Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Enve Composites Direct Mount Stem

Vital Review

“Tested: Enve Direct Mount Carbon Stem”

C138_enve_direct_mount_stem
by Steve Wentz I love chocolate chip cookies. The butter, the sugar, the chocolate chips, I don't know how it could get any better. I think one thing I really appreciate is the fact that the best ones tend to be homemade. There is a certain amount of care and love that goes into the best homemade cookies, and that is something that is rarely up for sale. Like those favorite cookies of mine, Enve's new direct mount stem is made in the good ol' US of A. Specifically, it is made in their factory in Ogden, Utah. Luckily for well to do cyclists, Enve's new labor of love is up for sale, and I was fortunate enough to get Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 45 245 9 11

Royal 2014 Stage Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Stage Jersey”

C138_stage_jersey_red_f_low
Review by AJ Barlas // Photos by Jon Anthony and AJ Barlas Royal Racing has hit the trails with more new apparel for 2014, and a number of these items are targeted specifically at Enduro. Input from Enduro racers around the world, including Justin Leov, Neil "the Don” Donoghue and Steve Peat, has resulted in the birth of items like the Stage jersey. But don't worry if you're not racing Enduro, this collection is really well suited to general mountain biking use, or trail riding as it was commonly referred to prior to the Enduro craze. We've spent the winter riding in some of this gear and have had more than Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Bell Super Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Bell Super Helmet”

C138_bell_super_helmet_bluegreen_moto
Review by Dave Trumpore // Photos by Gary Perkin and Dave Trumpore The Super is Bell's flagship open face helmet aimed at trail bike enthusiasts and Enduro racers. It provides additional coverage to key points of the head compared to the typical XC helmet but seeks to do so without sacrificing weight or airflow. I stuck one on my head for four rough weeks in Chile to find out what it's made of. Bell Super Helmet Highlights CE EN1078 and CPSC Bicycle certifications 25 vents with 4 Overbrow ports Fusion in-mold microshell construction with internal reinforcement Lightweight buckle Lightweight cam-lock levers Lightweight Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1982/avatar/c50_89971110_1266365822.jpg?1290155202 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 5 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

2014 Specialized Camber EVO 29

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Specialized Camber EVO 29”

C138_2014_specialized_camber_evo_29_black
Reviewed by Jess Pedersen and John Hauer // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller In a time when bikes with 150mm of travel or more seem to get all the attention, Specialized’s 110-120mm Camber dishes up a short-travel option that is more capable than the numbers typically indicate. The model has been around for a while, but for 2014 it gets a number of upgrades and refinements. New for this year Specialized has also introduced both a new carbon and an EVO version. We had the opportunity to try out the very reasonably priced Camber EVO 29 during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Camber EVO 29 Highlights M5 hydroformed Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 946 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1298 2326 170 41

2014 GT Sensor Carbon Pro

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: GT Sensor Carbon Pro”

C138_g14_650m_sensor_pro_blk_4
Reviewed by Evan Turpen, Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller With 130mm of travel and a very unique suspension design, the all-new GT Sensor aims to tackle the trail market and is Hans Rey's go to ride. Everything from the headtube to the dropouts has been re-worked from the Sensor of old. Gone is the high bottom bracket and short top tube, in is more modern geometry, 27.5-inch wheels, and a roomy cockpit. Curious to see how the changes impact the ride, we pounded out several miles aboard the Sensor Carbon Pro during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Sensor Carbon Pro Highlights Carbon Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 946 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1298 2326 170 41

Thomson Elite Seatpost

“Awesome seat post”

C138_thomson_elite_seatpost_straight_black

The Good:

Have had it for over 10 years and it's still great. Zero complaints. Has been on two different bikes and tied with one other part that's the oldest things on my bike. Confident i will run it for years to come.

The Bad:

Nothing i can think of.

Overall Review: Excellent post that's worth every penny.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Shimano PD-MX30 Flat Pedal

“Shimano DX Pedals”

C138_99639010_1267164894

The Good:

Grippy with long pins installed. Pedals come with short pins in pedals and long pins in a bag.look good after years of riding and non damaged pins can be replaced. I have had 2 sets of these pedals over several years on a Blur LT I ride for everything but DH and DJ. Work good in all conditions and replacement pins are available and i have done that. have a set on a dirt jump bike as well that are still perfect after a few years of riding.

The Bad:

Pins can get ripped out and become un-replaceable. Rock strikes have taken their toll on my current set. I'm missing a few pins on each pedal right now and looking for something different in the spring. The older pedals I had seemed to last a lot longer than the newest set under same riding conditions.

Overall Review: Great for my dirt jump bike but not the best for trail or bike bike park use, especially if it's rocky.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Spank Subrosa Grip

“Spank Grips”

C138_129433760_1289428262

The Good:

When new they feel great and very grippy and they have a fairly small diameter. nice comfortable width without much extra on either side of hand. I'm 6'2" and had them on both a trail bike and a dirt jump bike.

The Bad:

They wear down to smooth very fast. A couple months and you can see where my fingers fit on the grip and a lot of surface has become smooth. Seems a lot to spend all the time on grips.

Overall Review: Would be good for a season if you don't ride that much.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Spank Subrosa 30AL EVO Rim

“Spank Subrosa Rim”

C138_subrosa_evo_30al_white

The Good:

Rode these rims on my jump bike for a year and they have been flawless. Super stiff and solid feeling. I needed new rims for my Blur LT trail bike and got these for that bike as well. Have rode those for a year and two years now on dirt jump bike with a lot of use and all 4 rims are still like the day I got them. Not the lightest choice and not many rims out there with this width and height combo and my next bike will definitely have them on it.

The Bad:

Nothing that i can think of.

Overall Review: Great super solid feeling rim and I would recommend to anyone looking for rims. Especially trail, enduro or dirt jump applications.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Banshee Rune V2 - 2016 Frame

“2013 Banshee Rune V2”

C138_rune_medium_green_website_1_of_1

The Good:

A very versatile trail hitting machine. Stiff, playful and can handle most anything that comes your way on trail. Very effiicient climber/pedaller that I often use for XC duties, even though it is more at home on rugged AM/FR kind of terrain

The Bad:

Exposed bearing races at pivots making them more susceptible to increased wear especially if riding in wetter/damper environements. Most of my bearings were seized after first season with minimal wet riding. Managed to crack rear end after 8-9 months of hard trail use.

Overall Review: Great bike that is extremely verstaile. I currently use it as my "one bike" that frequents run of the mill XC/trail riding regularly with big elevation changes to more AM/FR stuff with lots of jumps, gaps, burms.  This bike can pretty much do it all.  A few qualms with bearing/pivot design due to more exposure to elements and did manage to break frame the first year, but overall very well pleased with this bike and has served me quite well over the past year.  I definitely feel I got my money's worth out of this frame and Banshee is an awesome company that will to go to great lengths to take care of the end user.  Nothing but praises for this AM bike that is head and shoulders better than earlier versions.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member jgusta
29068 jgusta http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29068/avatar/c50_Bend_Enduro_2013_1388726811.jpg?1388726604 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jgusta,29068/all 01/02/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jgusta,29068/setup 1 15 1