4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

Brand-new to MTB, but a BMX veteran...

9/25/2013 3:44 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/25/2013 3:47 PM

I'm brand new to the land of mountain biking, and I don't know where to start. I don't currently own a bike, but I'm wishing to buy one. Having raced BMX most of my life (and riding a little park and dirt on the side); I'm not too shabby when it comes to cycles, but this is a whole new world. I need some help finding a bike (I'd prefer a complete) in the $2000-2500 range (I could go a couple hundred higher, but that's it); I'm 6'3" 1/2 and my leg length is about 26 - 26 1/2 inches. I know this is probably not the exactly "right" place to propose this question, but any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Some other information that I should add: I'd prefer to have a full suspension bike, and I will most likely be using this for trails and some freeride (so I would hope for the suspension to be decent). I hope my budget is enough to meet my criteria and constraints, since whenever I look into different bikes all I see is hieroglyphics and $10k pricetags. Note that I am only looking for a bike to get into the sport, eventually I would upgrade to something better, yet I don't want to start off on the weong foot with a pice of junk that is more of a hassle to ride than a pleasure.

9/25/2013 8:54 PM