4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

mtbschrader's Product Reviews

Added a product review for Avid G2 Clean Sweep Rotor 3/28/2014 9:40 AM
C138_67567

Avid Rotor

Rating:

The Good: Simple trouble free rotor. Stays straight as well. I have had it on a dirt jump bike with Hope M4 brakes. have no trouble with this rotor at all. Rotor was used with Avid mechanical brakes before the Hope's. Thought I might need to get a new rotor for M4's but this one has worked great.

The Bad: No issues to speak of.

Overall:

Nice simple rotor. Can also be a good low cost back-up rotor for travel.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Race Face Respond DH/AM Stem 3/28/2014 9:31 AM
C138_45108

Great Stiff Stem

Rating:

The Good: Have had this on my dirt jump bike for 2 years. It's been great. Stiff and solid. Never have to mess with it. I have the white version and it has a durable finish. Black is probably even better. Nice looking stem too. Never worry about, it just works.

The Bad: Maybe a few more length options. nit-picking here, Can't think of a bad thing.

Overall:

Great stem and would not hesitate to recommend it.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for DT Swiss Competition Spokes 3/28/2014 9:23 AM
C138_sn308a01

Nice Spokes

Rating:

The Good: Have had them for several years in 2 different wheel sets and have had no problems at all and they have seen a lot of use and some jumps and drops and rough terrain. mine have always been built with brass nipples. I had a third wheel set with straight gauge spokes and I had a bad case and broke several spokes. These seem much tougher.

The Bad: Nothing i can think.

Overall:

Nice strong spokes i will continue to use and when I get new wheels I will use these spokes again.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Avid BB5 Disc Brake 3/28/2014 9:15 AM
C138_205a3756_750a_4e2c_9b41_783177fa3eb2

Average Brakes

Rating:

The Good: Easy to set up. Once dialed in they work nicely. Lever feels pretty good. Rotor seems fairly strong.

The Bad: Mine would be all set up and work good but it only last a month or so and then they felt terrible. lever pulled to bar and no stopping power. After I would re-set them up they would be good again but only for a short while. Tired new pads but no difference. Might have been cable constantly stretching and maybe should have tried a new cable but ended up just getting something else.

Overall:

OK basic brake for light use.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Intense Tire Systems MK2 Microknobby Tire 3/25/2014 10:12 AM
C138_89372090_1266961519

Fast Rolling Tire

Rating:

The Good: They are fast and grip great on pavement, concrete, dry hard dirt and wood. I run them at Rays indoor park and have no trouble.

The Bad: Only small issue is stopping. Sometimes on smooth surfaces the brake will lock up the wheel but you'll still slide along a little ways since the overall tire is so smooth.

Overall:

A cheap, nice fast tire for it's intended purpose.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Spank Subrosa AM/FR Saddle 3/25/2014 10:04 AM
C138_92717930_1289427512

Spank Seat

Rating:

The Good: Have been running it for about 3 years on a dirt jump bike. Comfortable to sit on but can't say how it would be on a long AM ride. It still looks almost new and i have the white version. Has survived some crashes at Rays indoor park without any issues.

The Bad: Only thing I can think of is rails are painted and are a little chipped around seat clamp. Very minor cosmetic issue only.

Overall:

Strong solid seat. I would recommend it to a friend.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Race Face Atlas FR Cranks 3/13/2014 10:11 AM
C138_98552640_1265251553

Race Face Atlas Cranks

Rating:

The Good: Great super stiff cranks. have been running a set for years that are 3x9 configuration. Have held up to a lot of riding from XC to freeride and lift accessed terrain. Solid feeling and you don't have to think about them at all. just ride.

The Bad: A bit expensive and a little heavy but maybe not a really a bad thing? Have never gotten a long life out of a Race Face bottom bracket.

Overall:

Nice solid long lasting durable crank set.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Hadley 20mm Dowhill Front Hub 3/13/2014 10:03 AM
C138_100953510_1265405472

Very Nice Hubs

Rating:

The Good: Low maintenance durable hubs. Have them on my dirt jump bike and the rear has the same engagement feel as the Kings on my XC bike. Have been great hubs and plan on running them for a long time. Have had zero issues with them and they just work great. They are at the top of my list for future wheel builds.

The Bad: I wish Hadley had a website with all their hub info available.

Overall:

Great durable long-lasting American made hubs.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Chris King ISO Disc Rear Hub 3/13/2014 9:54 AM
C138_screen_shot_2012_02_15_at_1.45.35_pm

Awesome hub!

Rating:

The Good: Have been running these for at least 7 years and have had them professionally serviced twice and I partially serviced them twice. They have been flawless. Near instant engagement and tough. they have seen a lot of miles in all conditions and I have no doubt they will be running smooth for years to come. Have been laced to 2 different rims and seen some hard riding including a bad landing that broke some spokes. Silver finish is still nice too.

The Bad: Kinda loud and once you have been running them it sucks to ride anything with lesser engagement.

Overall:

Great hubs that will last a long time if you take care of them.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for SixSixOne Evo Knee Guards Knee/Shin Pad 3/13/2014 9:42 AM
C138_2012_sixsixone_evo_knee

EVO knee pads

Rating:

The Good: I have been using these for a 2-3 years now. At Rays indoor park I have needed them a couple times that i fell on larger jumps to a concrete floor. They worked really well. Without them my day would have been over and maybe a trip to the Urgent Care? Walked away and kept riding. Totally worth the price. I wear them under jeans with no problems and with shorts. Have also worn them on trail rides on my XC bike. Maybe overkill for that but they were fine and after 10 minutes you forget they are on. Can't really say how they are in really hot weather but indoors under jeans and 2-3 hours of riding they don't get very sweaty that you notice and remain comfortable.

The Bad: Now that they are a few years old they don't want to stay in place quite as they used to. The velcro straps are too stretchy. to keep them tight I am almost at the end of usable vecro. It's not a huge problem and i will replace them with these same pads next year.

Overall:

Well made comfortable pads that work really well.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Chris King No Thread Headset 3/13/2014 9:31 AM
C138_96606890_1265403554

Awesome Headset

Rating:

The Good: Smooth and trouble free. Have had one on 3 frames over 10 years and it's still super smooth and in great condition. It's the silver color and still looks great as well. Not cheap but for all the use mine has seen it's been totally worth every penny. Probably less than buying lesser headsets every couple years.

The Bad: Nothing comes to mind.

Overall:

Great trouble-free part that will last a long time.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Deity Topsoil Handlebar 3/13/2014 9:25 AM
C138_deity_topsoil_1

Topsoil Bars

Rating:

The Good: Solid stiff bars. have had them on my dirt jump bike for 2 years now. no complaints or problems. I'm a kinda big guy and ride fairly hard and these bars have been great. Durable finish. Bend and upsweep numbers are comfortable as well. Same as Easton bars.

The Bad: Can't think of anything.

Overall:

Great bars, one of those set it and forget parts you don't have to worry about.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Thomson Elite Seatpost 3/5/2014 6:00 PM
C138_100159180_1265400728

Awesome seat post

Rating:

The Good: Have had it for over 10 years and it's still great. Zero complaints. Has been on two different bikes and tied with one other part that's the oldest things on my bike. Confident i will run it for years to come.

The Bad: Nothing i can think of.

Overall: Excellent post that's worth every penny.

This product has 10 reviews.

Added a product review for Shimano PD-MX30 Flat Pedal 3/5/2014 5:55 PM
C138_99639010_1267164894

Shimano DX Pedals

Rating:

The Good: Grippy with long pins installed. Pedals come with short pins in pedals and long pins in a bag.look good after years of riding and non damaged pins can be replaced. I have had 2 sets of these pedals over several years on a Blur LT I ride for everything but DH and DJ. Work good in all conditions and replacement pins are available and i have done that. have a set on a dirt jump bike as well that are still perfect after a few years of riding.

The Bad: Pins can get ripped out and become un-replaceable. Rock strikes have taken their toll on my current set. I'm missing a few pins on each pedal right now and looking for something different in the spring. The older pedals I had seemed to last a lot longer than the newest set under same riding conditions.

Overall:

Great for my dirt jump bike but not the best for trail or bike bike park use, especially if it's rocky.

This product has 8 reviews.

Added a product review for Spank Lock-On Grip 3/5/2014 5:43 PM
C138_129433760_1289428262

Spank Grips

Rating:

The Good: When new they feel great and very grippy and they have a fairly small diameter. nice comfortable width without much extra on either side of hand. I'm 6'2" and had them on both a trail bike and a dirt jump bike.

The Bad: They wear down to smooth very fast. A couple months and you can see where my fingers fit on the grip and a lot of surface has become smooth. Seems a lot to spend all the time on grips.

Overall:

Would be good for a season if you don't ride that much.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Spank Subrosa 30AL EVO Rim 3/5/2014 5:29 PM
C138_subrosa_evo_30al_white

Spank Subrosa Rim

Rating:

The Good: Rode these rims on my jump bike for a year and they have been flawless. Super stiff and solid feeling. I needed new rims for my Blur LT trail bike and got these for that bike as well. Have rode those for a year and two years now on dirt jump bike with a lot of use and all 4 rims are still like the day I got them. Not the lightest choice and not many rims out there with this width and height combo and my next bike will definitely have them on it.

The Bad: Nothing that i can think of.

Overall:

Great super solid feeling rim and I would recommend to anyone looking for rims. Especially trail, enduro or dirt jump applications.

This product has 1 review.