4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

ZMC888's Product Reviews

Added a product review for Nukeproof Snap Frame 2/21/2014 3:50 AM
C138_frame_nukeproof_snap

A thoroughbred for 4X

Rating:

The Good: Excellent paint, graphics, strength, minimal flex, light weight and stable. Replaceable rear dropouts.

The Bad: Not ideal for DJ, park or trail. Not a very forgiving or compliant frame.

Overall:

The Nukeproof Snap frame is very strong and flex-free making it great for 4X. Fast acceleration and cornering stability are its bread and butter. Those strengths however are it's downfalls, for example the chain stays are fairly long (XC length at 420mm) for a bike like this meaning that manuals can be annoyingly hard to perform. Also the frame is extremely rigid, making it very fast accelerating on hard-pack or on pavement, but mistiming jumps and riding on trails can be a painful filling loosing affair. A 67 degree HA  might make you think that the bike could descend quite well and whilst it is capable of descending slopes that would make you fear for your life on an XC race bike the frame's lack of compliance means it's just too painful on all but the smoothest hard-pack to have any real enjoyment.

Some other great things about this frame are the replaceable rear dropouts allowing you to go single speed if you want to, with easy availability of spares though chain reaction, ISCG tabs and some very tasteful paint and graphics, with a high enough seat-post collar to allow for a medium height seat to be able to pedal around sat down at a reasonable speed around town. With the medium length chain-stays, a low top tube and a rigid rear triangle the bike is perfect for wheelies and can wheelie all day long, also the head tube is a nice big 44m allowing for any fork within reason.

Nukeproof do not claim the bike is for anything other than 4X, many people though seeing the frame think DJ or maybe DJ and 4X  and maybe park or urban, this is not really right, the bike is just not quite for those as reasons previously stated. IMHO for a do it all trail, DJ, Urban or Park frame a steel frame with shorter chain-stays is a better choice of frame. Even alu Giant STPs or GT Chuckers are a bit more fun than a Snap around town.

Summary: 4X - 5 stars, Trail - 3 stars, Urban - 4 stars, DJ - 4 stars

5 star review as bike is advertised as a 4X bike.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Shimano Deore M590 Crankset With BB 2/12/2014 2:08 PM
C138_cr266j00

A solid and reliable but slightly heavy and ugly crankset

Rating:

The Good: Reliable, inexpensive, strong

The Bad: Slightly heavy and ugly

Overall:

I've used this crank for over a year and I've had zero issues. Still spins reliably in mostly dry dusty conditions. I've used Many SRAM/truvativ offerings that are pretty much as good, and I marginally prefer the GXP system, but it's close.

Actually I wanted a more bling crank, but I was running out of cash near the end of a build and went for something reasonably priced and well proven, and haven't been disappointed. Originally I set up the crank single speed with a guide, and now with a race face narrow/wide single chain ring, with absolutely no compatibility issues, and a nice weight saving.

Ideally I'd use something like a race face Next, lighter and all bling, but really you only shave at most 200 grams and that 's not a great deal, but it does add up over the build, but cranks are maybe not that critical a component to lighten compared to wheels or forks, but if money is no object, then maybe not the 590s.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Hope Technology Seat Collar 2/8/2014 12:56 AM
C138_qr703b01_black

Get the QR version

Rating:

The Good: Works well and well finished

The Bad: A child could strip out the extremely weak alloy bolt and even snap it

Overall:

In my opinion an aluminium alloy is just the wrong material to use for a bolt in this application, the weight savings are just minuscule, it's just too weak, I stripped out the bolt with very minimal force, which is pretty disappointing from a manufacturer like Hope.

However the collar part of the product is well finished and nicely anodised and has lasted for years, after I switched out the bolt for a steel version. I also use the QR collar and have never had a problem, so I'd recommend buying that instead.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Maxxis High Roller II Tire 2/6/2014 9:31 AM
C138_70747

Worthy, but Minion beats it

Rating:

The Good: Mud shedding ability, and downhill bite

The Bad: Weight, climbing slip, and cornering sketch unless ruthlessly thrown at the corner

Overall: Not a bad DH tire, if I got a bike with them I'd use them, but replace them with something else. They look like the offspring of the original HRs mixed with a Minion DHR. I was never a fan of the old High Roller, and much prefer the Minion DHF. The HR2 is better than the old tire IMO but still has some of the old annoyances, personally a think it just handles a bit worse than a DHF, but braking traction is good as is mud shedding. Climbing as HR is worse than a semi-slick

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for 2014 Kona Operator Bike 2/4/2014 1:25 PM
C138_operator

A solid sled

Rating:

The Good: Great frame and suspension, bike soaks up the terrain with ease.

The Bad: No direct mount stem, would prefer Minion DHF tires and Zee brakes, USD shock annoying to adjust, wheels are super heavy.

Overall:

I demoed this bike, I was pretty impressed with the frame, great geometry and graphics, Kona have come a long way even in the last 2-3 years. Other components slightly less impressed, upside down shock was annoying to adjust as as I couldn't see the compression knob properly. The normal stem looked like an ugly cheap option, when there should really be a direct mount stem. I also hate the High Roller 2 tires, seem just far too heavy and squirm around too much. I can't complain about the Code brakes, they work well, but I think they could have matched the Zee cranks with Zee brakes as surely the reliability and maintenance would benefit most riders.

If it was my bike I'd run tubeless rims and tires to really get the bike to fly by getting rid of 1-2kg of unsprung weight and maybe a regular rear cassette and rear derailleur as uplift days are so rare in my local area. Loved the stability of the bike, but I'll be sticking with my 160mm travel AM bike unless I move somewhere with a chairlift or cable car!

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for X-Fusion Slant RL2 Suspension Fork 12/22/2013 5:50 PM
C138_mt13slant_rl_b_gold

Will fail quickly but perform well. Syntace 15mm skewer is fantastic

Rating:

The Good: Excellent on the trail, buttery smooth, superbly damped

The Bad: Will break or fail somehow within a month. X-Fusion will then take like 2 months to repair it because this way they can 'sit out' out their 2 year warranty period. Please test your products before you bring them to market, we are not idiots.

Overall:

I tried this fork, borrowed from a friend for a few weeks. I have a Velvet, he has a Slant. We both found the same thing, the fork is quite excellent on the trail but doesn't last we've had countless warranty issues. Somehow X-Fusion rushed their R&D or something and made a bunch of hideously unreliable extremely excellent performing forks.

If you ride everyday, it's 1 star. If you have a specific race rig, then these will match up well with your Schwalbe Nobby Nic 5 ride racing tires and Crank Bros pedals. If you only have the time to ride once a week you might be OK too.

5 stars of racing provided they survive the race. 3 stars for a once a week rider and 1 star for everyday riders.

'X-Fusion the Crank Bros of Suspension minus the customer service'.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Avid HSX Heat-Shedding Rotor 12/17/2013 9:23 PM
C138_br255c00

Much better than other Avid rotors

Rating:

The Good: Light, stays true

The Bad: None found

Overall:

I first used these rotors with my old Elixir 5 brakes about three years ago. I changed over from the regular Avid rotors you get for free with the brakes, to try to help eliminate that hideous 'turkey warble'. These rotors are infinitely better and went some way to eliminate the problems with the old Avid rotors. Since then I have moved these on to the back of two different bikes where they perform flawlessly with Shimano SLX 666 brakes. Three years, no pitting and still completely true, very impressed. I'll probably never buy Avid brakes again, but don't overlook these rotors foe AM, trail and XC duties, they seem better than the Shimano rotors.

This product has 3 reviews.

Added a product review for Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring 11/4/2013 8:49 PM
C138_wide_black

The days of hanging junk off your crank are over!

Rating:

The Good: Nicely machined, great color and size choices, even works with 9 speed. A stupidly cost effective way to lighten your ride.

The Bad: You might still need a lightweight guide for piece of mind if riding downhill and free-ride. Marginally noisier than a regular chain ring.

Overall:

I have a full suspension 150mm travel trail/AM bike running 9 speed with a SRAM X7 short cage derailleur. Been running the Raceface Narrow/wide for a few thousand miles on without issue, no chain drops at all. I was worried that I would need a clutch type derailleur, luckily with a short cage regular derailleur this has been fine, but my X7 does have quite a strong spring. I think the chain ring has slightly more rub than my nicely machined Renthal regular ring, but dumping a 250 gram guide has actually made the whole bike a bit lighter and easier to pedal.

This product has 4 reviews.

Added a product review for Maxxis Monorail Tire 8/22/2013 5:26 AM
C138_31264

A fast, light, hard wearing rear tire

Rating:

The Good: Fast rolling, hard wearing, comes TR and LUST

The Bad: Descending and braking traction at 35psi plus, would prefer a bit more volume and a tad more width

Overall:

I bought this tire because I need to ride road and climb before I can open up and have real fun and descend.I teamed this up with a Maxxis Minion single ply 2.35 EXO on the front because they are both ERTO 52. It went on easy on my TR rim tubeless with a floor pump first try, no soap, removing the valve or Stans on the sidewall.

The Monorail climbs really well. The only fault I found was braking traction especially on loose over, that is if you stick to the recommended 35psi or more. However if you drop the pressure to 25-30 range there is much more bite. I'd certainly consider buying again although I probably try something else as I love experimenting with tires.

I'd never dream of putting it on the front for anything other than XC, but on the back it helps you fly along the road and turns my trail/AM rig that can keep up with XC bikes. Purely off road I would prefer something with more bite, however for a road/trail mix this is certainly a top performer.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Race Face Indy Shorts 2012 8/5/2013 8:16 AM
C138_69737

2012 shorts were excellent

Rating:

The Good: Light, comfortable, long lasting, zippered front pocket, look good

The Bad: 2013 shorts not as good

Overall:

2012 Indy shorts were excellent, have easily done a year and are still going strong.

Tried the 2013's I didn't like the fabric, the size was very much on the smaller size and there is no zippered front pocket essential for keeping valuables safe.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for 2013 Kona Process 7/21/2013 8:59 AM
C138_2013_kona_process

Solid fun descender, but weight and component choices questionable.

Rating:

The Good: Tapered head tube, nice geometry, 142 x12

The Bad: Heavy wheels and tires, 2x10 and bash, Elixir brakes

Overall:

At first look at the stats the bike seems too heavy to be a contender, espcially when there are way lighter 160mm travel machines on the market, but somehow you just don't notice the weight until you pick it up. It climbs OK, but it could climb so much better, on the descents it is fun, but this is mostly due to the tire width and slack HT angle becuase the RS suspension is adequate, but not great, but could have been tuned by Kona or RS to be really good.

I feel the process could be a little better with some smarter component choices. If the bike had lighter tubeless tires like Hans Dampf 2.35 heck of a lot of weight could be saved as the High Roller 2s are heavy thick DH tires that suck and spin out uphill. Some lighter wheels would be a killer upgrade too. Also I can't figure out the need for a dorky 2x10 setup on this bike, it would be much sweeter running a guide and 32-34 tooth sprocket and maybe a Zee out the back. Avid Elixir 5s have never been great, I really think Shimano Zee would be better suited to this bike than the noisy mediocre Elixirs.

Personally I think this bike might be a sweet choice for a self build medium travel FR frameset, but the component choices are so dumb possibly by being tied into Avid that you could easily end up spending another thousand dollars to get the bike set up how you want it. Seems a typical Kona bike, killer marketing, good design and then ruined by poor component choices by the accounting department with little attention to weight.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Maxxis Larsen TT Tire 7/15/2013 2:16 AM
C138_17334

Fast and fun tire for rear

Rating:

The Good: Fast, inexpensive, fun, matches up well with other narrower than measured Maxxis tires

The Bad: Not tubeless ready enough, puncture protection can be poor depending on version used

Overall:

I used this tire years ago, I found it was very fast on dry trails, the only complaint I had was that it was punctured too easily (with middle weight tubes) and unsurprisingly not super confidence inspiring on the front, compared with more aggressive tires.

Inspired by seeing what the pros run in the enduro championships I'd love to get this tire again in about a 2.35 to match up with a Minion in dry conditions, but I'm too concerned that it's not tubeless ready enough and might be a PITA to run tubeless. I hope Maxxis get their tubeless ready technology sorted like Schwalbe have so I can run this as my 'go to' enduro/AM/trail dry condition rear tire in the future, the sooner the better!

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for fi'zi:k Aliante Saddle 2011 7/15/2013 1:26 AM
C138_46946

Good, but 'good' is highly subjective with saddles

Rating:

The Good: Fairly comfortable, rails don't bend.

The Bad: This saddle might not suit you if you are moderately or very flexible. Regular retail prices are expensive.

Overall:

Fizik have a guide, this saddle is for 'Bulls'. That doesn't mean you should only buy if you are overweight, it's an indication of your flexibility. If you can't touch your toes than this is the saddle is for you, one of my friends isn't very flexible and he loves this saddle. I bought it and for me it's solid and alright, but I also have a Tundra 2 and I find that more comfortable, as I'm somewhere between snake and chameleon, which means somewhere between very and quite flexible.

As the underside of the saddles are fairly similar, are Fizik saddles worth it? IMHO, yes, if you can get one cheaply, the full retail prices are nuts, as the material cost seems pretty minimal, and it should always be possible to find a saddle you really like for half the retail of a Fizik, if that's a Fizik on offer, great. Just be careful you buy the right one for you.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for 2012 Mongoose Fireball 26" Bike 7/4/2013 12:11 AM
C138_m_12_fir26_cyn_2

Good Value, some great budget components, some junk

Rating:

The Good: Chain guide, tires, frame geometry

The Bad: seat, brakes

Overall:

I bought this because it's my third bike and I ride in two countries and needed one to use for about a month each year.

The good:

  • MRP chain guide works pretty flawlessly
  • Kenda K-rads are great tires
  • Frame geometry is great but chainstays could be shorter

The OK:

  • SRAM rear derailleur OK, but better if short cage
  • Crank works fine, square taper is reliable
  • Fork is bouncy and fun but has no adjust and bottoms and tops out really easily
  • Wheels are heavy and don't have sealed bearings, but are reliable
  • 710mm steel bar and short stem

The Bad:

  • Tektro brakes overheat on the slightest hill
  • Seat rails bend easily, seat is garbage
  • Frame cracked on seat post

Bargain basement bike, not bad for the money, can do it all. Don't expect much as this price point would suit a kid aged 14-16 really well.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Spank Oozy 26AL EVO Complete Wheels 6/21/2013 9:43 AM
C138_oozy_wheelset_front_silver

Good wheels, although made by a budget manufacturer and don't have complete 'out of the box' compatibility for every rider

Rating:

The Good: Light, strong, tubeless ready, not prone to burping when set up tubeless, many axle sizes (as long as you spend extra)

The Bad: Not fully compatible with many axle sizes or tubeless out of the box

Overall:

I feel these wheels are an opportunity lost. They come in 15mm front axle and 12mm x 142mm rear with regular rim tape. Cool if that's what you are running, but if you want to run tubeless or another axle size, it's back to the web to order if you can find the extra parts. This is kind of sad because, yes these wheels are truly very responsive, light and fast on the trail but because they are made in Taiwan by the same company that make the usually acceptable/mediocre offerings that are Joyech/Novatech they couldn't afford to include 100% compatibility of all adapters for their customers and a roll of Fratelli rim tape, a tubeless Presta valve and some Stans, which would only cost a few more dollars. Especially a shame when you consider that they are only slightly cheaper than Italian made Fulcrum Red Zone for example. I feel that they could be true market leader with complete compatibility, being that's the option every rider wants and deserves.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Easton Havoc 35 Aluminum Bars 6/21/2013 9:13 AM
C138_ea_35_orange

Perfect bar, for me at least

Rating:

The Good: Reasonably light, no flex

The Bad: None found

Overall:

I've used these bars for at least three years with no complaints. These were my first bars over 710mm, so I can't compare them to much other than the rise sweep and flex are perfect for me. Recently I tried some Spank bars that were 40mm rise and 10mm wider and after many attempts at trying to like them went back to my trusty old Eastons. I'm not saying they are better than market leaders like Renthal Fatbars as I haven't used them, but the Eastons with between 10-20mm stack height are ideal for me..

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Truvativ Hussefelt Stem 5/30/2013 6:07 AM
C138_st259a05_black

As strong as heck, in a jail they'd put it in a sock and use it as a weapon!

Rating:

The Good: Strong with strong bolts

The Bad: Heavy, limited color choices, painted and not anodized

Overall:

To be honest if I was going to upgrade anything I'd plumb for a stem under 180 grams. At 220 grams on my scale it's a tad on the heavy side, OK so not by much, but consider you can get a really strong attractive anodized CNC machined stem in a choice of colors at 160 grams, and those grams here and there add up into kilos by the end of your build. So I'd only buy this for a budget freeride or DH build, maybe spend extra and go lighter for AM and trail bikes. However it is a serious stem that gives you piece of mind with no doubts to its strength.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for X-Fusion Velvet RL2 DLA Suspension Fork 5/27/2013 9:29 AM
C138_my13velvet_rl_b_dla

Excellent on the trail, but have long term durability concerns

Rating:

The Good: Syntace X-15 axle, plush, light, taper option

The Bad: Long term durability fears

Overall:

Clever to do your R&D on another company's dime, but this is what X-Fusion have done, as they are according to my sources the Taiwanese manufacturers behind some of Fox's product range.

I'm on my second fork as the first one got locked down probably due to a busted negative air chamber, died on the first ride. It was replaced on warranty but took a frustratingly long time to arrive.

This fork performs flawlessly on the trail, but my experience suggests that some riders would be better off without the travel adjust feature. Also I think being bigger at 200lbs (90kg) I'm more suited to the much tougher market offerings of Manitou and Marzocchi, although these companies didn't have any suitable forks in the 140-150mm travel, 15mm axle and tapered HT option, if this thing breaks out of warranty I'll go with a slightly heavier longer lasting Marzocchi fork if they can get some modern trail bike configurations on the market in the next few years.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for Schwalbe Nobby Nic Evolution Tire 5/27/2013 8:58 AM
C138_19166

Fast but flawed on tough terrain

Rating:

The Good: Light, fast, good climber, tubeless ready

The Bad: Weak on rear and sketchy on front

Overall:

I wanted something light for my trail bike as I was keen to shed some weight on a lovely light new build, and also wanted to run faster than my trusty Minions and run tubeless. So I read that Nobby Nic was light, grippy, fast, and tubeless ready so I bought these in 26x2.25, and weighed in super light at 560 grams. At 57-559 erto I thought they'd be fairly wide at least, like my Schwalbe Table Tops which have the same rating on my 4x bike, yet somehow they measured up narrow mostly because the knobs are inside the carcass footprint and do not protrude over the edge like a regular tire. They blew up tubeless on my Spank Oozy rims very easily with two wraps of tape and one cap of Stans.

I'm addicted the speed of these tires, I can keep up with local hard-tail riders on semi-slicks, but the first few runs in some really rocky and thorny places showed the limitations at 30psi front and 35psi rear the bike was bouncing all over the place and the rear got very worn and I half ripped some knobs off the rear, also thorns were constantly lowering the tire pressures when they got stuck in the tire, when I pulled them out Stans would then seal the hole properly. On the front the tire was very easily overwhelmed and pretty scary in rocky and loose terrain, that was until the pressure dropped to around 17.5psi (digital gauge) due to constantly losing pressure due to thorns, and the tire then conformed to the trail and was pretty good, although slow like a Supertacky Maxxis or Nevegal. At a safer for my rims 25psi the tire was OK, but I was missing my Minion on the front on this kind of terrain, as a Minion can grip at even 30-35psi.

For me at least I'd consider buying this tire as a rear only in the double defense version, as my local trails are mostly too abusive, but with the climbing ability and speed it might be worth it, or might switch to the tougher Smart Sam. On the front I think I'll go for something tougher and grippier like a Hans Dampf or a Minion when it's properly tubeless ready.

This product has 6 reviews.

Added a product review for Manitou Circus Expert Fork 3/30/2013 3:27 AM
C138_57818

DJ fork and bombproof do it all fork.

Rating:

The Good: Strong, great looking easy adjustments, not heavy for a DJ fork, very rigid axle that inspires confidence

The Bad: Make longer travel versions!

Overall:

If you are male and drink beer and you want a 100mm travel fork this is your fork of choice. Nothing beats it for 100mm. If they made a longer travel version, I'd use it for AM/FR too!

This product has 3 reviews.