Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Burgtec Enduro MK2 Stem

Vital Review

“Tested: Burgtec Ride Wide Enduro Bar and Enduro MK2 Stem”

C138_3282_burgtec_enduro_mk2_stem_race_red_stem_35mm_reach_35_bar_bore_1
Once an exotic and often not trusted piece of bling, carbon handlebars have become much more of a mainstream item, at least on higher end builds. They can also be found on race bikes, anywhere from XC to DH. UK component specialist Burgtec has recently refreshed their lineup with a few tasty looking items made from the fantastic plastic, so we decided to check out the intriguingly named Ride Wide Enduro bar and its stable mate, the new Enduro MK2 stem. Read on to find out how we got along. Burgtec Ride Wide Enduro Highlights Burgtec Enduro Stem Highlights 800mm wide UD Carbon construction 35mm bar clamp 20mm rise 9 degree Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4122 107 29

Burgtec Ride Wide Enduro Handlebar

Vital Review

“Tested: Burgtec Ride Wide Enduro Bar and Enduro MK2 Stem”

C138_4421_burgtec_ridewide_800mm_enduro_bar_20mm_rise_35mm_bore_1
Once an exotic and often not trusted piece of bling, carbon handlebars have become much more of a mainstream item, at least on higher end builds. They can also be found on race bikes, anywhere from XC to DH. UK component specialist Burgtec has recently refreshed their lineup with a few tasty looking items made from the fantastic plastic, so we decided to check out the intriguingly named Ride Wide Enduro bar and its stable mate, the new Enduro MK2 stem. Read on to find out how we got along. Burgtec Ride Wide Enduro Highlights Burgtec Enduro Stem Highlights 800mm wide UD Carbon construction 35mm bar clamp 20mm rise Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4122 107 29

2017 Canfield Brothers Riot Factory Build Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: 2017 Canfield Brothers Riot Factory Build”

C138_canfield_brothers_riot_factory_build
Lance and Chris Canfield began their journey as frame builders in the late nineties after feeling their needs weren’t being met by frame options at the time. Since the glory days aboard their 12-inch travel Big Fat Fatty Fat they’ve been coming up with their own interpretation of what mountain bikes should be. In 2011, Canfield Brothers launched their first 29-inch-wheeled bike, the Yelli Screamy, which was among the first wagon-wheeled bikes with sub-17-inch chainstays. Just a few years later, they launched their first dual-suspension wagon wheeler called the Riot, which also featured radically short Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 92 4 26 19

2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon Pro XT/XTR

“CUSTOM firebird”

C138_2017_pivot_firebird_carbon_blue_red_with_pro_xt_xtr_1x

The Good:

#1 pedal switch on and its as great as any full sus xc bike, I bet the drag comes mainly from tires. Its roomy compared to other bikes...I remember when new giant reign came out and thought it was ridiculosly long..now this firebird its even longer, I have it with a 40mm stem so Im not that streched out. #2 rips out downhills...comming from the latest v10 and a nomad, first thing I thought was damnn same as the v10 on the descents (new bike syndrome I guess)...but definitely feels like a dh bike. I remember using the nomad on a slow speed but very roguht trail thats close to home, it felt like bike wasnt helping because getting more speed was getting more into trouble...with firebird I was able to give full throttle #3 very nice finish (black) #4 very quiet (once I made some wrapping in chainstay) #5 the bike looks much better in real than in your screen

The Bad:

#1 putting bike together was at least more difficult that santa cruz´s (lots of holes and no internal tubes for routing) #2 I have a nice build and still its heavier than nomad (31.5lb with pedals 2.4tires) wich is not bad at all.
#3 rear link definitely gets some dirt, wich I can easily clean after every ride day ( with a brush) but I forsee the situation in the rainy season

Overall Review: this thing is replacing latest nomad and v10 and Im very happy I did it. Im using size M with 40mm stem (5875 height) and feels just perfect, I had some parts so decided to build it my self. I only used it for about 4 rides and then raced some enduro..a little flat terrain but bike didnt stop my pace in any regard...pedaling wasnt an issue. I use my xc bike almost every day and do some races so I guess my opinion on pedaling is valid. On the other hand Its completely true that if you dont need that much travel then get a more trail oriented bike...the good thing is that you can adjust the suspension so much that Read More »

2017 Rocky Mountain Slayer 770 MSL

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Rocky Mountain Slayer from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_slayer770_msl_c1_profile
It's back! Following a short hiatus, Rocky Mountain introduced an all-new 2017 Slayer. The new breed sports a full carbon frame, 165mm of rear travel, unique blind pivots, and looks that could kill. Whether it's an enduro race, bike park laps with the crew, or getting your freeride on, the Slayer is designed to take no prisoners with its ultra-aggressive geometry and progressive suspension. With that in mind, we pointed it down the rowdiest bits of trail we could find in Tucson, Arizona during the 2017 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Highlights Smoothwall carbon frame 27.5-inch wheels (26+ compatible) 165mm (6.5-inches) Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6155 977 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1249 2291 164 41

SRAM Code RSC Disc Brakes

Vital Review

“First Ride: SRAM's New Code RSC Brakes”

C138_sram_code_rsc_brakes
Travel back in time to the 2006 World Cup season and you'll see matte army green prototype Avid Code disc brakes mounted to select Pro downhill bikes, ready for testing. The brakes looked wild at the time, boasting huge calipers and large bearings in the lever that we'd never seen before. As the years rolled on Codes became a staple in the downhill world as a reliable, powerful workhorse ready to slow you down in a hurry with their strong bite. Fast-forward to early 2017 and they were among the few remaining Avid products – a testament to how well they worked and the strong following they've earned. After over a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6155 977 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1249 2291 164 41

2017 Trek Remedy 8 Bike

Featured Member Review

“Awesome Aluminum Trail Slayer”

C138_2017_trek_remedy_8

The Good:

Excellent Suspension and solid parts spec

The Bad:

Handlebars fit funny and resin brake pads. Creeky. Dropper Remote sucks

Overall Review: What is The Remedy 8 I live in Southern Utah and ride a variety of terrain. From buff BMX style hard pack, to the slick rock ledges and drops of Gooseberry and the other Mesas. I'm not a racer now days but I need a bike that I could saddle up and ride in a 24 hour relay or pony up to ride an enduro. I also need a bike that won't break the bank (is there such a thing anymore), so aluminum is usually my choice. I was looking for an updated long travel trail bike to replace my 2015 Cannondale Jekyll. The Remedy 8 ticked all of my required boxes. 150 mm of travel, Sram GX 1x11 drivetrain, Pike RC fork, Boost spacing, and a KS Lev Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jared Wilkinson
33687 Jared Wilkinson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/33687/avatar/c50_IMG_4532_1476989314.jpg?1476988457 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jared-Wilkinson,33687/all 01/01/15 1 3

OneUp Components Bash Guide

Featured Member Review

“OneUp Bash Guide: Long Term Review”

C138_oneup_components_iscg_05_bash_guide_32t_green_black

The Good:

Price, simple to set up, light, strong, comes with two different coloured top guides and three different sized bash guards to fit a variety of front ring sizes.

The Bad:

Green top guide doesn't match with every frame.

Overall Review: This review comes after a full year of using the OneUp Components Bash Guide for trail riding, enduro racing, bike park laps, and shuttle runs. I have around 115 days of riding on this little piece of aluminum and plastic, and have to say that the results have been beyond expectations. Set up: The Bash Guide comes with two different top guides, a black one and a bright OneUp green one. Not having any green on my bike, I immediately put the green one back in the box, saving it in case anything ever happens to the black one. It also comes with three differently sized bash guards. I chose the guard for my Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

FOX 2018 Float 36 Factory Fork

Vital Review

“First Ride: 2018 FOX Float 36 RC2 Fork”

C138_fox_my18_fs_36_black_d3
When we first tested the 2016 FOX Float 36 RC2, we found it to be right at the top of the big-hitting, single-crown fork class. Confidence-inspiring and sure-footed, it may have fallen just short of the best small-bump compliance available at the time, which it more than made up for with awesome levels of control when things got rowdier. Fast-forward to spring 2017, and we’ve just taken delivery of an early sample of the 2018 version. With changes to the airspring and improved seals, we were eager to see if FOX has managed to further improve on this already excellent piece of equipment. Read on to find out. 2018 FOX Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4122 107 29

Nukeproof Horizon CS Clipless Pedal

Vital Review

“First Ride: Nukeproof Horizon CS Clipless Pedal”

C138_blue
In the last few years we've seen a huge leap forward in the bike industry in terms of suspension design, geometry and drivetrain components. One part that sometimes feels like it's still trailing a bit behind is the clipless pedal. Yes, this mundane part that connects your feet to the bike. Let's be real, you won't think twice before throwing 200 or more bucks on that shiny new carbon handlebar that matches your bike’s color scheme so perfectly. But let's say 150 bucks for a light yet strong piece of equipment with a very precise spring mechanism that should take all manner of abuse and shut up about it will Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member yonatan.yatom
19029 yonatan.yatom http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19029/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1575019897.jpg?1350486252 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/yonatan-yatom,19029/all 10/17/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/yonatan-yatom,19029/setup 1 3 1