Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar

“Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar”

C138_2014_hbr35_sixc_rs_35

The Good:

Looks to kill, Great attention to detail, Super light weight, Multiple color options, Overall great bar.

The Bad:

Wish multiple color options were included in all rise sizes (10mm and 35mm)

Overall Review: When I was building my dream Gambler, I was only looking for the best components to put on it. From suspension to seatpost, everything was hand-picked. This being the case, when I started looking at handlebars, I knew I wanted to go with a 35mm diameter bar so I would be getting the greatest amount of stiffness and support. I also didn’t want anything less than 800mm width. Lastly, I wanted the bar to look good on the bike. With all these things tying in together, I set my mind on the Raceface SixC carbon handlebar. After months of riding on this bar, here are my impressions: Out of The Box: The first Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 1 1 16 10

2017 Specialized Enduro Comp 650b

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Specialized Enduro 650b from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_specialized_enduro_comp_650b_bike_satin_black_charcoal
Hailing from a long legacy of trail and enduro performance, the 2017 Specialized Enduro brings some updates to a classic design. Available in both 650b (27.5) and 29/6Fattie (27.5+) versions, the new frame is longer, lower, comes in more sizes, and sports a little more travel. With 170mm of suspension and not-quite-plus 2.6-inch tires, the new Enduro is on the leading edge of new trends in an ever-changing category. We thrashed the Enduro Comp 650b down the loose and rocky trails of Tucson, Arizona during Vital MTB Test Sessions to see if this price point model can take a serious beating. Highlights M5 aluminum Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 146 41

2017 Intense Recluse Elite

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Intense Recluse from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_recluse_elite_trq_side2
Recluse: [noun] A solitary person who avoids the company of others. Brown Recluse: [noun] One of two poisonous spiders in North America. The bite of the brown recluse causes necrosis (death) of the tissue. Intense Recluse: [noun] A brand new carbon fiber all-mountain bicycle from a reputable American company. Was the new robin egg blue head turner from California going to be more like the hermit in the woods or the small nightmarish spider that causes your skin to turn black and die? Perhaps it would be neither, instead providing a ride so good that it would "keep you alone, out in front of the pack." We smuggled the bike Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 146 41

Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon Frame

Featured Member Review

“Santa Cruz Nomad 3”

C138_frame_2015_nomad_carbon_blue

The Good:

Simple and incredibly functional, Pedals extremely well for an enduro bike, Descends even better, Easy to maintain

The Bad:

Made in China (But is that all that bad now days?)

Overall Review: When I first got into mountain biking in the early 2000s there was always one bike company I had a hyper crush on, it was Santa Cruz. Starting with the Super 8 all the way through to the current lineup, there was always something about Santa Cruz bikes that caught my eye. About 2 years ago I stumbled across a killer deal on the Nomad 3 frame that I couldn’t pass up. After riding it for about a year and a half, it is the only bike I wish I would have never let go. With that said, here are my impressions: Out of the box: Pulling the frame out of the box, the first thing I noticed was how light it was. Now days every Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 1 1 16 10

Five Ten Freerider Pro Flat Pedal Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe”

C138_five_ten_freerider_pro_shoe_light_granite
Five Ten has produced quite a few excellent shoes over the past couple of years, but there were times when we thought that the perfect shoe would have been a combination of several models, taking the best aspects of each and combining them into genetically modified, super mutant footwear. We don’t know if they can read minds over at Five Ten, but Brown Santa showed up just before Christmas with something all new and very shiny – the Freerider Pro. Was it the real life manifestation of our dream shoe? Read on to find out. Five Ten Freerider Pro Highlights Synthetic, Light-Weight, Weather-Resistant Upper Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 80 832 1725 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 346 3916 97 28

2017 Commencal Meta AM V4.2 Race Eagle 650B

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Commencal Meta AM V4.2 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_commencal_meta_am_v4.2_race_eagle_650bbike
"[The wilderness] had caressed him, and-lo!-he had withered; it had taken him, loved him, embraced him, got into his veins, consumed his flesh and sealed his soul to his own by the inconceivable ceremonies of some devilish initiation." - Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness The boys from the mountain country of Andorra have created something dark indeed. The Commencal Meta AM V4.2 looks like the graphic stylings of Dead Kennedys and Metallica's hate child, but would it ride like one? We set out to see during this year's Vital MTB Test Sessions. The long, low, slack beast checks all the boxes of a modern enduro Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 146 41

KS LEV Ci Adjustable Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: KS Lev Ci Dropper Post”

C138_ks_lev_ci_adjustable_seatpost
When KS dropped the original Lev back in 2012, we were impressed enough to call it “best in class” at the time. The dropper post market has certainly heated up since those days, and with at least 15-20 viable options now available to riders, KS can’t afford to stand still if it wants to keep up. To that end, the original Lev has seen ongoing refinement, but it was the recent appearance of a carbon version that really caught our attention. Initially released in a super-short, 65mm version for the XC crowd, KS has now followed suit with a full-length version made of the fantastic plastic. We’ve been putting it to the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 80 832 1725 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 346 3916 97 28

2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon Pro XT/XTR

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_pivot_firebird_carbon_blue_red_with_pro_xt_xtr_1x
With a complete overhaul for 2017, the Pivot Firebird gets some key geometry updates inspired by its downhill counter part, the Phoenix, complete with a brand new dw-link suspension layout. Featuring 170mm of front and rear wheel travel, the Firebird comes prepared to handle the gnarliest trails. We were stoked to get this bad boy out on some of Tucson, Arizona’s rocky, loose trails during Vital MTB Test Sessions to find out if these changes result in big gains. Highlights Carbon frame 27.5-inch wheels 170mm (6.7-inches) of rear wheel travel // 170mm (6.7-inches) fork travel dw-link suspension design Internal Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 146 41

Atomlab Pimplite Stem

“Good, until it stripped”

C138_29854

The Good:

Nice reach, perfect for 25.4mm bars (duh) perfect positioning overall.

The Bad:

One of the face-plate bolts stripped out, due to user error. My fault that it happened.

Overall Review: Would recommend, just be careful when tightening down.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member DanTheBikerMan
41873 DanTheBikerMan http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/41873/avatar/c50_IMG_0483_1489355832.jpg?1489355271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/DanTheBikerMan,41873/all 08/01/16 1 3 2 1

2016 YT Jeffsy CF Comp 1 29

Vital Review

“Review - YT Jeffsy CF 29 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_27
YThas made quite the leap into the suspension bike arena in the last few years. They've had notable freeriders and slopestyle riders before, but now with UCI World Cup Downhill Champion Aaron Gwin and some enduro racers on their side they have really moved into the big leagues with the bikes they have to offer. The Jeffsy 29 is one of their newest offerings, sporting 29-inch wheels and an ultra progressive suspension system they have come to be known for. As their first trail bike, it's designed to be an "everyday" ride. We put it to the test during the 2017 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Highlights Carbon frame 29-inch wheels Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 146 41