This past weekend saw a chilly and very windy Contermanskloof host the 4th and final round of the Western Province Downhill series. A lower than expected field of 53 riders entered the event, but racing was as good as ever with the top 5 separated by less that 2 seconds.

Contermanskloof is very well known for its sharp and unforgiving rocky sections, claiming a large number of punctures each race. Apart from that, there were no real accidents other than a few small offs here and there, which is always great.

Racing here has always been tight but never before has first and second spot been separated by just .012 of a second. Jonty Neethling just sneaking in ahead of Adi van der Merwe with a time of 2.59.01. Rounding up the top 5 overall was Adriaan Smit, Theo Erlangsen and Duran van Eeden, each separated by around .20 of a second from each other. That is extremely tight considering the length of the track.

A big thank you goes out to our sponsors, The Bike Shed, ION, Redbull, WPDH and Robert Starke (and crew) of Contermanskloof for building and maintaining this awesome track.

Top 10 overall:
1. Jonty Neethling 02.59.01
2. Adi Van Der Merwe 02.59.13
3. Adriaan Smit 03.01.51
4. Theo Erlangsen 03.01.63
5. Duran Mullet Van Eeden 03.01.91
6. Luke Davis 03.02.94
7. Tian Strooh 03.03.42
8. Dane Olsen 03.04.48
9. Myles Kelsey 03.05.44
10. Darryn Stow 03.05.54

Full results here.

Next stop, WP Champs at the brand new Helderberg track. See you then...

Create New Tag