Latest Product Reviews

RSS

e*thirteen SRS+ Chainguide

“One of the best”

C138_42429

The Good:

-Easy to install
-adjustable
-strong on impacts

The Bad:

if you over tighten the bolts you can crack it and then it break on impacts or by the wrench. Just dont go all jackie chan on it when you put it on and its sick

Overall Review: Ive used this on my last three bikes and wouldn't want to go any other way. Best for the Money
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freeskieratp83
8605 freeskieratp83 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8605/avatar/c50_Screen_shot_2013_05_22_at_8.13.24_AM_1374629571.jpg?1374628793 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/all 06/03/11 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/setup 1 9 1

MRP Mini G2 SL Chainguide

“Great Guide ... the Taco and the Roller are one so if you lost the taco you lost your chain device.”

C138_minig2slcolors600

The Good:

Light works Great and quiet. easy to install

The Bad:

the Poly is mounted on the taco so if the taco got broken you lost your chain device :-\

Overall Review: I had this chain-Device for almost 6 months... it did a great job until it had a few rocks in the taco. the eyelet that holds itTogether just snap and was holding there only with the pressure of the nut. after a ride on some rocky terrain i started to hear my chain rattling and when i got down i saw that the taco and poly where M.I.A the upper skid is very touchy to pressure if you are Fastening the bolt little to much it's starts to crack. I just got the MRP Micro and i notice that the Materials is different and much better. so i guess that in the G3 they also improved the Upper Skid. Overall a Good, but very Fragile Chain Device. if you are looking for more bling  then durability it's a good choice.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1

e*thirteen LS1 Chainguide

“On the Budget Chain device. require allot of spacers when installing with a PF BB”

C138_50666

The Good:

Cheep, Sturdy and do the job Great .... comes with a BB to ISCG adepter.

The Bad:

Comes only in 2 sizes 32-36 and 36-40 the back plate is huge and if you are using 32 Ring the back plate and the skid plate are pooping out and not in a good way.

Overall Review: Was on my Bike for 6 months . i was doing some wight reduction to my rig so i replace it with somethinglighter and smaller. but in the end it did a great job! i love E-13 Products and its a shame they don't have any chain devices that are design for smaller then 32 Ring. Installation wise.... it toke me some Playing and try and error Whileinstalling it with my PF30-BB i replace the bolts that came with it with some longer ones because it needed a 6MM spacers to be installed on the bike. that allot of spacers :-) the skid plate id sturdy and strong even after some pavement  hit and some rocks its still staid strong with a little marks to see. the upper skid was big Enough to deal with 10 Gears and not let the chain run away from it place.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1

MRP G3 Chainguide

“MRP G3 from Tazer255's opinion”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

The guide is a huge improvement from the G2. the hinged uper and lower guides are very nice and make for easy chain install

The Bad:

bolts are very weak. I went to torque to specific torque value provided by MRP however the head snapped off. MRP replaced in a very quick and professional manner

Overall Review: The guide is a huge improvement over their previous one the G2 and has allot of cool features. the bolt kinda sketched me out when i was torquing to their own specs the head snaps of (Bad bolt of the line i suppose). would be nice to be able to use any chainlube you want rather that "MRP approved ones" kinda annoying. I have been having a real problem with finding a chain lube that works here in socal that doesn't dry out that also works with this guide. If you are looking for an improvement over your G2 but don't want to run anything other than MRP than this is a great upgrade and it is also very light. The guide is also alot Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member tazer255zm
14211 tazer255zm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14211/avatar/c50_GOPR1449.jpg?1354558825 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tazer255zm,14211/all 03/15/12 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tazer255zm,14211/setup 1 1 22 1

e*thirteen LS1 Chainguide

“good enough if you have a small budget”

C138_50666

The Good:

Very cheap and works ok. Keeps your chain on the rings most of the time.

The Bad:

Quite heawy. Back plate is steal and quite big.

Overall Review: I'm riding this type of chain guide since two season. It worked out good.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member sebastian.schelker
25528 sebastian.schelker http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25528/avatar/c50_fb_picture_614400054_1371188830.jpg?1371188612 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/sebastian-schelker,25528/all 06/13/13 4 2

Gamut P30 Chainguide

“Simple and works great”

C138_cg299b06blk_36t_bb_m

The Good:

It's light, strong and works well.

The Bad:

The early model bashguards can crack in the mounting area if you get a bit hamfisted and overtighten. The new bash has metal inserts so it should be a non-issue now.

Overall Review: I've been running only Gamut guides for approximately 5 years now. Like I said, they are simple and work great.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dave-m
20419 dave-m /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dave-m,20419/all 12/15/12 33 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dave-m,20419/setup 9 1

Look S-Track Clipless Pedals

Vital Review

“Tested: Look S-Track Clipless Pedals”

C138_s_track_f
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins When it comes to clipless mountain bike pedals, Look might not be the first brand you think of (at least it wasn't in our case), but that might change soon with the Look S-Track pedal. Look has solid reputation for their high-end, quality products, and the S-Track pedals follow suit nicely. They're versatile, adjustable, and clean-looking. Boasting a weight of 320 grams per pair, including cleats and screws, these pedals are light as well. Their sleek design is simple yet thoughtful, with composite deflectors under the cleat to minimize strike damage and hang-ups. Optional Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 130 3 255 166 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 30 206 57 42

One Industries Enemy Knee Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: One Enemy Knee Guards”

C138_one_enemy_knee_pads
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins While the current trend among downhillers is minimal padding and trail riders are asking for more protection, knee guards/pads have staked their claim in both disciplines and are pretty much a staple now. Aside from helmets and gloves, knee guards are very likely the next most used piece of protection. The amount of protection can vary from knee guard to knee guard, which can make it hard to find a pad suitable for your specific application. As avid trail riders and downhillers, we're always on the hunt for that perfect pair of pads. Positioning themselves somewhere Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 130 3 255 166 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 30 206 57 42

e*thirteen Guidering M Chainring

Vital Review

“Tested: e*thirteen Guidering M”

C138_e_thirteen_guidering_mchainring_red
by Lee Trumpore Just one year ago, SRAM rewrote the book on mountain bike drivetrains with the introduction of their XX1 system. Almost immediately, riders started asking for aftermarket manufacturers to adopt aspects of the design in hopes of both increasing available options and reducing the rather hefty price tag. e*thirteen wasted no time answering the call with the new Guidering M, a modified chainring with alternating tooth widths designed to aid with chain retention. Guidering M Highlights Optimized for 11-speed, but 10-speed compatible Maximized tooth width to maximize engagement Ring chamfer facilitates Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 244 21

2013 Nukeproof Mega TR

Vital Review

“Tested: Nukeproof Mega TR – Nukeproof by Name, Nukeproof by Nature”

C138_complete_mega_tr_dsc_1762_small
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Nukeproof launched the original Mega to much acclaim back in early 2011, and it quickly became one of the defining models of this young brand. With a slack headtube angle and relatively short travel, the original Mega was at the heart of the modern trailbike movement – fun, capable bikes that can pretty much go anywhere and do anything. For 2013, Nukeproof has increased its offerings in this category by creating an “AM” and a “TR” version of the Mega. The AM version gets a boost to 160mm travel (up from the 150mm of the original Mega), while the TR sees travel Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 70 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3530 84 27