Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Ambush 3/4 Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Ambush Jersey and Shorts”

C138_ambush_jersey_blk_back
by Lee Trumpore Seemingly left for dead a few years ago, Race Face has bounced back in force with a full complement of components and riding gear. The new Ambush shorts and jersey are part of their latest offering for everyone from casual trail riders to racers looking for something a little more subtle than traditional moto-inspired gear. Ambush Jersey Highlights Repreve moisture wicking technology 3/4 length sleeve Flatlock stitching throughout Slight drop back patterning Hidden zip stash pocket located in side panel Faux suede pocket bag doubles as goggle wipe US MSRP: $59.99 Ambush Shorts Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 246 21

2012 Trek Superfly 100 Pro Bike

“This Bike + Good Engine = Podium”

C138_26924

The Good:

Lighter than most 4" travel 26er FS frames/Awesome geometry/51mm offset fork decreases trail, while mitigating increased slack/ABP rear pivot is beefy and super stiff/Plush, 4.33" (110mm) of rear travel/Asymmetrical chainstays/Thick downtube and BB equals 100% forward thrust/Carbon frame armor/Equally great climber descender/Stock Bontrager saddle is actually nice/Rock Shox fork with dual air simply rocks

The Bad:

Dated, 2010 tech on front derailleur mount(direct mount/type 2) adds grams/Full-length cable housing for front shifter does not optimize correct cable pull ratio/"Big Sweep" bars feels like a Beach Cruiser/Bontrager RXL 29er wheelset weighs a whopping 2000grams/SRAM XX brakes is unsafe and unreliable - ditch them/Rear Fox shock with Kashima coating is high-maintenance

Overall Review: After 2010 Gary Fissure Superfly 100 frames were deemed a complete reliability nightmare - Trek corrected everything for 2012, by reinforcing unidirectional carbon layups in all affected areas, without compromising weight. Trek also mandated 142x12 rear axles, further beefing up rear stiffness and stability. The ABP rear pivot works as claimed, greatly minimizing tire skidding and keeps the suspension fully active under hard braking. Overall - the 2012 SF100 Pro is a dream on two wheels; it climbs almost telepathically. Baby head rock gardens suddenly turn into frozen peas and carrots, allowing you to confidently blaze Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26432/avatar/c50_mtb_murraypk_1374164148.jpg?1374163184 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/setup 1 6 5

Sombrio Shazam Mid-Top Shoes

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Shazam Shoes”

C138_sombrio_shazam_mid_top_shoes
by AJ Barlas Roughly 10 years ago, a couple of Australian rippers showed up to races with a unique looking, bicycle-specific shoe on their feet - something that hadn't been seen before. Back then the shoe of choice for flat pedal riders was often the Vans Caballero, at least Down Under anyway, but this new shoe intrigued everyone. Maybe it was simply because riders like Chris Kovarik and Nathan Rennie were winning races on them, or maybe it was the fact the shoes were unattainable for the average Joe? No matter what it was, the first Intense flat pedal shoe, a kick developed with the folks at Five Ten, was a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

RockShox Recon Silver TK Fork

Featured Review

“Recon Silver 100mm TK Solo-Air 29er”

C138_rockshox_recon_tk

The Good:

Affordable, easy setup no need to change springs. Rugged enough.

The Bad:

Dated graphics, confusing segment as this shock has features that cross over to the gold (1 step above) and the XC (1 step below)

Overall Review: I'm not gonna kid myself. I like to be real. Sure a 5-800 dollar or more shock has lots of bragging points, looks cool and makes other riders think you are a highly skilled rider (and you just might be) Just like those 150.00 Nikes aren't going to make me run any faster I will just run in style right? Honestly, those high end shocks are above my skill level and I doubt they would make me a better rider (IMO) and plus I could not afford them anyway. In any-case I think they would look lame on my no name trail rig for what it is worth. However if you are like me and, If you want a good affordable and reliable Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member gzilla
26410 gzilla http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26410/avatar/c50_071213_and_older_011_1374009802.jpg?1374008873 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/all 07/16/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/setup 2 3

Continental Mountain King ProTection Tire

“My review for Mountain King II sport tire (Not UST nor Black Chili)”

C138_mountain_king

The Good:

Awesome Grip in hard, loose, loose over hard, loamy and sand (2.4 size). Good over dry roots and rocks. Aesthetically a good looking tire. Not tried tire in mud or wet conditions. Compares to the Nevegal in terms of all purpose traction. Tire rolls very good. Medium lugs spaced apart. Good float. Large carcass and plenty of meat.

The Bad:

The sport tire is very touchy to air pressure. With to much air pressure tire is unforgivably hard and stiff. Not enough air pressure and the tire flexes a lot. Does not have transition knobs. Cannot be setup as tubeless easily.

Overall Review: The MKII sport tire has thin sidewalls and will be difficult to setup tubeless personally I would not even try just buy the UST tire. Using a tube helps support the sport tire although does add to the already heavy weight of 740-780 grams. I have found that for my weight and riding style and area 45-46 lbs in the rear and 40-42 lbs in the front is the sweet spot for me. I weigh 220 lbs. The MFG recommended pressure is50 - 65 which when inflated to that size I found the tires to be nearly un-rideable at that pressure they lose traction and, are extremely stiff however, if you ride on the street a lot that Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gzilla
26410 gzilla http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26410/avatar/c50_071213_and_older_011_1374009802.jpg?1374008873 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/all 07/16/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/setup 2 3

Öhlins TTX Rear Shock

Vital Review

“First Ride: Öhlins TTX Shock - Yellow Gold”

C138_ohlins_specialized_ttx_shock
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Cameron Baird, Specialized, & Brandon Turman If you want to cause a stir in the bike industry, one surefire way to do it is a bright yellow shock in a sea of black. What does yellow mean in the suspension world? It means Öhlins is here, and they mean business. After more than one year of testing, tweaking, and tuning, a collaboration between Specialized and Öhlins has yielded the TTX (Model # TTX22M), a shock specifically tuned for Specialized's big-hitting gravity bikes. We had the opportunity to ride a 2014 Demo 8 equipped with the shock at the Val di Sole World Cup, but before we Read More »
Rate review: +11 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6087 1037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1172 2156 131 40

Maxxis Larsen TT Tire

“Fast and fun tire for rear”

C138_17334

The Good:

Fast, inexpensive, fun, matches up well with other narrower than measured Maxxis tires

The Bad:

Not tubeless ready enough, puncture protection can be poor depending on version used

Overall Review: I used this tire years ago, I found it was very fast on dry trails, the only complaint I had was that it was punctured too easily (with middle weight tubes) and unsurprisingly not super confidence inspiring on the front, compared with more aggressive tires. Inspired by seeing what the pros run in the enduro championships I'd love to get this tire again in about a 2.35 to match up with a Minion in dry conditions, but I'm too concerned that it's not tubeless ready enough and might be a PITA to run tubeless. I hope Maxxis get their tubeless ready technology sorted like Schwalbe have so I can run this as my 'go to' enduro/AM/trail dry condition rear tire in the future, the sooner the better!
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

fi'zi:k Aliante Saddle 2011

“Good, but 'good' is highly subjective with saddles”

C138_46946

The Good:

Fairly comfortable, rails don't bend.

The Bad:

This saddle might not suit you if you are moderately or very flexible. Regular retail prices are expensive.

Overall Review: Fizik have a guide, this saddle is for 'Bulls'. That doesn't mean you should only buy if you are overweight, it's an indication of your flexibility. If you can't touch your toes than this is the saddle is for you, one of my friends isn't very flexible and he loves this saddle. I bought it and for me it's solid and alright, but I also have a Tundra 2 and I find that more comfortable, as I'm somewhere between snake and chameleon, which means somewhere between very and quite flexible. As the underside of the saddles are fairly similar, are Fizik saddles worth it? IMHO, yes, if you can get one cheaply, the full retail Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Gamut P20s Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: Gamut P20s Chainguide”

C138_gamut_p20s_chainguide
by Kevin Shiramizu Any product that can stick another nail in the coffin of the obsolete front derailleur is worth a look - it's the single worst part of any bike that has one. But now with XX1 and its slow trickle down the price range, are chainguides soon to be obsolete? No. Don’t be crazy. What Gamut has done for years now is make simple, light weight, and great working chainguides, and they will continue to do so well into the future despite whatever hot new jillion dollar integrated chain/chainring/16-speed system comes out down the road because mountain biking (at least the way I ride) is about smashing over bumps, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member k.shiz
14 k.shiz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1292282110 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/k-shiz,14/all 07/24/09 75 23 52 591 101 165 1 260 19 12

Fly Racing Default Full Face Helmet

“Helmet protected my face today from a massive high speed OTB!! Great protection for the price!!!”

C138_fly_default_product_image

The Good:

Excellent value, relatively light , have had it on for long periods in heat and have never felt the need to take it off because of over heating.
Looks really good, and gets a lot of complements. Very comfy

The Bad:

Maybe not the best finish, but it is a budget helmet so maybe be expected, but still the feeling when holding and wearing the helmet is really good.

Overall Review: The face piece ended up cracked today after a massive OTB at high speed. It really did protect me, no sign of itcompletely breaking and causing further injury.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Aviator29
23969 Aviator29 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23969/avatar/c50_p4pb5843133_1367270623.jpg?1367269717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aviator29,23969/all 04/29/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aviator29,23969/setup 3 1