Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Five Ten Impact Low Flat Pedal Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 Five Ten Impact Low”

C138_black_blue
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord If there is one name in mountain biking that is synonymous with flat pedal shoes, it’s Five Ten. And if there is one model that is synonymous with Five Ten, it’s the Impact. With design roots that hark back to the very first experiments with sticky climbing rubber for mountain biking, the Impact has always been the prime choice for flat pedal riders everywhere. That is not to say that this shoe has been exempt of criticism throughout its lifetime, in fact, far from it. There have been many well-documented quality issues over the years, and anybody who Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 68 812 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 296 3521 82 27

Charge Spoon Saddle

“Spoon!!!--The Tick”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Great price, nice fabric material and comfortable!

The Bad:

Probably too wide for technical, aggressive riding and shape is a bit 'old school'

Overall Review: I bought this to use on my gravel bike since I needed a comfy seat for long rides in the saddle. It was the perfect width and shape for me, felt very comfortable from the moment I sat in it.  The price was great, since saddles at low price points seem to be pretty bulky with less than ideal materials.  I don't think I'd use this saddle on the my trail bike though, since it's a little wide and the nose shape is not conducive to sitting at the nose and climbing like on a saddle with a flat wide nose.  The color touches on the saddle matches my bike perfectly, subtle and classy.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MatadorCE
42144 MatadorCE http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42144/avatar/c50_futurama_roberto.thumbnail_1472049538.jpg?1472048893 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MatadorCE,42144/all 08/24/16 3 1

Charge Spoon Saddle

“The name says it all!”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Super confy saddle, extremely well made and CHEAP!

The Bad:

Not the best option for those who have numbness problems like me

Overall Review: I suffer a lot from numbness in the southern regions and this saddle is so good that i really really felt bad for not sticking with it, since it gave me numbness, has it has no depression for the perineal area and as it is more of a round shaped saddle. However it is a dream of a saddle! Extremely well made, at a price that is total bargain, and the most confortable saddle i have ever tried! The round shape feels like a spoon, like someone was holding your butt with their bare hands. For someone that doesn't have such a weird anatomy as me, buy it and stick with it for the rest of your life!

Bell Full-9 Helmet

“Best full face I own ”

C138_aaron_gwin_signature

The Good:

Lightweight, slimline, durable, protected

The Bad:

On warm days it doesn't seem to provide much ventalation.

Overall Review: I have used this for several seasons and have no issues with this helmet besides it being kinda hot.

Troy Lee Designs A1 Helmet

“Best half face helmet on the market”

C138_2016_drone_white

The Good:

Ventalation, comfort, protection and style

The Bad:

The only drawback for the A1 is the price, but you are paying for a quality product not just the brand.

Overall Review: I had a pretty hard impact wearing my tld A1 and it definitely did its job. Its worth the price to know you will be well protected!

Five Ten Freerider Contact Shoe

Featured Review

“Amazing shoes with a few loose threads”

C138_521201

The Good:

The BEST gripping rubber, Excellent fit, True to size, Colors galore.

The Bad:

Threads on inner part of shoe have frayed completely apart due to crankarm rub

Overall Review: Let me first say, Five Ten makes the best mountain biking shoes on the planet. No one comes close to making rubber as grippy and as durable as they do. With that being said, I retired my Freeriders that I've owned for 4 years and picked up a set of the Freerider Contacts. After 2 months of riding, here is my insight: Out of the Box: The first thing I noticed the slim profile of the Freerider Contacts. They are the size of your everyday shoe which is a good and bad thing. Good thing because I can wear them anywhere and not get strange looks and bad thing because I wear them everywhere which will probably Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Park Tool Rotor Truing Gauge

Featured Review

“Park Tool Rotor Truing Gauge ”

C138_12415

The Good:

Better angles to see bent rotors, Connects to the truing stand, Finely threaded bolt allows micro-adjustments, Locking ring to lock bolt in place.

The Bad:

Still lacks some accuracy, Round head of gauge struggles with some types of rotors (Shimano IceTech)

Overall Review: Disc brakes can be a real beast. There are, what seems to be, endless possibilities for them not to work properly. One of the most common issuethat causebrake problemsisabentrotor.The space between disc pads is about, throwing in a 2mm wide rotor and you don't have that much wiggle room for awobblyrotor. Park Toolunderstands this and have answered by offering a wide range of tools to get those rotors straight. An excellent one actually is in the form one of theirtruingstand accessories, the Rotor Truing Gauge. Out of the Box: This tool is pretty. It mounts to a pre-existing hole on the truing stand and can Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Race Face Sixc Seatpost

Featured Review

“SixC Seatpost: Only Truly Rated DH Carbon Seatpost ”

C138_2013_spt_sixc_blk_wht

The Good:

DH stiffness and durability, Light weight, Damping perks that only carbon offers

The Bad:

Wish graphics came in as many color options as the SixC bars do, Claimed weights a bit off.

Overall Review: I initially picked up the Race Face SixC carbon seatpost because I had previously purchased another carbon seatpost (Bontrager XXX) for my Session 9.9 but didn't have that great of an experience with it. I heard thewas almost as light (30 grams heavier) but offered DH rated stiffness and durability. Because of my previous negative experience and the promise of something better, I had to tryitout. I picked up theSixCseatpost along with the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle.Afterabout 3 months of riding with it, here are my impressions. Out of the box: Pulling the post out of it's packaging, I was presented with, yet again, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Troy Lee Designs A1 Helmet

Featured Review

“A1, just as good as the steak sauce. ”

C138_2016_drone_white

The Good:

16 massive vents, Triple position adjustable retention system, Adjustable visor with anodized aluminum hardware, Washable one-piece liner, Light weight

The Bad:

Adjustable retention system seems a little cheap.

Overall Review: Picked up this helmet about 4 months ago, just in time for summer. After tons of hours with it, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: First thing I noticed after pulling this out of the box was how nice the thing looked. The matte finish with glossy decals turned out to look better in person than it did on-line.It's one of the pieces that seem so nice you'd hate to ever take a spill with it. Second thing was the venting system. 16 massive vents make a window for cool air to come flowing it and then get kicked right out the back, keeping a constantstreamof air flowing across the top of my head. They are Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Park Tool Rotor Truing Fork

Featured Review

“Bent Rotors Suck”

C138_12324

The Good:

Dual sided for different types of bends, fits multiple rotor thickness, Gets rid of stupid pinging noises from rubbing rotors.

The Bad:

Allows for too much leverage at times

Overall Review: If you are a mountain biker you have probably dealt with a bent rotor at some point, it is almost inevitable. Whether its from a crash, setting the bike down on the rotor, or transport, a bent rotor is not only annoying, it can affect your overall riding experience. Some people can deal with a small blip in the rotor that makes that ping ping ping sound when you ride, but I am not that person. While a small blip may not really affect your bike too much or really slow you down, I hate hearing that sound and knowing my rotor is out of true. A bigger bend however can definitely cause issues with slowing your Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 15