4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

Billy3197's Product Reviews

Added a product review for 2011 Black Market Bikes Contraband 12/23/2013 6:18 PM
C138_126665970_1287610868

Contraband: Bmx feel with mountain bike forgiveness

Rating:

The Good: This bike is way more versatile than the 24 inch, steel build would let on. It is light stiff and provides a completely bombproof build right out of the box. The Contraband has a short wheelbase but somehow achieves the balance needed to supply a stable feel. The bike is unbelievably playful in street and skatepark applications yet is able to feel like a 26 inch dirt jump bike on the larger, more technical jumps. The bike will simply disappear underneath the rider and supply some unreal control.

The Bad: The stock tires are pretty heavy and truthfully, the entire stock build leaves some to be desired. The frame alone might be the better purchase if you are a rider who knows what they want. If you are not a rider who knows what they want, then you will notice fairly quickly what you like and dislike about the stock build.

Overall:

Overall this bike is perfect for BMx riders making the transition into MTB or for slopestyle riders looking to mob around the streets and skateparks with a more interactive bike than a normal 26inch DJ bike. This will serve as a workhorse on any level and certainly makes a good addition to any riders collection or bikes, or a beginner's garage. The price makes this bike indisputably one of the best freestyle mountain bikes out there, despite being rather specialized to certain riding.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Chromag Brandon Semenuks' 'Overture' Signature Model Saddle 11/17/2013 8:41 AM
C138_92492180_1273304652

Chromag Overture Semenuk Saddle

Rating:

The Good: The Chromag Overture saddle is one of the most widely used saddles by dirt jumpers slopestyle riders and freeriders alike. The seat can be spotted on the bikes of a large number of pros and can look good on any bike. The saddle itself is extremely high quality. It is extremely comfortable and it provides a great pinch for suicide no handers or barspins. Though the saddle does look nice, Chromag also put some grippier material on the sides of the seat to achieve a better pinch which is going above and beyond any other companies efforts as far as seats go. The shape is perfect because it stays out of the way but is there when you need it. On top of sheer performance, the seat will instantly make any bike look way nicer, adding a splash of color, or a clean looking addition to a top end build.

The Bad: The overture isn't surprisingly strong. I have had friends Overtures creak from the moment that they were purchased and I had one develop a small bit of movement that I cannot seem to fix. They also seem to break more than other saddles. Both of these issues I have never heard of with any seats from Deity or other brands making seats. The color on the Overture also fates a bit. Colored ones will turn more gray gradually, and the gummy material on the sides has begun to peel off on my own.

Overall:

Overall, this seat is the best they come. Any high end DJ or slope bike needs one. They are the absolute best and truly have raised the bar as to the standard for saddles. Though there are some apparent problems present, I will continue to have the overture as my saddle of choice. This is really just the best you can use hands down.

This product has 5 reviews.

Added a product review for Transition TR250 Frame 11/13/2013 3:59 PM
C138_tr250v1_4

Transition TR250: Ultimate Park Machine

Rating:

The Good: The transition TR250 is a park bike. It is a do it all freeride machine for somebody who wants a bike that will take them to the race, the jumps, or the back country. The geometry is designed explicitly for bike park riding and this gives it an incredible amount of versatility. The 250s link design allows it to float through the technical sections and take the big hits just as well. Its head tube angle makes it feel right at home and along with the chainstay length, the bike corners like its on rails, even in off camber situations. The frame has a way of feeling like its part of your body, making technical lines where line placement is key no trouble at all. Jumping on the bike is another strong point. The bike feels incredible comfortable in any sort of hip, drop, stepdown, kicker or speed jump. It feels so comfortable and with comfort comes confidence which is a huge resource to have on a ride.

The Bad: The frame itself is a bit heavier than many of the alternatives, this increase in weight can be detrimental for park riders who want trickability, yet that is a small margin of riders. I would have also liked to see a cheaper alternative, seeing as many buyers looking at frames are wanting to save money. Going along with the fact that the price is steep, it confuses me to see a coil shock on the bike. This is not their downhill race bike, so a shock like a Rock Shox vivid air or a Cane Creek DBair would seem to make more sense to me especially considering that price doesn't seem to be of much concern here. Being a park pike, I also would have loved to see the seat tube go a bit lower or maybe a raised bottom bracket. I don't feel that this would affect the cornering too much but for a freeride bike I think it is a logical step. The bike is also very hard to setup. Routing the brake into place through the linkage is a long and tedious process and could certainly have been simplified somehow.

Overall:

Overall this is the ultimate park bike. It will go where you want, do what you do, and kill it the whole way. The 250 is certianly one of the most versatile freeride bikes I have ever tried. This is truely a quality bike and it will prove that over and over and over if you give it the opportunity. If you like gravity, and want a bike to conquer it all, this is it.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for FOX 32 831 100 RLC Fit Fork 11/12/2013 5:53 PM
C138_fk260a17

Fox 32 831

Rating:

The Good: The Fox 831 gives first impressions much like that of an expensive car or a work of art. Every contour, every inch of the fork just screams "look at me I'm better than you." It is truly an engineering masterpiece and Fox shows no intention of hiding that. Although many products are capable of looking nice to hide performance flaws, this is not at all the case with the 831. The 831 features a light yet stiff chassis, providing it with a steady base without the extra grams. A 15mm thru axle anchors it to the wheels, and although this seems to be a bit lacking for a dj fork, it actually provides an incredible amount of stiffness. The axle is quick and easy to use and requires little or no attention in terms of mechanics. The 831 also has Fox's CTD damper allowing for three settings of suspension tunability. Although this seems not to make sense for a dj fork, it actually provides a great variation of setups for different scenarios a dirt jumper might encounter, weather it is natural lines in the woods, slopestyle contests, pumptracks, skateparks, or a stair set. It is easily tunable for the riders liking and provides what is without a doubt the most responsive suspension I have tried to date. On top of that the 831 weighs in at almost a pound lighter than a Rock Shox Argyle RCT, which saves the weight to make the bike much more movable and controllable.

The Bad: The price tag is a bit high for a dirt jump budget, and even then some will argue that the performance difference isnt there to be worth the extra money. Furthermore there are some apparent problems. Fox, likely to save weight and increase profit margin, equipped it with a CTD damper, and although I am a fan of this feature, many riders would rather it feature one of Fox's dampers more geared towards freeride, giving it more internal strength. This comes from many riders sharing experiences of blowouts with the fork. Fox recently moved to a 34mm body for the fork, and that change was for a reason. The fork likes to develop a bit of movement between the crown and the top of the stanchions. This creates a creaking sound that for any rider can be a bit troubling. The fork also is known to require more service than DJ forks from other brands.

Overall:

Overall the 831 is for a rider who doesn't want to compromise. If you have any connections to shops, or dealers, or you yourself can service it, I would certainly recommend this fork. I still know several people who ride very hard and have not had theirs serviced and are yet to have any problems with it. Personally I think this fork is on a level of its own, and although it has its drawbacks, it is the best fork for a rider searching for the absolute best possible setup.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Shimano XT Disc Brake M785 11/8/2013 7:29 AM
C138_67208

Performance at an unarguable price

Rating:

The Good: The XT brakes are some of the best out there for any discipline. They are very light and pack the stopping power of any DH specific brake. The lever is short and pulls without any unnecessary movement. The power is consistent and the brake can be dialed in to the riders liking.

The Bad: Although the adjustments are present, a wider selection of setup options would be nice, the adjustments available seem rather small.

Overall:

Overall these are a very good representation of "bang for your buck" they are absolutely phenomenal brakes and will be consistent stoppers for all mountain, XC, or slopestyle riders alike.

This product has 7 reviews.

Added a product review for Specialized P.3 Frame 11/3/2013 6:13 PM
C138_2015_specialized_p.3_frame

simplicity meets perfection

Rating:

The Good: The frame is low and light, giving an initial impression much like a 4X bike. The speed is there but dont be fooled. the short chainstays and high bottom bracket make this thing as much of a street and park machine than any other. a steep headtube and long top tube balance the need for a responsive, playful geometry with the need for stability and room for barspins. The frame can handle any abuses and will simply beg for more.

The Bad: The chain tensioners work great for the most part but they need to be very very tight or they like to slip. this caused some frustration initially but now that the bike is dialed there are no real complaints.

Overall:

This is simply the best dj frame around. load it up with your favorite components and its a bike that anyone will envy. Tough, reasonably priced, light, clean, absolutely dialed.

This product has 1 review.

Added a product review for 2013 Scott Voltage FR 10 Full Suspension Bike 11/3/2013 6:04 PM
C138_scott_voltage_fr_10_bike

Ultimate Fun machine

Rating:

The Good: The Voltage can cater to anyone and anything. With small and large options you can decide weather you want snappy race feel or a playful trick machine. The bike itself also has two phenomenal features in regard to how adjustable it is. The headtube is a 1.5 straight which allows for literally any fork configuration available to be an option given the correct headset. The voltage also comes with a variety of shock mounts allowing for a setup tunable for any build from a light slopestyle bike up to a heavy duty big mountain killer. with every given shock mount, the voltage also has an easily accessible short and long travel adjustment, allowing the rider to dial in the rear end with nothing more than an allen key. The specs on the bike are fantastic and leave very little to be desired. The frame is extremely light, and with the adjustments, can cater to a riders every need.

The Bad: The voltage, in my opinion, is the perfect park bike. The frame is light and responsive so the fact that scott would spec it with components less than the very very best is beyond me. I think that it would be genius to sell a frame option as well because all of the tunability means very little if the rider has to purchase it complete.

Overall:

Overall, the Voltage FR has been my dream bike for a while, and after extensive abuse, progression and close calls, I can say the voltage is a bike for the rider who wants every last bit of fun they can possibly have on a mountain bike. If you want a slope and a dh bike but dont have the money, look no further. Want a perfect bike park bike? Or something to destroy the local freeride zones or carve snow in the off season? This is the bike. This bike kills it all. Masterpiece

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for RockShox Recon Silver TK Fork 11/2/2013 1:29 PM
C138_rockshox_recon_tk

recon silver: workhorse fork for a rider with a budget

Rating:

The Good: this was one of the first forks i ever ran. When i started biking we did it all. XC races, skills parks with ladder bridges, street riding, home made skinnys and drops local singletrack. everything. This fork took it all even when we got into dirt jumping. it begged for more rock gardens, skateparks, and grueling xc races for a year and a half with no service at all.

The Bad: a bit heavy

Overall:

For the price, this fork is a no brainer. it is widely adjustable, plush, affordable and versatile. It really brought me to a new level and gave me what i needed to become a more and more dedicated rider.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Deity Compound Flat Pedal 11/2/2013 1:22 PM
C138_deity_compound

Rider owned

Rating:

The Good: these pedals are extremely light, really strong and have an incredible feel to them. they will take a beating and come back begging for more. these will not let your feet slip ever.

The Bad: the pins are very very sharp but what pedals arent really?

Overall:

these pedals are an affordable, light, dialed addition to anyone's arsenal of parts on their bike, it will make a positive impact on any build.

This product has 4 reviews.

Added a product review for Chromag Ranger Stem 11/2/2013 1:18 PM
C138_88953010_1273302814

BC masterpiece

Rating:

The Good: This stem is light, stiff and clean. it gives your bike a north shore feel while also having extensive color options.

The Bad: The stem liked to move a bit during crashes and eventually began to strip

Overall:

This stem is fantastic for someone who wants the absolute best, quite honestly it is in a category with very few others for some of the nicest products around.

This product has 7 reviews.

Added a product review for 2013 Specialized P.3 Bike 11/2/2013 1:13 PM
C138_91e9_32_p_3_blk_soder_claw

Shred ready from the start

Rating:

The Good: The bike packs more punch than any other at this price. the fork and the crankset stand out for sure. The frame is light, stiff and feels so nice on the jumps slope or park. extremely versatile

The Bad: Im not a particular fan of the p series bars stem and seat, and a nicer wheel set would go a long way. but again at this price everything specialized has done just makes sense

Overall:

Overall the bike is absolutely nuts. top of the line products where you need them, a fantastic frame, and a bike that is shred ready from day one.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for Manitou Dorado Pro Downhill Fork 3/9/2013 6:22 PM
C138_manitou_dorado_2010_29er_fork_1

Racer feel with a freeride package

Rating:

The Good: small bump compliance is amazing. there are so many adjustments so getting it dialed is a snap. SUPER stable on the big hits

The Bad: honestly nothing

Overall:

Better than fox rockshox marzocchi and DVO. i have tried all of these extensively and this is truely the best downhill fork ever made.

This product has 4 reviews.

Added a product review for Manitou Circus Expert Fork 10/1/2012 7:03 PM
C138_57818

if a fox 831 is the caddilac of dj forks then this is a flying ferrari tank

Rating:

The Good: DURABILITY- at rays mtb park fox 831s and Argyle RCTs were breaking all the time and these were always the replacements. Responsive- this fork is the definition of plush. it is a snap to adjust and you can dial it in soooooooo perfectly Stiff- in the suspension and in the axle. manitou has outdone themselves with the 20mm hex lock Light- for a tank like this its feather weight AFFORDABLE- looking to pay less AND perform more? well i wouldnt reccomend dropping $800-$900 on an Argyle or 831

The Bad: if your into 4x the weight might take front seat but durability will pay off

Overall:

This fork is a light, stiff, plush versatile tank. IT is sooo beefy compared to the competition. This thing is a tank and an 831 is a go cart. Seriously. The suspension it so responsive and smooth and manitou created a lock out that can take hits without being destroyed unlike rock shocks lock out. PERFECT

This product has 4 reviews.

Added a product review for 2012 Trek Superfly AL Bike 9/23/2012 5:41 PM
C138_21077

INSANE BIKE

Rating:

The Good: super light. amazing fork GREAT drive train tires rock looks trick

The Bad: Brakes need to be bled every 2 seconds

Overall:

overall its the best xc bike for the price. plain and simple. its a fantastic bike and will take you places you never imagined.

This product has 2 reviews.

Added a product review for 2011 Airborne Wingman Bike 7/22/2012 4:58 PM
C138_0000244

Airborne Wingman- decent but the problems show

Rating:

The Good: -Frame design -Hydraulic brakes -lightweight -dual walled rims -looks -Price

The Bad: -headset sucks -crank likes to come loose -sucks to service -Fork cannot be set very stiff and is heavy -I have suspicion of a wide defect on the bike (see below)

Overall:

The wingman is stiff, light and maneuverable. Nothing feels like the bike is $660. Until you have logged some actual time on the bike. After riding far more expensive dirt jumpers, i can fairly say that this is able to keep up in basic dirt jump arenas but for advanced riders looking to start pulling bigger tricks it is a close call. Everything on the bike promotes control and high flying. Berms are swallowed up and pumptracks are absolutely demolished. Use it for freestyle, Dual slolam, its even light enough for 4X. Stock the bike doesnt quite cut it though. There are three main problems- headset, fork, and crank. After having problems with it three different bike shops said the stock crank isnt compatible with the frame and can only work partially with careful adjustment. Also the headset comes loose a ton. Is it because the stock headset is crap? nope. an upgrade to a cane creek 40 didnt solve the problem. And I was even more appaled to run into two wingman owners having THE SAME EXACT PROBLEMS. That being said the bike will for sure make for a good beginner DJ bike and will take you to new heights (literally and figuratively) With a few upgrades and adjustments the bike will fit like a glove and preform like it costs more towards three grand rather than 600.
So how do the individual components preform? ---

  • Wheels- The Alex Fr30 wheels are decent freeride rims. They are dual walled so they are durable and will not bent easily. They are exceptionally light. The hubs and spokes however are pretty heavy and are a bit of a disappointment when paired with such great rims
  • Fork- The Marzocchi DJ 3 fork gives me mixed feelings. It is somewhat plush and responsive. It is however a bit on the heavy side and adjustment is near impossible. The other downside to the suspension is that since Marzocchi might go under there may no longer be a suspension warranty. It runs 9mm bmx bolts rather than a thru axle which makes removal easy but isnt quite as stiff.
  • Crank- pretty heavy and likes to come loose. Keep an eye on it. Some shops have even told me its not compatible with the frame
  • Frame- Light, stiff and looks trick. the geometry gives control that i have felt on no other bike in this price range
  • Cockpit- (bars stem grips)- There just kind of there. the cockpit is all preference so the chance its perfect is slim. i like short stems, wide bars and not much rise. I have switched out the bars, stem and grips. That's nothing big though, to adjust to new bars and stem.
  • Brakes- Tektro is notorious for being difficult to dial in. That aside, I was pleasantly surprised with their performance. Once dialed, they are consistent and strong. A little on the heavy side, but good. I might replace them at some point but there staying for now
  • Headset- Crap. tough to dial in, and can come loose. being an integrated system shops can be confused by it during service. The compression ring is rubber so upgrading that to a metal one is cheap and worth while. Upgrades are a pain because the integrated system is not commonly found on big bike brands like trek. If I upgrade mine I will upgrade it bit by bit. It will work though, but for high performance a new compression ring is a good idea.
  • Tires- They are beefy which gives a bit of cushion during tough landings. They have beefy but fast knobs so they are great for riding dirt jumps and slopestyle. They aren't perfect for street parks but they are pretty good still.
  • Ride- Extremely maneuverable. The bike has wheel/pedal clearance for bar spins and it is able to pull massive whips like it is second nature. My friend has even pulled tailwhips on it. The bike can bust some tricks to say the least.

Overall -- For the price it rocks. Over all it will get work done and carry you to new heights. There are better components so upgrading is not out of the question. stock it will get the job done and airborne should be proud of the machine they have made. Would recommend it for a budgeted rider who only rides once or twice a week. for people who ride more and are more advanced pass on it.

This product has 2 reviews.