Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Five Ten Kestrel Lace Clipless Shoe

“Weird clearance between the cleat and sole”

C138_five_ten_kestrel_lace_shoe_black_red

The Good:

Good price, comfortable, well ventilated, grippy sole when you miss your cleat

The Bad:

no toe protection

Overall Review: Fit: I have wide foot and a narrow heal but these fit really well at my true to size. Often I have to size up half to get a wide enough fit. Construction: I've been riding these shoes for 1.5 seasons and they're still in quality shape. Function: Laces stay put under the velcro strap and the strap itself is nice for getting some extra closure. The legendary 5.10 sole is awesome for when you miss your cleat. They grip well giving you confidence that you won't blow a pedal until you find cleat. The cleat however doesn't sit as deep into the sole as I was used to. My feet feel like they're floating over the pedal (HT Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

Easton Heist 27.5" Wheelset Complete Wheel

“Good wheelset at a stellar price”

C138_heist_product_shot

The Good:

Tubeless out of the box, wide rims, reliable hub, good rim

The Bad:

Spoke tension

Overall Review: I've had these in the 27 and 30 width and overall they're a good wheelset, especially for the price you can find them online now. The hub engagement is somewhat slow but who care's unless you're on the cusp of winning races. The rims are pretty strong. I've dented all of my rear rims but they're easy to bend back and surprising hold air well even with dents. It's worth noting that these wheels come taped with tubeless values so set up is super easy. The biggest issue i've had is with spoke tension. I check them often then all of the sudden lose a spoke, the good news though is that they come with a bag of spokes. Overall a worthy buy.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

Chromag Squarewave Grip

“Great for dry conditions”

C138_chromag_squarewave_black

The Good:

comfortable, good for smaller hands, wear slow

The Bad:

Don't clear mud very well

Overall Review: I've had been using these on BZA for a full season before trying something else. Quick description of my hand anatomy: I have big palms and short fingers. My hands fit them very well and are comfortable on long days with and without gloves. One of the highlights is that they don't stretch the palms of my gloves. My hands are oddly shaped but my mitts still wrap around these well. I used them for a pretty full season and they looked fairly good at the end of the year too. My only knock is that they don't clear mud well. They gets slick once saturated.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

Cane Creek DBair CS Rear Shock

“Awesome when you get it set up then... well its a roll of the dice”

C138_dbair_cs_hori_white_sml

The Good:

Wide adjustment range, fairly light, awesome low speed sensitivity and great ramp for larger hits.

The Bad:

CS isn't great, air can reliability is an issue, service is expensive and limited.

Overall Review: I've had two of these shocks. Both were on my Banshee Rune. Once it's set up its awesome but it doesn't stay awesome for long. After 4 - 6 months of use I experienced air can issues in both shocks. I've lost air completely or would lose around 20 - 30 pounds per ride. Service was expensive with long turn around times. When working however this shock is awesome. Understand though that there is a lot of set up. I recommend talking to your frame manufacturer and ask them about base settings otherwise you could be lost. Generally I think there are too many clicks, does anyone really use the extremes on any of the dials? Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

Bell Super Helmet

“Still can find them on the cheap ”

C138_bell_super_helmet_bluegreen_moto

The Good:

fits a variety of head sizes, light, well ventilated, holds goggles in place

The Bad:

the retention knob can hit your backpack or back on super steep trails and loosen up.

Overall Review: Overall this is a great helmet and I'm surprised that Bell discontinued it with the release of the Super DH. The new half shell they they're replacing it with doesn't look nearly as good in my opinion either. I'd recommend trying to find these on close out and buy a few. They come in MIPS if thats your jam too. The way goggles fit under the visor is one of the best features in my opinion. It works really well. Goggles stay in place, they don't get foggy and the helmet stays ventilated when they're up off your eyes. The only issue I've had (and only on the earliest version) is the retention knob can come undone when on super steep trails by hitting your lower neck or backpack (who wheres one of those anymore though).
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

100% Speedcraft LL Glasses

“My roadie glasses before Sagan made them cool. ”

C138_speedcraft_ll

The Good:

Super steeze, aero AF, tons of protection, rad lens options, quality design/construction

The Bad:

Wearing these makes all your bros jealous

Overall Review: I've put over 5k miles on these glasses and they feel new pulling them out of the supplied hard case. 1. The mirrored finish is robust 2. the fit really well with giro and poc lids 3. Ventilation is stellar even on hot, humid days full of climbing 4. Tons of protection from bugs and road grime 5. They're the perfect addition to any race ready kit I have only used these twice MTBing they they were solid even though I prefer the extra protection of goggles. I'm sure I'd wear them more if I rode XC more.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

100% Accuri Goggles

“Want all the enduro cred? Buy these and match them to any pro half lid. ”

C138_50210_158_02

The Good:

Inexpensive, well made, ton of lens options, fits Bell Super, Giro Switchblade, D2, D3, Fox Mettah, Kai lids and more.

The Bad:

You'll get stuck riding in back of all the bros on dry days because you're the one with rad goggles and they're not.

Overall Review: I've had 2 pairs of accuri goggles and they've exceed expectations. 1. They fit half and full face lids really well 2. The clarity of the lenses is solid, the field of view great, and lens options fit any conditions. Also super easy to switch them out. 3. Colors/design are on point and varied to fit anyones style 4. Price is super respectable 5. Really well made. I've used goggles from other companies and the strap has stretched and the liner foam has come off. These have been flawless 6. No slip and easy adjustable strap. 7. Great added protection from tress, mud, pebbles.  Photos on my instagram @ryan_daugherty
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

2016 100% Racecraft Goggles

“Value up the wazoo ”

C138_50110_167_02_noseguard

The Good:

I've been using racecraft google with a D3 for years now. They're an awesome price, well constructed and look great to boot. The brilliance comes from the standard lens between models. This keeps availability and price in check. I mainly use the clear lens because it works awesome in nearly all conditions but recently I've been using the yellow mirrored lens which goes a stellar job of keeping the sun at bay while keeping visibility in high contrast and low light areas consistent. I've used the blue mirror lens as well. This one looked stellar but wasn't the best at low light, it did work really well in flat light. The bars on the end of the goggles fit a D3 incredibly well so they don't move around on your. The nose guard is also super 70's moto. A nice touch.

The Bad:

Everyone stops you while riding to ask why your goggles are so dope.

Overall Review: A must buy for full face lids.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 29

9point8 Fall Line Dropper Post

“Amazing Seatposts”

C138_9point8_fall_line_dropper_post

The Good:

Reliable
Home serviceable
Amazing customer service

The Bad:

Can't think of anything!

Overall Review: Amazing seatposts. Great range of sizes (currently have 2 175mm and 1 200mm. Quality product, nice to see a company that really cares about their products. Pretty sure the guys who designed them are nuclear engineers or something like that? Super easy to service at home. No more reverb rebuild bills...

Bell Super DH Helmet

Vital Review

“Two Helmets in One - Bell's New Super DH is Built for Today's Rides”

C138_bell_super_dh_helmet
Just a few years ago we were all wrapped up in full body amor and burly helmets while racing our downhill bikes. Today's enduro-craze has us racing and riding the same trails at the same speeds on smaller bikes with less protection. Seems odd, doesn't it? Enter the convertible helmet – one where you can go from something suitable for trail riding and climbing to full-on downhill gnar with the flip of a few clasps – as a solution to keep us all protected. Riders who can only afford one helmet or those who want to climb without the airflow restrictions of a dedicated full face will be pleased with the new Bell Super DH Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6155 962 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1263 2307 168 41