Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2017 Tantrum Meltdown

“Outburst - Ridden on my Local Trails in Indianapolis. ”

C138_tantrum_cycles_meltdown

The Good:

Peddling ability, handling, generally a damn good and fun bike to ride.

The Bad:

Honestly can't think of anything.

Overall Review: I rode this bike recently with Brian,on trails i ride regularly (packed dirt, leaf covered tree roots, busy and with some small log jumps/obstacles) and rode it along the lines of dirt bike. i would throw it into corners, try and maintain corner speed and squirt it out of them. This bike rails corners and then when it comes to stamping on the pedals on the exits, I didn’t feel the usual softened bob on back end of the bike on every downward pedal stroke. On the straighter level sections, I would speed up and literally feel the rear suspension firm up. It was like there was a hidden pump somewhere, which sensed when you pushed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Aye
43267 Aye /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aye,43267/all 12/09/16 1

Race Face Atlas Flat Pedal

“Flawed design”

C138_race_face_atlas_flat_pedal_pins

The Good:

Lightweight, thin, pedal body can take a beating.

The Bad:

Poorly designed axles/bearings, bearing bulge is annoying, grip could be better

Overall Review: So, let's take about durability first, cause that's been my main issue with these pedals. About an hour into the first ride, the body came loose from the axle on the left pedal. Not the best start, but i went home and applied some locktite to the fastening screw. Then on the second ride the same thing happened to the right pedal (Yeah I know, I should have applied locktite to that one too. Call me an optimist.) That seems to have fixed it, cause I haven't had them fall off since. However after a few rides they started developing side-to-side play, and unlike Vitals reviewer I can certainly feel it while riding, though not Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member RaoulDuke
29931 RaoulDuke /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RaoulDuke,29931/all 03/01/14 1 1 45 1

2017 Tantrum Meltdown

Vital Review

“First Ride: 2017 Tantrum Meltdown”

C138_tantrum_cycles_meltdown
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Shawn Spomer While hunting for new and exciting products among the thousands of booths at the Interbike tradeshow two years ago, I recall seeing a bright yellow bike roll by with a wild-looking suspension linkage. It was so different from the norm that it forced me to do a double-take. What on earth was I looking at, and why were there so many links? I chased down the bike's owner, Brian Berthold, to ask for more details. Though I'm well-versed in the mountain bike suspension realm, what Berthold proceeded to claim the bike performed like on trail puzzled me. Like many before him, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6087 1037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1173 2154 132 40

Five Ten Kestrel Clipless Shoe

“The Greatest All-Mountain Shoes with One Fatal Flaw ”

C138_5211_kestrel_1

The Good:

Comfort, Quality Construction, Pedaling Performance, Walking Traction

The Bad:

Boa Closure System, A Little Heavy

Overall Review: The Five Ten Kestrel is a feature-rich shoe that offers fantastic craftsmanship, pedaling performance, comfort and off-the-bike traction. And if that was the end of the discussion there would be nothing on the market to keep it from being crowned the king of the all-mountain bike shoes. However, despite all the good features, no candid conversation about the Five Ten Kestrel can fail to consider, in full and painful detail, the Boa closure system, which might halt the coronation. But before we get to talking about the Boa closure, here are the indisputably good points: Pedaling performance on par with most XC race Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Arkstorm
26789 Arkstorm /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Arkstorm,26789/all 08/08/13 2 5

Enve Composites Carbon Fiber Mountain Sweep

“Ultimate bars”

C138_barswp_main_3_800x532

The Good:

They really do help cut down on trail buzz. This reduces fatigue significantly on long, 3hr plus rides. Matched with big chunky oury grips, very comfy.

The Bad:

Price, but these are the best

Overall Review: Tried other carbon bars, these are so nice. You get what you pay for. My favourite XC bar. One minor crash in their life, no concerns over integrity.

KMC X11SL Chain

“Great chains”

C138_57322

The Good:

Crisp shifting on XX1 cassette with approx 3000miles on it, significantly better then SRAM'S PC-XX1 chains.

The Bad:

Nothing bad to say about these chains.

Overall Review: I alternate between three chains and swap after every ride, using KMC's included quick links. Doing this extends drivetrain life, and I swap out chains by the time they hit 0.5% stretch. Bike is ridden in all conditions. Using white lightning clean ride wax for lube.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member link1896
35385 link1896 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/link1896,35385/all 05/04/15 5

Ergon GD1 Grip

Vital Review

“Tested: Ergon GD1 Grip”

C138_42440001_detail_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow You might know Ergon as the makers of those funky, half-flat grips that marathon riders like to use to keep their hands comfortable for very long days out. Well, the German manufacturer has also turned its attention to more conventional-looking grips, notably the GE1 that Richie Rude held onto for dear life all the way to the Enduro World Series overall title, and the downhill-oriented GD1 tested here. So, what can a little German engineering do for something as simple as a grip? Read on to find out! Ergon GD1 Highlights Intended use: Downhill, Freeride, Gravity Sizes: Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3685 86 28

VP Components VP-VX Clipless Pedal

Featured Review

“VP VX Pedal Review”

C138_vpvx2000

The Good:

Solid engagement with pronounced "click", holds up well to rock strikes. decent sale price

The Bad:

Heavy, screws that hold on stationary part of the binding come loose and fall out

Overall Review: Overall a pretty nice pedal, and a decent alternative to Shimanopedals in terms of price. I bought these from Jenson for $25 which is a similar price to Shimano's M520 pedals. I think the pedal has a nice look to it, and they feel super solid in your hand. They are pretty heavy though, but do not feel a lotdifferent than a Shimano pedal in terms of weight. The tension adjustability is nice, I like mypedal tension pretty tight and these allowed for that no problem. They came with their own set of cleats, that are very similar to Shimano cleats, but I left myShimano cleats on and they worked fine together. One of Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Expert 6Fattie Bike

“Levo is fun”

C138_turbolevo

The Good:

Want to ride like an EPO junkie that lives at 10000' elevation racing at sea level, this is the bike.

The Bad:

Lots of diehard MTBrs hate electric bikes.

Overall Review: Federal law defines ebikes with a CONTINUES max power output of 750 watts,and 20MPH top speed with NO PEDALING with a 170# rider input as a bicycle. See 15 U.S. Code 2085 Low-Speed Electric Bicycles (B) for exact definition details. So in consulting with my attorney/friend, his professional opinion is ebikes with these limited power parameters are allowed to go anywhere a bicycle can go and are bound by the same rules of the road that bicycles are. The Turbo Levo is way under the power parameters set by the feds, first it won't do anything under its own power, needs human pedal input, 2nd, its peak Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirk.diggsbabs
22060 dirk.diggsbabs http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22060/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100003328999503.jpg?1360785405 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirk-diggsbabs,22060/all 02/13/13 1 1