Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Urge 2013 EndurOmatic Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Urge EndurOmatic Helmet”

C138_airline_copie
by AJ Barlas There are some crazy and great things going on in the world of helmet technology right now, seemingly coinciding with the recent popularity of Enduro racing. Maybe the fact that riders want more coverage from a lid has been a large part of the shift, though to be honest I think more coverage is a good thing no matter what style of riding. For far too long we as mountain bikers were stuck with helmets designed for road but had a visor thrown on and labeled a "mountain bike helmet." A number of years ago there was a shift when companies like Giro began to add helmets to their line that moved away from Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2012 Norco Havoc Bike

“good frame! but....”

C138_havoc_2

The Good:

great size, feels nice in between your legs.

The Bad:

its pretty heavy as a stock bike. chain stay could be a little further away from the tyre, 26x2.5 are they thickest tyre you can run on this frame, brakes are really squeaky after a while, and the grips could be a little better, they kept peeling off my bars.

Overall Review: this is a great bike to hit the jumps or the trails with. it feels nice and feels smooth to ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jakelemin53
24902 jakelemin53 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24902/avatar/c50_GOPR0049_1370306731.jpg?1370306250 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jakelemin53,24902/all 06/03/13 18 1

Cove Foreplay MX Frame

“THe best frame ever!”

C138_15505

The Good:

evything! i love the green color i got it in. awesome geometry, very stable, and very strong. whips around soo great! love it for trails! wanting a new frame thats stable, light, but strong? this is the frame!

The Bad:

scratching the green paint

Overall Review: great! amazing frame, really great geometry, very comfortable, worth every penny!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member giantmtber
14852 giantmtber http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14852/avatar/c50_image_1382327321.jpg?1382326604 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/all 04/14/12 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/setup 22 5

X-Fusion Vector Air HLR Rear Shock

“MASTERPIECE”

C138_xfusion_vector_air_hlr_shock

The Good:

Everything - No fade - No initial stroke stickyness - Can be buttered up in the garage in 15 minutes - I've been shredding it for over a year with no issues whatsoever - It will make you way faster - Straight outta Santa Cruz son!

The Bad:

Yeah righttt buddy! Mike D. is a grand master wizard.

Overall Review: Confucius Say -Women and rocks are very much alike. We skip the flat ones.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Iggz
200 Iggz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/200/avatar/c50_Avatar_1372875238.jpg?1372875205 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Iggz,200/all 08/01/09 9 20 13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Iggz,200/setup 4 48 243 3 1

Shimano XT M772 Shadow 9-Speed Rear Derailleur

“Smooth Operator”

C138_rd306a03gs

The Good:

Clean shifts, reduced chain slap, different cage lengths

The Bad:

No clutch, no barrel adjuster

Overall Review: This derailleur showed up as an OE part, but the XT name is always appreciated when looking into Shimano parts. This derailleur is a good mid to mid-high level 9-speed derailleur option. On the trail the derailleur is very quiet and smooth. The Shadow Tech does a really good job of limiting chain slap, I only really hear noise over the really rough stuff. This shifter also moves very well. If you have it set up properly you won't find this derailleur under shifting or over shifting. One complaint would be the lack of a clutch, found on the Shadow+ derailleurs. I know you can get the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Shimano SLX SL-M660 Shifter Pod

Featured Review

“Mid-Level Awesomeness”

C138_sl272a00

The Good:

Two way shifting (push/pull), custom side to side positioning, crisp index shift, easy to use cable port

The Bad:

All plastic casing, no shift level adjustment, no I-Spec compatibility

Overall Review: The SLX shifters came as OE on my bike, but I have been really impressed with what Shimano has done with them. They are a very good choice for a mid-level shifter. My shifters are a 2x9 set up with no gear display. Shifters have a nice crisp index shift, that isn't too hard or too soft. Once you are in a gear you know, and it's definitely not a shifter that will allow you to be in between two gears. Do wish they came with a lever reach adjustment, but this is a feature that you'll find on more expensive shifters. These shifters do have one really nice custom adjustment feature. The SLX shifter pod and handle Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

ODI Ruffian Lock-On Grips

“Good Feeling Grip, Some Lock-On Ring Concerns”

C138_97908500_1265402651

The Good:

Knurled/diamond pattern, thin grip, great feel, plenty of grip space, no hand slippage

The Bad:

Lock-on bolts strip easily, thinness causes quicker wear, bar end caps pop off

Overall Review: Switched from the ODI Rogue to the Ruffian for more feeling, which the Ruffian definitely offers. The Ruffian still sticks with ODIs' tradition of strong grips with great sticky rubber. The Ruffian is a thinner grip pattern that offers a lot of bar feeling, but you don't feel like you are ever going to lose your grip. Also with some thinner grips you feel like to have to hold on tighter since there is less material, but this isn't the case with the Ruffians. I have had these for a year and haven't seen a whole lot of wear, but imagine with less material there will be less life. One big complaint I do have is in the lock-on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Sunline V3 Handlebar

“Great Bar for a Really Good Price (If you can find them)”

C138_19258

The Good:

28" width, good weight at 323g, clean logos, low and high rise
.

The Bad:

9 degree back sweep, paint/finish scratches easy

Overall Review: Picked these up last year to get something a little wider than what I had, but wasn't sure if I wanted to go all the way to 29"+. Got this bar real cheap on clearance, since Sunline stopped their MTB division, but I am still glad I got them and impressed overall. At 28" the bars are wide, without being too wide. The weight is all not bad at all and strength is really good. I have felt very little flex in the bars when going over or off stuff. This definitely are not a DH bar, but work for light All-Mountain or more aggressive XC. I was also happy with the choice on rise height, 1" or 2", I have the 1" rise. Sunline Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Smith PivLock V2 Sunglasses

Vital Review

“Tested: Smith PivLock V2 Glasses - Convenient Clarity and Protection”

C138_blue
by AJ Barlas A number of years ago a buddy of mine rolled up for a ride wearing a pair of glasses with yellow lenses, and as is common among our group he was lovingly mocked and given a new nickname: "Cross Country Steve." He doesn't ride cross-country, but I guess the yellow tint glasses made him look a little like an XC racer boy. The nickname didn't stick around for long and neither did the glasses (he claims to have lost them now…), but as I have gained more experience and grown wiser, I realize now that he may have been the only smart one in the group back then. He was looking after one of the vital organs that assist Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Five Ten Freerider VXi Shoes

“next level flat pedal shoe”

C138_285_fivfv3_chr_0

The Good:

superb traction, stiff pedaling platform (for a flat shoe), low weight, slim profile, excellent midsole and heel cushioning

The Bad:

no gusset on tongue, needs break in time.

Overall Review: It seems many of the things I did not like about the original Freerider have been addressed in the new Freerider VXi. First, the new outsole pattern makes foot adjustments on the pedal easier without sacrificing grip. The original Freerider almost had too much grip. Second, the Freerider VXI has a slimmer profile and lower weight. The Freerider VXi is significantly lighter and has more rocker, allowing the shoe to walk with ease. I found the original Freerider to be a bit bulky and lacking rocker. Third, the new VXi provides excellent midsole and heel cushioning. The VXi sports an eva midsole that offers good Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24