Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Evoc CC 16l Hydration Pack

Vital Review

“Tested: EVOC CC 16l Hydration Pack”

C138_red
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow EVOC produces a huge range of backpacks for various outdoors activities, from small, simple hydration packs to full-on, expedition-level haulers. The new CC line is made for those who want to keep cool when the mercury climbs, offering a series of features designed with optimal ventilation and airflow in mind. We grabbed the largest of three available versions and headed off to find out how it performs on the trail. EVOC CC 16l Highlights Made from: AIR MESH, DARLINGTON MESH, N100D NANO BOX RIPSTOP PU COATED, P600 D PU COATED Size: 16 L Hydration capacity: up to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 780 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 52 332 3777 87 28

e*thirteen TRS+ Cassette

“e*thirteen TRS+ 9-46 Cassette”

C138_fw1tpa_101_600x539

The Good:

Light weight with a claimed weight of 303 grams, or 287 grams depending on what page of e*thirteen's website your looking at. I didn't measure it, but it feels much lighter than the Shimano 11-46 cassette it replaced. The gear ratios are well thought out and feel closer together compared to Shimano's XT cassette. Shifting is buttery smooth, even after two months of use. The 9 and 10 tooth cogs really let you get moving on downhill and flat sections. No unusual squeaks or weird noises as of now.

The Bad:

This cassette is expensive even by SRAM standards. Shifting into the 9 tooth cog isn't as consistent as the remaining cogs. Sometimes it takes a couple pedal revolutions to get it to grab the cog when paired with a XTR derailleur. Ironically, shifting is quicker and more consistent with a XT derailluer.

Overall Review: This cassette offers much better performance, range and weight savings compared to Shimano's 11-46 XT cassette. I've been running it for a couple months now and it works just as good as the day I installed it. Tooth wear looks minimal to non-existent at this point in the cassette's life; however, it's too early to tell what the longevity will be. I'm running this cassette with a 32T chainring up front on 170mm cranks. I mostly use the 2nd lowest gear (39T) for climbing and only use the 46T as a recovery or "bail out" gear. The 9T and 10T cogs are great for those higher speed downhill and flat sections. That being said, I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_IMG_3514_1434769476.jpg?1434768776 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 8

e*thirteen LG1+ Chainguide

“E.13 LG1+ Chainguide”

C138_50736

The Good:

looks, never lost a chain

The Bad:

spare parts are very expensive, idler wheel fixed directly to the bash, noisy

Overall Review: The setup is pretty straight forward, it can take a few tries like most chainguides, but is no more or less complicated. Screws, washers and even an adapter to mount it to your bottom bracket are included. Once set up the chainguide worked flawless, I never dropped a chain, even in the muckiest of conditions. If you ride in the mud a lot or pressure wash your bike you should regrease the idler wheel bearings now and then. The upper guide doesn't have any noise cancelling rubber inserts like some of the more modern chainguides have, so it's a bit more noisy. I used to glue a cut out piece of tube on there or Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 59 92 8

Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless Pedals

“Classic Clipless Pedal”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_3_red

The Good:

mudclearance, pedalbody and pins, service kit available

The Bad:

brass cleats, inner plastic pedal body

Overall Review: First, I have been riding clipless pedals for a few years and I also used Shimanos SPD system for years on my XC-Bike and for a short while on my Enduro and DH bike. When it comes to DH or Enduro riding I'm a big fan of Crankbrothers clipless system. If you aren't and your mind is made up it's probably pointless to read on. Riding them: Clipping in is a very different feeling from Shimano, it feels much more 'loose' and you get a lot of float. You shouldn't worry, though, as long as you have a fresh set of cleats the pedal holds on to your foot pretty secure. When you install the cleats Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 59 92 8

SR Suntour Auron RC2 Fork

“SR Suntour Auron RC2”

C138_2014_sr_suntour_auron_fork

The Good:

Price, sure.

The Bad:

Noisy, a bit noisy.

Overall Review: It's been a while for me riding the Suntour Auron RC2 (internal adjust) with black stanchion, and maybe it's the time for me to write something about this fork. First, I chose this fork because of the price; it's really a good price, and for this thing the Auron is the winner from most high end forks. But let's see the others.. APPEARANCE: Black stanchion is looking awesome, based on that fact that most popular forks have the black stanchion. So with the Auron RC2, I like the black stanchion beside the price. The 34mm also looks big. The fork comes in doff style, and the decal is not stickers! There are some stickers, but Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 106 10

Öhlins RXF 34 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: Öhlins RXF 34 Fork”

C138_fork_1
Review by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen "Wait, is that an Öhlins fork?!" The sight of some "Swedish gold" bolted to the front of our test bike often makes savvy riders do a double take when we're out on the trail, and for good reason - Öhlins has an excellent reputation thanks in part to dozens of World Championship titles in the motorsports world since the company was founded in 1979. With performance suspension components made to fit just about any two or four-wheeled racing vehicle, it was high time for the brand to make an entrance into the mountain bike world just a few short years ago. As you might Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6103 1033 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1189 2160 134 40

SR Suntour RUX R2C2 Suspension Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: SR Suntour RUX R2C2”

C138_sf16_rux_r2c2_27_5_img_0209_2
We had a shaky start with the original SR Suntour RUX R2C downhill fork we tested back in 2014. After some refinements provided by the brand, however, the result was an outstanding review. SR Suntour is back at it in 2017 with their new 27.5” RUX R2C2. With a redesigned air spring, a new cartridge featuring both externally adjustable high- and low-speed compression and rebound, as well a few new other revisions, SR Suntour is aiming to take on the top dogs in the suspension world in a modestly priced, high performing package. We’ve been rocking the new RUX for the past few months to see if that aim hits the target. SR Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 129 5 255 152 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 31 219 59 47 1

Five Ten Impact VXi Clipless Shoe

“Good shoe, bad quality”

C138_five_ten_impact_vxi_clipless_team_black

The Good:

Good fit, sticky rubber, big adjustable range for the cleat

The Bad:

very bad wear

Overall Review: I got the 5.10 Impact VXi Clipless shoe last February and have been riding in them for about a year now. The shoe is great for DH riding, the rubber is as sticky as you would expect (given that this is what 5.10 is famous for), the sole is stiff but has enough damping to deal with some seriously big hits. I used it for lots of trail riding as well and didn't have any major complaints. It's not very light and your feet can get pretty hot, but as I ride a lot of DH worthy tracks on my trailbike I was willing to live with that, it wasn't too bad anyways. All in all the shoes were pretty good, but not mindblowing. No Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 59 92 8

Specialized Ambush Open Face Helmet

“Modern MTB Helmet”

C138_cyan

The Good:

light, comfortable, adjustable, cool

The Bad:

a bit expensive

Overall Review: The helmet is very comfortable, nearly as comfortable as the TLD A1 I previously owned, which is an absolute benchmark to me. It's a lot lighter, though and also better ventilated. All the adjustments are very easy to use and it took me 1-2min to set it up. I like the adjustable visor, I think with the visor down the helmet looks pretty stupid (my personal opinion), but it comes in pretty handy on those sunset rides, it really helps to block the sun from blinding you. I think it's a bit expensive, but honestly, all the top notch helmets I can think of are in the same price range, so it's not too bad.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 59 92 8

2015 Giant Trance SX 27.5

“Hardcore Trailbike”

C138_2015_giant_trance_sx_27.5

The Good:

good value for money, downhill performance, componentry

The Bad:

not much, seat angle is a bit slack, could pedal better, seat post sucks

Overall Review: I previously owned a Banshee Spitfire V1 and when the time came to replace it, I was looking for a similar bike, with a bit more rear suspension. I was pretty set on the new Spitfire, until I saw the Trance SX at the local shop. The components are exactly what I was looking for, 1x11 drivetrain, aggressive suspension, and a balanced geometry. I didn't want a hardcore Enduro bike like the Reign, because I do a lot of DH riding and wanted more of a difference between the bikes and I also have tons of trails around here, but they are very steep and full of roots and rocks, so I prefer a bike that gives some feedback and that Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 59 92 8