4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

vics26's Product Reviews

Added a product review for Five Ten Freerider VXi Shoes 9/19/2013 3:29 PM
C138_285_fivfv3_chr_0

Great shoe for on and off the bike

Rating:

The Good: Great looks, lots of color choices, don't look like ski boots

The Bad: The VXi does not offer the same protection as the Freerider version

Overall:

I’ve tried several bike specific shoes in the past, most recently Sombrio shoes as well as the Five Ten Freerider and after really liking the old Five Tens I thought I would try out the newer Freerider VXi versions. The first thing I noticed about the Freerider VXi versus the standard Freerider is the lack of bulk, the VXi although still offering quite a bit of protection are nowhere as bulky and stiff/rugged as the older Freeriders. This is great when the shoe is used as a casual sneaker but there have been some occasions that I’ve missed the thick toe covering of the old shoe, this was noticed when sticking the foot out around fast corners or dabbing in the rock gardens. You can definitely notice the lack of material in this shoe versus the Freerider on the whole shoe, even the tongue is less bulky, but most noticeable is the toe piece has quite a bit less martial and protection. This is not necessarily a bad thing; it’s just if you are looking for the same kind of protection as with the Freerider version you may not find it in this shoe. I like to think of the VXi’s as a lighter/softer version of the Freerider.

The quality of the shoe is still great; after a season of riding various conditions the seams and stitching is still together and there have been no issues with any material breakdown. Comfort wise, on the bike, just like with the Freerider these shoes work great, whether you are riding all day at a resort or just trail riding or doing hike-a-bike trips, they perform perfectly. I do find these shoes a bit more comfortable off the bike compared to the Freerider version, I think this is due to being less stiff than those, so if you do tend to use your bike shoes are a casual skate shoes, I would choose these VXi  versions over the Freerider version.

One thing I did notice is that cleaning these shoes after a muddy ride is a tad harder than the Freerider as with these the mud seems to sink in a bit more into some of the materials whereas with the Freerider it just seemed to wash or wipe off easier.

On to the grip, this is the reason we all ride Five Ten shoes, I have read reviews that the Freeriders were at times too grippy. I never found this to be the case but could see how some people find that the shoes stick to the pedal at times and do not allow for much movement when you want to adjust your footing.  With these VXi, they are still super sticky but they do offer a bit more movements on the pedals. They still do perform extremely well and stick to the pedals like no other shoes, regardless if conditions are dusty or muddy.

So overall my experience with the VXi has been very favorable, they are more comfortable than the Freeriders but do provide less protection from the elements. If you are looking for loads of protection stick with the Freerider (or even more so the Impacts) but if you need a less aggressive shoes that still sticks to the pedals and can be worn off the bike these are the way to go.

This product has 4 reviews.

Added a product review for DT Swiss FX 1950 Tricon 26" Wheelset 9/5/2013 4:06 PM
C138_pho_fx_1950_tricon_black_ta_12_150_rw_rgb

Solid wheelset that looks great

Rating:

The Good: strong,stiff and looks amazing

The Bad: Cost, unique lacing design could lead to issue in the future

Overall:

This particular wheel set was never on my wishlist simply because of the steep price tag associated with them but luckily I was given a sweet deal so I thought I would give them a try. You could argue that there are a lot of other options and at even cheaper prices for high end wheels but these ones truly are pretty unique.

Right out of the box you can see that the wheels are a strong quality build while at the same time being super light, plus they look simply amazing. The black/green color design along with the white spokes makes for an amazing looking wheel set, they definitely have a one of a kind styling to them.

In terms of ride quality, the first thing I noticed was how incredibly stiff this wheel set is, it’s almost scary how much flex my old wheel set must have had as these feel totally solid, it’s almost a night and day difference in stiffness. I assume this is the result of the unique hub/spoke lacing design. The unique design of this wheel set allows the spokes (which are bladed) to be threaded into both the rim and hub via a torx spoke nipple. The hubs role very smoothly and the rear hub engagement is instant, these hubs provide a quiet buzz to them, so if you are looking for a loud hub like Chris King you’ll have to look elsewhere.

In terms of durability, I’ve only had them for a short while so I can’t speak to long term durability but my initial impressions are good. A couple days at the bike park, riding various terrain including landing flat on jumps, casing a bunch of jumps and choose the not so smooth lines through rock gardens has had no negative effect on these wheels. They just take the abuse and keep rolling smoothly and straight.

So far my review has been positive and I would recommend these wheels to anyone looking for something strong and something a bit different but I do have a couple of concerns. First, the price, they are very expensive, almost heading into carbon wheel territory and I’m not certain if they are that much better than Deemax or any other higher end wheel set. The other concern is regarding the unique spoke lacing design, the concern being if I were to ever break a spoke finding a replacement (especially in a small bike town) would be fairy difficult. I’m hoping it never comes to this though.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for GoPro HERO3 Silver Edition Camera 9/5/2013 3:40 PM
C138_03_h3_silver_camera_inhousing_glam

Awesome action camera

Rating:

The Good: Easy to use, super durable, allows to customize capture settings

The Bad: none so far

Overall:

I purchased the GoPro Hero 3 Silver edition shortly after my Contour camera stopped working. After a couple of months of use I can say that I prefer the GoPro quite a bit more. The picture quality seems to be significantly better than that of the Contour and the GoPro also boosts a lot of smart options on how to capture your biking shots.

The camera allows the user to configure the video capture resolution along with the frame rates, plus has the ability to take 11 megapixel photos. The photo options also allow for burst mode as well as a time lapse mode allowing you to snap photos every couple of seconds (you can configure the photo interval). Another great feature of the GoPro is that is allows you to capture in “upside down mode”, meaning you can set the camera upside down and it will record correctly, this is great as I’ve been experimenting with different angles and most recently capturing video from underneath my helmet visor. This is a great capture mode as it allows for an almost true from a riders eyes perspective capture.

In terms of durability I have used this camera is super dusty conditions as well as in muddy/wet conditions and these have had no impact on the camera. As long as you use the “wet” case in wet conditions there are no issues, the only thing is that when the wet case is used the sound quality is a bit tarnished, but that’s a small price to pay to keep your camera dry. I’ve also dropped the camera while in its case and also token a couple of crashes while the camera was mounted on my chest and top of helmet and the camera still works perfect. So in terms of durability, this camera gets a 10/10.

Battery life is fairly good, it does last longer than my older Contour did but I do find myself using it carefully when I am out for a full day at the bike park. If you have it on all the time it will only last a couple of hours, but if you use it carefully (turning it off when not needed) it should last for most of the day. I do recommend buying a backup battery incase the first ones dies and there are some epic shots to be had. Charging the battery takes a while too so even better reason to get a backup battery.

Function wise, the great thing about this camera is that once it is powered on and you hit the record button you hear one beep and it start recording instantly, this is great if you need to record right away, there is no delay in capturing anything.

In regards to other aspects of the cameras functions, this camera unit is pretty user friendly, for the most part you just need to use the power button and then the record button. The only issue I’ve found is when the camera is mounted onto your helmet and if you want to change the capture setting or change from video to photo this will require you to remove the camera or have a buddy configure the settings or you. All other setting changes can be done via the power/mode button so it allows for a pretty easy interface.

Gopro App: With the latest update of the app (at least for Apple) you can now preview your recorded clips and you can also transfer your content directly from the camera to your device via wifi. This is great if you want to ensure that you got the right shot.

So overall I would strongly recommend this camera, GoPro definitely seems to be the leader in action camera and I can see why they are in that spot. The functions of this camera allow customizing your capture settings while recording video and photo in crisp resolution.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Cane Creek Double Barrel Rear Shock 9/3/2013 6:14 PM
C138_db_coil_vertical_lo_res

Amazing shock that sticks to the trail

Rating:

The Good: Highly adjustable, smooth, easy to tune/setup with the help of canecreek.com

The Bad: One of the more expensive shocks

Overall:

I won’t go into too much technical detail but this shock is buttery smooth and allows for limitless adjustability. I initially was a bit scared about the complexity of this shock but the base tune/fit guide on canecreek.com made setting up the shock a breeze. I does take some time and requires a couple of rides to get that perfect tune but once that is found then you are left with a very impressive shock. No matter how much abuse, brake bumps, flat landings you throw at this thing it just eat everything up. My Double Barrel is currently on a 2013 Specialized and it works perfectly together. Before owning this shock I was a very “set and forget” rider but this shock has me doing a bit more tinkering when the terrain changes and I think this is for the better as now I can get the most out of the shock depending on the environment being ridden. In regards to adjustability you have your high speed and low speed compression along with high speed and low speed rebound, which really allows you to get a custom tune for your bike and riding style.

One other great thing I also noticed that with this shock on the bike I find myself more stable on the trails, meaning that I can track significantly better, the shock seems to just stick to the trail. Overall I would very much recommend this product, although it is very expensive it does do its job very well.

Lastly, one additional item I like about this shock is that it comes with a little tool that helps with adjusting all the knobs but also will help when you get dirt and gunk on the shock body, the tool helps to adjust the ring and the spring. This is a huge help as all my other shocks seem to seize up and then require a lot of effort to adjust the spring/ring.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Specialized Demo 8 Frame 9/3/2013 5:41 PM
C138_yellow

Fast and Fun DH Frame that Just Goes

Rating:

The Good: Stiff, fast frame that just loves to go

The Bad: Press fit bottom bracket

Overall:

I am really impressed with the quality of this frame, the first thing I noticed when I sat on the Demo was how stiff it was and how well it keeps its momentum, even in the parking lot as soon as you put the cranks down it just speeds up and wants to keep on going. The welds are beautiful and comparable to some of the high-end boutique bikes. Access to the shock is very good, so when on the trail adjustments are required it results in a very fast and easy process. When you need to remove or insert the shock back into the frame it is a very easy procedure as well. I am riding a small and find the frame perfect for me ( I am five foot ten and prefer smaller frames), the low top tube is very noticeable and favorable.

The ride: Overall a couple of words come to mind when speaking about the Demo’s ride quality, speed and momentum. This thing just loves to go fast and within a couple of first rides I was riding my local trail at a faster speed, this was more so evident in the corners, the bike just seems to convey confidence in the corners. It also seems to carry its speed out of turns and bumps, no matter what you throw at it, the bike just accelerates.

I remember reading reviews about the Demo and everyone raved about how well it corners, I can now say this is absolutely true. This thing just loves to corner, it somehow allows you to enter in corners faster as well as accelerate out of them at top speed, the bike just seems to carry its momentum very well. I assume this is due to the angles and the short chain stays, so far I am a big fan of this.

In regards to jumping the bike feels really good in the air, it pops really well and stays stable in the air. Landings are very smooth and confident. The bottom bracket height although noticeable being very low, I haven’t had any issues and haven’t hit the cranks/pedals, but I’ve definitely noticed the benefits of the low BB height.

Pivots are solid and provide a very smooth ride in all conditions. In regards to the price the frame comes in at about $2600 that includes a Cane Creek Double Barrel and headset and seatpost which is a pretty good deal for a frame of this caliber. Another cool thing are the bolts that hold the brake and derailleur cables, this is a very simple solution and keeps the cables tidy.

One thing to note is that this frame is a press fit bottom bracket; this means you will require a bottom bracket adapter in order to get most cranks into the frame.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip 9/3/2013 3:43 PM
C138_gr272a00

Comfortable and grippy

Rating:

The Good: Grippy and comfortable

The Bad: Tad expensive

Overall:

After a season of riding fairly thin grips I decided to switch over to something a bit thicker and try the ODI TLD grips. Although these aren’t too thick they seem to be a happy medium between thin and thick grips.

These are now one of my favorite grips, they feel great and overall they are very comfortable. The little knobs on the grips feel comfy and provide great traction; this is even more evident when riding without gloves. I initially thought that the design on the grips didn’t have any purpose but now I see that the design and the little grooves in the grips are specifically designed to offer great comfort and grip. I’ve used them in dusty condition and also in the wet and in both environments they grip well and I have had no issues.  I would strongly recommend these grips.

This product has 6 reviews.

Added a product review for ODI Oury Lock-On Grip/Clamp 2/20/2013 5:08 PM
C138_gr707a11

If you like them thick...

Rating:

The Good: thick, soft and sticky

The Bad: None so far

Overall:

The ODI Oury grips are one of the thickest grips on the market, if you are looking for a very soft and sticky grip this is a great choice. I have used these in the past and have been very happy with them. I also find that switching from other thinner grips to seems to help reduce some arm pump simply due to how think and comfy these grips are. Even though they are very soft they hold up a long time and proved to be very durable. I have also used these in the wet and muddy conditions and even with wet hands/gloves the grips still stay grippy and my hands do not slide off. Another plus about these grips is that when used in colder weather these seem to keep my hands warmer as opposed thinner grips that don't reduce the cold from the handlebars as much.

overall I am very happy with this thick grip, if you want a thick and soft grip this is a great choice.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Sunline Logo Lock On Grips - Thin 2/20/2013 4:57 PM
C138_19264

Super thin grips

Rating:

The Good: thin, durable, comfortable

The Bad: slippery when wet

Overall:

I've been running the Sunline logo lock on grips (thin version) for over a year and I've been very happy with them. Keep in mind these are very very thin grips but at the same are comfortable and durable. Iinitially thought that since these were so thin that they would wear out faster than most thicker grips but that hasn't been the issue. The grips are comfy but you can definitely feel the thinness of the grip and you can feel the handlebar through the grips. I do find that these grips may add to arm pump on long descent versus when you are riding with a thicker grip.

I've used these in various conditions and even on super hot days when my hands were sweaty the grips stayed comfy and gripped well. The only gripe I had so far with them was that I did find them a bit slippery when wet (especially without gloves).

So overall if you are looking for a thin grip and don't ride too much in the wet I would strongly recommend these. if you do ride a lot of wet conditions I would recommend a different grip perhaps one that is thicker.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Profile Racing BMX Crank Set 2/20/2013 8:40 AM
C138_bb308h00

Old school bombproof crankset

Rating:

The Good: durable, bombproof and stiff

The Bad: weight is a big issue

Overall:

I ran two sets of profile cranks on my downhill bikes and never had any issues with performance or durability. These were one of the first solid cranks that came out during a time when square tapered bottom brackets would round out and crank arms constantly snapped. These were so bombproof that even Bender used them for his hucking back in the day.

The crank arms are super stiff and the bottom bracket bearings are very smooth and stay smooth after years of use. Installation is a breeze, removing the cranks is kind of funny as you have to use a special profile tool and then literally hammer on the crank arms but this process is quite simple.

The only downfall to these bombproof cranks is the weight, the arms and spindle, and BB are extremely heavy especially now a days with all the super light carbon DH cranks. There is a titanium spindle option but even with that I think this would still be fairly heavy crankset.

If you are looking for a set and forget crankset that is bombproof and don’t mind a bit of weight I would strongly recommend these.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Mongoose Nugget 2/20/2013 6:58 AM
C138_bi278b19

Fun little DJ machine

Rating:

The Good: solid, fun, great in the air

The Bad: pivots get loose after heavy riding

Overall:

After a season of riding on the Nugget I can say that this is a very capable dirt jumper and overall a very fun bike. Dirt jumping/slopestyle is not my forte but as soon as I got on this bike I felt a lot more confident and comfortable on the jumps. My nugget was built up fairly heavy but even with the weight under me the bike felt snappy in the air and accelerated in the corners. I definitely feel this would be a good 4X bike, the 4 inches of travel feel consistent and help when the landings get sketchy or the trail gets rough. Although my Nugget was a size small I did take it on a couple of trail rides but I found that the weight and small size just didn’t allow comfort for trail rides so I stuck with taking it to bike parks and jump spots only. Perhaps if I would have a larger frame and lighter components then the bike would have performed better on the trails and could be made to a decent trail rider as the suspension works well without any bobbing.

I’ve been used to riding DH bikes so when I took this on some of the bigger trails with larger drops I did feel a bit out of control and felt out of its element. I assume this could just be my lack of skills on a smaller travel bike as I constantly see guys ripping on small travel bikes. I had my Nugget faired with a 4 inch travel Marzocchi 55 and the suspension worked well together.

In terms of quality the Mongoose frame is put together quite well, it may not be the same caliber as intense or some of the boutique brands but the frame held up all season without any issues . The pivots stayed smooth but after heavy riding I did find towards the end of the season that on occasion they came loose, easy fix was to simply tighten them but one of the pivots is hidden behind the chainring making tightening a challenge.

So overall if you are looking for a fun bike, a bike that you can dirt jump, ride slopestyle or 4x I believe this is a great bike. The bike held up with no major issues and was always extremely fun to ride. If you get a larger frame I also feel this would be a fun trail bike as well.

Nugget

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Wellgo B-27 Flat Pedal 2/19/2013 5:27 PM
C138_92405640_1266803342

Durable and solid pedal

Rating:

The Good: Good price with lots of performance

The Bad: Bearings can get a bit sticky sometimes

Overall:

I’ve used these pedals for a couple of seasons in all conditions (including snow) and they have worked great. They might not be as flashy as some of the higher end pedals but these work well and are very durable.

I have smashed these pedals into rocks on several occasions and they still keep working without any issues. I have found that the spindles have seized up a couple of times in the past but they just need to be greased and then re-tightened, a very easy fix for a small issue.

I found that the these pedals perform well in wet and muddy conditions. Even with caked on mud I have had no issues with my feet coming off the pedals. The pins are solid and have stayed in place the past several years.

The biggest thing I like about these pedals is that they are very inexpensive while offering a lot of performance.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Race Face Diabolus DH Stem 2/19/2013 5:15 PM
C138_643

Sweet looking stem

Rating:

The Good: Light, durable and quality product

The Bad: None as of yet

Overall:

The Race Face Diabolus stem brings both style and performance into one package. The first thing I noticed was the styling of the stem as it is machined from 6061-T6 aluminium and looks really smooth and tidy. The next thing i noticed related to performance was simply how stiff this stem was, there was a fairly drastic difference between this stem and some of the others I have used in the past.

The edges are also rounded out nicely which I think has saved my knees in the past. Overall I am very happy with this stem, it looks amazing with loads of quality and performance. After years of use I have had no issues/problems.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Race Face Flank Knee/Shin Guards 2/19/2013 5:06 PM
C138_race_face_flank_leg

Loads of Protection with Comfort in Mind

Rating:

The Good: Comfortable, offer a lot of protection

The Bad: Can get a bit toasty on hot days

Overall:

I use knee only pads for most of my riding, but after a couple of trips to the mountains and some sketchy rock gardens I decided to purchase the Race Face Flank knee/shin pads. The pads offer tons of protection to the whole leg but at the same time come with a lot of comfort as they are made from d3o compound that is initially soft and then hardens and protects when impacted.

The Flank pads offer a lot of adjustabilityand once put on they reallyaren'tvery noticeable. They also stay comfortable throughout a whole day of riding and even after a super hot day in the bike park. Since they are a full leg they definitely will make your legs sweat but this is the norm as with any other full leg protection.

I have noticed that these do offer a bit more confidence when the trail gets rocky and sketchy as I don’t feel as worried about my shins getting chopped up on the rocks. I was initially worried that these pads would rip if I fell on sharp rocks as opposed to some of the other hard plastic pads but after a couple of tumbles on the rocks and dirt the pads look like new and there is no issue with durability.

If you are looking for full leg protection and the comfort offered by the d3o compound, I would strongly recommend these.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Sombrio Deglo S/S Jersey 2011 2/19/2013 4:30 PM
C138_62690

Basic Jersey - gets the job done

Rating:

The Good: Cool colors

The Bad: cool colors?

Overall:

If you are looking for a subtle bike jersey this is a good choice. The jersey comes with black w/ pink graphics and Purple w/ yellow graphics. Although the colorways are a bit odd the jerseys is nice and subtle anddoesn'tlook like you ride for Nascar.

The Sombrio logo is done in a retro 90’s graphics and even after numerous washes the logo still looks like new. I've done alot of riding and digging in really hot weather and it has worked great and kept me cool. The material does feel a bit heavier that some of the lighter trail jerseys but for DH and freeride this is a great item.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for FUNN Launch Pad Saddle 2/19/2013 4:22 PM
C138_15822

Solid durable saddle

Rating:

The Good: durable and comfortable

The Bad: Can't think of any

Overall:

If you are looking for a no frills saddle that will handle the abuse of free-riding and DH this is a great choice. The price tag is very reasonable but at the same time this saddle offers a lot of bang for the buck. I've had a lot of crashes and sketchy landings on this saddle but it still looks and feels good. The sides of the saddle are also durable so they stop any rips or holes from forming. in regards tocomfort, I've spent all day doing DH runs and have had no issues, the seat provides all day comfort.

The cromo rails are also very solid and after years of use they are still straight and have presented no problems.

Overall I would rate this as a great saddle, if you are looking for something inexpensive but at the same time that will be durable this is a very good choice.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Contour ROAM Wearable Camcorder 2/19/2013 4:12 PM
C138_7eb56e9c_8f03_45dd_8a90_7ab55649cd79

Solid video action shooter

Rating:

The Good: Reasonable price, sturdy, waterproof

The Bad: No preview screen, can not switch between modes unless plugged into computer

Overall:

There definitely seems to be a bit of a battle between Contour and GoPro, these are the two main action cameras on the market today. I initially wanted to purchase the new GoPro but ended up getting a amazing deal on the older Contour Roam.

The camera feels really solid and I have dropped it a couple of times already without any issues. Recording is really simple, you just push forward the switch and it start recording. The picture quality is really solid and provides great definition even on the 720p setting. The camera works well in all light conditions and seems to hold up well even in dark areas. I do notice the picture quality is better with a bright setting but I’ve had no issues in dark woods.

The camera also comes with editing software called Contour StoryTeller but I use a different app to edit my clips. StoryTeller is easy enough to use and allows for basic editing. The unit also comes with two mounts which work with most helmets.

Another nice thing is that the camera is waterproof without needing any case. Although this might not be a necessity for mountain biking its cool that you can take it under water for other sports or simply know when you get caught in a downpour your camera will still work in the rain.

My main gripe, although small, is that in order to change any of the settings such as filming from 720 to 1080, or the photo burst, the camera needs to be plugged into a computer before you can make any of those changes. So this just means if you go on a biking trip you either have to bring a laptop or just set one mode of filming and stick with it.

Overall I am very happy with this camera, it’s not as expensive as some of the other cameras out there and still provides a lot of performance. If you can live without the preview screen and being able to switch between shooting modes I definitely recommend this one.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Royal 2014 Matrix Shorts 2/19/2013 3:37 PM
C138_matrix_blk_f

Comfy short with great attention to detail

Rating:

The Good: Lightweight, breathable, you can wear them off the bike

The Bad: None so far

Overall:

The first thing I noticed about the Matrix short is the attention to detail. As with most clothing items from Royal Racing, the fine small details make all the difference. Although the Royal Racing logo is plastered thoughout the outside/inside of the shorts it is done in a tasteful manner that just adds to the quality of the shorts, even the buttons have the Royal logo on them.

I really like that although these are a great bike short they aren’t too much to just wear off the bike. They come in three colors for 2013 and none of them are too loud to be worn off the bike. They feature a lot open deep pockets and a couple of zippered pockets as well to keep your valuables secured. Fit wise they come with waist adjusters that allow you to customize your fit. The matrix short also comes with a padded liner but I removed that, the nice thing is that the pad is removable so you can wear with or without.

One thing that I really like is that the back of the waist of the short is a bit higher than the front meaning that your arse won’t be hanging out when you ride. These shorts are light and breathable and make a really good trail/XC short and aren’t as bulky as some of the other DH specific shorts. Overall I would strongly recommend these shorts.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Dakine Highwire Glove Spring/Summer 11 10/15/2012 11:11 AM
C138_61419

Awesome glove for great price

Rating:

The Good: durable, stylish, breathable

The Bad: None so far

Overall:

I purchased these gloves at a great price and after a couple of weeks of using them I am very happy with the purchase. Dakine makes tons of quality gear and their gloves, especially the Highwire glove is no exception.

The first thing I noticed about these gloves compared to others is the Neoprene knuckle flex panel, you can really feel the material stretching (in a good way) when using the gloves especially when reaching for the brake levers. This provides a really nice custom feel to the glove.

The quality and stitching of the gloves is really nice and even after a couple of crashes and doing some trail building in the gloves they have held up great. Breathability is same as with most other gloves although these ones feel thicker than most gloves they breathe well in warm weather.

Overall I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend this product.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Fox Racing Shox DHX RC4 Rear Shock 8/20/2012 8:04 AM
C138_97854910_1265256421

Liven up your suspension with the RC4

Rating:

The Good: Smooth, plush, easy to setup, lots of adjust-ability

The Bad: Can't think of any so far

Overall:

It’s hard to write a thoughtful and technical review about such a complex piece of suspension when in the end all I really want to say how sweet, smooth and plush the RC4 is. Plus I don’t fully understand all the mechanical jargon and technology that goes behind making this shock work.

Most recently I’ve been running the DHX 5.0 and then switched over to the RC4 at the begging of this summer and the change was quite dramatic between the two. The first thing I noticed when I upgraded to the RC4 was how much smoother the suspension ran, this was instantly noticed when just compressing the suspension in the parking lot and also on the rough trails as well. I noticed that the shock shaft is a bit thicker on the RC4 vs the DHX 5.0, I assume this has a bit to do with the smoothness of the shock. Another thing I noticed is that this shock just feels a bit more lively, whether it is compressing or rebounding it just feels better.

Another improvement over the DHX 5.0 was the small bump compliance, my bike previously with the DHX suffered a bit from weird behaviour on the smaller/faster hits, this was greatly improved with the RC4.

In terms of adjustability it has all the standard options such as H/L compression, bottom out, rebound and preload.

So without going into the technical aspects this shock greatly improves the ride characteristics in smoothness and overall ride quality over the DHX 5.0 and I would highly recommend this product.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Troy Lee Designs Ruckus Jersey 8/20/2012 8:02 AM
C138_je267b13

Cam Zink wore this when he 360’d the Oakley sender!!!

Rating:

The Good: TLD quality, breathable, light, great colors

The Bad: None so far

Overall:

So this jersey won’t give you Cam Zink level skills to huck 360s off massive drops but it will definitely make you look cool. The jersey, like all TLD gear is light, breathable and durable. I don’t know when the ¾ length sleeve jersey fad started but it seems to have stuck with the MTB scene as most bike jersey companies now make ¾ sleeve jerseys. The cool thing about the Ruckus jersey is that it comes in a couple different colors, I have the purple/orange one and although it’s a bit bright it doesn’t come off as too flashy or loud as some of the other color explosion jerseys. The TLD logo is laser etched in a couple of spots, meaning that it should stay on and not wash/wear off anytime soon.

The jersey also offers a hidden zippered stash pocket on the side, it’s actually a fairly decent sized pocket but kind of in a weird spot. I tried to ride with my iphone in it but did notice that it was bouncing around quite a bit. Plus it’s kind of in a vulnerable spot on the side in case of a crash whatever you have in there has a high risk of getting smashed. If you don’t mind a little bit of bouncing and potential risk of breaking this would be a good pocket for mp3 player.

Overall I am really happy with this jersey, its breathable, light and loose and gives you a bit of style when you’re getting rowdy on the trails.

This product has 1 review.