Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 Norco Magnum Bike

“Great beginner to mid-level bike”

C138_magnum_1

The Good:

Light, strong, good setup for most people

The Bad:

Components are average, I still can't quite adjust them correctly. Brakes are a tad small.

Overall Review: I recently got this bike for dirt jumping. I had some experience prior to buying this bike, but I'm not great. I got this one because it has the 8-speed drivetrain, which really helps with the hills at my park. It is also cheap enough to thrash about and learn on. The tires are great, the rims are great, the brakes are decent, the pedals are light, and the frame is beefy. It is also surprisingly light. The seat is reasonably comfortable, but I don't sit on it unless I'm at the top of a run waiting around. The frame is big enough for me (6' 1" and 180 lbs), but the bars are a tad low. I ordered 2-inch rise bars and they work Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sideways Rock
26051 Sideways Rock http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26051/avatar/c50_261237_543393729016382_763368252_n_1372558930.jpg?1372558425 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sideways-Rock,26051/all 06/29/13 1

Club Ride Bolt Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Club Ride Bolt Jersey - Casually Functional”

C138_club_ride_bolt_raven_devo
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Courtney Steen Club Ride's unique Sun Valley, Idaho-inspired style brings a fresh look to mountain bike apparel. A collar on a mountain bike jersey?! Front pockets? Preposterous for many, awesome for the rest of us. When the company kicked things off in 2008, they wanted to create something the everyday person could enjoy. They also had the mindset that mountain biking doesn't have to be flashy, florescent, or skin-tight. Thanks to jerseys like the Bolt, now you look classy on AND off the bike without sacrificing comfort or function. Bolt Jersey Highlights Lightweight RideDryWear Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1150 94 6120 1028 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1214 2190 138 41

2013 Scott Voltage FR 30 Bike

“Awesome bike”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_25_at_6.57.36_pm

The Good:

Easy to adjust rear shock
Frame is nice
Nice graphics
Jumps amazing

The Bad:

Suspension quality
Brakes

Overall Review: I have been riding this bike for a while and it is my favorite bike to ride. It pops super nice off the jumps and drops. It also handles through rock gardens and roots. All around great bike! Plus the price is great!

iXS Flow Knee Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: iXS Flow Knee Pads”

C138_fuller_ixs_flow_knee_pads_7970
by Lee Trumpore iXS has answered the call of the growing all-mountain, adventure, and enduro crowds with the new ultra-light Flow Knee Pad. Developed at the request of Hans Rey, the Flow Knee Pads take minimal protection to a whole new level weighing in at about 300 grams per pair, but still have enough padding for serious abuse. Flow Knee Pad Highlights Designed in collaboration with Hans Rey Ideal for trail riding and enduro racing Super lightweight and super compact design (+/- 300g pair) "X-Matter" - high impact absorption, energy absorbing, open cell, slow rebound foam compound 360 all-around, breathable, moisture Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 66 247 21

Straitline Silent Guide Chainguide

“best chain guide I have ever used”

C138_cg264b00bkg_3236

The Good:

silent and reliable.

The Bad:

maybe a little bit heavy due to the aluminum bash ring, this is not a negative for me.

Overall Review: The name says it all. This guide is in fact silent, I have been using it all season and have yet to have a problem.  The chain stays on , and the best part is there is no roller bearing to go bad. some people may feel it is too heavy due to the aluminum bash ring. This is not a negative for me , I have a habit of breaking taco style guides, this guide is rock solid.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member casey.coull.56
25936 casey.coull.56 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25936/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000353426506_1372255816.jpg?1372255574 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/casey-coull-56,25936/all 06/26/13 1

Profile Racing Elite MTB Hubs

Vital Review

“Tested: Profile Elite MTB Hubs”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_24_at_7.51.17_pm
Review by Sean "Griz" McClendon // Action photos by Ian Collins Profile Racing’s humble roots began in 1968, as a race car chassis shop based in New Jersey. Fast forward a few years and the company made the transition to BMX when the founder's children got hooked on racing. In 1979 the brand created their tried and true three-piece BMX cranks, which continue to set the standard for the industry 'til this day. In the mid-1990s, Profile Racing got its start in mountain biking, offering hubs, cranks and even chainrings. More recently, they introduced the Profile Elite MTB hubs, building off the proven performance Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium
by David Howell Some say you only get one chance to make an initial impression. Well, Canfield Brothers nailed it with the Crampon Magnesium pedal. Sleek lines, a generously sized platform and super thin leading edges combine together to create one of the most attractive pedals I have had the chance to lay my eyes on. With the magnesium pedals coming in at around $200, they may not be cheap, but you get what you pay for. Crampon Magnesium Pedal Highlights 6-10mm Thick Magnesium Body DU Bushings Chromoly Axle Replaceable Dual Sided 10mm Steel Traction Pins Durable painted finish Black, Gray, Blue, Red, Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 4 4

Gamut P30 Dual Chainguide

“BEST CHAINGUIDE EVER !!!”

C138_50908

The Good:

Very light weight, half the weight of the stock one on a 2013 specialized Enduro

The Bad:

Chain ring bolts like to back out ( use loctite )

Overall Review: Ive been running gamut for the past few years and have never had an issue. I just replaced the stock guide on my 2013 Enduro. Gamuts guide was half the weight and twice as strong. Super smooth and quiet, very easy to adjust i also run gamut guides on my downhill bike and dual slalom bike. They have been problem free race after race.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2

Gamut P30 Chainguide

“SOLID AND RELIABLE !!!”

C138_cg299b06blk_36t_bb_m

The Good:

Simple, light weight, easy to install and adjust. VERY smooth

The Bad:

bash guard can crack if improperly tightened

Overall Review: This is the best guide i have ever ran. I run one on my 2012 Demo 8 race bike and on my 2011 Specialized p3 dual slalom bike. I have never had an issue or dropped a chain on either bikes. I have beaten the hell out of both bikes through rock gardens or hucks to flat. For the price they cant be beat
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2