Latest Product Reviews

RSS

DMR Vault Flat Pedal

“Good but flawed”

C138_62237

The Good:

- Grippy
- Look cool

The Bad:

- Reliability

Overall Review: Great pedals, the grip can't be rivalled and the wide platform is very comfortable. For the first few months of riding they are perfect, but they do develop a few issues later in their life. The nylon bushing on the inside become very worn but switching it with a stainless steel one has removed all play and should last a lot longer. Another issue is due to being hit against rocks etc, they holes for the pins have become warped and some of the pins no longer screw in. They are quite expensive, but if you take good care of them, they should last for a very long time.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dimethylarginine
36697 dimethylarginine /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dimethylarginine,36697/all 07/31/15 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dimethylarginine,36697/setup 1 1

Sombrio Women's Vista Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Women's Vista Shorts and Jersey”

C138_sombrio_vista_short_detail_2
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman When first introduced to the Sombrio Vista jersey and shorts, I swooned and hoped to have the opportunity to check them out further. I love the colors, and I can’t lie about also loving that they glow in the dark. That is some good ol’ fashion fun! Sombrio didn’t solely focus on just the good looks of this jersey and shorts, though. They also loaded them with technical features meant to keep every ride comfortable. I've been riding in the kit for three months, and it's time to let you know if the looks match up with their performance on trail. Women's Vista Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

Sombrio Women's Vista Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Women's Vista Shorts and Jersey”

C138_sombrio_vista_jersey_neon_lava_lime_mojito_back
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman When first introduced to the Sombrio Vista jersey and shorts, I swooned and hoped to have the opportunity to check them out further. I love the colors, and I can’t lie about also loving that they glow in the dark. That is some good ol’ fashion fun! Sombrio didn’t solely focus on just the good looks of this jersey and shorts, though. They also loaded them with technical features meant to keep every ride comfortable. I've been riding in the kit for three months, and it's time to let you know if the looks match up with their performance on trail. Women's Vista Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

FOX Float X2 Factory 2-Position Lever Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 FOX Float X2 2-Position Lever Shock”

C138_fox_x2_2_position_lever_shock
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord We tested the new FOX Float X2 earlier this year, and we came away very impressed with the performance and adjustability it offers. We did not have many complaints or issues to report, but we did note the absence of any kind of lockout or climb function. With the recent release of the Float X2 2-Position Lever, FOX has addressed this issue, and in the name of being thorough we were of course eager to give it a spin. Read on to see how we got along. 2016 FOX Float X2 2-Position Lever Highlights Made for All-Mountain/Enduro/Freeride/DH use Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3679 86 28

Shimano XT CS-M771-10 Speed Cassette

“It's Not 11 Speed or Eagle, but Do You Need That Really?”

C138_cs272b01

The Good:

Smooth shifting
Light weight
Fits on 9 Speed drive hub
Disassembles for easy upgrades
Good gear range

The Bad:

Range could be a little taller

Overall Review: I made the switch to 10 speed a little over a year ago ( I know a bit behind) and purchased the XT cassette for a couple of reasons; fits on 9 speed hubs, light weight, and is upgradeble with extender cogs. Installing the cassette was quick and easy and only required a chain whip and the correct cassette removal tool. I will say though, be careful when taking the cassette out of the packaging for the first time. Being that the cassette disassembles it is easy to get different cogs and spacers out of order if you are not careful. Being disassembled you can see how the cassette comes apart into many Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Park Tool Cassette Lockring Tool With Guide Pin

Featured Review

“Great for Quick Work!”

C138_parktool_fr_5g_08_m

The Good:

Solid construction, guide pin

The Bad:

Requires an additional wrench

Overall Review: I picked this up from my LBS when I was planning on doing some up-grades to my drive train in the near future. I own other Park Tools and have never had a bad experience except from them being a bit expensive. This cassette lockring tool is no exception to that and I have been impressed with it. I have used it multiple times to remove cassettes on Shimano systems with no problem. I especially like the guide pin which just makes using it that a little bit more fool proof. The solid metal construction will also stand the test of time and I don't foresee having to ever replace this due to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Ergon GE1 Grip

“Ergon GE1 Grips”

C138_ge1

The Good:

Comfortable, good looking

The Bad:

Not a big issue, but the ERGON is too big for me

Overall Review: First of all, I can say that there's an "accident" when I bought this grips. But later, I can say that this is a "sweet accident" to have the grips. I before decided to get another popular grips out there, and when I went to my favorite bike shop, the grips are already out of stock. But finally I picked this, the Ergon GE1 grips. After that, I just tested the grips in a 25 km riding on the same day. With mixed terrain such as road, trail, uphill and even light enduro, I can say that this is the most comfortable grips I've ever tried. On a long road, I almost feel no weary. On the trail and mixed terrain like the enduro track, the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 105 9

2016 Liv Lust Advanced 1 Bike

“Great All Around Mountain Bike”

C138_2016_liv_lust_advanced_1

The Good:

light, stable on descents, great climber, easy to handle

The Bad:

None so far

Overall Review: Liv has designed a great bike. I had tried out MANY bikes, but the Liv Lust Advanced 1 always came out on top.  It's light, easy to maneuver, stable on descents, and is a good climbing bike.  Although all bike charts indicated a medium (a few charts had me Sm/Med) would be my best fit, the large had the best fit for me when riding...VERY happy with this bike.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jjvt
41720 jjvt /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jjvt,41720/all 07/17/16 1

Sensus Swayze Lock-On Grip

Featured Review

“Classic Style - Not Shifter Friendly”

C138_sensus_swayze_lock_on_grip_gum_rubber_with_red_collar_cam_zink_model

The Good:

Wears well / Feel great / Hold tight on bar / Lots of color choices

The Bad:

Large flange affects shifters / Colored grips show dirt fast / Weak end caps

Overall Review: The Swayze is a good looking grip and you have to love the Sensus style. Have had these on for the second full season and have liked them a lot. The wavy grip pattern is a classic style that feels good and grips well. Haven't had any issues with hand fatigue or losing grip in all shorts of different conditions. The lock-ons work really well and have never had them loosen up or slip on the bars, total set and forget. Grips have also shown little to no wear. The colored grips do get dirty fast, but then again clean ones would mean you aren't riding. Sensus also offers a variety of color choices which is nice, I'm rocking Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

Featured Review

“Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube Review”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Awesome in dry conditions, fairly long lasting, does not attract dust and dirt easily, and helps clean the chain as you apply.

The Bad:

Not as effective in wet or muddy conditions.

Overall Review: There is a reason a lot of bike mechanics use this on their personal bikes or even use it for customer bikes, it works awesome! If you live in a place where the riding is dry and dusty most of the time (like here in Colorado where I live) it does a good job not attracting dust and sand and it keeps the chain nice and quiet. Like any chain lube, you do have to reapply and wipe off some grit and grime on a fairly regular basis, but I have noticed my chain tends to be cleaner than it did with other brands lubes. I do apply new lube about every 1-3 rides, but you could get away with using it less most likely, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26