Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Panasonic Wings

Vital Review

“Tested: Panasonic Wings Wireless Headphones”

C138_rp_bts30_r_alt01
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Listening to music while riding may not be everybody’s cup of tea, but we know many riders who do like to rock out while working out – and many who like to keep the beat going while shredding too. If you like the idea of tunes on the trails but don’t fancy being attached to your phone, Panasonic provides an affordable wireless answer with their Wings series. We’ve been putting a pair to the test to see how they stack up. Panasonic Wings Highlights Ultra-light Bluetooth sport clips for high-impact training, indoors and out Premium 9mm neodymium drivers for full rich Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 764 90 931 1703 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 359 4047 102 29

WTB Commander PadLoc Grip

Featured Member Review

“A quality upgrade component that is simple and has lots of surprising benefits”

C138_wtb_commander_padloc_grip_black_green

The Good:

Simple one piece design with a protective sleeve and padded bar end combo that feels just right. If a shop tried to tell you to swap to another brand/style bar/grip combo, they'd not have a benefit to point out. Bare handed riders will love them.

The Bad:

Anyone afraid of cutting their expensive bars to mate them has no way to demo them to feel the benefits. That is a hard sell, but I argue...worth it. Only four grip pattern choices, along with SRAM's Blackbox & Boobar pre-cut bars, today Pivot introduced their own grip pattern Padloc bar & grip combo plus more are on the way.

Overall Review: Let me preface this review by saying I was open to this concept before it ever hit the shelf and was on a waiting list to get them. I was hoping they would prevent the numbness in my hands from decades of palm parking myself in the dirt. I couldn't get them fast enough. I come from the old days of motocross, where spraying alchohol on your grips, painting them with hair spray and waiting patiently to make sure they seated, then aggressively strapping them down to the bar with grip wire pliers in hopes of the grip somehow staying planted in the rain on a 40 foot cased landing. It was a big, BIG deal! When dual lock ring Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bizutch
175 bizutch http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/175/avatar/c50_Bailey_Mountain_Bike_Park_52_1449500778.jpg?1449500216 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bizutch,175/all 08/01/09 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bizutch,175/setup 1 32 451 2

Ergon GE1 Grip

“Firm, medium diameter grip.”

C138_ge1

The Good:

Single clamp design with solid end cap. Comfortable shape.

The Bad:

A little small toward the interior and a bit too firm for my liking.

Overall Review: I have had several friend rave about these grips, so I figured it was time to give them a shot. My go to grip is the ODI Rogue, so that might tell you that I am a fan of larger, softer grips. The Ergons were bit firmer than I like, but I decided to give them a shot anyway. The shape is comfortable, but I wish the diameter of the grip was flipped. I would prefer the bulkier part of the grip to be on the inside and then tapering down toward the outside. I have about 15 hours on these grips thus far and they have not shown any wear.  This may be the grip for many others, but I think I will be switching to a softer grip. I may give their DH model a try once I can find a pair.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member tylerb
27953 tylerb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27953/avatar/c50_IMG_2235_1_1399420612.jpg?1399420296 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tylerb,27953/all 10/15/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tylerb,27953/setup 1 7 19 2

Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol

“A proper trail bike for the progressive geometry crowd.”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white

The Good:

A lightweight trail bike made from proper materials that has resulted in a reliable daily driver. Forward geometry pushes you to go faster and the progressive horst link suspension provides a lively feel on trail.

The Bad:

I'm still waiting for a bike that performs as well as a proper DH bike when it comes to repetitive square edge hits, but the rearward axle path of a DH bike is hard to achieve with a bike that is this light and pedals this well. I feel like this is a global problem with current trail bikes, but shock technology is helping.

Overall Review: Guerrilla Gravity wasn't conservative with this bikes geometry. They jumped right in and gave it some proper dimensions on the first go. I think many are starting to realize that a longer reach, steep seat tube angle, and "slack" head angle bundled in one package can result in a bike that is DH worthy and can still climb with the best of them. The head angle makes plowing over rocks easier whether it is on steep or flat terrain. Front wheel traction is increased by the steep seat tube and extended reach, forcing you to ride in a more forward position. The horst link design has good mid stroke support and a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member tylerb
27953 tylerb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27953/avatar/c50_IMG_2235_1_1399420612.jpg?1399420296 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tylerb,27953/all 10/15/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tylerb,27953/setup 1 7 19 2

2017 Intense Tracer Factory

Vital Review

“Tested: 2017 Intense Tracer Factory Enduro Bike”

C138_1_tracer_fty_red
Reviewed by Fred Robinson As you may have noticed, Intence Cycles is not slowing down anytime soon. In fact, they're actually ramping things up quite a bit with five new bike launches in the span of only 12 months. Jeff Steber, the founder of Intense Cycles, continues to develop and refine bikes in his workshop at the factory in Temecula, Calfornia, and his latest creation is the all-new Intense Tracer. In collaboration with Cesar Rojo and the team at Cero Engineering and Product Design // UNNO bikes, the duo collaborated to create eight prototypes, or "mules", before settling on the geometry and kinematics of the new Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 760 79 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 69 55 1

SRAM ROAM 60 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM ROAM 60 Carbon Wheels”

C138_sram_roam_60_wheels
Review by Brandon Turman // Action photo by Courtney Steen Over the years we've seen a recurring theme coming from the SRAM camp - every product is designed with the intent to increase control and confidence on the trail. That goal was present when crafting the new ROAM 60 carbon wheels as they strived to find the right balance between outright strength and vertical compliance. Geared at enduro and trail use, these wheels are claimed to be "durable enough for hours in the saddle, yet light enough for race day." The evolved wheelset sees the jump up to a 30mm internal rim width, uses SRAM's own hub internals for the first time, Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

2015 YT Tues AL Comp Bike

“My 2015 YT Tues AL Comp review 1.5 years later”

C138_2015_yt_tues_al_comp_black_grey

The Good:

I have to start with price, it was one of the main reasons I considered this with my new purchase. Stock components, this came ready to race downhill or ride at bike parks, no questions asked. Customer Service, I had a few questions from the start and the guys out of Reno were very helpful and continue to be helpful when I needed to buy a derailleur hanger or had questions about which rear spring to use for my weight. The DT swiss YT2020 wheels. Immediately comfortable moving from a Demo 8. Jumps and racing.

The Bad:

I wish they provided options for which spring rate came on the shock and in the fork.

Overall Review: Again I will start with the price, the pricing seems too good to be true but that is far from the truth. This is by far my favorite Bike and I will buy another one when the time comes. I will also stick with the aluminum version because I am not pro and intend to ride my bike for a few years and I don't see this bike to feel too heavy ever. I moved from a size Large 2013 Demo 8 to a size Large YT Tues and was comfortable on it immediately. The first time i ended up riding this bike was at a race at mount snow which is quite rocky, I took third place behind a pro who had just stepped down and another rider who moved to pro the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MasonRG
43642 MasonRG http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43642/avatar/c50_randr_photo_1502489_3000px_1485783766.jpg?1485782788 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MasonRG,43642/all 01/30/17 1

SRAM X01 Eagle

Vital Review

“Long Term Tested: SRAM X01 Eagle 1x12 Drivetrain”

C138_sram_x01_eagle_rear_derailleur
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Adrian Marcoux and Brandon Turman On a summer trip to Whistler, a few friends and I ditched the lift line in favor of the lesser traveled trails on nearby Blackcomb. The ride began just like any other - popping wheelies and cracking jokes as we made our way to the base of the mountain. Then the pitch kicked up a few notches. My friends and I attacked the mountain with enthusiasm, vying for position along the way. "This trail is so good you guys, you're going to love it," I promised. "Just 15 minutes more and we'll be there." For those familiar, you'll know that the climb up Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

Five Ten Danny MacAskill Shoe

Vital Review

“First Ride: Five Ten Danny MacAskill Signature Shoe”

C138_528107_21
When you have Danny MacAskill on your athlete roster, you’d be missing out if all you did was to slap his name on a few posters and call it good. Five Ten took full advantage of the Scottish sender and had him help them develop a shoe that would give Danny the performance he needs on the bike – and the casual looks to blend in while on one of his many street missions. Did they succeed? Read on to find out! Five Ten Danny MacAskill Highlights Durable, easy care and casual looking leather upper EVA midsole for shock absorption and anatomical support Ortholite insole Full tread Stealth S1 dotty rubber for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 764 90 931 1703 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 359 4047 102 29

Hope Technology 35W Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Hope Tech 35W Wheelset”

C138_rear
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Rims have been getting wider and wider over the past few years, with manufacturers citing features like lower tire pressures, wider contact patches, and higher air volume as the main reasons behind the trend. Additionally, the plus-size tire “movement” has once again opened people’s minds to experimenting with fatter tires, and as a result, there’s a fresh batch of weird and wonderful new tire widths to choose from. Hope took their time before jumping in with an extra-wide rim offering of their own, but with the 35W they have now thrown their hat in the ring Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 764 90 931 1703 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 359 4047 102 29