Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Royal 2016 DH AM Sock

“Give Your Feet the Royal Treatment”

C138_dh_am_sock_blu_web

The Good:

Calf length, reinforced heel, arch and ankle support, quality construction, super comfortable

The Bad:

No colors besides black and blue details

Overall Review: The Royal DH AM socks are by far my favorite and end up on my feet on almost every ride. The length of these are fantastic and come up mid-calf on me, I love a taller sock for a bit more shin proctection. The length of these socks also meet when wearing knee guards, or warmers, and cover my leg completely. This is great for cooler days or when you want to be completely covered. The construction of the Royal DH AM socks are great! These have gone through more rides and washes then I can count and the only issue is they aren't as black as they used to be. When Royal designed this sock they knew it would get some harder use and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

FOX Float X2 Factory 2-Position Lever Rear Shock

“X2 on my 140 mm Banshee Spitfire”

C138_fox_x2_2_position_lever_shock

The Good:

plush, burly, adjustability

The Bad:

The climb switch is too close to a lockout. I never use it on climbs because it makes my bike too uncomfortable even if it pedals efficiently with it on. Also, finding the right hardware is a little tricky if your not a bike mechanic ( not the shocks fault but worth mentioning )

Overall Review: Love the shock, I've running it at Whistler all week on my 140 mm and have nothing but good things to say. For me the CS is unnecessary. I wouldn't buy it for a trail bike but definitely buy one for your enduro and dh!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Beez177
39833 Beez177 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Beez177,39833/all 03/20/16 2 1

Park Tool Shop Cone Wrench

“Park Tool Shop Cone Wrench Review”

C138_tl278a00_23

The Good:

Accurate, thin, durable

The Bad:

Can be damaged if used on pedals or with unique sized nuts.

Overall Review: Overall I think these cone wrenches are a great value, they are very accurate when used with higher quality components and I have yet to have slipping issues when used correctly. The rubber handles are nice and allow for a bit more comfort when being held and look pretty sweet when hung up on the wall with the "Park Tool Blue". The wrenches come in a wide variety of sizes to match any job and work much better than other brands I have used that have softer metals that will deform easily. On a side note some brands use their own hubs that tend to have lower manufacturing tolerances and in turn you can get Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 1 9

Charge Spoon Saddle

Featured Review

“Spoon Seat, Come Together with My Butt!”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Lightweight, Cro-mo rails, Relief channel, Comfortable seat profile, Creak free, Adequate padding, Variety of colors

The Bad:

A bit flexy on the nose

Overall Review: The Charge Spoon saddle checks off all the main points for me, comfortable, lightweight, quality construction, and not over-priced. I have been riding my Spoon saddle for two full years and have been very happy with my choice. The Spoon saddle isn't anything special in its tech, but in its on trail use, it's great! The Spoon saddle has a very nice profile, not too small and not too big in the seat. The nose is long enough to slide onto for climbs, but not too long to cause any interference when pedaling. I have found the nose to be a little bit flexy when you really on it, but not too terrible. The seat area provides a good Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Race Face Chester Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Killer Pedal, Without the Killer Price”

C138_2015_pedal_chester_black_3

The Good:

Light weight, Great Grip, Color Choices, Sealed and Serviceable Bearing/Bushing, Strong, Large Platform

The Bad:

Very flat!

Overall Review: A good pair of pedals is a very important part of any bike, but the price of even a middle range flat pedal is killer! Well, with the Chester you can forget about spending $100+ for a light weight, serviceable, large platform pedal. The Chester is an amazing pedal that uses a nylon composite body in place of aluminum or magnesium, something that the BMX world has been using for years and with great success. The Chester is Race Face's first nylon pedal and they nailed this growing market perfectly. When comparing the Chester to Race Face's other pedal offerings, the choice is kind of a no brainer. The Chester has a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Park Tool PCS-9 Economy Home Repair Stand

Featured Review

“Park Tool PCS-9 Review”

C138_tl702g00

The Good:

Affordable, durable, simple, works well for most home mechanics

The Bad:

A bit tippy at certain angles, legs don't lock in place, does not fold down very small, heavy.

Overall Review: Wrenching on a bike without a repair stand can be a pain and often makes the task way more time consuming and difficult, but repair stands cost a ton! Lower end stands tend to have plastic parts prone to breaking and creating a wobbly stand. High end stand are often shop specific and too expensive and heavy to move around or be in a home mechanics shop. Enter the Park Tool PCS-9 Repair Stand, which is billed as their “economy” stand for the home mechanic, and I’d say this is a pretty good gauge of what the stand was designed for. It is stable and has adjustability, but it is not going to be as Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 1 9

Intense M9 FRO Frame

“A full-on pure racing DH bike.”

C138_m9_red_frame

The Good:

The Intense M9 has amazing suspension and tunable geometry. The M9 carries so much speed that it can get scary at times.

The Bad:

It takes a while to tune the suspension to your likings with all of the frames adjustable geometry settings.

Overall Review: The Intense M9 is by far the fastest DH bike I've ever ridden. I've read a bunch of reviews about the M9 and they all sound like the kind of DH bike I was looking for. The craftmanship of the frame is amazing and Intense's customer service is spot on perfect. My first day of riding my M9 at Highland bike park was extremely difficult. I pretty much spent the whole day taking test runs and dialing the suspension. On my second day I have of the perfect settings that works for me and they are spot on. The M9 carries so much speed and itnever lets up.There where curtain spots at highland park that I would put in a few extra pedals on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Roy
31872 Roy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/31872/avatar/c50_Norba_Series_Race_1406113028.jpg?1406112809 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Roy,31872/all 07/23/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Roy,31872/setup 2 5 1

SRAM X0 Rear Hub

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM X0 Hubs”

C138_sram_mtb_x0_hub_rear_red_web_0
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Fred Robinson and @luca_cometti_photo (Action) When you buy any X0 product from SRAM, you’re obviously expecting the best in regard to performance, weight and durability. And, as the their downhill line has expanded, one thing has always been missing: an X0 hub with downhill spacing. When SRAM finally came out with a 12x150//157 hub in the X0 line a little over a year ago, we couldn’t wait to get our paws on a set and mount them to our downhill bike. Featuring 6.9-degree engagement (52 points) via SRAM’s DOUBLE TIME ratchet design and spinning on SPEEDBALL bearings, which are said to offer low Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 134 3 255 181 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 29 200 1 56 40

DMR Vault Flat Pedal

“Good but flawed”

C138_62237

The Good:

- Grippy
- Look cool

The Bad:

- Reliability

Overall Review: Great pedals, the grip can't be rivalled and the wide platform is very comfortable. For the first few months of riding they are perfect, but they do develop a few issues later in their life. The nylon bushing on the inside become very worn but switching it with a stainless steel one has removed all play and should last a lot longer. Another issue is due to being hit against rocks etc, they holes for the pins have become warped and some of the pins no longer screw in. They are quite expensive, but if you take good care of them, they should last for a very long time.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dimethylarginine
36697 dimethylarginine /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dimethylarginine,36697/all 07/31/15 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dimethylarginine,36697/setup 1 1

Sombrio Women's Vista Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Women's Vista Shorts and Jersey”

C138_sombrio_vista_short_detail_2
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman When first introduced to the Sombrio Vista jersey and shorts, I swooned and hoped to have the opportunity to check them out further. I love the colors, and I can’t lie about also loving that they glow in the dark. That is some good ol’ fashion fun! Sombrio didn’t solely focus on just the good looks of this jersey and shorts, though. They also loaded them with technical features meant to keep every ride comfortable. I've been riding in the kit for three months, and it's time to let you know if the looks match up with their performance on trail. Women's Vista Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1