Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Atlas Saddle

“STRONGEST/MOST DURABLE SADDLE I KNOW OF”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Strong - Can take a serious ass smash, Easy to install and easy to adjust, Looks great, Feels great

The Bad:

Only compatible with I-Beam seatposts (not for your droppers you Enduroites)

Overall Review: Got this saddle after destroying the rails on my stock Kona saddle. Sure I went through a few crashes where my bike yard-saled down the entire hillside but thats no excuse for a saddle to poop (no pun intended) out on you. Anyways, I got this saddle because my friend recommended an I-beam style setup and I love RaceFace components. Boy was that a good decision! Installing: Installing this saddle was super easy (a lot easier than pretending to have 8 hands to install a regular-railed saddle.) Even after it was tightened down to spec, cus we all know we torque everything, adjusting it was a breeze. In Use: The thing I love most Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

Race Face Cinch BSA30 Bottom Bracket

“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTED ”

C138_2014_bb_cinch_30mm_bsa

The Good:

It allows you to install the RaceFace SixC Crank on your bike.

The Bad:

Requires a RaceFace specific BB tool to install. Bearings started feeling shitty sooner than expected.

Overall Review: Purchased this along with my Raceface SixC cranks half way through last season. The SixC cranks are truly a masterpiece in every way but this BB isn’t. I ordered these cranks and when they came, I had to order a RaceFace BB tool and wait for that to arrive before I could install it. Side note: this BB tool is made very nicely and will last forever. I admit this is my bad for not doing enough research but still. Why couldn’t RaceFace just use their regular BB tool for this as well? Installing the BB was easy and straight forward with good manuals to help assist you. It was super smooth too so I was happy. After Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

2016 Santa Cruz Bronson C S

“OUTSTANDING AM BIKE”

C138_2016_santa_cruz_bronson_c_s

The Good:

Geometry is flawless - Long top-tube and great fork and seat angles, Gearing is great with the 10-42T, Stiff, and very light weight for what it can handle.

The Bad:

The front fork (pike) is light as hell but I wish it was a little more supple on the small bumps.

Overall Review: Quick info about review: Let me be upfront with you, I don't own this bike. This review is based upon the demo fleet from Santa Cruz. I demo'd the new 2016 BronsonC S over a weekend in Moab, Utah and rode two very popular trails (Slick Rock and Porcupine Trail). This is my take on it... Geometry: When picking the bike up, the first thing I noticed was the slightly longer top-tube than the previous year's model. I mean, this thing is long, but good. (That's what she said..) I'm 6' 1" and typically ride an XL bike. I base everything on top-tube length (24.5" length being ideal for my preferences). In most other companies, I Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

Nukeproof Zero Stem

Vital Review

“Tested: Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar and Zero Stem”

C138_stem34_1270x847
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord and Johan Hjord Nukeproof started life as a component maker, and although they have had great success with their line of complete bikes over the past few years, they are staying true to their roots as makers of reasonably priced, quality components. At the recent launch of the all-new Mega, we were given the opportunity to ride the latest carbon handlebars as well, and we liked them so much that we slipped a pair in our suitcase when nobody was looking. We’ve been riding ‘em ever since, and we’re here to let you know if we still like ‘em. Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Highlights Material: Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 769 54 714 1727 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3225 77 24

Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar

Vital Review

“Tested: Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar and Zero Stem”

C138_warhead_carbon_bar_gallery_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord and Johan Hjord Nukeproof started life as a component maker, and although they have had great success with their line of complete bikes over the past few years, they are staying true to their roots as makers of reasonably priced, quality components. At the recent launch of the all-new Mega, we were given the opportunity to ride the latest carbon handlebars as well, and we liked them so much that we slipped a pair in our suitcase when nobody was looking. We’ve been riding ‘em ever since, and we’re here to let you know if we still like ‘em. Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 769 54 714 1727 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3225 77 24

2015 YT TUES CF Pro

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 YT TUES CF Pro”

C138_2015_yt_tues_cf_pro_blue
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen Just a few years ago Young Talent Industries was a relatively unknown German brand, and today they are setting up to rival some of the industry's greats. How can that be? Where did the fire come from? Excellent reviews of their Capra enduro bike certainly helped, as did their consumer direct sales model and aggressive pricing. There's also the athlete factor, and with names like Cam Zink, Andreu Lacondeguy, and Kelly McGarry truly pushing the limits year after year, it was only a matter of time before bikes started flying out the door. This past summer we took to the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1152 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 248 1083 2052 122 40

2015 Giant Trance SX 27.5

Featured Review

“2015 Giant Trance SX”

C138_2015_giant_trance_sx_27.5

The Good:

Playful yet composed, jumps well, cornering, Drivetrain, brakes, and rear shock are great right out of the box

The Bad:

Can feel under-gunned in seriously gnarly terrain, Dual Position fork, heavy stock wheelset

Overall Review: I've been on the 2015 Trance SX for just under a year now, and overall it's been a good bike. A competitive price and several top notch parts as well as an awesome all around ride make it a winner. It climbs like a goat with the Monarch Debonair and Maestro Suspension combo providing loads of traction. The bike isn't the lightest out of the box, so it's not the quickest climber, but it'll get you up pretty much anything. The gearing is good, with the 32t chainring and 10-42 cassette offering plenty of range for all types of riding. Using the travel adjust on the fork will help the bike steer it's way up switchbacks a bit Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jduncan2124
38683 jduncan2124 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38683/avatar/c50_Screenshot_2015_12_19_21_14_31_1452136439.jpg?1452136208 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jduncan2124,38683/all 12/29/15 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jduncan2124,38683/setup 2 1 1

2015 Devinci Spartan Carbon SX

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 Devinci Spartan Carbon SX”

C138_devinci_spartan_carbon_sx_bike
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen Every year at the UCI Downhill World Championships, the Pros are treated to one-off bikes, custom colors, special tunes, and the best of the best in an effort to propel them to the top of the box and the top of the world. Back in 2013, Devinci's Stevie Smith rolled out of the pits on a prototype 165mm travel rig paired with a unique 175mm travel RockShox BoXXer. The purpose built Pietermaritzburg killer was designed to excel on the course's blend of a steep and hairy upper section, big blasty jumps, and a good deal of mashing on the pedals on the way to the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1152 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 248 1083 2052 122 40

Garmin VIRB XE Camera

Featured Review

“The Metrics allow you to prove you were "Fifth Gear Pinned".”

C138_garmin_virb_xe

The Good:

Capturing the metrics is a cool dynamic to add to an action sports camera. The anti-fog desiccant chip is smart, since the camera is always enclosed in a case. Simple on/off flip switch that's easy to use quickly while on the run. Setup with the App was straight forward and streamlined.

The Bad:

After a few more rides, I'm looking for a way to export the Metrics only. I would like to capture it for timing, and then adjust for different usage in Final Cut. Using Virb Edit will be limiting when trying to create edits that are not just straight for camera. Battery life is also pretty bad when you have the GPS on. It's cool to capture, but turn it off if you don't really want them. Having used a Hero4 Silver so much lately, I enjoy the LCD for quick verification. Too many times it feels like someone is waiting on me and Im over the F'ing with my camera and app. That's stupid. We need to ride more and fiddle less with this stuff.

Overall Review: I finally got a chance to get my hands on the Garmin VIRB XE. This camera looks different than what you’re used to seeing and has many more options than most action cameras on the market. “I was fifth geared pinned” has a whole new meaning now that you can bring up the video from your Garmin VIRB XE and prove it. What did I think about using it? Keep on reading! You don’t have to be a dirt bike rider to realize you have choices when it comes to buying an action sports camera to capture your adventures. Garmin realized this and brought their GPS’ to the table when developing their VIRB X and VIRB XE. The X stands for metrics Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down

Maxxis Ardent Tire

“Ardent 29x2.4 folding”

C138_90357980_1266959103

The Good:

As long as the bead is FOLDING they set up nicely tubeless, weather or not the tire is tubeless specific. Long wear life. Handle rocky conditions well without getting tread rips or sidewall damage.
Come in a gumwall.
Lot of volume.
Predictable drifting in corners if you can't hold your line because you came in too hot.

The Bad:

The really don't have a BAD point.

Overall Review: This is a great all around tire. I have a big list of positives I've listed and can't find a weakness. I'm riding Utah with sharp rocks and square edges and the 2.4 is on every bike from single speed rigid to Transition Covert 140mm FS.  The knobs roll well, off road hook up is perfect.  I'll go through a set every 700 miles and then they are some really nice handmedowns to my buddies.  One additional bonus for the weight weenie is that they are fairly light for a tire that can take some serious punishment at 695-805 gram depending on the model.  I've used the IKON and don't feel that the extra money is worth it.  Maxxis is my brand.   This review is only for the 29x2.4
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 24 205 11