Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Biknd Jetpack Bike Travel Bag

Featured Review

“Sturdy protection”

C138_jetpack1

The Good:

solid construction / air bags / solid mounting / accessories

The Bad:

heavier than claimed

Overall Review: After seeing an online ad for the new Bikind Jet pack I decided to bet on this Canadian company to protect my new carbon frame on a bike trip to South America. My 10 yr old plastic bike box had been opened by the TSA on a previous trip and not closed properly - so that when I collected it at the airport the handlebars were hanging out. I figured it was time to upgrade to a bag that would be easy for the inspectors to open / close and one that would provide the best protection possible. It took me a while to pack the bike the first time. Once I worked out a few basic tricks I was much faster when relocating in the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mutton
4236 mutton http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4236/avatar/c50_90426110_1283099785.jpg?1290162150 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mutton,4236/all 08/29/10 7 4 8 1

2016 Juliana Roubion C S

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Juliana Roubion C S”

C138_juliana_roubion_c_s
Reviewed by Amanda Wentz and Courtney Steen // Photos by Lear Miller At the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, we ladies got the chance to sample a few of the latest trail/all-mountain bikes to see how they perform for women. With a smorgasbord of bikes ranging from 120 to 160mm travel, women-specific to unisex, and a price range from about $3,000 to over $9,000, how is one to choose?! This year we tested three bikes in the 150 to 160mm travel range that may be options to consider. We put them (and ourselves) to the test on South Mountain's trails in Phoenix, Arizona - a moonscape of rowdy rock sections, decomposed granite, and Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 264 1145 2136 130 39

Continental Trail King Tire

Featured Review

“Conti TK ProTection 2.4 - massive volume and good rubber, but too surfy”

C138_826ba4c1_fe2a_4f1a_a69e_0a4bef8bd8f0

The Good:

High volume means low pressures are ok - I never burped it // Rubber has great grip in the wet and lasts for ages // ProTection casing never had puncture issues

The Bad:

Too surfy in loose conditions // Vague cornering feel

Overall Review: I really wanted to like this tire, especially based on some of the other reviews online. My first impression was that it looked like a great rear tire tread, but the shoulder blocks looked a bit underbuilt. It is a massive tire at 2.4 - the volume is absolutely huge, even on a 23mm internal width rim. I found that I had to run surprisingly low pressures to get it to hook up, but the low pressures never resulted in any issues with burping. Tires are hugely subjective depending on riding style, but this tire really didn't work for me. While it had excellent traction on wet roots and rocks (thanks to the Black Chili Read More »

Park Tool P-Handled Hex Wrench Set

Featured Review

“A mega must-have for any home mechanic”

C138_13245

The Good:

Functional durable, Never dents, Excellent finish, precise fit, comfortable handle

The Bad:

A blue handle broke on me

Overall Review: If you are looking into getting, or just building up your home mechanic tool kit, Having a P/T handled hex kit is a MUST. That being said, you have tons of options: Anywhere from Harbor Freight, Amazon, department store brands like Sears, bicycle specific brands like Park Tool and Pedros, and then the ultra expensive, high-end brands from Europe....tons of options. Durability: When I decided to purchase a set of Hex wrenches, I decided to go with Park Tool, because I already had a large amount of their tools, and also because I have been very pleased with how they have kept over the years. For the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“High Expectations”

C138_tld_xc_glove_starburst_black_gray_palm

The Good:

Brand, Durability, Styling

The Bad:

Confused, Styling

Overall Review: Let me start off by saying these gloves are nice! I like them!.. a lot actually, so why didn't I give them 5 stars? well, they are a little confused. How so?.. They say XC on them, as in cross country, as in pedal mashing, cadence clambering, hear rate hiking, crack sweating cross country! So then why are they so thick? Should I add hand sweating to that list as well? The branding makes no sense, wouldn't you want your hands to breathe a little more? maybe go for a thinner material? But at the same time that is exactly what makes these gloves so awesome! They are thick and durable because of this I use them for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Saddle

Vital Review

“Tested: ANVL Forge Stealth Saddle”

C138_anvl_saddles_2_half_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Born from the Transition crew’s desire to make better bling, ANVL popped on the components scene a couple of years back and they drew a fair bit of attention with a range of seemingly well-designed parts that look good too. Curious to go beneath the appearance, we laid our hands on the new Forge Stealth saddle a couple of months ago, and we’ve been resting our weary behinds on it ever since. Read on to find out how it treated us. ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Highlights RAIL MATERIAL: Titanium COVER MATERIAL: Leather + Kevlar corners PADDING: Superlight Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 68 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3522 83 27

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“Spectacular”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

It says Gold on the bottle

The Bad:

None if used properly

Overall Review: "SPECTACULAR" that's what my star rating says anyway... And does it lie? No it does not! Why does the label say "Gold" on it? because this lube is the gold standard in dry conditions. While the blue stuff has tons of wax in it meant to protect the chain this stuff has just enough to keep the chain lubed, and quite while not attracting too much dust making your bike a mucky mess. This stuff is the bee's knees, if you love your bike... maybe a little too much?.. aahhhh who am I kidding there's no such thing! but if you do this stuff is a necessity.. trust me it will keep you and your bike very happy on the trail! If the price tag is scaring you, try not to frett you can often pick this stuff up at your LBS for less than $15 a bottle, and it is very worth it!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

Rock 'n Roll Extreme Lube

“I Put This Sh*t on Everything”

C138_cm400b24

The Good:

High Quality Product

The Bad:

Absolutely None

Overall Review: Woo Hoo!! My first five star review! Before we begin let's get one thing clear... this is the WET lube from Rock N Roll. Rock N Roll makes two different types of lube, wet (blue) and dry (gold), this review is for the wet lube. Can you use the wet lube in dry conditions? abso-freaking-lutely, will it work as well as the dry lube? no it won't! This stuff is awesome, in wet conditions it keeps your chain dry and noise free, even in extreme mud and close to freezing temperatures this stuff rocks! why you ask? don't worry baby birds, I'll feed ya! Because of all the wax! it coddles your chain like an over Read More »

WTB Rocket V SLT Saddle

“Outdated and Over Appreciated”

C138_sa278a12_black

The Good:

Price, Shape

The Bad:

Shape, Build Quality

Overall Review: Like most of the users on this site, we have all at one point or another fallen prey to the saddle trap that is the Rocket V. Was it at one point a great saddle? no doubt, but recently the saddle game has progressed and left the Rocket V in it's dust. Sure the SLT has titanium frame rails and is fairly light, but it is also way over priced for it comfort level. Maybe an over priced uncomfortable and ugly saddle is just what you are looking for, if so then this is the saddle for you. However if you are like most of us, there are thinner, lighter, and more comfortable saddles currently on the market... buy one of those! WTB makes great products but this one has seen it's day come and go; unless you can get a real great deal on this bad boy... highly doubtful steer clear!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

“It's.... Pretty Good”

C138_wtb_silverado_team_saddle

The Good:

Thin, attractive shape, good looking

The Bad:

Durability

Overall Review: Alright here is the deal, I have had a lot of saddles over the years, and WTB seemed to be the most popular brand for me until recently. I bought one of these saddles for my downhill bike about a year ago; I was going to use this saddle for my race season, and as you can probably tell from my tone it did not go so well. First the good, the saddle is light, has a thin profile which is good looking IMHO and felt good when I was on it... I also got a great deal ($55) so it was a win win. That is until my second lap when I took a pretty gnarly header over the bars, I got back up and continued my lap, but it wasn't until Read More »