet_mips_vertigo_black_1

The Good:

Comfortable, Cool, Easy to Adjust, Safe and Looks Amazing to Boot.

The Bad:

Can't think of anything

Overall Review: This is my first TLD Helmet. I based my purchase off other reviews.  Safe to say I was not disappointed.  This helmet is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned.  My last helmet was designed in a way where sweat would pool up and then if I moved a certain way a waterfall of sweat would pour down into my face.  This helmet I don't even notice the sweat, it has great cooling and breathability, great visability and it is very light.  
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

ODI Rogue Lock-On Grip

“Great Grips, Bad Hands”

C138_odi_mtb_rogue_lo_d30rgb_b_02_web_green_black

The Good:

The price is right, the color is right, the fit is right, the positive effects they have on hand fatigue is right, they are comfortable (also right).

The Bad:

I like black but if I had to find something wrong with them I would say that I wish they had more color options.

Overall Review: I have bad hands due to many years of abuse, being a mechanic, fighting, inadvertently crushing them with stuff and things, bottom line, my hands hurt, all the time. I remember the first time I did downhill mtb, I fell in love but the rental bikes grips where shite, couldn't finish a single run without taking a break to shake out the hands. This made me start searching for better, more comfortable grips which led me to the ODI Rogue. I have tried several other grips over the years and have always gone back to the ODI Rogue. I have them on all my bikes. I just purchased a new Session and ordered a set of ODI Rogues before Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

2015 Cannondale Jekyll 27.5 Carbon Team

Featured Member Review

“IS it worth the cost of an upgrade??”

C138_2015_cannondale_jekyll_27.5_carbon_team_bike

The Good:

Light as a feather, agile/quick handling, geometry fit me like a glove

The Bad:

Proprietary Cannondale Sizes and parts, Creaky, needs a lot of upgrades to be worth it

Overall Review: Luckily I got this at a killer deal from my shop and the 2004 Jekyll was my first ever full suspension mountain bike, so I have a soft spot for the Cannondale Jekyll. Once I first got the bike, I realized that it handled very fast and accurately, it was super light (especially compared to my peers of Trek, and Rocky Mtn, Norco, etc), the geo just fit me perfectly and the front end was very easy to pull up for manuals and wheelies compared to my trek remedy. After riding it for a while I started to realize some of the flaws of this bike. First off, the brakes went to shit on me. I did like the lever feel and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

FOX Transfer Seatpost

Featured Member Review

“Fox Transfer Factory 150mm dropper with 1x lever”

C138_transfer_factory_kashima_internal

The Good:

This dropper is reliable, smooth, and consistent on long days.

The Bad:

1x remote lever assembly is a little small

Overall Review: Fox Transfer Factory Dropper: 150mm w/ 1x Lever Overall Review: I ran the fox factory transfer dropper in 150mm length, and in a 30.9 seat post diameter. The transfer was mounted on my 2017 Yeti SB5.5c over the course of the last 6 months. This dropper has seen plenty of use, through dry desert climate, to wet and muddy mountain regions and has yet to let me down in any scenario. With 150mm of travel I never felt that I was hoping for more out of the dropper post, and the consistent performance that I have experience has put this dropper at the top of my list of must have items when building up a new bike. I have also Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 3 11

2018 Rocky Mountain Altitude Carbon 70

Vital Review

“Tested: 2018 Rocky Mountain Altitude Carbon 70 - A Versatile Trail Slaying Machine”

C138_rocky_mountain_altitude_carbon_70
Typically, when a new test bike arrives at our door we know what to expect in regards to geometry, the build spec, travel, etc, but that wasn’t at all the case when the 2018 Rocky Mountain Altitude showed up. Unboxing the bike and building it up, we were scratching our heads wondering how much rear travel the bike had or what the head angle was. Being that the bike was brand new, no online literature had been published, no product manual was included in the box, and Rocky Mountain was being very hush-hush about the whole thing, we were pretty much in the dark. So aside from measuring the FOX 36 fork up front at Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 74 60 1

2018 Intense Carbine Factory

Vital Review

“Gunning For The Top - Meet The 2018 Intense Carbine 29”

C138_2018_intense_carbine_factory_build_blue
Intense Cycles haven’t been shy about their participation in the wheel size wars. Back in 2009 when many were still #26forlife, their wagon-wheeled DH bike – the 2951 – stirred things up. At that time, Jeff Steber filled us in about why he felt big wheels had potential and what factors were limiting for the viability of aggressive 29ers at that time. More recently, another Intense prototype earned a spot on the Fort William podium under factory pilot Jack Moir. While the downhill prototype seemed to garner much of the limelight, the bike he was aboard at the Rotorua Enduro World Series had us just as curious: it appeared Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 92 4 26 19