4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

brimmergj's Product Reviews

Added a product review for Maxxis Ardent Tire 5/21/2013 8:20 AM
C138_90357980_1266959103

Excellent All-Terrain Tire

Rating:

The Good: Fast, predictable and holds a line

The Bad: Packs in debris a bit, but wide enough spacing to shed most of it

Overall:

For a full on knobby tire, the Ardents (2.25" size)are definitely fast and transition from edge to edge quickly. I've ridden these on everything from dry hardpack to saturated moist soil and everything in between and the Ardents keep on digging in and gathering traction. The center row is fast and effective and offers great grip when climbing. The side knobs offer a great amount of cornering grip and never leave you wanting more. The transition knobs are spaced wide enough to allow a firm bite into the terrain and don't allow the tire to pack in debris too much. If the transision knobs were closer together, they would pack in and not be effective at all. I haven't ridden in super muddy conditions so I can't speak about how well it tracks in the muck, but  the cuts in the knobs and closely spaced knobs pack in with debris when its a slight bit wet, so I would assume that it would magnify when riding in mud.

All around its a great tire for varying terrain and has plenty of grip. There are better tires for specific terrain but for a stock set of tires, I'm not complaining one bit.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless/Platform Pedals 5/15/2013 9:30 AM
C138_68949

Decent Pedal

Rating:

The Good: Weight, spin freely and overall quality

The Bad: Traction pins and engagement

Overall:

This is my first attempt at riding clipless and I traded in my brother's old pedals for a set of these thru the deal Crank Bros was doing at the time - trade in any clipless pedal and get any set of their high end pedals for half price.

I enjoy being clipped in for some aspects of riding and I can feel that they make pedaling a bit easier on the rougher sections where a foot would be hard to keep on platform pedals. I love the size of these with a full platform as they make clipping in easy. I found that sometimes I don't feel all the way clipped in and I have to unclip and re-clip to make sure I'm all the way in there. That is pretty annoying when you're riding and have to up-clip/re-clip when you're really fully engaged and just don't feel it. The traction pins, for me are pointless; even when backed out all the way they still don't engage my shoe and help out with traction. Another reason why I shun pedals with set screws as traction pins-they fill with dirt and have to be backed out almost until there is no thread engagement with the pedal and they fall out or tear the pedal threads out when struck. I also discovered that when you corner aggressively or whip your bike sideways off jumps, you're feet pop out and that is a nightmare and not very cool at all. It could be me and my lack of clipless pedal ninja skills, but it happens more than I care to enjoy. Unclipping to dab a foot down is fairly easy and not an issue and the color matches my bike to keep my whip lookin as fresh as possible, as the kids say. I'm not saying these pedals are crap, but for me and my lack of clipless skills, they are not a high scorer. The quality is outstanding and I have had no issues or problems with these pedals structurally. I just really enjoying platform pedals and would rather ride unclipped.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for POC Trabec Open Face Helmet 5/11/2013 11:50 AM
C138_trabec_kryptonblue_1508

Amazing and awesome

Rating:

The Good: Lightweight, looks bitchin', well ventilated

The Bad: Cost is pretty high

Overall:

I picked up the dark blue color and upon arrival immediately noticed that his helmet was a crap load lighter than my skate style helmet I was using. I got the M-L size and it fit quite well. The maximum coverage of the Trabec inspires confidence that if you do go down, you're protected and safe. I got my helmet in February, with snow on the ground and cold temps. Due to the extremely well venting aspect of the helmet, I froze my head when I used this helmet. Now that it is May and quite warm up here in Vermont, the ventilation is a godsend and perfect. The straps areout of the way and the size adjustment system is easy to work with to get a good fit. This is a great looking helmet as well as a great riding helmet

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Atomlab Pimp 2 Rim 5/11/2013 7:19 AM
C138_pimp_2

Earth's Best Rim!!!

Rating:

The Good: Literally "Tough as Hell"

The Bad: Nada damn thing

Overall:

Allow me to take you back, back to a time called late 2007; I had just arrived to campus for my last year of college and was cruisin' 'round da campus on my freshly painted "new" old bike when I came across my roommate; Tightpants Tim. Tighty Tim was also a bike fan and itchin' to do some cool tricks to impress the ladies and a few of the men-folk. For whatever reason, he wanted to "rock steady" on my new (old) whip, so as the good roommate/friend I was (and still am), I dismounted and gave him the reins on my steel pony. As most people do, he picks it up and weighs it (like his arms are finely calibrated scales) and states, "this is pretty light, guy"* and goes about throwing a leg over the saddle. What follows is the usual professional parking lot bike test stuff; suspension feel, wheelie a bit, hop like a baby rabbit for a few times and then the customary weave back and forth. Timmy Tights turns around and starts his way back to the group and slowly gathers a minimal amount of speed, then he compresses, coils and BAM! like a rocket, he explodes his body (and my bike) into a whirlwind of a half circle, 180 degree rotation; only one small problem and the reason for this story (and review), Timmy Tightpants' 180 was about 80 degrees short of full rotation. That sister-pants** wearing butthead destroyed my rear wheel and scratches his elbow and killed my wheel.

Long story short, I didn't have a wheel and did a little Ebay searching and came across a super cool deal; a set of black Atomlab Pimp Rims with red Atomlab Torque Nipples for one low payment of $30 + shipping and handling. I snatched them up and through the Atomlab website, picked up some spokes and new hubs to lace those rims up to.

The Pimp rim is by far the best rim that I have ever ridden and I've destroyed a metric sh*t ton of rims in the past. A normal wheel would last me a season at the most. Since 2007, (when my story started and I received these rims) I have only used this particular wheelset. What that means is, this set of rims has outlasted every other set of rims I have ever had by almost 6 years. I have beaten these wheels on my hardtail to what should have death at numerous skate parks and street spot, down Mount Snow a few times, up and down Highland Bike Park's network of trails, and many other places and whatnot and they are still running flawlessly. The front wheel is still straight as a line in the sand and the rear wheel has a small hop from side-to-side. A small hop that is still ride-able and still being ridden to this day, almost 6 years after being put into the rear dropouts.

Overall, I'm a huge fan of these rims and will be an Atomlab supporter for life as they are the best rims I've ever ridden.

* My name is not Guy, for whatever reason people in the great state of Vermont like to add the word "guy" to the end of every sentence or call everyone (females included) by the term.

** Tim did not actually wear his sister's pants (that he admitted to at least) and I mean no ill will towards anybody wearing skinny jeans, but he did standout quite a bit with his skinnies on at a school full of farmers and surrounded by cows in the middle of Vermont

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for 2012 GT Force Carbon Sport Bike 5/10/2013 7:50 AM
C138_g_12_forcs_red_7

Great Bike

Rating:

The Good: Geometry, Suspension and seat post

The Bad: Stand over height and hard to keep linkage area clean

Overall:

The wheels and tires roll quickly and are holding up quite well. I would have preferred the wheels to accept Schrader valves over the presta, but that’s more of a personal convenience for quick fill-ups around town and my stock of tubes are Schrader type. I’m planning on converting to tubeless at some point anyway so it’s not a huge problem. I’m the type of rider that doesn’t have to have the “freshest lookin’ whip on the trail” so I’m not planning on upgrading anything until something breaks or fails, but I can see myself upgrading the wheels some time. I’m quite abusive on bikes in general, but really hard on wheels and will be getting wider rims at some point. The stock tires (Maxxis Ardent 2.25in) are quick on the trails and fairly smooth on the roads to the trails. They grip well but I’d like to see some wider rubber. The Formula RX brakes are really impressive and offer plenty of power and you can adjust the lever reach which helped my stubby little fingers quite a bit. You know what they say about guys with small hands... they have small gloves.

The X-Fusion Hilo seatpost was a huge selling point for me and I like the simplicity of it and it does exactly whatit was designed to do. My one gripe with the post is having to take one hand off the bar to adjust the height. X-Fusion makes a bar mounted lever actuated kit which I’m considering getting.

The frame is beautiful to look at and the geometry is great for trail riding. The stand over height of the bike is a bit taller than I prefer, but I’m on the shorter side at 5’6”, but once on the bike the size is not an issue. I didn’t like how different this bike was to corner compared to any of my previous bikes, so I’ve been tinkering with different settings to make it fit me better. The once change that made it ride better for me was lowering the stem height. It was about an inch drop but it made a huge impact on how the bike corners and feels. I still notice the bb height affecting the cornering but I’m assuming that’s on all rear suspended bikes compared to any dj bike with a low stance so it’s not really a problem, just a difference that I’m getting used to. Lowering the front end helped significantly to make the overall ride more efficient and familiar to me.

Overall, I am a huge fan of this bike and glad I made the purchase (45% off thru JensonUSA didn’t hurt either). The frame seems durable and when parts wear out and need replacing I have a solid and reliable frame to bolt them on that will last me many seasons.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Kenda Nevegal Tire 5/9/2013 6:36 AM
C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

Great Tire

Rating:

The Good: Plenty of grip

The Bad: A bit slow on hard pack

Overall:

I love using the Nevegal as my rear tire as it has plenty of grip and holds a corner well. Similar to the Kenda Blur Groove, I prefer to use a worn in tire with a shorter center tread depth. I only notice to slowness and roughness of the ride when I'm on hard pack or road to get to the trail, but I'd rather have good corner grip on the trail and fast rolling tire on the road.

This product has 10 reviews.

Added a product review for Kenda Blue Groove Tire 5/9/2013 6:25 AM
C138_ti509a02

Great Front Tire

Rating:

The Good: Great grip in the corners and durable

The Bad: Slow rolling

Overall:

I use this tire as my front tire and love how it corners up there. I actually prefer to ride with a worn in tire so it rides a bit smoother and faster with the shorter center knobs, you could cut them if you prefered but overall its a great tire.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Kenda Kiniption Tire 5/9/2013 6:10 AM
C138_ti401a29

Great Street Tire

Rating:

The Good: Fast rolling and durable

The Bad: Haven't found anything

Overall:

I picked up a set of these to remedy my sidewall blowouts with K-Rads. The tread wraps from bead to bead so the walls are thicker and I haven't blown out a sidewall since I've put them on. They're holding up well and I have no complaints.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Kenda K-Rad Tire 5/9/2013 6:03 AM
C138_ti401c03

Good Street Tire

Rating:

The Good: Fast rolling, great price and tread lasted a long time

The Bad: I kept blowing out the sidewalls of K-Rads for years, about a pair a year. I discovered the Kiniption tire from Kenda with the tread wrapping from bead to bead and my sidewall issue stopped.

Overall:

Good tire for street and dj riding, but I found a tire that suited me and my riding a bit better.

This product has 4 reviews.