Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2018 Orbea Rallon M-Team

Vital Review

“First Ride: 2018 Orbea Rallon - A Wildly Fun Carbon Enduro Machine”

C138_m_team
Orbea recently brought us out to Benasque, Spain, which is a small town nestled within the vast and beautiful Pyrenees Mountains that lay along the border between France and Spain. Why has Orbea brought us to such a unique region? To introduce us to their new 2018 enduro bike, the Rallon. Unlike the previous alloy 27.5-inch 2016 Rallon, the new enduro bike not only makes the jump to bigger 29-inch wheels, but they've also gone full carbon with the 2018 Rallon. With 150mm of rear travel and 160mm up front, Orbea is hoping you get addicted to "Enduralin," or so they say. In their words, "Enduralin is the formula of excitement Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 72 60 1

Race Face Turbine dropper Seatpost

“Fickle unreliable performance”

C138_2015_turbine_dropper_post_2

The Good:

No side to side saddle play, solid finish

The Bad:

Not reliable

Overall Review: I have the 1st Gen Easton Haven version of the seat post. This post has been plagued by reliability issues since I purchased it two years ago.  Sometimes the brake on the seat post slips when it is not fully extended.   Sometimes not.   It's annoyingly inconsistent.  It's a bummer.    I know other riders who are experiencing the same problem.  I would steer clear of this product and look at the Fox or KS if you are in the market for a mechanical seatpost.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 25

Race Face Turbine dropper Seatpost

“Race Face Turbine Dropper: not my favorite”

C138_2015_turbine_dropper_post_2

The Good:

Smooth throughout, with a consistent brake

The Bad:

Loses air and has cable issues

Overall Review: We had these dropper posts on a number of our rental bikes, and as a mechanic, after awhile I noticed a trend that we were doing maintenance on these dropper... like a lot! The turbine dropper is air powered and cable actuated with a good braking mechanism. I really enjoyed the dropper when it was working properly. For whatever reason, this droppers were not consistent in holding the right amount of air pressure and it was annoying to have to check the pressure whenever something was wrong with the turbine dropper. Another issue is the cable for whatever reason would come loose after lots of use and we would have Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 2 10

Enve Composites ENVE M Series 70 Thirty Wheels

“Enve M70 Wheelset”

C138_m70thirty_action

The Good:

This wheel gives confidence wherever you point it, and pops out of the corners.

The Bad:

Cracked on a wimpy trail

Overall Review: I had these wheels on my yeti sb6c and found myself more confident and pushing myself to go faster. If you are looking for a stiff rim that does it exactly what you expect it to, then this is a great choice, however it is an expensive one! I had zero complaints with the enve wheels and found that they were very responsive in chunder, rocks, and especially coming out of corners. They felt like they would rocket out of the corners, more so then other wheels I have ridden, extremely stiff and responsive. My only complaint would be that I cracked one of my rims on a very mild trail, however, I feel it was a factory defect and Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 2 10

Spank Spike Race 33 Wheelset

“Spank Spike Race 33: Strong and Affordable”

C138_cross_section_spikerace33

The Good:

Price is good, holds up well through rough conditions. Holds up tubeless well

The Bad:

Folds easy around the rim bead.

Overall Review: I had these rims laced to my DH race bike and was very pleased with how they held up. If you are looking for an affordable option that is sturdy and strong, this is a good choice. Cornering was good and didn't feel much flex coming from the wheels. Charging down technical aspects of trail it was commanding and true. I didn't find the wheels to get out of true easily and this was good for racing. The rims were set up tubeless and I never once folded the tire over on the rim. Overall I feel like it is a good choice for the money, however there are some other options I would consider if price isnt a concern. I did find Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 2 10

Maxxis Aggressor Tire

“Aggro Aggressor!”

C138_s1600_tyre_image_aggressor_l

The Good:

Good traction in dry and loose SoCal conditions
Good wear
Easy to install tubeless
Tuff sidewalls
Light weight

The Bad:

Only comes in a 2.3
They're not free

Overall Review: I've been running the 27.5 x 2.3 Aggressor TR with EXO casing as my rear tire for about 4 months now. The tire is fitted to a 29mm inner width NOX carbon rim. For my lighter weight (145lbs), I've been running tire pressures from 24.5 to 28.5 psi. The sweet spot for me is around 25.5 to 27.5 depending on the trail conditions. Maxxis bills the Aggressor as an enduro oriented tire. I've been using it for everything from light trail rides to days in the bike park. Like most Maxxis tires, tubeless installation is pretty easy. I was able to get the tire to easily seat and hold air with just a floor pump. I'm using Orange Seal Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 13

Scott Soldier 2 Knee Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: Scott Soldier 2 Knee Guards - Real Deal, Pedal-Able Protection”

C138_scott_soldier_2_knee_guards
What does it take to make the perfect knee pad for trail riding? Scott's revision of their Soldier pads aims to achieve just that through the clever combination of a redesigned D3O protector and carefully selected mesh fabrics. These strapless pads are not only extremely comfortable, but also mean business when the unavoidable happens. After over six months of abuse on the legs of two testers, it's time to fill you in on all the little details and how they're holding up. Soldier 2 Knee Guard Highlights Designed for trail, enduro, and all-mountain use EN 1621:1 Level 1 certified Ergonomic and flexible D3O pad with side Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1242 2266 162 41

Five Ten Kestrel Clipless Shoe

“Kestrel Boa: Good all day shoe”

C138_5211_kestrel_1

The Good:

Comfortable and stiff, easy to walk around

The Bad:

Boa sometimes can come undone

Overall Review: I have two pairs of these shoes, and really enjoy them for longer rides due to comfort and stiffness. They fit a little bigger then I expected when first trying them on, and opted to go a half size smaller then I usually would in other shoes. The boa is nice and tight and provides first support, however sometime I will have to adjust cable routing to ensure the cable applies pressure to the right portions of my foot. I feel the boa is a good system but when riding in trees, at one point the boa caught a branch and came unlocked so the cables loosened up. Not a huge deal and it has only happened once. Overall I love the shoe, but would not be opposed to get the lace up version of the kestrel.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 2 10

FOX Float X2 Factory 2-Position Lever Rear Shock

“Fox Float X2: 2 position lever on Yeti SB5.5c”

C138_fox_x2_2_position_lever_shock

The Good:

Has a lot of adjustability, Climb switch adjust low speed compression for better climbing.

The Bad:

Depending on the bike, the climb switch might adjust to become too harsh

Overall Review: I am giving this review based on the shock mounted to a yeti sb5.5. First off I think the X2 float is an amazing shock with tons of adjustability and very good small bump sensitivity. However I want to focus my review on the 2 position lever climb switch. Based on the bike you run I think you will either love this, or find yourself rarely using it. If you have a bike with a very linear linkage system, I think that you will find yourself enjoying the 2 position lever. However, in my case with the yeti sb5.5 it has an efficient linkage system with the switch infinity, so the 2 position lever made the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MTBcanuck
44563 MTBcanuck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44563/avatar/c50_IMG_0250_1498002252.jpg?1498002176 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTBcanuck,44563/all 06/06/17 2 10

Banshee Spitfire V2 Frame

“STAY AWAY FROM BANSHEE”

C138_2013_banshee_spitfire_frame

The Good:

An average bike on its best days. Does jump nicely I must say

The Bad:

CUSTOMER SERVICE, not robust, climbs like shit

Overall Review: I got myself a spitfire a couple years back. I liked the look of the bike and I got it for a good deal online. Less than 6 months of riding and the rear triangle broke and was not covered under warranty. To be fair I did crash, however the small ding in the rear triangle prevented the axle from threading through the frame. I have had far worse replaced by Trek and Specialized without a second thought from them. After an extensive email chain I was told that not only was it not covered under warranty but Banshee would not provide a new rear triangle, they were going to charge me full crash replacement price for a new Read More »