Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FOX Float X2 Factory Rear Shock

“Updated Float X2 Review for 2017”

C138_floatx2_shock

The Good:

Light weight, Adjustable, Easy to adjust, Excellent bottom-out control, Small adjustment tool included, Updated lighter weight volume spacers

The Bad:

Absolutely nothing.

Overall Review: UPDATE from my review from my earlier 2016 review: My 2017 Fox Float X2 came in the mail 3 months ago and to my surprise, Fox improved upon it! For 2017, they are offering a compression (climb) switch for sizes 8.5 x 2.5 and smaller. I ordered a massive 10.5 x 3.5 for my Scott Gambler so it didn't come with that option but there are a few other updates that were pretty darn impressive. NEW FOR 2017 As an update, Fox went away from the traditional thick bands to a plastic band that clips together when around the inner air can of the shock. In terms of weight, these new volume spacers weigh 1 gram more than the older Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Chromag Lynx DT Saddle

“Chromag Lynx DT Saddle Review”

C138_89906220_1273303933

The Good:

Good width, cool graphics, comfortable nose for climbing, Nice amount of padding, not too little, but not too much

The Bad:

Not the lightest offering out there, may be a bit pricey for some.

Overall Review: Chromag is one of those brands recognized for making durable, quality products and if you look at many of the slopestyle riders bikes, or freeriders bikes many will run Chromag parts.They sponsor riders like Logan Peat, and Brandon Semunuk and have that laid back, anti-corporate vibe going on. That durability and style has made them a recent favorite for All mountain (Enduro) riders as well and I have seen Chromag parts on a ton of bikes here in Colorado. When it comes to saddles, keep in mind just how personal saddle choice can be, what works for me might suck for you. That being said though, the Lynx DT seems to have a width Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

Race Face Atlas Saddle

“Ultra Light Yet Not Very Forgiving”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Very light weight, Easy to install, Quality materials, Killer graphics of Whistler

The Bad:

Stiff as hell

Overall Review: Overall Review: Picked up the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle about 3 months ago along with the Race Face SixC seatpost. After some solid riding time on them, here are my impressions on this product: Out of the box: I initially picked up the Atlas I-Beam saddle because I was purchasing quite a few other Race Face components. It was claimed to be just as light as my carbon railed saddle on my trail bike and have heard from many of my friends that you can't beat an I-Beam in durability on a DH rig. Taking it out of the box, I was very impressed with how light it was. Claimed to be at 156 grams, my park tool digital scale read 168 Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Race Face Atlas 35 DM Stem

“Race Face Atlas 35mm Direct Mount Stem”

C138_2014_atlas35_stem_dm

The Good:

Stiff, Simplistic, Light weight, 5mm rise spacers included

The Bad:

Almost 10 grams (7.5% increase) off claimed weight.

Overall Review: Picked up the Race Face Atlas 35mm direct mount stem about 3 months ago along with the Race Face SixC 35mm bars. After some solid riding time on them, here are my impressions on this product: Quick Comparisons: When looking for a stem to accompany my SixC bars, There were a few that had my attention. The top 3 I was debating between were the Easton Havoc 35mm Direct Mount, Race Face Chester 35mm Direct Mount, and the Race Face Atlas 35mm Direct Mount. Strength and stiffness were most important to me followed by weight. Below are the claimed weights of the three stems: Easton Havoc: 110 grams Race Face Chester: 130 grams Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar

Featured Review

“Doesn't get much better.”

C138_2014_hbr35_sixc_rs_35

The Good:

Best weight/stiffness ratio I've seen. Excellent finish. Looks to kill. Multiple colors and rises.

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Picked up a set of Race Face SixC 35mm bars about 3 months ago along with a few other Race Face products. After some solid riding time on them, this is what my impressions are: Out Of The Box Just like many other Race Face items, the box that Race Face packages these guys up in is nice. Nice enough that it would tempt any borderline hoarder to keep around forever. It's comforting to know that Race Face packages such a nice (and expensive) bar so well. Out of the box, I was very impressed with the attention to graphics and finish of the SixC 35mm bars. They come in 10mm, 20mm, and 35mm rise options with Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Hope Technology Seat Collar

Featured Review

“Hope Seatpost Clamp Review”

C138_qr703b01_black

The Good:

Great looking seatpost clamp that adds a bit of style and color to your bike

The Bad:

A bit heavier than other offerings (not a big deal to me), aluminum bolt makes me a bit nervous, but seems ok as long as you torque it correctly

Overall Review: When it comes to my bikes, I like to keep things simple, a black frame with small pops of color is jam, and Hope makes parts in a crazy assortment of colors and styles perfect for those looking for small upgrades on the bike that stand out from the crowd. They are known for their quality, and nice aesthetics and this seatpost clamp does not disappoint. This clamp replaced my old black seatpostclamp, and while a touch heavier, it has much nicer machining and is larger than my previous clamp. I got the blue color to match my chainring and my new Chromag saddle and the color matches up nicely. Anodized parts Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

Crank Brothers Mallet DH/Race Clipless Pedals

Featured Review

“Platform Support With Clipless Performance”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_dh_race_black

The Good:

Huge platform surface with excellent grip, 5 year warranty, great customer service

The Bad:

Screw on left pedal starting coming loose, no tension adjustment on clipless entry

Overall Review: Purchased the Crank Brothers Mallet DH/Race pedals about a month ago and after several rides on them, here are my two cents on their functionality, performance, and value. Out Of The Box The first thing that came through my mind when I opened the box to these pedals was "wow, these things are gorgeous." The craftsmanship of them is top notch. Handling them, I could really tell how much heart and sole Crank Brothers put into making these things. Everything was made out of metal, no "high quality" plastic waiting to get smashed and shattered in your local rock garden (**cough** Shimano..) The next thing I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Park Tool Threadless Nut Setter - TNS4

Featured Review

“Threadless Nut Setter”

C138_17715

The Good:

Always sets the nut to the proper depth and keeps it nice and straight

The Bad:

Cost is a bit high for the home mechanic that does not need to set star nuts often.

Overall Review: This is the tool you don't know you need until you are stuck with a crooked star nut in your fork, or one that has been placed too far into the steerer tube. As far as function goes, there is not a lot to say, this tool has functioned perfectly every time I used it. You simply thread the star nut onto the tool until snug, place over your cut steerer tube, and hammer until the tool bottoms out. Then you simply twist the top of the tool, unthreading it from the nut and leaving your perfectly placed star nut behind. While this may seem expensive for the job it does, anyone that has dealt with the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

Eastern Black Betty Frame

“Great Frame! ”

C138_fr287h00white

The Good:

I've had this frame a little over a year and it's held up great! No problems whatsoever. If you come across one online when looking to buy a dirt jumper, I strongly recommend that you get it.

The Bad:

Nothing at all. I love it!

Overall Review: It handles great, incredibly responsive, very strong and light, and prefect for dirt jumping or skatepark riding.

Race Face Aeffect 35 Stem

Featured Review

“Race Face Aeffect 35 Stem Review”

C138_2015_aeffect35_stem_50mm_3q

The Good:

Holds my bars, low price for a 35mm stem, clean and simple look

The Bad:

Not as refined/ blingy as other stems (might be a good thing)

Overall Review: If you are looking to run that fancy 35mm bar, but don't want to drop a ton of dough on an expensive new stem this is a great option. While it is not as fancy or refined as other stems (like the Race Face Atlas stem), it does its job well and without issue. I am running the 50mm length and the stem has not had any issues with slipping either at the bar side or the steerer tube. Definitely a good thing considering that is what it is made for. Stem faceplate does not have alignment marks, but it does have a window on the front which keeps it relatively light and makes getting your bars aligned a pretty easy task. Finish of Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14