Latest Product Reviews

RSS

100% Speedcraft LL Glasses

“VERY GOOD FOR MY TRAILS!!!”

C138_speedcraft_ll

The Good:

BIG LENSES, GOOD VENTILATION,NICE DESIGN

The Bad:

LACK OF ADJUSTMENT

Overall Review: I really enjoyed that sunglass !!! For me it it is one of the nicest shades of 2015! Wonderful and fits well people that like big lens and have big head, like me.To be perfect ,nose pad and the rods must have adjustment, like uvex 107 vario and other brands... https://flic.kr/p/GHGe5s
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member BOLAN2002
40699 BOLAN2002 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/40699/avatar/c50_20160421_103846_1462119181.jpg?1462118199 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/BOLAN2002,40699/all 05/01/16 1

2016 Devinci Troy Carbon RR

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Devinci Troy Carbon RR”

C138_2016_devinci_troy_carbon_rr_bike
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Lear Miller Devinci went back to the drawing board with an all-new 2016 Troy frame design inspired by the look and feel of the longer travel Spartan. The bike previously had a very slender appearance and held a lot of promise, but a few details needed work for aggressive riders. It comes back for the new year ready to charge the rowdiest bits of trail with a beefed up carbon frame, 10mm more travel up front, and build kits much more in line the rider you'd expect to own a Troy. Sporting 140mm of rear wheel travel and 150mm in the front, the bike bridges the gap Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1152 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 248 1082 2052 122 40

Park Tool BBT-22 Bottom Bracket Tool

Featured Review

“Takes two to Tango”

C138_17704

The Good:

Quality Materials
Multiple ways to attach and use

The Bad:

Teeth can wear during extreme use

Overall Review: I purchased the Park Tool BBT-22 more than 5 years ago and have been quite pleased with it's performance and functionality. Functionality: The BBT-22 has multiple ways to attach and torque. At the end of the tool, there is a 3/8" Ratchet attachment which works very well for tightening and torquing. Incase you find yourself without access to a ratchet, you can also use a wrench to attach to the 32mm or 1" faces of the tool as well. With all these interfaces, you'll be hard-press not to have a tool to use with the BBT-22. Extreme Use = Excessive Wear: The BBT-22 works well with properly torques and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Park Tool CT-3 Chain Tool

Featured Review

“A must-have for the home mechanic”

C138_ct3

The Good:

Easy to use
High quality materials
Has the potential to last forever

The Bad:

Push pin can bend or break if not careful

Overall Review: I purchased my Park Tool CT-3 over 10 years ago and I do have to say, it has been fantastic! Below are my impressions: Future Proof: The best thing about it is that it has been able to keep up with the times, as if it's 100% future proof. When I picked it up, I was running a 9 speed chain, since then I have moved up to 10 and more recently to 11 speed. The best part about these changes, besides the obvious increase in gears, is that the CT-3 works for each chain type. Although Park Tool states that this tool is only compatible with 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 speed chains, I have been able to use it just fine Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Royal 2016 Stage2 Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Impact Short and Stage Jersey”

C138_stage_jersey_b_lg_f
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Daniel Roos, Tal Rozow, and Johan Hjord If you want to claim that something is enduro-specific, you better have thick skin – you’ll no doubt be inundated with feedback to the tune of “it’s all just mountain biking stop giving it other names to sell us stuff.” Well, if enduro racing is just mountain biking, then enduro-specific gear should be pretty interesting to mountain bikers in general, right? Lightweight, breathable, with a functional cut and plenty of features sounds pretty good to us, so when given a chance to test Royal Racing’s new Impact short and Stage jersey, we jumped on it. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 54 714 1726 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3221 77 23

Royal 2016 Impact Short Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Impact Short and Stage Jersey”

C138_impact_short_nvy_b_f_nb
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Daniel Roos, Tal Rozow, and Johan Hjord If you want to claim that something is enduro-specific, you better have thick skin – you’ll no doubt be inundated with feedback to the tune of “it’s all just mountain biking stop giving it other names to sell us stuff.” Well, if enduro racing is just mountain biking, then enduro-specific gear should be pretty interesting to mountain bikers in general, right? Lightweight, breathable, with a functional cut and plenty of features sounds pretty good to us, so when given a chance to test Royal Racing’s new Impact short and Stage jersey, we jumped Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 54 714 1726 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3221 77 23

FOX 2016 Float 36 FIT RC2 Suspension Fork

Featured Review

“The Best 36 to Date”

C138_fox_2016_float_36_fit_rc2_fork

The Good:

Weight (just over 2000 grams) / Adjustability (External mixed with volume spacers) / Travel Adjustable

The Bad:

Could have high/low-speed rebound / No 15 x 110 axle kit

Overall Review: After bouncing from Fox to Rock Shox, back to Fox, followed by Rock Shox, I’ve found myself happily settling with the 2016 Fox 36 Float FIT RC2. Don’t get me wrong, Rock Shox make outstanding forks that are perfect for different types of riding styles (Ultra light AM fork = Pike and Heavier hitter Enduro fork = Lyrik), but there are certain things that Fox has done with their 2016 Fox 36 Float that has won me over. Here are my impressions: Out Of The Box: The first thing I noticed when I got my 27.5” 2016 Fox 36 was how gorgeous it was. When the sun hit the Kashima coated stanchions I felt like a millionaire. The next Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Race Face Turbine dropper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Turbine Dropper Post”

C138_2015_turbine_dropper_post_2
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Dropper posts have gone from novelty to near-ubiquitous accessory in just a few short years, and with good reason. Few bike upgrades bring about such a dramatic increase in the amount of fun you can have on a given piece of trail as this seemingly simple part. Being able to drop your seat out of the way with the push of a button has become as indispensable as shifting gears or using the brakes for many riders. The only cloud on the horizon has been reliability as many of the earlier models were plagued with problems ranging from excessive play to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 54 714 1726 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3221 77 23

Biknd Jetpack Bike Travel Bag

Featured Review

“Sturdy protection”

C138_jetpack1

The Good:

solid construction / air bags / solid mounting / accessories

The Bad:

heavier than claimed

Overall Review: After seeing an online ad for the new Bikind Jet pack I decided to bet on this Canadian company to protect my new carbon frame on a bike trip to South America. My 10 yr old plastic bike box had been opened by the TSA on a previous trip and not closed properly - so that when I collected it at the airport the handlebars were hanging out. I figured it was time to upgrade to a bag that would be easy for the inspectors to open / close and one that would provide the best protection possible. It took me a while to pack the bike the first time. Once I worked out a few basic tricks I was much faster when relocating in the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mutton
4236 mutton http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4236/avatar/c50_90426110_1283099785.jpg?1290162150 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mutton,4236/all 08/29/10 7 4 8 1

2016 Juliana Roubion C S

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Juliana Roubion C S”

C138_juliana_roubion_c_s
Reviewed by Amanda Wentz and Courtney Steen // Photos by Lear Miller At the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, we ladies got the chance to sample a few of the latest trail/all-mountain bikes to see how they perform for women. With a smorgasbord of bikes ranging from 120 to 160mm travel, women-specific to unisex, and a price range from about $3,000 to over $9,000, how is one to choose?! This year we tested three bikes in the 150 to 160mm travel range that may be options to consider. We put them (and ourselves) to the test on South Mountain's trails in Phoenix, Arizona - a moonscape of rowdy rock sections, decomposed granite, and Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1152 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 248 1082 2052 122 40