Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2017 Trek Remedy 8 Bike

“Awesome Aluminum Trail Slayer”

C138_2017_trek_remedy_8

The Good:

Excellent Suspension and solid parts spec

The Bad:

Handlebars fit funny and resin brake pads. Creeky. Dropper Remote sucks

Overall Review: What is The Remedy 8 I live in Southern Utah and ride a variety of terrain. From buff BMX style hard pack, to the slick rock ledges and drops of Gooseberry and the other Mesas. I'm not a racer now days but I need a bike that I could saddle up and ride in a 24 hour relay or pony up to ride an enduro. I also need a bike that won't break the bank (is there such a thing anymore), so aluminum is usually my choice. I was looking for an updated long travel trail bike to replace my 2015 Cannondale Jekyll. The Remedy 8 ticked all of my required boxes. 150 mm of travel, Sram GX 1x11 drivetrain, Pike RC fork, Boost spacing, and a KS Lev Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jared Wilkinson
33687 Jared Wilkinson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/33687/avatar/c50_IMG_4532_1476989314.jpg?1476988457 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jared-Wilkinson,33687/all 01/01/15 1 2

OneUp Components Bash Guide

“OneUp Bash Guide: Long term review”

C138_oneup_components_iscg_05_bash_guide_32t_green_black

The Good:

Price, simple to set up, light, strong, comes with two different coloured top guides and three different sized bash guards to fit a variety of front ring sizes.

The Bad:

Green top guide doesn't match with every frame

Overall Review: This review comes after a full year of using the OneUp Components Bash Guide for trail riding, enduro racing, bike park laps, and shuttle runs. I have around 115 days of riding on this little piece of aluminum and plastic, and have to say that the results have been beyond expectations. Set up: The Bash Guide comes with two different top guides, a black one and a bright OneUp green one. Not having any green on my bike, I immediately put the green one back in the box, saving it in case anything ever happens to the black one. It also comes with three differently sized bash guards. I chose the guard for my Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

FOX 2018 Float 36 Factory Fork

Vital Review

“First Ride: 2018 FOX Float 36 RC2 Fork”

C138_fox_my18_fs_36_black_d3
When we first tested the 2016 FOX Float 36 RC2, we found it to be right at the top of the big-hitting, single-crown fork class. Confidence-inspiring and sure-footed, it may have fallen just short of the best small-bump compliance available at the time, which it more than made up for with awesome levels of control when things got rowdier. Fast-forward to spring 2017, and we’ve just taken delivery of an early sample of the 2018 version. With changes to the airspring and improved seals, we were eager to see if FOX has managed to further improve on this already excellent piece of equipment. Read on to find out. 2018 FOX Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 767 84 832 1713 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 350 3975 99 28

Nukeproof Horizon CS Clipless Pedal

Vital Review

“First Ride: Nukeproof Horizon CS Clipless Pedal”

C138_blue
In the last few years we've seen a huge leap forward in the bike industry in terms of suspension design, geometry and drivetrain components. One part that sometimes feels like it's still trailing a bit behind is the clipless pedal. Yes, this mundane part that connects your feet to the bike. Let's be real, you won't think twice before throwing 200 or more bucks on that shiny new carbon handlebar that matches your bike’s color scheme so perfectly. But let's say 150 bucks for a light yet strong piece of equipment with a very precise spring mechanism that should take all manner of abuse and shut up about it will Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member yonatan.yatom
19029 yonatan.yatom http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19029/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1575019897.jpg?1350486252 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/yonatan-yatom,19029/all 10/17/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/yonatan-yatom,19029/setup 1 1 1

2017 Transition Scout Carbon #3

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Transition Scout Carbon from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_transition_scout_carbon_3
Subscribing to long, low, and slack frame geometry, Bellingham-based Transition Bicycles designed the Scout to be a ripping 27.5-inch mid-travel trail bike. New for 2017, the frame is available in carbon. Built to ride down the mountain like a slopestyle bike with a little cushion, the lightweight package is also ready to pedal big miles getting up the next. Tucson, Arizona's wild mix of trails served as an excellent place for our female shredders to try it out during the 2017 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Highlights Carbon frame 27.5-inch wheels 125mm (4.9-inches) of rear wheel travel // 140mm (5.5-inches) fork travel Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 997 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1227 2236 155 41

9point8 Fall Line Dropper Post

“f'ed deeply”

C138_9point8_fall_line_dropper_post

The Good:

nothing, it looks good on paper but doesn't actually live up to the hype.

The Bad:

constant malfunctions, unable to reach anyone at 9point8 about repairing it. worst customer service ever

Overall Review: I really want to love this post, it checks all my boxes. 200mm of drop, mechanical cable actuation, microadjust saddle angle, and the ability to remove the saddle without losing the angle setting. Unfortunately my post has been plagued by problems from the start. After the first ride it had leaked down to nothing in the air spring. A couple rides later the brake started slipping and a "brake reset" did not remedy the issue. I was forced to disassemble the post to clean contamination off the brake and out of the air chamber. A few rides later the brake started slipping again, no way in hell the contamination Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member casey.coull.56
25936 casey.coull.56 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25936/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000353426506_1372255816.jpg?1372255574 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/casey-coull-56,25936/all 06/26/13 2

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork with Charger 2 Damper

Vital Review

“First Look, First Ride: All-New 2018 RockShox Pike Fork and Charger 2 Damper”

C138_2018_rockshox_pike_rct3_fork
"How easy is it to take the RockShox Pike for granted now? We would’ve killed for this fork eight years ago and now it goes by with a simple sentence or two of gratitude. Thanks Pike, you changed the game and we’re better for it." - Mint Henk, Vital MTB Test Sessions Rider Originally launched in 2013, the RockShox Pike instantly set the benchmark for single-crown fork suspension performance and elevated the capability of every bike it was mounted to. At the time, 26-inch wheeled bikes were still king. Since then we've witnessed a massive shift in trail bikes with even budget builds and short-travel rippers bringing an insane Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 997 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1227 2236 155 41

Troy Lee Designs Raid Knee Guard

“As close the the ONLY knee pads you'll need for all types of riding”

C138_raid_knee_guard_black_1

The Good:

Best knee pad I've ever owned and I've been racing DH and riding heavy trail in them for almost a year.

The Bad:

Nothing so far

Overall Review: I suffer from tremendous knee pain if a pad puts even the slightest pressure on my knee cap. These do not touch them. Other pads made not to touch are too stiff in an odd way and flop/stick out to accomplish this. The D3O padding is thick enough that I've been racing in them and doing tons of DH laps without issue. I also take them on rowdy trail rides where I know I'm going to get into the big stuff. Not one issue. The calf support is smart. They breathe in the swampy Southeast well enough to justify. All pads are hot, but these are bearable. It is very hard to say anything negative about them.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bizutch
175 bizutch http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/175/avatar/c50_Bailey_Mountain_Bike_Park_52_1449500778.jpg?1449500216 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bizutch,175/all 08/01/09 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bizutch,175/setup 1 32 422 2

2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon Pro XT/XTR

Featured Member Review

“Firebird XT/XTR”

C138_2017_pivot_firebird_carbon_blue_red_with_pro_xt_xtr_1x

The Good:

Pain free climbs.
Great cockpit length and geo.
Outstanding grip.
Descents are next level.
Specs are well thought out and perform together seamlessly.

The Bad:

Stones collect in lower linkage and scratch frame - need mastic tape or cover.
Fox 36 Float Fit4 is overshadowed by the amazing Float X2. It was hard to set up to match the feel of the rear shock.

Overall Review: I own a Firebird XT/XTR version. I came from a 2013 Corratec Opiate FX (think 67deg HA, 26" "all-rounder" AM bike). Climbing - At 6'2" I was right between sizing for an XL and L. I opted to go for an XL and put on a 33mm stem. The long front (65 deg HA and long reach) on the bike helps keep weight down on the front wheel so I'm clearing steep sections with ease that the old bike was popping the front wheel up and wandering around on. The grip from the rear is amazing and despite these climbs, I've yet to lose traction (due to not having to awkwardly weight the front wheel I'm guessing). This bike has let me ride Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ButtersNZ
43916 ButtersNZ http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43916/avatar/c50_IMG_20170114_090407_1489025331.jpg?1489025037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ButtersNZ,43916/all 03/08/17 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ButtersNZ,43916/setup 2 1

2017 Trek Remedy 9.9 Race Shop Limited

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Trek Remedy 27.5 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_1191600_2017_a_1_remedy_99_275_race_shop_limited
In mid-2016, Trek surprised many by killing off the widely-loved Slash 27.5 all-mountain/enduro bike. To fill the newly created void for a long-travel, ready-for-anything 27.5 rig, the all-new Remedy stepped up with a touch more travel at 150mm, completely revised geometry, and a host of fresh features claimed to improve the ride. Part Remedy, part Slash, it's aggressive enough that many of Trek's testers lovingly referred to the new bike as the "Rash" prior to its launch. We were eager to get this potential heavy-hitter back in some wild terrain following our limited time on the bike when it was first Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 997 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1227 2236 155 41