Latest Product Reviews

RSS

WTB Rocket V SLT Saddle

“Good Shape, Hard Foam”

C138_sa278a12_black

The Good:

Shape is very neutral
Durable cover
Strong rails

The Bad:

Stiff foam
Longer break-in period

Overall Review: After multiple years of riding a WTB Laser V saddle, it was finally time to accept that a replacement was needed. Unfortunately, WTB ceased to manufacture this model of saddle. In pursuit of a replacement, the WTB Rocket saddle was purchased and mounted up. The Rocket was recommended as a replacement as the shape was similar. However, the foam was changed and the overall saddle ended up being much stiffer than the Laser V it replaced. After multiple rides, the saddle hadn't become the comfortable replacement that I was looking for. Rather, it retained it's stiffness and caused numbness in the lower extremities on Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 2

WTB Trail Boss Tire

“Predictable and Well-Rounded Tires”

C138_wtb_trail_boss

The Good:

Rounded profile
Predictable grip
Excellent cornering

The Bad:

Easy to slice the tire in the thinner compound
Difficult to mount and remount on certain rims

Overall Review: Up until recently, tire design has been focused on providing substantial side knobs for plenty of grip. However, these kinds of configurations require quick transitions to lean angles and often break away without much communication. In pursuit of a tire with a more predictable transition and break away, I mounted up a set of Trail Bosses to my bike to see how they would do. Setup and Ride Conditions Initially I ran a 27.5 X 2.4 front and rear in the TCS Light / Fast Rolling sidewall and tread compound. However, multiple sidewall cuts in the rear tire meant switching to the tougher TCS Tough sidewall. While nearly doubling the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 2

Rock 'n Roll Extreme Lube

“Use it in the wet, not the dry”

C138_cm400b24

The Good:

Perfect for wet conditions

The Bad:

Bad for dry conditions

Overall Review: As Rock n' Roll state, this lube is meant for wet conditions. I have used it in both wet and dry. In the wet this product is great, however in the dry, your chain will collect all the dust and dirt it can find. You'll find yourself having to re-clean your chain a lot more often. Can't go wrong with the price either. I have found this for $10 in LBS near me.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“AMAZING for every season but winter”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Easy to apply, cleans your chain and lubes it, last a while, cheap.

The Bad:

Not great for wet conditions.

Overall Review: I absolutely LOVE this product for the dryer months/days. It helps keep dust and dirt off the chain when it is dry. It is super easy to apply to your chain and last a long time. I have found it for $10 at multiple bike shops around me. It does struggle in winter and wet rides, but that is when i use the extreme rock n' roll lube (blue). Can't go wrong with this product and it isn't a burden to your money pocket.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

Truvativ Holzfeller Stem

“Does the job ”

C138_st259a04_black

The Good:

Good geometry, great pricing, looks okay, easy to maintain.

The Bad:

Needs more colour variations.

Overall Review: I have had this stem on my bike for 9 months now. It feels strong and is easy to set up. The aesthetics of it could be improved on in regards to the logos and minimal colour options. The pricing of the stem is awesome. The shape and design of the stem look good, strong but not bulky. The three length options allow you to get the fit you want for your am/downhill bike. Overall I am very happy with this product.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

Fox Racing Flux

“A decent helmet ”

C138_l28395

The Good:

Protects your head, good ventilation, comfortable, easy to adjust, not bad on the eye, works with glasses.

The Bad:

Chin adjustment strap is too long, rubber band that holds the strap together easily breaks, minimal spots for stickers, no action camera mount.

Overall Review: I have been riding with this helmet for 2 and a half years now. This helmet is one of the most comfortable helmets to wear and is quite well ventilated. The addition of spare sweat pads adds a bonus to purchasing this helmet. I have had one main issue with this helmet, which is the chin strap. The chin strap is too long and has too much excess even when you tie it down with the rubber band. The rubber band is very useful it joining two straps together, however it is quite fragile and breaks easily. Another issue is the lack of places to stick a sticker to the helmet. There are a lot of ventilation holes, which is Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

G-Form Knee Pad

“Good but not great”

C138_g_form_knee_pads_black

The Good:

Does what is says- protects on impact, covers sides of knee, soft and lightweight, easy to put on.

The Bad:

Scrunches up and moves out of place when riding, can be tight around calves, logo scrapes off over use.

Overall Review: I have been using these knee pads for 3 years now. Overall i am satisfied with them for the style of riding. They would not be great for downhill riding, however, they are perfect for xc and am/enduro riding. They are very lightweight and easy to slide on. I have two pet peeves with these pads. One is that they scrunch up around the back of the knee. I have been told you can cut out an oval shape to stop them from scrunching up... but what is the point in removing something that you payed for. The other pet peeve is that the protective rubber spot moves around up and down/side to side over time when riding. You'll Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

Troy Lee Designs Skyline Short

“Too good to go wrong”

C138_sp267b07_black

The Good:

Very comfortable, adjustable, great sizing, ergonomic for cycling and storing items in the pockets, easy to clean

The Bad:

Minimal storage

Overall Review: I have been wearing these shorts for over 3 years. These shorts are perfect for any type of cycling. They are far more comfortable for riding in than any other style of shorts i have tried. The pockets on each side of the thighs are great for holding your items such as a phone, coins, headphones and even a muesli bar. The zip pocket on the rear is also very useful for storing items such as tyre lever or spare derailleur hanger. The adjustable waste allows for perfect sizing and comfort around the hips and is useful if you wear padded undershorts underneath. The fabric of the short allows for you to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“They do the job”

C138_13tld_xc_glove_blk

The Good:

Good air flow, light weight, large variety of colours and sizes, touch screen compatible, leather edging near wrist.

The Bad:

Velcro strap stops working, too thin for long rides, TLD logo peels off .

Overall Review: I have been riding with these gloves for 9 months now and have overall been satisfied with how they have protected my hands. They have covered a large variety of impacts, from the big step down crashes to the embarrassing "i couldn't un-clip from my pedals" falls. I'll start with the negative and end with the good. THE NEGATIVE Velcro strap: The velcro strap which keeps the glove tight around your wrist is the main negative and let down in this product. After about 10 rides the velcro strap looses it's strength and manges to comes loose constantly when riding. It is a fairly bignuisancewhen you have to re-strap it Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 7

2016 Specialized Rhyme FSR Comp 650b

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Specialized Rhyme FSR Comp 650b”

C138_rhyme_fsr_comp_650b_satin_cool_grey
Reviewed by Courtney Steen and Amanda Richter // Photos by Lear Miller At the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, we ladies got the chance to sample a few of the latest trail/all-mountain bikes to see how they perform for women. With a smorgasbord of bikes ranging from 120 to 160mm travel, women-specific to unisex, and a price range from about $3,000 to over $9,000, how is one to choose?! This year we tested three bikes in the 150 to 160mm travel range that may be options to consider. We put them (and ourselves) to the test on South Mountain's trails in Phoenix, Arizona - a moonscape of rowdy rock sections, decomposed Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1020 2001 111 40